Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Costa Rica hotel reviews
  3. Puntarenas hotel reviews
  4. Uvita hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Tucan Hotel

Reviews of Tucan Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

100 metros Este del BCR, 60504 Uvita, Costa Rica

#20 of 36 hotels in Uvita

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 304 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    Great setup, lots of open area to be social, or get some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don’t change a thing... love all the quirky touches, gives the place a great vibe! Cats are a great addition!

    Great setup, lots of open area to be social, or get some privacy. Superb hosting from Micheal and his team from dawn to dusk - always with heart and a smile. The passion shows!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    6.7
    Treehouse swaying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The traffic noise took away from the tranquility of the treehouse as it's basically just above the parking lot for the hotel. We were charged a towel rental

    It was a unique experience staying in a treehouse/platform cabin. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.6
    Good hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the tree house and it was not very clean when we checked in. There were leaves on the floor and it was very noisy at night.

    We really liked the atmosphere and the music. We could chill a lot whilst we stayed there. Miguel was very helpful and nice to us. The toilets and showers were being cleaned all the time!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.9
    Tucan hostel in uvita
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small and full with tiny spiders.

    Very close to the bus stop, markets and restaurants. The personal was very nice and the hostel is very cozy on the outside.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    7.9
    The staff were friendly and very helpful and it was mostly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were hard. And our room smelled like the windows needed to be open for a very long time!

    The staff were friendly and very helpful and it was mostly clean!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    7.5
    hot water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    too many mosquitos in the room (bungalow with patio) - mosquito net too short a bit expensive for what you get

    hot water good atmosphere, hammocks everywhere

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    8.3
    Chilled and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bungalow with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Basic, but that is not a negative. It is exactly what it is. I loved it.

    Chilled and very friendly. Was expecting much worse from the photos. The staff were excellent, particularly Miguel and his wife!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    9.6
    Best bang for the buck
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room could have done with more natural light, but no major problem since we only used it to sleep.

    Cosy atmoshere. Private toilet and bathroom. AC. Clean and equiped communal kitchen. Free coffee and tea all day. Free pool table. Fast wifi. Best cocktails @ moderate prices. Great Italian restaurant. Rental of bikes and surfboards at the lowest prices we’ve come across in CR. Quiet and green surroundings (plenty of Tucans and Iguanas here). A house policy in order to maintain the balance between a nice relaxed ambiance and a healthy nights rest. At one minute walking distance from the busstop/uvita city center (supermarket, bank, coffeeshop & gellateria, ...) 10 mon walking distance from free waterfall/natural pool. Close to Marino Ballena National Park. Close to beautifull Playa Hermosa surfspot (gets as much swell as Domenical but no crowds and as scenic as it gets).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    4.2
    The restaurant was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The building and the rooms are old and run down and not in a good state. In our room the only window was to the inner communal area and the Music, which is turned on from 8 am until 10 pm, was too loud for my taste. The kitchen is extremely bad equipped and dirty - so is the fridge - disgusting. In my eyes the only advantage of the location is the short distance to the public transport - I would definitely stay closer to the sea and Playa Uvita the next time - with or without a car. I did not feel welcome there and I would not stay there again nor would I recommend it to anyone. This was the worst experience in Costa Rica for me and my family.

    The restaurant was really good. The communal area is nice - lots of places to sit down and relax - great hangout with children to play pool. Nicely decorated. There is also a kids corner. The italian owner was open to all kind of requests and complaints and tried to help or fix immediately. The location is close to the busstation, restaurants and Shops.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    10
    Awesome place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We couldn’t think of any.. really!

    - Very friendly host and hostess! Really awesome guys, very helpful and had such a good time - Felt like home to us - Loved the hostel, the italian restaurant inside and chill vibe and atmosphere. The chef is brilliant! You don’t have to go out eating and otherwise there’s a kitchen you can use - We stayed for three weeks in Costa Rica and this was by far our favourite place to sleep - Coffee!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    6.7
    OK but not my kind of place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Music was way too loud. as a backpacker when i pay 30 USD to have a private room and i want to have peace& quiet, but there's no chance to have an early night because of the loud music (yes i complained at the reception). Also for that price, i expect to have a towel but they want to have a deposit (OK) AND to charge you extra for it!

    very spacey place, kitchen had everything what is needed. location is close to supermarket and bus stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.2
    Great value in a beautiful part of Costa Rica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It may not be ideal for really young children, as there is some loud music playing at times. Our kids (8+) loved it though.

    This exceeded our expectations and we ended up staying an extra couple of days. It has a large open space with hammocks, sitting areas, a well-stocked kitchen, a pool table, and a restaurant. The atmosphere is very comfortable and relaxed and the people were very friendly. We had a car, which is preferable in that area. However, you can walk to the stores and restaurants and easily bike to the beach. The owner went out of his way to help us with all of our inquiries. We really enjoyed this place and would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and colourful place with a great atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress was a bit too firm for me

    The communal area of Tucan is just such a colourful and chilled-out place to hang out - we felt really at home and loved cooking here, lazing about in hammocks and playing pool. Our 7 year old loved staying here! The lovely waterfall is only a 15 min walk away where you can swim and there is a decent-sized supermarket just round the corner for supplies. The Italian owners are really lovely, easy-going people who have created a setting and atmosphere that is hard to leave... looking forward to that shot of rum the next time we come, Ema and Mica!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful staff and very good facilities. Great place to relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The open area lacks a bit of daylight during the day, but we moved to the garden the catch some sun.

    Extremely friendly staff! Gave us all info we needed plus had nice discussions about life in Costa Rica. The place was clean, has a good open kitchen and the open space has plenty of hammocks and seats to relax. The treehouse was comfy and due to it’s higher location was nice and fresh at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    9.6
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved it all!

    Loved it!!! Finally a place in Central America I can rate above 9! It’s a super cool/chilled hostel. Lovely common area and kitchen and really nice staff! Location is also very good - 100m from bus station. So much room to hang out alone or be social.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    8.8
    Uvita visit with the family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows and mattresses could be much better.

    Great location, friendly and very helpful staff. Our 6 years old was absolutely happy with the toys and the games, great for a family with kids.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    6.7
    Nice common areas to relax, good location next to bank and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kitchen could really do with some tea towels to dry things up with. We never knew who were staff and who wasn’t, making a really weired atmosphere. Not all the staff were friendly, male younger man was particularly unfriendly and made us feel uncomfortable.

    Nice common areas to relax, good location next to bank and supermarket, the treehouse was great, fast laundry service, amazing dog!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing stay at Tucan hostel - the excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely amazing stay at Tucan hostel - the excellent facilities and warmth and kindness of the owner and staff really made our stay. Thank you so much Miguel! The highlight of our trip :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    8.8
    Generally good but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed on first night was sagging. Bikes available for use were not well-maintained and administration claimed that rental fee was required in spite of being offered on booking.com as "free" as well as on the policies card in both rooms we stayed in. In the end we were begrudgingly given the bikes for free.

    Great location, clean, bed on our second night was comfortable, shower was hot. Coffee available all day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    5.8
    I would not book there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No shuttle to the bus (as advertised) so I had to pay 8 Dollars every day to get there. Bicycles also not for free (1000 colones for one day). Owners were strange and unfriendly since I dared to complain about the missing shuttle service...

    Quiet area, nice, big garden.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    8.8
    Amazing hostel, cozy, but could use some curtain holders for when the wind is blowing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Curtains blew in our faces at night

    We enjoyed our stay, the only downside was the lack of sufficient bathrooms and the treehouse had a lot of wind (which felt good in the night time) however the curtains blew in our faces at night which was a distraction to sleeping. Other than that, it was an amazing place to stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    6.7
    Short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    "Room with garden view" was a treehouse. Stairs slippery since it was raining. Early check-in was approved but room not ready until after 2pm. Bottom sheet on mattress came off every time you moved. The breeze from the screened opening knocked the curtain & rod onto the bed during the night. Overall-no sleep.

    Location was good. Great public space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    7.9
    nice hostal type hotel close to restaurants and dupermarket
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were unlucky with our choice of bungalow which was in the garden like a shed with birdsnet around which did not keep the insects out and was hot. But the idea was great and rhe room nice.

    nice atmosphere, creative outlay, good bathrooms and showers

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    8.3
    I loved my cabina in the back area .
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Most of the staff were awesome!! Some tried, but perhaps were new, so not as helpful. Some were a little cold at first, Some made me uncomfortable and were not friendly. Kitchen accessories need to be replaced.

    I loved my cabina in the back area . It is great they are pet friendly . I felt really comfortable enjoying my time and relaxing there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    6.3
    Location near bus stop, restaurants and supermarket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I just staid one night so eventually I didn't have the time to discover the positive side of this hostel but personally I didn't like it. Everything felt worn out and not well taken care of. It has potential but needs to be revamped, I think. Overall still does the job of cheap staying in Uvita without major inconvenient.

    Location near bus stop, restaurants and supermarket.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    7.1
    It is everything well clean, and the hostel has a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was in the tree bedroom, it is a beautiful room but you can hear the noise of the cars and trucks at night, and the room don’t have glass on the windows, so you can’t control the wind flow. The bikes are cheap but not good.

    It is everything well clean, and the hostel has a good layout.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    7.1
    Great location in uvita. Really chilled hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Matress in bedroom made of foam and walls dusty. No free bikes or shuttle as advertised. However cost for bike only 2 dollars which we thought was very reasonable but owner should update website and info sheets at hostel to reflect current pricing

    Excellent location with relaxed and friendly communal areas. Staff were great very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    5.8
    Bed was really uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was really uncomfortable. I got back pain from it. Also, there was a mix up with the reservation and the owner was very quick to accuse us of not having met the check out time until she realised that we had actually paid for another night. And i must say although the english breakfast was good, the gallo pinto was the worst i have ever had...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff,nice place,good food for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly and helpful staff,nice place,good food for breakfast and for dinner,or shared kitchen,everything clean...I felt there very comfy and relax.I enjoyed the time there..100%yess

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    4.6
    Endearing appearance and fun public space doesn't compensate for fundamental problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "Private Bungalow" really, really needs to have mosquito nets installed over the beds - got covered in terrible bites both nights, despite plugging in the bug repellent thing and wearing long clothes. Laundry service was nice, but we waited over 7 hours to finally get clothes back after making sure they knew our sleeping clothing was included so we'd need it that night. Staff was also nice, but offered confusing directions that weren't necessarily right for access to local sights. Plumbing system seemed to get screwed up during our stay - really bad smell coming from some rooms and the toilet tanks started to fill with plant material. Communal kitchen stocked with rusty, difficult to use utensils. Location not great if you want to access the beach - expect a longish walk.

    Communal space was nice - lots of hammocks to relax and pool table to use. Staff friendly, free coffee in the morning. Very close to a pretty nice restaurant across the highway, grocery store, and bus stops.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2017

    6.7
    Neat accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms could have been more clean. A lot of dead bugs and alive bugs in the room. You can find a small insect graveyard around the airconditioning. A simple insect roster infront of the window would solve this problem. The shower was good and clean.

    Staff has been great. We just stayed here after our Corcovado adventure for a warm shower and a good sleep so not really used all the facilities. However the staff has been very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    7.1
    Basic, clean and quit expensive, but good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s quit expensive for the basic rooms. The location is a bit far from the beach. You can rent a bike for $2 but it’s still a bit far to the beach. There is not so many to do in the evening in the surrounded area. We had some problems with booking a tour with them and after this issue the male owner didn’t speak or look at us anymore. Not even when we checked out, not so nice and not very friendly.

    Basic rooms. A big and nice common area. The restaurant by the hotel is good! We had dinner and breakfast and it was all lovely. Almost all the staff is nice and speaks english very well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    9.6
    Cool and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs new pillows...

    Run by an Italian couple, the staff is extremlely nice and answer every question. The hostel is very cool with great music played during the day. Right in the center of Uvita but really quiet! Also the restaurant is great. And they love animals :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    7.5
    Good atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff for the kitchen is not very clean and tge bathroom smelled bad.

    Good location, close to the slide-waterfall and 15 minutes by bike to the nationalpark (you can rent a bike in the hotel for around 2$). The people are very nice and the atmosphere is there is great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    10
    Amazing staff, great food & cocktails, cute & quirky hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were really friendly, breakfast was super tasty and only about £6. There's lots of information available on things to see/do in the area which really makes things easier when trying to plan what to do. Really quirky interior decor, we stayed in the bungalows which was a fun experience in itself. Everything was nice & clean too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    10
    I would definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel! The owner is so adorable. She is Italian and live sin Costa Rica since 15 years so shes speaks English, French, Italian and Spanish! Our room was perfect for the 3 of us! And the breakfast is really good and cheap. Uvita is a small but nice place with that "Pura Vida" feeling! I strongly recommend this hotel and if I come back to Uvita I will definitely come there again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    10
    The best hostel in Uvita
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    The best experience in Uvita! The owners are just great people, create the best home-like athmosphere! I loved the morning´s classical music, evening´s rock music jamming, pool table, hammocks,... All was just perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    4.0
    Third world hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Way too old and unclean. It was probably very nice back in the days. But it's just too basic and is a breeding site of mosquitos . Was just a nightmare to stay there.. The room was super mouldy smelling. The mosquito nets were all broken open, there's no way to close them. We had to stay up for hours to kill the mosquitos. No exaggeration. God knows when the hammocks and showers were last cleaned. Mosquitos everywhere in the bathroom. When you turn the shower on, all of them fly up from the water on the floor that has not drained properly.

    .A minute or so walk to everything you need: shop , bus stop , restaurants. Waterfall just 15min stroll away. It is well deco-ed, funky surfers style.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    9.2
    Atmospheric hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was good

    Love the whole energy of the place, and really enjoy the food in the restaurant. We enjoy the river waterfall pools and the beach and toucan is in between. Close to grocery stores, liquoria, bank, and restaurants. Has a good shared kitchen for those who like to cook and a real variety of sleeping choices. Hot when we were there and thankful for good air conditioning in our particular room. Lots of different places to sit both covered and uncovered around the property

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2017

    3.8
    Sleepless nights on bad mattresses!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was charged extra C12.000to the total given. Worse was the mattress of beds very old and hard holes uncomfortable! Never going back nor recommend to anybody.

    Just close to beaches.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2017

    9.2
    Great place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to ask a few times to ensure laundry was done in time for us to get morning bus. (It was done just in time!)

    We booked a room with AC, very comfortable & spacious. Staff were friendly & informative. Hammocks to chill out in. Free bike rental 👍🏻

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2017

    6.3
    Basic, but pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen wasn't always as clean as it could have been. The rooms were a bit like prison cells.

    This is a basic hostel, so that is what you get. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The outdoor areas were pleasant to hang about in.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel to chill out with many facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shuttle to beach is only one way. Information on available Tours and surroundings was minimal. Very small village, not located at the beach, which we actually did expect. Not a good place to go surfing.

    Many facilities in common area, airconditioning in room. Bikes available.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderfully warm welcome by Tray and Betta!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderfully warm welcome by Tray and Betta! They waited up very late until I arrived on my first night (after some flight delay). They were most helpful in finding transport for me from San José to Uvita. Very relaxed atmosphere with all amenities very close by. After a few days, it really felt like a second home, especially with all the hammocks in the common area!!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2017

    9.6
    Stayed for 6 nights of solid sleep in a comfortable bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They need a new sharp knife in the kitchen.

    I really enjoyed my stay at Tucan. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm during the low season, so I had it all to myself for 4 nights out of 6. It was bliss. The bathrooms were always clean and the kitchen was useful. The food in the restaurant was okay. It was very tasty but there could have been more shrimps to the ratio of the huge volume of pasta. The bruschetta starter and the ice cream desert was a nice touch to the menu. The property is close to the bus station and the supermarket, which was perfect. It is only a 10 minute walk to the Pura Vida gym and a 30 minute walk to the yoga studio I had chosen. Perfect place for a chilled out detox and the staff were super helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2017

    9.6
    Great place to chill! Perfect travel base to explore region
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities Proximity to Uvita centre Local travel desk advice Restaurant Consistent good Wifi range Attention given to each host for any last minute request.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    3.8
    Leaving!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was stinky, not clean. We have inform reception but they didn't care.

    Leaving!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    9.2
    Although the bedroom was a bit small, the owner was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the bedroom was a bit small, the owner was very helpful and honest with the tours, and the place is very familiar and comfy

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    10
    good vibe
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    chill place near the main bus station and supermarket.. friendly personal. good food. good vibe

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    7.9
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were not very comfortable.

    Great staff. The rooms were clean. Location okay. Very good food. Order the pesto pasta, chicken optional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    7.5
    The kitty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower water wasn't hot.

    The kitty

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    The good vibe and good people
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The good vibe and good people

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    Bello
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tucano is a brilliant hostel in wich the hosts Michele and his girlfriend are always available for your needs. I felt at home!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.5
    Great environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A/c was very loud

    Great environment. Perfect location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.2
    Great atmosphere, great value for money. Would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Vibe

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    10
    super friendly owners, all clean, nice atmosphere, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    super friendly owners, all clean, nice atmosphere, nice kitchen and strong wifi... we would come again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    7.9
    Very nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are quite small and dark

    Very nice and helpful staff. Nice common area outside with hammocks in the shade.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    Had a positive stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Free use of kitchen. Friendly staff. Very good smoothies.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The roof of the tree house was really noisy st night.

    The staff was wonderful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    10
    I give them a 10. Really liked this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really cool vibe. Cool public area. The pool table was surprisingly decent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.6
    Great atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great atmosphere. Good food and value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    7.9
    The common rooms are nice, good location and very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed wasn’t really comfortable and the room for 4 people is really small

    The common rooms are nice, good location and very friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    8.8
    Super good wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not many people were staying here.

    Super good wifi

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    7.9
    The Tree House is very beautiful and it was a very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Tree House is very beautiful and it was a very good experience to sleep there. The staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    7.5
    Good location, close to the waterfall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location, close to the waterfall. friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent accommodation and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent accommodation and very helpful staff. The local coffee shop served the best cheese cake so far on our trip .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    10
    Great place , recommend it..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    People here were nice helpful. The banks foood a stap away. Love it be back

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    10
    One of the best Hostal on my trip in Costa Rica
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is super friendly, and they have a house tree which I will definitely book next time :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms got a bit hot, but nothing unbearable.

    The lady that runs the restaurant and most of the hostel is great. so friendly. she felt like amother to us! Haha! So grateful for her the location is great. 20 min hike to a waterfall, 5 min walk to a grocery store,restaurants and bus station. The communal areas are spacious!

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2016

    8.8
    Staff were super friendly and that is important when you are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Staff were super friendly and that is important when you are travelling alone and kind of clueless! Staff became my friends and I got to relax here. Would love to come back

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2016

    9.2
    Realy nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Realy nice staff! Lived in the tree house and it was great! Very, very clean bathrooms and toilets. I would realy recomend this hostel for Uvita!

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2016

    7.9
    Staff was always very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room felt damp and smelled of mould but still enjoyed the rest of the facilities.

    Staff was always very helpful. Colorful and chill place that made for a nice stay. Short walk to a beautiful set of waterfalls/pools

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2016

    6.7
    We liked the open space, the artsy feeling and the chilled...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were small, smelly and didn't vent well. Everything looks like it hasn't been updated in a while. It is a cheaper place, so it's ok...but I wouldn't want to stay longer than 2 days. Kitchen facility was ok.

    We liked the open space, the artsy feeling and the chilled out vibe. The Staff was very welcoming, all Italian/American...they were knowledgeable, family oriented and cared for the guests. Good Wifi. I could have a client call there with little problems.

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2016

    6.3
    This is a backpackers place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    cockroach in the bathroom Crappy bed.

    This is a backpackers place. The rooms are really basic: saw a huge cockroach in the bathroom, the bed is of pretty bad quality (including the wooden frame with which i hurt my legs a number of times). I had a private room and cannot imagine staying at a dorm here (but to their credit I am high earning professional who has not stayed in hostels for over 10 years, only did it this time for the fun of meeting other young people). They have a shared fridge in their communal kitchen which is handy if you don't mind the disgusting things you will see upon opening it. The onsite "italian" restaurant is very handy and friendly, good to have for basic meals.

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2015

    8.3
    Staff and owners were wonderful and met lots of travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not close to the beach but daily shuttles

    Staff and owners were wonderful and met lots of travelers....close to waterfalls which are a must....food was good as was morning coffee and close to a variety of sodas and grocery store....

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: