Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Costa Rica hotel reviews
  3. Alajuela hotel reviews
  4. Fortuna hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Tabacón Thermal Resort & Spa

Reviews of Tabacón Thermal Resort & Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

13 km oeste del centro de La Fortuna de San Carlos, Alajuela, Costa Rica., 21007 Fortuna, Costa Rica

#8 of 95 hotels in Fortuna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 595 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely room, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious room, super clean and a great balcony surrounded by rainforest. Nice location - about a 10 min drive to Vulcan Arenal. Excellent breakfast buffet. Free admission to hot springs.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    This hotel was a splurge for my birthday and it was so worth...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was a splurge for my birthday and it was so worth it! I wish we would've had more time to enjoy our massive room, but we spent most of our stay in the spa / hot springs. The hot springs are the true star of the show and not only is admission free for hotel guests, but hotel guests also have a private area in the thermal springs that can't be accessed by regular spa guests. There, the lounge and sitting areas were much nicer than in the public parts of the spa. The entire property is stunning, the breakfast buffet was fantastic - I can't think of a single thing to criticize.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    Location was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect

    Location was amazing! Volcano view from 3floor was huge surprise. Staff was super kind and extremely friendly. Personalized and handwritten card was thoughtful. We stayed for one night. Atmosphere was like we were having honey moon :)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.2
    It is a wonderful place to relax and so it was no surprise...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We hadn’t had a car and this was kind of a problem because a taxi to the city costs $20 one way to the city and the food at the restaurant was a bit too expensive for what you get. Still I can highly recommend the place and will come back with a car the next time.

    It is a wonderful place to relax and so it was no surprise that many couples where spending their honeymoon at the Tabacón. I was there wit tho friends after we did a backpacking tour through Costa Rica. The hot springs are really good and one of my highlights where the spa treatments. In addition to the treatment you can chill in a really nice Jacuzzi and get smoothies. The breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    5.8
    Save your money, get a day pass.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One comes to this hotel for the thermal pools but they are not in the Tabacon Hotel complex itself, instead you have to take the free hotel shuttle or a 5 minute walk to access them. When you are at the pools they are really busy all the time, with people paying for day access. Bring some goggles and water shoes as many of the pools are gritty rock on the bottom. There is an area for the Tabacon guests but it is way up the other end, The pools near the main entrance seemed the best. The rooms are looking tired as it an older hotel, water pressure was weak in the showers, the shampoos and conditioner hard to get out of the large containers in the room. For the $337 per night rate, they should offer better quality toiletries. The sink needs re-grouting it is looking kinda old. Somewhere to hang clothes in the bathroom would have been nice as we had to wash out a few things as we were traveling light. There was no view from the room, no verandah so no interaction with the nature outside- a major reason we visit Costa Rica. The hotel is not located near any other restaurants and is a $20 taxi ride each way to La Fortuna where most of the restaurants are. We had to travel down to the pools to access the breakfast included with room. The egg station was always so busy and only one person manning it. The selection at their buffet breakfast was not as good as what we had at La Costa.

    We stayed at The Royal Corin hotel before staying here for two nights. We all agreed the Corin was much better value and had better facilities. $ 173 per night versus Tabacon's $337. The restaurant has a limited menu but what we ate we did really enjoy. Great service by attentive waiters and a good selection of wine. Prices on par with the USA, portion size smaller than the USA.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    The hotel was absolutely amazing and well worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Rainforest King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was absolutely amazing and well worth the money. We stayed in the rainforest rooms that over looked the jungle and had the most beautiful view and the rooms were clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the pool and hot springs were amazing as was the food. Can’t say a bad word!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    8.3
    Great place but have stayed in comparable places in the area at a lower cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I understand that maintenance must be done but the area around the registration desk was under construction and a mess. Starting around 8am there were workers using a very noisy power washer until we checked out at noon.

    Staff and food quality

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    8.8
    Nice but maybe too much. I think I'd rather stay somewhere less spread out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got a different room than what we booked. Yes, they called it an upgrade but it was much too big (two bedrooms for just two people) and hard to maneuver through. I found it to be too much. I would rather have what we had booked originally. I also didn't like that the resort says the hot springs run through it but it does not. You have to walk a good long walk to get to them. Then they changed the breakfast to that location and again, it was an issue to get down there.

    The resort was beautiful and everyone was very nice. The restaurant staff was helpful and friendly and eager to talk to us. The hot springs were very nice and beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    10
    Luxury, Comfort, Relaxation - the place to stay in Fortuna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was too short - would have stayed for 3 days to get the full experience.

    This property is absolutely beautiful. The full experience from start to finish really takes relaxation to another level. You're greeted with a fresh drink and hot towel upon arrival. The thermal pools are surrounded by beauty and the definition of relaxation while in them. You really feel like you're in your own private oasis. Swimming up to the pool bar was a treat as well. The food was delicious and the rooms were full of luxury and comfort. We will be back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    10
    Volcanic hot pools in the most beautiful tropical rainforest garden you will ever see
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was way too good and obviously a lot of care and good intentions went into making their customers happy, it is simply above my capabilities to see what could be improved at Tabacon. Sorry for not being able to be more helpful here.

    Tabacon is on a short list with must-see places on our small world. Their care for the small details goes into everything, and you can fell this from the very first second you arrive. With their close proximity to Areal Volcano and the impressive Hot Pools Centre, it's so much more then a hotel, it's more of a unique experience the type that relaxes the body and the soul and then turns into a pleasant memory. So how does that actually work? Well, the stuff is amazing. They treat you the best possible way and do that in a natural and comforting way, should it be the shuttle driver, the car valet, the receptionist, the waiter, the security guard or any other of their many employees. No pressure, just delicate attention for their guests. Once you entered the complex, it all goes by itself. The car is parked, the luggage is taken care of, the checkin is actually a pleasant time having a delicious cocktail in a nicely decorated lobby. Then the hot springs and the spa, which are unearthly amazing. The hot springs are channeled through a paradisiac garden of impressive proportions, and you'll need at least two days to discover and experience everything there, leaving aside their two onsite bars and restaurant. There's an area dedicated to hotel guests where you can have romantic moments with your partner. There are hot and cold pools where you can relax or even swim. And all these between palm trees, flowers, exuberant vegetation all nicely preserved and organised. They do offer various additional services for honey mooners, birthdays, romantic dinners, special occasions just to make it perfect. Back to the room, we had the best sleep ever. The bed was amazing. In the morning we had an amazing rainforest view right next to the big room window. Good taste everywhere. And the breakfast, offered complimentary in the room rates is simply delicious with so many options to choose from. Amazing, breathtaking, relaxing, and all in one, a must-have experience!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    10
    Perfection at Tabacon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Exceptional location, facilities, and staff made for a great stay. After we left the service continued when we realized a piece of luggage was left behind and they delivered it to us more than 100 miles away. Highly recommend visiting if you gave the opportunity!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful rooms, neat thermals, but expensive and uncomfortable level of service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was a little too attentive, for instance I didn't need/want someone to escort us into our room and narrate everything we could find in the bathroom and closet. Also, while we were in our room, one of the staff opened the door and had someone else's luggage, having thought it was for us. I think that a large part of the high cost of this place goes to the extreme level of service, but honestly it felt uncomfortable. While the thermal pools are neat, I think the overall experience here is overpriced--the cost of food is high here too, for a pretty average quality meal.

    The room we stayed in was absolutely beautiful. Very comfortable, clean, and stylish. The thermal pools are neat, well maintained with lots of different areas to explore around. I didn't find anything special about the Shangri La gardens though.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    7.9
    It was great and Seris at the spa is smiling and a real Gem you have. She is always welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Your hot springs benches have missing tiles which have been like that for over a year and I think as a 5 star resort you should have that already fixed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    10
    Simply perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all

    Extremely clean, very much taken care of and the staff were very friendly. The food was good although for dinner was a bit expensive. The room was spacious, comfortable and provided all the facilities needed after a full day of activities, including free coffee and free shuttle rides to the hot springs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    10
    Our room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tourist buses that arrive with folks who have day passes to the hot springs. I wish it could just be for the hotel guests. Gets super crowded in the afternoon with the day pass people and pretty annoying.

    Our room was great...very spacious. Clean. Every amenity. We were on the first floor so no views really but no matter. The hot springs are the big draw. Quick walk or shuttle drive down. You can go in your robe! We are at Los Toucanes and food was fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    6.7
    5star hotel of the paper only, great for the hot springs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is trained to repeat polite sentences. And they lose common sense when the guest does not fit in one of the boxes. Horrible feeling to be assisted by little robots. The hotel is 5 star but thy ask you to pay an extra if you wish a cafe latte or capuccino during breakfast The hotel is 5 star but they cannot recommand any restaurant or excursions, outside of they own 2 restaurants and one excursion partner. Very well trained staff to only push the hotel commercial interest, even if this does not fit the guests’ request

    The access to the hot springs was easy thanks to the provided transport. The settings of the hot springs are great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    9.6
    The staff is really kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is really kind. We had champanhe, strawberries and chocolate when we arrived to celebrate our honeymoon. The breakfast was full of good options. The therms are very relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.2
    Sure bet, landmark hotel in popular area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt that, as the thermal waters of this hotels are quite popular, with a lot of people visiting who are not staying at the hotel, the thermal pools were not as relaxing as I expected. It should have ben a bit more zen or perhaps exclusive times for hotel guests only. But the quietest times were those we were all out for activities. The pool with the pool bar is a nice idea but just too many bodies in it and not quite what I wanted, even if the kids loved the slide. One thing I would recommend is for the hotel to include in the room price a basic $20 laundry service for 20 items (maybe I missed it?) because everything gets quite damp with the activities and it is hard to dry stuff before you go to the next location.

    Nice, tidy grounds, good location. This is a well known and established hotel. People are friendly and in our experience everything was well organised and on time. If you have arrived without organising any activities, there is a tour desk (fabulous Edson) attached to the reception desk where plenty of activities can be booked. We liked the meat grill in the restaurant of the Thermal pools.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.6
    We go once a year now for a few years and it’s always a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We go once a year now for a few years and it’s always a treat - staff are lovely. Especially love the instance sticks in the room in the evening, great touch of relaxation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    Excellent five star service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...

    It's a perfect 5 star service... Also, great value as you can use the spa area for practically two days, or at least one night and one full day. Much better value and we when I did the math actually saved money, it's cheaper to stay at the resort than pay for 2 x nigh passes (2 x $75) and 2 x day passes (2 x $85), add on the top of that cost of three star accommodation in La Fortuna is at least $75 per night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Magical and Enchanting! Dream come true.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dinner buffet at the hot springs restaurant was kinda pricey at $31pp US. They had a carving station but the meat was so dry my wife almost choked. Also the margaritas were very sour.

    We are celebrating our 8th wedding anniversary and they went all out for us by putting a banner on the door and surprising us with chocolates and wine! Very special! The staff here is top notch. We went to the hot springs immediately and while it is packed there, the guests of the resort have special access to the springs called Shangrila and it is one of the coolest places I have ever been. Super romantic and it has a private bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    6.0
    The hot springs are beautifuk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food is way too expensive and sub par. Rooms are outdated and bed very uncomfortable. For such an expensive place, I expected a lot more.

    The hot springs are beautifuk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    9.6
    The only thing that I found arguable is that the resort is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that I found arguable is that the resort is divided in two parts. The area where the receptions, rooms and one of the restaurants are located and a second area with hot springs and main restaurant. A shuttle bus transfers guests from one area to the other. This is quite annoying but still acceptable in my opinion for the hot springs. As opposite I don't understand why the breakfast is not served in the restaurant close to the rooms. I found quite annoying waking up, walking to the reception, waiting for the shuttle bus, going to the thermal area for breakfast and obviously coming back to the room immediately after. I hope they will find some solution in the future

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous grounds and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    You pay a lot for this kind of luxury.

    Gorgeous grounds and room. The bed was super comfortable. The hot springs are very cool and relaxing, but bring water shoes! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Both breakfast and dinner were delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, great spa & guests only hot springs amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Honeymoon Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too many people from outside the resort ( not guests of the resort) They offer child sitting services but it is quite expenive($30/hr for 2 kids)& they had to stay in the hotel room. Sitting services didn’t offer any crafts or swimming activities( like other resorts in CR do offer)... so my kids were pretty unhappy about that

    The guests only shangrila gardens were amazing! The day spa services were great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    excellent stay, especially the standards of service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee was disappointing.. we had to ask for stronger coffee, as it was a little weak.

    Stunning thermal pools and surrounds, superb staff, very helpful and courteous, excellent restaurant, room standard very high, gym facilities. Very relaxing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    7.9
    Great hot springs area vs too expansive hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tabacon Suite Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Far too pricey. Our room (suite with 2 double bed) was huge, however, the living/sleeping area was not comfortable (good interior designer would be required) and a bit out-dated. Floor was kind of sticky. Bottom-line not sure whether I would recommend to stay here or choose another, cheaper hotel and go for a 1 day ticket for their hot springs area which is open to the public (or just go to the "open" springs yourself).

    Huge and very well equipped bathroom with rain forest shower and whirlpool. Very nice hot springs area, entry is included during whole stay (and even on departure day). Warm welcome at check-in. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    10
    Love Love Love the hot spring and the special garden was so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I am not keen on the dinner buffet they offered. Very average food

    Love Love Love the hot spring and the special garden was so amazing. This hotel is probably now one of my favorites in the world. The staff was so kind and lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    9.2
    Awesome time at Tabacon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found the routine hard to figure out at the hot springs area.

    We got upgraded to a beautiful suite. We got our value when we found out you can still use the hot springs and resteraunt on that location the whole day you check out. That made it all worth the cost.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    7.5
    Nice setting but too expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is about mass tourism and the price they charge is ridiculous high for the service they offer. If you are behaving like a high quality resort and charging that amount of money than i also expect everything to be perfect. Got the wrong meal. Can't choose the side dish; got glue like mashed potatoes with a plain grilled tenderloin. And the breakfast buffet did not impress me.

    The hotel, the setting and the rooms are nice. Love the hotsprings. Being in these hotsprings feels like being in paradise. Beautiful natural tropical garden and nice pools.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    8.8
    Huge first floor suite with excellent air con and wifi.
    • Couple
    • Tabacon Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room mostly unusable empty space, breakfast restaurant a one km hike down hill, dinner restaurant unimpressive.

    Huge first floor suite with excellent air con and wifi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    10
    need to go to understand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the was ok not more

    we can't explain the feeling we had in these hotel. the service providers was so amazingly nice! they treated us like king and queen!!! all the time!!! the view...omg the view it is like how we imagine paradise!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    10
    Tabacon provides an escape to paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The menu in the bar needs to be improved. Salads in a jar are just strange and not enjoyable to eat. But the setting is nice and the service good. Also the host in the Toucan Restaurant was not friendly or gracious at all which was even more jarring because everyone else is so helpful and pleasant. It was my birthday dinner so his attitude was off putting on a night we thought was perfect otherwise.

    The natural beauty of the beautiful hot springs volcanic river/pools, outstanding amentities and gracious service make this an amazing destination. We have been three times and are already talking about a return visit. The massages we each had were excellent and offered in a secluded outdoor setting with the natural sound of rushing water for ambient background. Joana is a very skilled masseuse. Tabacon consistently appears on lists of the world's top ten hot springs and it's place is well deserved. Although the many pools, river spots and waterfalls are designed, the appearance feels as though they are all natural. The property is so large that it is easy to find private spots to soak. The onsite travel service was nice and they were able to provide pickup and return to the airport as well as many other tours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing hot spring experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 300, smelled moldy, we were very irritated. Beautiful room but unlivable. We booked garden room and were given this room that probably nobody wanted, since it is below the ground level. I would pay more to stay on the second floor with garden view but never had a choice on Booking.com. Disappointed.

    New upgraded rooms, Spa and hot springs are amazing, breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found the rooms a tad sterile for this price point. Given the abundant wildlife in Costa Rica I was disappointed our (ground floor) room did not have an outdoor seating area and that the whole complex was filled with little blue pellets that I assume were to keep the bugs away.

    The staff at the hotel are incredible and nothing was too much trouble. The springs are truly amazing and having a dedicated time for just hotel guests was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    5.4
    Noisy and ugly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy music all over the hotel. We came to listen to the birds but it was impossible for the pop music. The hotel was ugly. Both in the room and in the restaurant.

    The view from our room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    9.6
    Luxury next to volcanic hotsprings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had lovely views of the foliage and the birds. The hotel staff surprised us with a banner and champagne for anniversary- they even wrote us a little note. The hotel is mostly a stay for the hot springs. The springs are unbelievable and the breakfast area offered a lot of selection and sweeping views of the pool and property. There is an area for guests only in the volcanic springs, which comes in handy during busy middays.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    9.2
    Luxury stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One receptionist was slightly rude to me when I politely asked if my room was ready just before the time I had been informed it would be, and she responded that it was not yet that time in a rather abrupt way which I didn't appreciate.

    This is a luxury resort and it certainly feels like it from the moment you check in and receive your wristband you know you've come to an exclusive place. I especially liked being able to use the hot springs before it was open to the public. Once you've checked in a golf cart collects you from reception and takes you to your room. The room was large with modern decor and an extremely comfortable bed. The shower was huge with a rainfall shower head. All in all a wonderful experience with extremely helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay with beautiful views, gorgeous spa and hot springs, and very accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited to one a la carte restaurant and the menu was ok but never changes.

    Loved everything. Very welcoming from the start. Beautiful property, great view, and the hot springs were amazing. Breakfast was also really good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    10
    Best hot spring experience I’ve ever had. Good job Tabacón.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wow. What an amazing place. Well worth the money especially since breakfast (buffet) and if staying only one night, two days of hot springs (check in and checkout day)are included in a room rental. The room was very nice. We also had the dinner buffet the and it was very good. $30 each but the selections of meat and freshly made poke’ made it worth it. Would love to go back there someday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful resort experience, not soon forgotten
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tabacon Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were there for 6 (probably longer than the average stay?) days and although the food is delicious it quickly became "same old". Could use a better baker and a grab and go snack/coffee bar.

    The property was beautiful and well maintained. They were very smart to allow for a private guest only hot spring area. It was like paradise. So quiet. Great staff and World Class Spa!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    8.3
    Worth the splurge to be on site at springs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room a bit musty, wait for shuttle for breakfast..

    Amazing hot springs, excellent service, great location. Live guitar music at dinner. Guest only from 8am to 10am.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    10
    Fabulous!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent service. The staff were really nice and friendly. We ate at the restaurant toucan and the food was delicious. They brought us a lot of free food. There was a gym which was a bonus. First class!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    9.6
    Expensive. Worth it. Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It cost me a small fortune to stay here for three nights, but it was worth it--I was not disappointed. The staff treats you like you are truly precious guests. The room was beautiful with a view of the volcano right out the sliding glass doors. It was my mom's 75th birthday present and I let the staff know ahead of time. They put a little mini cake and Happy Birthday banner on our room door for her. It was very special for her. The buffet breakfast is incredible. The hot springs are wonderful and a shuttle will take you there from the hotel in your bathrobe (it's only a short walk down the road, too). It's worth going when only hotel guests can be there in the morning or in the afternoon when the tour buses have left. It's very crowded in the evening and dark (so watch your step). I would highly recommend going to the spa at the hot springs. There is a special you can get as a hotel guest for a scrub, massage and mini facial. It was incredibly relaxing and the best spa I have ever been to. Again, the staff makes you feel as if you are a special guest and really takes care of everything you need. Loved it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    10
    Classy paradise near Arenal volcano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. The bar in the swimming pool was not our favorite spot to hangout as it was a little bit too US/sportbar-ish but there are plenty of quiet other spots such as Shangrila Gardens.

    The Tabacon has all it takes to be a world class top hotel: super friendly staff, very spacious rooms with all possible comfort, wonderful beds and view on the volcano, the best buffet breakfast you can imagine, and last but not least the most incredible landscaped garden with natural volcanic hot springs for bathing day and night. A true paradise!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    10
    Perfect location for relaxation and the volcano. Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect!

    Gorgeous facility. The thermal spa down the road was the BEST. Friendly staff. Nice restaurant. Great location. AND....the day you check out you still have access to the hot springs until 10:00pm. Loved it .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    7.1
    The springs at Tabacon should be on everyones' bucket list.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was pretty costly for the food and liquor. More so than warranted for the site. The springs seemed more tepid than in the past but that may be a response to better management and water distribution so you don't come out feeling like a boiled shrimp.

    Rooms were relatively new and very modern compared to our past trips to the resort over the last 15 years. Nicely done, particularly the showers. Also the staff was extremely helpful, very professional, and had a really good command of the English language, which helped getting me through my poor command of Spanish. The food at the springs was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel with a wonderful spa area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    First time ever we have rated a hotel a plain "10". This hotel is amazing! Never ever we had such a nice and relaxing atmosphere (both hotel and staff). Everything was like it should be. We have enjoyed every minute of our stay (which was unfortunately too short in retrospect). And the breakfast, oh that breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    7.9
    That thermal pools facility was great, I would recommend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms don’t justify the high price, stay elsewhere and come just for the hot springs facility’s

    That thermal pools facility was great, I would recommend spending a day/afternoon here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    10
    No doubt as of the 5-star hotel!! Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! Perfect!

    Everything! The reception desk perfectly welcomed us. They expected our early check-in and the room was ready at 12 pm. The room has a gorgeous volcano view, 1st class beds, espresso machine and even an incense! We wear bathing suits and robe, then their shuttle bus takes us to the thermal spa facility (you can walk there, too) Their thermal spa facility is the real running river and its temperature is perfect! not too hot so you can enjoy the facility for a long time. They also have a "hotel guest only" area, so we could indulge ourselves inside the romantic canopy. They serve our room service meal with a rose. All services here in this hotel was no doubt as of the 5-star hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    5.4
    It was our second time back to tabacon, first time was 10 years ago and amazing, this time no bueno
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at the hot springs were terrible, bartenders had zero personality and ignored us most of the time and would take their time getting our drinks. We only had the restaurant at the springs to dine at because the restaurant at the property was closed for renovations, wished we had known. We had to cab it into town every night because the food at the springs was so overpriced

    The hot springs were amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    10
    Top Hotels in the World
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    My girlfriend and I were recommended El Tabacon from some Costa Rican friends. This hotel is absolutely incredible and the staff was wonderful. They had complimentary valet parking, which was super helpful. The hot springs across the street are second to none. We were there for less than 24 hours and the staff even remembered our names! Besides all of this, the breakfast buffet was absolutely delicious. This hotel is a MUST STAY!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    10
    Amazing hot springs and beautiful property! Will definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Vegetarian food options could've been slightly better, but it was more a Costa Rica thing than a Tabacon thing.

    Loved our stay at Tabacon! Some of the friendliest staff that you'll find and their Thermal Springs are to DIE FOR!!! If this place is in your budget, would not choose any other hotel to stay in the La Fortuna area. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, amazing hot springs, wonderful, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The hot springs are beyond beautiful, making it a worthwhile experience for everyone in our group (age ranges 10 - 75). The complimentary breakfast was fabulous and the staff was exceptionally attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    7.9
    Good Hotel but getting too pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was good, Rooms were very clean.

    We booked a room for 3 adults When checking in we were told we only paid for 2 - not true. WE were uncharted. The next day the hotel sent a bottle of champagne with strawberries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    10
    perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    you need to wait a lot of time for hot water

    perfect! they help as a lot with problem. and the service was excellent! the hot spring too. and the cold weather not bother.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    10
    Stay a few days in paradise!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like, except maybe the price!!

    The room was great, we got upgraded! Great location by the volcano, nice and quiet, everything about the hotel/resort was wonderful. The grounds were so beautiful, well kept and so clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    10
    Nice/unique resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    these are nice resorts in area far from major city/airport give ample time 3-4 hrs for road travel from/to airport n travel during daytime

    Thermal stream from volcanic runoff beautifully designed to run through the extended property as small waterfalls

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    10
    AMAZING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was an amazing stay for my anniversary. From the chocolate covered strawberries in the room when we entered, to the amazing staff, it was great. Best part about staying here is definitely the HOT SPRINGS! They have a repeat customer for sure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    8.8
    thermal spas unique👍🏻staff polite 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    room service menu limited. no in room wine list. required ice in order to keep Rx refrigerated, staff did not note this so required our prompting twice daily.

    the breakfast spread was varied & tasty. the coffee was excelent. appreciated the availability of almond milk due to lactose intolerance. dinners were always ordered for room service. delivery time good but menu was very limited. lumch @ thermal baths was also varied & tasty. convenient charging to room account.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    10
    Awesome stay at Tabacon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot springs are a little far from the hotel rooms. Though there are frequent shuttles, we waited about 5 minutes to come back once, then decided to walk. It's only about 5 minutes on a good sidewalk, so you don't have to use the shuttles. We should have stayed another night!

    The hot springs are wonderful - the big pool is spacious and perfect temperature (though the music at the bar is sometimes a little loud or annoying, other times nice). The pools in the river are great, and it's such a pleasant walk up and down the river, trying the different pools. The plants and trees are gorgeous. There is an amazing huge tree above one of the top pools, blessing the area and all the bathers. The hotel room was perfect - clean, comfortable and well appointed. One of the most comfortable beds of any hotel. We also had a volcano view from our room, with beautiful gardens in the foreground.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed about the service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked the hotel in the Booking.com , it was $338. However, the hotel charged me $380. And it charged me extra $50 for service fee, but the staff didn't inform me this at all, I just recognized it when I was checking out. And after we checking out and paid the bill, I received another $40's bill when I had been back to us. I totally don't know what's this for! It's super annoying!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    10
    Paradise in the Jungle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we had to come back home. Wished we could have stayed longer!

    The treatment by the staff was outstanding! Being given a cool, damp, infused towel and refreshing drink as you are checking in sets the tone for the stay. Complete relaxation in a beautiful tropical environment. The thermal spring is amazing!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location. Excellent Spa and Hot Springs!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Honeymoon Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom shower was strange and caused a mess when you used it. 3rd party activities company needs to match the hotel staff when it comes to customer service.

    Beautiful location but the 3rd party company that handles activities for the guest didn't match the hotel staff when it came to customer service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    9.6
    Tabacon Resort Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From the seamless check-in and welcoming drink, hot towels... to the thermal pools and hot springs; everything was top notch! The grounds were beautiful, drinks awesome, and staff very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay unless you are a light sleeper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms have minimal sound dampening so loud neighbors, animal sounds, and the housekeeping staff's early morning conversations outside your room can really put a damper on your sleep. Also, the air conditioner was very loud while running and the starting and stopping between cooling cycles was enough to wake me up each time.

    Great location near La Fortuna for food options and very close to Arenal Volcano National Park. The staff were some of the friendliest people I have met. The hot springs are a nice way to relax for a few hours. Overall, a fantastic place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2017

    9.6
    The staff is beyond friendly, everything was super clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is beyond friendly, everything was super clean, and the food was incredible!!! It was impressive for me after so many years they still are competitive, can't wait to go again!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    10
    Felt kind of like a prisoner in that they had no shuttle to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Felt kind of like a prisoner in that they had no shuttle to take you anywhere unless you purchased one of their overpriced tours/activities. They also said the only way to see any of the sights or do any activities was to purchase a tour from them which was dead wrong. We found ways around their system, but it wasn't easy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    8.3
    Cool place but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms didn't look like the picture no tub in room. Checkin guy changed the room I was supposed to get

    Liked the springs they were awesome and the pool areas. Surrounding environment with the volcano was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    9.6
    Tabacon hotel was really a treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't like the pool area at the Thermal Spa (this was a little away from the hotel) or the buffet meal there. Too noisy, too many people and my husband experienced something gross on the men's change room floor.

    The access to the Thermal spa, particularly the Shangrila gardens that are reserved for hotel guests. The shuttle to this was always prompt. The entire property was beautifully presented and bar/ snack area very well appointed. Very good gym.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    7.9
    Very good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was awesome. Hot springs were great. Great customer service. Had our 22nd anniversary and the staff went out of their way to make it special. Will come back again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    9.6
    Very good experience at hotel, come with rain gear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Come with rain gear. It rained the entire time. :(. Also recommend coming with a rental car. Totally reliant on concierge for tour bookings and felt like he was gouging on the price.

    The accommodations are lovely. The hot springs make it worth the trip.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2017

    9.6
    Heavenly paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing service! Fantastic experience in all possible ways. We were treated like kings and queens from entrance to exit. Hot Springs are so lovely and our room was a dream. We can't wait to go back! Hotel uograded us to a nicer room and it was simply heaven.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    9.6
    Would highly recommend! Hot Springs are top notch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only downside (which would not hinder my decision to stay here again) is that outside of breakfast, the food options were just average for the price for such an amazing resort. My husband and I will gladly pay whatever price if the quality of the food demands it. We love to indulge in the local culture through local food and we just did not get that sense at our meals at Tabacon outside of breakfast. But there are several local lunch/dinner options within a short 5-10 min drive.

    Our room was beautiful. Very few rooms have a volcano view so do not stay here if you are looking for that. Access to the hot springs far outweigh any volcano view in my opinion. The springs are available to hotel guests earlier than the public as well as having an adult-only, resort guest-only area. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was amazing! The spa is a must do. One of my favorite spa visits to-date. The staff is amazing and always helpful. I promise Tabacon will not disappoint.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    7.5
    Definitely enjoyed the stay, but next time, will not stay off property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Orchid Room Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms not worth the price. Basic bathroom, not even a tub, much less spa tub. No balconies and for us smokers, we had to walk back by the entrance and had a "jail cell" in which to smoke. Very poor facility for us horrible smokers in such a luxury resort. It could have been made MUCH nicer. I realize their plan, but didn't like it at all. The food was fair in the buffet for a very high price. Not worth the cost at any point.

    Beautiful location and awesome pools. I feel so much better now. Great shuttle service from hotel to pools. Awesome staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Tabacón Thermal Resort & Spa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: