Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Costa Rica hotel reviews
  3. Alajuela hotel reviews
  4. Fortuna hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Springs Resort & Spa at Arenal

Reviews of The Springs Resort & Spa at Arenal This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

9 kilómetros oeste y 3.5 kilómetros norte del centro de La Fortuna, 21007 Fortuna, Costa Rica

#6 of 95 hotels in Fortuna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 232 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    10
    It was the best location and worth every penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was the best location and worth every penny! My parents, and 2 brothers stayed in the family suite which had more than enough room for the 5 of us. We loved the activities and hot springs. So happy we stayed at this wonderful resort.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    7.9
    The room was lovely with a wonderful big balcony overlooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It feels a bit Disney-esque with all the man-made pools. With the resort being so big it would be good to have some designated adult only areas.

    The room was lovely with a wonderful big balcony overlooking the volcano. stunning. The service is also excellent.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    10
    INCREDIBLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had our wedding here and it was nothing short of incredible. Jennifer and the entire staff went ABOVE AND BEYOND to make sure our 4 day long celebration was nothing short of spectacular. We are so grateful to Jennifer, who took the stress out of wedding planning by organizing all of our tours, transportation, meals and beautiful details of our special day. The Villa Palacio is AMAZING, the grounds are beautiful, food was great and service was TOP NOTCH. A huge thank you to Jennifer, Salvador & Maikol for making our wedding more amazing than we EVER could have imagined. Our friends and family were so impressed with this resort they are already planning their next trip! While even their standard rooms are spacious and luxurious, if you’ve got the money to splurge, upgrade yourself to one of their villas, you won’t be disappointed, they’re worth every penny! THANK YOU to The Springs & the entire staff for such an unforgettable weekend! We can’t wait to return for our Anniversary 😍

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    Incredible sprawling resort with something to do for everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff members were incredibly nice, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. The resort itself was very impressive. It was really fun walking around and discovering all the different areas of the hotel. It's worth exploring all the hot springs (don't forget the ones down by Club Rio near the river). The concierge desk was very helpful. We didn't plan many activities before we arrived because we wanted to get advice from the locals. They helped us decide what adventures would suit us best and we never felt pressured to choose a specific tour/adventure company. They even suggested that we don't book a guide for some activities and to explore on our own. Note: The resort is about a 20 min drive from La Fortuna. If you didn't rent a car, the roundtrip cost of getting to town is about $35-$40. Not really a negative thing, but think it's important to know if you want to grab a meal outside of the resort.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    The hotel is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner at the general restaurant was not very good - both food and service. The computer system was down at the moment of check out, what caused problems and was disappointing. I received the bill later via e-mail, however.

    The staff very friendly and helpful, highly appreciate. The signature restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    The grounds and facilities were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The grounds and facilities were amazing. Enough animals and activities on site that you don’t need to leave property. Saw monkeys, sloth, iguanas and many birds. Food and stafff were great too. Perfect views of volcano

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Obviously the hotel is relatively expensive and worth being aware that the meals / activities / transfers / tips can add up really quickly. I imagine this is particularly true for families travelling here - I didn’t see many child prices being offered.

    The facilities at the springs are incredible - the pool and numerous hot springs were great. Could have stayed at the resort for longer than our trip there just moving between hot springs!! The surroundings in the rainforest are great - seeing monkeys in the trees and enjoying the tropical plants around you. The activities at Club Rio were also great. We did tubing down the river which was really fun and also a tour of the animal sanctuary (all rescued animals). We found the tours were relatively comparable prices to tours offered in la fortuna, which we were pleasantly surprised about. Breakfast was delicious - with a chef to make you fresh eggs / omelettes / pancakes as part of the buffet. Worth filling up to get your money’s worth!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful views, amazing shower and jacuzzi tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Drinks and especially food were not great, especially given price, and it was difficult to travel off property at night given terrain

    Beautiful views, amazing shower and jacuzzi tub

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful resort with amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During our stay the main pool (coolest one at 90 degrees F. and a swim up bar) was closed for maintenance. No advanced warning when booking or communication during our stay when it would reopen. Wouldn't have been so bad if there was a lower temperature option in one of the other pools at the resort. Would have expected more from a highly rated resort!.

    Overall the resort is beautiful. Large rooms with amazing views of Arenal.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    After a long day of travel due to late flights, we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't anything about the experience we didn't love, had a great time.

    After a long day of travel due to late flights, we were greated at the entrance and from that point on we didn't have to worry about anything. Sandwiches were waiting for us in the room and the room meet every possible need. The staff were all great and the view was amazing. There was lots to do on site and even more within close proximity to the resort.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to visit and will return someday enjoyed all water features
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    possibly a kids area with babysitting available for a few hours so couples with kids could go relax and enjoy spa services

    club Rio was fun for the kids and didn't have to leave property Room was great and awesome view of volcano

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    10
    The hot springs are awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food and extra activities are expensive, but the experience is worth it.

    The hot springs are awesome! The breakfast is the best, and the view of Arenal from the breakfast balcony is perfect. Arenal is also seen from the room with all its glory. And the room was just awesome and big with a lovely private balcony. The gym is very well equipped. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. At the club Rio (short free ride from the hotel) there are fun activities such as horse back riding, canoeing down the river, rappelling and just walking pleasantly in the forest and relaxing by the river.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    9.6
    A lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive food. Breakfast not included in the room rate.

    Impressive rooms, wonderful views. Good for couples or families. Nice spa and gym facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    9.2
    Magical stay in the rainforest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wished we had a larger refrigerator and a microwave oven to heat up leftovers. It got a bit expensive feeding a family of 5 for all meals. The upstairs extra bed was pretty hard to sleep on. Our downstairs king bed was a bit lumpy.

    Loved the hot springs and how spread out the property was. We never felt crowded. Club Rio was fun and easily accessible. Our room was pretty comfortable. The volcano views were breathtaking. The bathrooms were very nice. The swim up bar was fun. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    10
    This Hotel is amazing, excellent service, excellent location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think that the info in booking is not enough to appreciate the great hotel it is, I would have stayed longer

    This Hotel is amazing, excellent service, excellent location, super clean, family friendly, excellent food, I am really sure we are going to be back in 3 or 4 years, the experience for all my family was spectacular

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Great amenities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sushi wasn’t too good

    Great amenities! The hot springs options were plentiful and wonderful. The view couldn’t get much better. Room was very clean, large, and comfortable. We will be staying here every time we are in Arenal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing landscapes. Hot springs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was pretty expensive. We only ate in the one restaurant, but having breakfast included would go a long way!

    Spectacular views and installations. The hot springs are beautiful. And the design of the room to maximize the view of the volcano... Wow.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    10
    Would recommend this hotel:resort in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing

    Truly an exceptional property and amenities!! It’s an all in one resort!! I’ve been to many 5 stars hotel/resort but none as nice as The Spring Resort and Spa!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    9.2
    We had an amazing time, I totally recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The distance away from the rest of Costa Rica kind of makes you stay at the resort.

    The hot springs were awesome. So many different springs made our stay very relaxing. I was worried we may be crowded in with a bunch of others but it never felt that way. The recreational staff were super friendly , and knowledgeable about the area. They advised us on best activities at the resort as well as other sites to visit. Most awesomely the showed us sloths in the trees !!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    9.6
    It was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room service breakfast was not good-cold eggs, burned bacon, and odd tasting toast.

    The hot springs all over the property and the white water tubing. The view of the volcano from our room was spectacular!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    10
    The room was spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was spectacular. The staff were friendly and responsive. The view of the volcano!!! It only perked through the clouds for a few minutes, but luckily we were sitting out on the balcony when it did. The hot springs were gorgeous. Everything was amazing. We arrived late for a 1 night stay and they gave us a late check out the next day without even asking. The woman who checked us in said she wanted us to have a little extra time to enjoy the property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    10
    Relax if want to, enjoyment if you please yourself and adventure if you dare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Next time I will book more than two nights, I think three is the perfect spot if you would like to do all the activities.

    Everything was it should be on any property. Staff was a first class, quality of food and preparation first class. Magical place and magical guest treatment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful resort and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was in a more remote location and some tours charged us extra to pick us up. That being said, going to town everyday isn’t necessary BC everything is on-site but if we wanted to, it would be an expensive Taxi ride.

    Waking up to a beautiful view of the volcano was breathtaking. The facilities were amazing: hot springs, game room, gym, cardio room, restaurant views, on-site tours.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    9.6
    A slice of heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was not as comfortable as other hotels I've been in. But ill take it for the surroundings!The food is a bit expensive. My husband tried the rib eye twice during our week and both times said it was ok, not great.

    The property is stunning. The entire back side of the resort is open air: the reception area, the beautiful bar area that looks right out onto the volcano, the restaurant, the massage rooms.... It's breathtaking! The owner is a fanatic for detail. Everything is done beautifully, yet it fits the surroundings (which are also gorgeous!) and does not feel hoity toity at all. We've stayed in 4 different regions in CR and this was BY FAR the most beautiful hotel we've stayed in. I also loved that the owner has rescued animals on the property. That was a highlight. I really wish we could bring our 5 kids back!! Tomorrow!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    A truely fantatastic place! I would have stayed longer if I could!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My friends and I came here for a birthday trip and it was all we could have ever hoped for. The staff is extremely nice and accommodating, the room was amazing, the entire property is a dream. They ever have activities so you never have to leave the property! And you won’t want to!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.6
    Superb all round, will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    unsurprisingly very expensive

    Superb hotel on all counts, room fabulous, with amazing view of Arenal volcano, vaulted ceiling, huge comfortable beds, invisible really effective air conditioning, impressive marble bathroom with jacuzzi tub and vast seperate shower. Every detail well thought out, down to emergency plug in torch in bathroom and dressing table with hairdryer and good lighting. Service as good as would expect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous views and a great way to experience the real Costa Rica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food at the on-site restaurants were good but not anything special. They are a little over priced for what you get.

    The view of the Arsenal volcano from our room was spectacular and the hot springs were very relaxing. The resort did not feel crowded although it was fairly booked up. You could always find your personal spring to enjoy in peace which was very nice. The rooms are very large and accommodate a family of four quite comfortably. The concierge was very helpful booking all the excursions in the area. The staff was very friendly. We loved it and would definitely come back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    8.8
    Magnifiscent property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food at the different restaurants was just ok. The hotel plus food are very expensive

    Magnifiscent property. The pools with hot spring water were fantastic. The vue on the volcano breathtaking. Staff very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    9.6
    Perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 3km road up to the hotel is in terrible condition, they really should get it seen to. Did make me wonder what i had booked =P The breakfast was good however given the price you pay for the hotel i was surprised that this was not included and was as expensive as it was. We think my girlfriend accidentally left a item in the hotel room. We emailed twice but didn't receive a response back.

    I booked this hotel as a surprise for my girlfriend for 2 nights as it looked stunning and a perfect place to propose. It didn't let me down. From the moment you get in the gate you feel that it is a special place, from the warm welcome of your dedicated bell boy to the picture perfect views offered in all locations. The reception hall is open to the outside giving it a breezy feeling and is beautiful. Plenty of places to sit and instant view of the volcano. You are welcomed with a drink and really hospitable staff. Getting into the room we were delighted with the size, the decor, facilities, views and the other surprises i had arranged (Candles, Bubbly, Rose Petals, Spa Bath). We could not fault anything in the room while we sipped our bubbly on the balcony that looked out onto the jungle and the volcano. The springs are the best we saw while in Costa Rica. As there are enough you are nearly guaranteed to find one empty. Their chlorinated pool are equally as nice, including a swim up bar and very alcoholic drinks ;) All the restaurants served delicious local food which we couldn't fault. Our engagement steak we had was one of the best meals of the trip. You do need to book a few days ahead for the main restaurant to get a space. The breakfast buffet has a lot of selection and was done well. Once again there was no better way to start your day than sitting eating breakfast with a perfect view of the volcano. Onsite there is a reasonable amount to do within their boundaries, or you can choose to go on excursions around the area. We choose to visit the sanctuary and do a night time frog walk. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and we got up close to lots of wildlife. All staff were friendly, trying to teach us Spanish, informed us of the country and their love of the wildlife and environment. They all spoke good English and offered a warm hello anytime they saw you, including the groundskeepers and housekeeping.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    9.6
    One of the best experiences ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the best hotels we have been. Amazing location, first rate infrastructure, friendly and efficient service overall, Diverse and well-organized activities, although expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    10
    A most luxurious stay. Great way to treat oneself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, the road into The Sptings is rather primitive, meaning rough and potholed. But then, it made a good contrast and impression upon reaching the property.

    Definitely a luxurious 5 star stay. Volcano view from the room is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    9.2
    Honeymoon in Costa Rica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    rocky 3.5 km track from main road a little challenging to navigate in the dark quite far from local amenities but at the same time good to be out of town

    Excellent friendly service, good food and good facilities Wonderful location and views

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2017

    10
    Paradise in the jungle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food options weren't great. Breakfast was divine but we were regularly disappointed with dinner.

    Wow. Super friendly lovely staff. Gorgeous facilities. Lots of hot spring pools all over the hotel. Amazing views of the volcano. The adults and the kids loved this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2017

    10
    Private stunning and fabulous for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A three hour tortuous drive from San Jose. It's lovely but very slow and twisty. Beware if you get car sick!

    The facilities are stunning, gorgeous views, and the resort is so spread out with plants everywhere it feels completely private everywhere you go. The staff is great and we loved all of the dining options.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2017

    9.6
    Do not miss the opportunity to visit the Springs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only wished we knew before we arrived that any part of a bathing suits that is white can be stained by the hot springs. However, the staff did inform us of this upon arrival.

    The Springs was a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beautiful surrounding area. The view of the Arenal volcano was amazing and the hot springs were fabulous. The staff were friendly and very professional. The food was very good and there were many selections.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2017

    9.6
    Paradise definitely!!! Great place to spend time in the hot springs!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They don't have taxis in the hotel available...we need to wait for 20 min for a taxi arrived from the town to the hotel to pick you up ...the hotel is 20 min far from the down town. But not big issue

    The termal water...the river club have many activities, the staff is so efficient & nice people always smiling 😃 Is great place!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2017

    10
    Place was awesome, I think that is the right word to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could do something about the access road, I mean is not a big deal, just a minor detail to make it a 100% perfect.

    Place was awesome, I think that is the right word to describe it. Friendly stuff, wonderful landscape, fancy and clean facilities. A 10 in my opinion.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2017

    9.2
    Breathtakingly beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entire facility shut down too early, thereby ending our night. There should be one spot open later, even if it's far away from the main rooms/area. Also we love music and expected some form of entertainment. Only walked past one person playing one time but never saw it advertised. Would have liked more poolside service (drinks, etc) Also woukd have liked outdoor yoga

    The food was very good. The service excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2017

    9.6
    Modern luxury in a tropical forest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurants on the property were mediocre (with the exception of breaksfast buffet) and overpriced. After the first night, we had wonderful dinners in the nearby town of La Fortuna. Also, it would have been nice to have extra towels around the multiple pools, especially near the more remote Perdido Springs, instead of a single towel station near the main pool.

    The location, facilities, amenities are perfection! The word that comes to mind is paradise. The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable, with finest finishes. The springs and pools are silmply amazing. Overall, the hotel is a gem! We saw wild birds and animals from our patio, while rocking in comfortable hammocks. Everything about the property speaks to the great effort to preserve the wilderness and make itself fit into the natural surroundings, rather than the other way around. The view of Arenal volcano from our room was majestic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    8.8
    The hot springs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wish there can be more food choice

    The hot springs!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    10
    Hot springs and pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Prices in spa is very expensive

    Hot springs and pools

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All staff were very friendly. Vista room was very comfortable and had a fantastic view of the volcano. Pool had amazing vista views. Excellent lobby.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    10
    Great, had a wonderful time.noth
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, everything was great v

    Very relaxing and comfortable. The food was fabulous and the scenery unbelievable spectacular.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    Beautiful resort, excellent services,great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful resort, excellent services,great!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.6
    Place was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Place was amazing! Cant wait to go back! You wont be disappointed!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great location and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food at the wet bar and the room service could be better. But the other restaurants were great

    Great location and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    Amazing place, rooms, view, and thermal pools!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing place, rooms, view, and thermal pools!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    10
    Great location to unwind & relax
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the termal pools - around the main building there are plenty, but down at Club Rio there are even more pools

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    Amazing romantic stay in a beautiful room with the most spectacular views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Get rid of the plastic straws...bio degradable please.

    The staff makes the hotel what it is!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Wonderful room and view. Pura Vida!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great!

    Loved the room and the view! Staff was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The buses

    The room, the view, the springs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.2
    Foam pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Foam pillows.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    9.6
    Great food, lovely setting, brilliant facilities, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very hard croissants (all I could think of)

    Great food, lovely setting, brilliant facilities, excellent staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.6
    A truly memorable and relaxing stay. The facilities are amazing; staff is outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the room was stunning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Details to Beauty style. Nature walk on property

    Beautiful a most for everyone who loves Nature and Themselves

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    10
    Our best vacation hotel we've ever experienced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The guides and staff, and of course the grounds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful all around! Amazing hot springs pool. Great sushi

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    10
    Magical place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot springs are incredible Food is very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The experience in the hotel was amazing i will come back very soon

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    9.6
    Our first trip away in years and it was well worth it. We love The Springs & Costa! Rica!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More salad options like spinach &/or arugula

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    9.6
    So amazing we stayed an extra night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing place, expensive but worth the experience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    10
    It was a fun and relaxing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bacon could have been better prepared.

    Pancakes! Lots of options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    10
    Fantastic in every single way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Absolutely incredible. Don't hesitate. Book today. This is the best hotel I hve ever been to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    10
    Just amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vista Grande Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is amazing beautiful views and has many activities to do within the hotel or they can set up tours outside of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    9.2
    Great for short stay, though pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price...very expensive

    Family suite amazing and spacious with volcano views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    10
    Loved everything. Peaceful, adventure, nature, best relaxing trip ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From the minute you arrive the best staff. Our villa exceeded our expectations Family cried on last day not to leave

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2017

    10
    Superb Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly Staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2017

    8.8
    Hot springs, view of the volcano, luxury room and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Inconsistent service

    Hot springs, view of the volcano, luxury room and amenities

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2017

    9.2
    Room, activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room, activities.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2016

    5.0
    Cold water in shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vista Guestrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cold water in shower No slippers in the room Higher price for that hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2016

    10
    Probably one of the best places we have ever stayed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Probably one of the best places we have ever stayed! Beautiful room, beautiful resort, wonderful staff! Very dedicated to ensuring your every need was taken care of. We arrived at 3pm on my daughter's 16th birthday. Not only did they have a beautifully decorated custom cake made and delivered to our room by 8:00pm, but also had personalized signs made to surprise my daughter. Definitely a birthday to remember! We also wanted to watch our alma mater play in the championship NCAA basketball ball tournament championship game, they put it on the big screen for us at the game room as well:) Tip notch all the way!

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2016

    10
    The staff is excellent and treats you like royalty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wi-fi wasn't very good in our room. This was important for us to be able to get updates on our daughter back home. The food was really good, but pricey.

    The staff is excellent and treats you like royalty. The hot springs were perfect and just a short walk from our room. The room was spacious with an amazing view of Arenal volcano. The sunset horseback ride was super fun. This is my new favorite vacation spot!

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2016

    8.3
    The view on the Arenal volcano from the hotel is amazing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although our room was great~ the size of the room, the comfortable bed, the wonderful bathroom and patio~ it smelled a little "musty". After a while we were used to it and it did not bother us. We thought it may be due to being in the "rain forest". It did not take away from our stay and the wonderful resort. The food was good, but not excellent for the prices on the resort.

    The view on the Arenal volcano from the hotel is amazing and the resort is laid out very nicely! Our room was great with a wonderful bed and very nice patio with hammocks and rocking chairs~ I could have stayed out there for hours! The staff and atmosphere around the hotel is great as well as the hot springs and offerings of great activities on the resort and near the resort! I would definitely go back and visit again!

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2016

    9.6
    Incredible views, hot springs, and on-and-offsite activities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Other than the fine dining, I thought the food was average. It was like they attempted to be fancy, charged a hefty price, but then missed on execution. The fine dining was great, but other than the bagels, the other food was average, especially for the price.

    Incredible views, hot springs, and on-and-offsite activities offered. Also loved the bagels!

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2016

    10
    Beautiful resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful resort! The hot spring variety and quantity was truly magnificent. From the moment we walked in, we were cared for professionally and cheerfully. This was our first overnight away from our normal oceanfront resort. We now plan to return to the Springs Resort for several days at a time during our annual trip.

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Springs Resort & Spa at Arenal Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: