Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4 stars

Posidonos Avenue, 8042 Paphos City, Cyprus

#17 of 236 hotels in Paphos City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 553 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not enough small snack options available at lunchtime if on B&B basis. Restaurants don't offer a la carte option for dinner.

    Lounger position can be chosen from ones available when you arrive and can be kept for duration of stay. Staff will also accommodate requests to move where possible. Variety of pools and quieter areas to relax.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    very good hotel with great location and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    location is great, the staff are lovely, helpful and welcoming, the rooms are very clean, the beach near the hotel is amazing. breakfast was delicious. good value for your money. I will definitely come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    From the minute we walked in to the beautiful foyer to the time we left we loved the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing about this hotel that I could fault.

    Great way of ordering omelettes and being brought direct to table. Breakfast buffet absolutely fantastic and excellent service from waiter bring tea and coffee to table.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Welcoming helpful staff, comfortable room, great location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Opera music in the Italian restaurant, could be soft relaxing Italian music.

    Welcoming helpful staff, comfortable room, great location, helpful details like putting beach towels in the room, keeping same sunbeds for all of our stay, wide variety buffet breakfast, putting small trash basket on breakfast table.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    This is a beautiful hotel in a good location, the staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the price was a little high just for a weekend with breakfast also we were given an inland room which could get very noisy with traffic .

    This is a beautiful hotel in a good location, the staff are pleasant and really helpful. The breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice. The outside area is gorgeous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Exceeded our expectations!! 😃
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, staff were amazing, can’t believe this hotel is only 4*, the service we received while we stayed was thee best!!! We’ve stayed in a lot of hotels but this one simply exceeded our expectations! Every little request we had was honoured by the management. Looked after my dietary requirements, restaurant managers Christopher and Raj, plus the sous chef Dmitri was absolutely fantastic, credit to the hotel they are!!! Plus they serve halal food too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location just on sea front , lovely board walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hash browns were onto served one day! :(

    Lovely location just on sea front , lovely board walk straight into main strip. 5-10mins walk. Wonderful friendly staff. Rooms were amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable reunion with honeymooning friends. Plenty of restaurants/bars nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for two nights at the end of February. The temperature in our room was far too high overnight, despite having apparently turned the heating off. Breakfasts plentiful with lots of choice, but only of average quality. Awful tea!

    Beautiful sunsets from our sea view room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    The hotel upgraded us as it was my wife’s birthday and there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel upgraded us as it was my wife’s birthday and there was a cake in the room- the hotel was 15min leisurely walk from the harbour - the breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Loved our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We stayed in this resort for 2 nights as a part of our Cyprus self driving trip. We had booked a superior sea view room and that is exactly what we got when we reached. There was plenty of space for parking our car. The reception staff were very courteous and helpful . Our beautiful room with a balcony had clear views of the sea and an amazing view. We sat in the balcony and enjoyed our tea with amazing views of sunset. The room was well equipped and the service was efficient. I missed the breakfast but my husband and son were singing praises. The breakfast they serve should not be missed at all. A very big spread and a lot of variety to choose from . Dont miss the varieties of their yoghurts. The staff serving breakfast are excellent and very attentive . We were celebrating a birthday and the hotel was very kind to serve us one of the most amazing cakes. We enjoyed every bite of it. The resort is situated just 500 meters from the best cafes, restaurants and historical sites of Paphos. Just across the street their is a huge supermarket selling everything you may need. One of the evenings we went to a nearby Chinese restaurant to some food packed. All well known restaurants were quite easy to drive to. Loved our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely! We'll come back again soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sofa bed for the kids could be improved somewhat (they're very uncomfortable to sleep on). Also, it was our 3rd time to the hotel and we couldn't manage to book a single massage treatment as it was too busy. We hope to do so next time.

    Everything -this is an amazing hotel to which we keep returning. Beds are very comfortable, pillows as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with good entertainment and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room with a better view.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent service. If we had been staying longer I would have asked for a room with a better view. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Very recommended hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor heated pool was not warm enough. We had great expectations but it was a disappointment.

    The hotel is very central. You can go by foot to many restaurants, coffee places and boardwalk. The airport is 20 minutes away. The hotel staff are extremely nice and helpful and when we asked for a late check out we got it without hesitations. Our room was arranged even in the evening (as well as in the morning). The breakfast has a variety and again the staff are very nice. We took a sea view room, which was very clean and comfortable. There is a nice window between the bath and the bedroom so you can take a shower right in front of the view. We would definately stay there again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable seafront hotel close the the harbour and many restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lot of building work going on along the seafront at the moment, but that will be finished before long.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was excellent, especially the home made bread. With the bus stop right outside, getting about and exploring the area was easy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Very good stay subject to front sea view room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The side sea view room was very noisy - overlooking a busy street. We have managed to stay there just for one night. Either you take calm front sea view room which benefited greatly to our evaluation or ....better not.

    The management dealt quickly and very efficiently with our concern of noisiness - we were upgraded to the front sea view room (free of charge though we were ready to pay the supplement - they were quickier in suggesting). The breakfast was really good. The indoor swimming pool and facilities were quite good and staying there out of season we really enjoyed it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Evreything was appsolotley perfect, the room, breakfeast, the spa, the looby and the view. The stuff were very very nice and went out of their way to folfiel evrey reqest.We had a wonderful stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities have changed from previous years and we would not stay here again. The beds seemed very hard and there was a lot of work happening on our floor all the time. The spa has gone up in price and when asking questions about treatments the staff were quite rude. You cannot use the sauna or the steam room at your leisure and have to book which meant we were not relaxed and comfortable using the pool/spa area and this is one of the main reasons we always used to use this hotel, we loved the spa in the day. You no longer get complimentary wine in your room but the price to stay goes up.

    The location of the hotel is perfect that's why we have stayed every year so far.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    highly recommended, location, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    highly recommended, location, breakfast. staff and room are excellent. very convenient to come from the airport since the bus stop is next to the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    This place was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Alexander the Great exceeded our expectations. The hotel is beautiful! It has an amazing breakfast buffet, a large and beautiful pool, and it overlooks the Mediterranean Sea. We were only there for one night but we definitely plan to return in the future. We are very happy we chose to stay here!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    A nice hotel with great staff, nice outdoor pool and a poor beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Indoor pool should be a bit better. Although the hotel right next to the public beach, the beach doesn't look nice at all. I wouldn't choose this place for my summer vacation. Finally, dinner was a bit over-priced (although very good :) ).

    Hotel looks very nice from inside. It's clean and comfortable. Staff members are friendly and professional. Outdoor pool looks also very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    We highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We visited the hotel at winter time, so some of the pool facilities were closed (such as the Jacuzzi parts) even on sunny days. It would also be nice if the gym closed a bit later than 20:00.

    The room was clean and comfortable and the facilities at the hotel were excellent. The staff were gracious and always available to help out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Highly refined and very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sharp corners on drawer handles in bedroom. Sliding door would be better on wardrobe. Safe usage instructions had been rubbed off. Lack of instructions for use of showers and bath.

    Friendly smiling staff. Excellent breakfast buffet. Good wifi. Choice of pools and restaurants. Superb location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Staff, Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have been more coffee in the room.

    The staff was absolutely lovely, they were all friendly and quick to respond to requests. We even got a complimentary bottle of wine for my birthday. Breakfast was great, plenty of options. The hotel had a lot of facilities and it seems that in the summer there is a full program of things to do on premise (we went in the winter). Easy to walk into Pafos by the sea and there are some very sweet cats wandering around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    In general we did enjoy our staying at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that in the morning while we were in the room getting ready to go downstairs, the staff member came in to check on the bar and count the bottles. That was really annoying and inconvenient. I believe that it could have been done later.

    The staff is super friendly! The service is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    3.3
    Nop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet sink was blocked, worst thing is that they don't even know about Cooking, Frying or cutting Vegetarian and Meat dishes separately ... They say a long list of facilities but when you ask, they are not available or fully booked ect... kind of excuses

    Staff kind of,,, okay ..!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.8
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The location was perfect. The staff are very helpful and kind, always attentive and excellent customer service by making it personal. The spa is one of the best spas i have been to. I would strongly recommend the therapist Raffaela for the spa treatment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel, excellent service.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The security guard at the parking lot was very rude and as we tried to enter the property he shooed us away saying that there was no parking space and that we could not enter the hotel parking, after we called him again and said that we are staying there, he suddenly changed his face and apologised immediately for his behavior.. Apart from that everytbinf was great.

    Very positive and amazingly polite staff, me and my fiance had a great time and we relaxed a lot. The plaxe was sweet, comfortable and clean! Amazing food and service!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    A great option for staying in Paphos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bath robes were tiny. Room was a little warm (even in December), think the air con was just set to heat Outdoor pools freezing (probably lovely in the summer!)

    Lovely hotel with a great location right on the beach and walking distance to everything in Paphos. Heated indoor pool ideal for 'off season' along with sauna/steam room. Spa nice (I had a massage) The sunbed allocation system worked well for us, and saves getting up early to place towels! Large rooms, clean with everything we needed (tea/coffee, safe and even English TV channels) Pool area nice and great for lunch/snacks and drinks on the sea front. Just cross the path for the small beach (sea was a little chilly in December!) Large comfortable bed. Friendly helpful staff. We had a front sea view room which was great for sunsets

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location, friendly and professional staff, a home from home. This is not only the best Hotel in Paphos, its now one of my favourite 5 Star Hotels in the world.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked our room and view( city view ). We loved the comfort and cleanliness of our room and the rich breakfast and dinner buffet wich we tried. Staff was friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    The Room was great and the hotels staff were a credit to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only let down was the indoor pool and the gym were not of a good standard.

    The Room was great and the hotels staff were a credit to the hotel itself.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Paphos in winter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the carpet should be renewed.

    It was my first visit to Cyprus. At low season the hotel looks like the most quiet and lovely place. The personnel doesn't leave anything to be desired, everyone always ready to help. I also liked dress code at restaurants, in winter it is not so important, but when it's hot I prefer not to meet people in their underwear at the restaurant. Generally the hotel looks respectable, I felt very comfortable there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Amazing stay! Definitely returning. Alexander the Great hotel could be easily a 5*.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy and noisy breakfast area (this is always an issue with big hotels). Personnel though is super friendly and trying its best! Certain items on the breakfast buffet could be fresher.

    Superior sea view rooms are great, offering amazing views to the castle and to magic sunsets. Cleanliness and well maintained furniture and equipment are top. Complimentary wine, sweets and fruits from manager in the room, make up always an excellent welcome as returning guests to the hotel! Thank you! Quality toiletries and comfortable mattress are definitely a plus!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent and comfortable stay in a wonderful hotel, with great choice of food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The opening hours of the indoor swimming pool. Earlier opening from 7.00am rather 8.00am

    The helpful and friendly staff, from the front desk to the cleaners. Wonderful choice of eating options over 10 days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    A great hotel in Paphos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was elegantly designed, and christmassy decorated which made us feel the christmas spirit, especially our daughter liked it too much! Every staff person was very polite and helpful. The room was not so big, but it was fine to accomodate the baby cot as well and there was still space. Cleanliness was exceptional. Facilities were as expected for a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was endless of quantity, and variety, while the quality was exceptional! As a summary... everything was perfect!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    lovely, luxurious and welcoming :))
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    great breakfast, great staff, amazing location on the beach close to the harbour and all the main attractions. and the route of the bus from the airport to the harbour and many more bus lines as well. we had a wonderful time, everyone was so nice and welcoming. we even used the tennis courts of the hotel :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Great holiday hotel by the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Too much muzak. When musical entertainment in the bar, the lobby area got both the muzak and the music from the bar - too noisy.

    Good buffet breakfast, comfortable room and great staff. Great location right on the sea with lovely walks along the coast and into town. Lovely lobby/ seating areas with good cocktails and snacks. Love the cats around outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    everything was perfect and the staff was very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was perfect and the staff was very helpful and full of smiles. the room was very big and clean with very nice sea .view .dinner and breakfast was better than five star hotels

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    The swimming pool was really nice, the rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a room with a view to the parking lot and with 2 single beds put together instead of a double bed.

    The swimming pool was really nice, the rooms were comfortable. It was nice that we received welcome drinks. The hotel is close to nice restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was cramped. There was an over anxiousness to make sure you were having a nice day.

    The location on the waterfront and the coastal path to the main port area made for a nice stroll. The ease of parking and security on the site was reassuring enabling use of the hotel as a base for day trips.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Luxury, great customer service in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC in bedroom not that affective, the resident manager was most helpful in sorting out the problem

    The general areas in the hotel were light & breeze, flowers lovely art work and information on boards up to date.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    will come again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great staff,great scenery,loved every minute of our stay and will stay again. hotel super clean and neat, made our visit to Cyprus super special!! thank you for every little detail that you gave all your attention to

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic location fantastic staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel should arrange a pick up from the airport it is very important

    We got a great hospitality and help in all we needed ;tourist information changing the room to a better one with front amazing sea view ,recommendation for nice taxi driver and restaurants with unique atmosphere .the room arranged and clean twice a day . The swimming pool Large clean with a best observation of Paphos old port We liked the hotel and the location very much . Dalia and Rafael

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Amazing would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    I went to this hotel for my sisters wedding. The accommodation was great and the staff were incredible. Nothing is too much trouble. The wedding day was amazing too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Convenient location, great breakfast, lovely rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast selection was great! The view from our room was fantastic! (seaview and nice balcony!). The bathroom was nice wand modern and well equipped. Great staff! very helpful...during and after our stay (I forgot my dress in the room and they found it and sent it to my home!) Location was very convenient!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Impressive Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel needs look overhaul and little bit more action, too quiet.

    Staff greeting is excellent, always prompt to help and facilitate. Just ask for it and its done. Very professional service, very clean, maintenance is top.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Probably one of the best locations in Paphos - loved it !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed was good but pillows were too thin and soft. Had a couple of issues with the sun-bed allocation system - the attendants didn't seem to care very much when someone else took the sun-beds that had been allocated to our room. The Cabaret shows by the entertainment staff were a bit 'loud and shouty' to put it kindly - I think they need to get professional acts a few more nights in the week.

    Fantastic location, excellent breakfast buffet, room was lovely with a nice sea view. Staff were all very friendly. Easy stroll to all the attractions of the harbour and old town. Lovely pools and liked the idea of the Serenity 'adult only' area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Great quality of service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gym could be open 24/7 instead of until 8pm only.. I'd suggest to build in the door from the hotel in a way you do not need to go through the spa.

    Great stuff who really listens to their guests. I had some challenge at the beginning with the room and it has been sorted amazingly well! Great location, walking distance along the beach to the port, great spa with range of treatments and massages, great view from sea-view rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Awesome hotel, amazing staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "side sea view" is basically 10 degree view of the sea, majority is just the street and lots of building work, granted that the building work would be only temporary but I'd advise not to get excited over that choice of room.

    Staff were lovely, Facilities were clean and plenty of them. Swim up bar Drink and food prices were very reasonable, plenty of imported spirits in the cocktails. Personal sunbeds for the duration of your stay. Room was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    All round excellent hotel, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 3 or 4 hotel restaurants , weren't quite our style but great for half-boarders. One irritating thing was the hotel restaurant having a long trousers and closed shoes dress code for men. My husband had smart shorts and leather flip flops but wasn't permitted entry over a man in jeans and trainers. There is night time entertainment- again not quite our style, it was bit outdated for us; I think it seemed even more so being next to the Almyra hotel which had jazz cafe style live music and ATGBH entertainment had themed nights Motown, 50's etc. of But the Allstar entertainment team were a super lovely and super talented!!

    My husband and I stayed at ATGBH for 1 week and loved everyday. In terms of facilities there is something for everyone - pool, outdoor jacuzzi, serenity pool (adults only quiet), beach (public), gym, spa...its super clean, warm, friendly, efficient service. We really liked the sunbed allocation system, it meant we did have to wake up before dawn to get a decent sunbed. Superb location in Paphos minutes walk from the marina which has loads of restaurants (some great ones), bars and the archeological park - which is a must see!!! The mosaics are incredible. It's a great catch all hotel - couples, families, old, young. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Another great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving😐

    Always get a great stay here. Staff are amazing nothing is too much trouble. Good breakfast. Good lunch choices. Great pool areas and the best bargin in Paphos.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    What a hotel- excellent excellent excellent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cabana Sea View with Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like. Perhaps the showers at the spa could do with a freshen up and definitely invest in air con in these changing rooms

    That bed is hands down the best bed I have ever slept in. The whole stay was excellent. We had a cabana room with our own pool and it was out of this world. All staff were so friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return in 8 weeks!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is beautifully presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautifully presented. The staff very friendly. Lovely welcome drink on arrival. All areas of the hotel were immaculate. Brilliant loacation. Pool is fantastic. The breakfast was amazing, very well cooked, quality ingredients. A real treat to stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Delightful and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Large selection at breakfast that catered for all, organised and you are not rushed. Polite, friendly staff that were happy to help. Clean rooms and all pool areas. The hotel allocates guests sun loungers either pool side or overlooking the beach which are yours for your stay, if you are not happy with the location of the lounger then the pool attendant can allocate in a different area. Hotel is ideally situated, within walking distance to all amenities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the food!!!!! do not take HB breakfast is ok but dinner is not something that worth paying for eat out side!!!

    the service was very good, the hotel is well maintaining very clean' the pool are great and not to busy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic Wedding Anniversary Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately there were pathway works going on right outside the hotel which meant the coastal pathway was closed and so everyone was using the pool and sunbed areas as a bypass which was a little frustrating.. Probably not the hotels fault but I would have thought the works would have been better carried out over the winter months..

    From the moment we arrived all the staff were excellent and welcoming. The hotel was great and in a fantastic location. The view from our room over Paphos Harbour was all we could have wished for. We dined in 3 of the restaurants and the food was very good in all of them.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Everything was amazingly beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazingly beautiful!!! The hospitality, the service, the facilities were beyond our expectations!!! We will definitely come back and recommend it to others!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel and service - definitely coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Amazing, friendly and helpful staff. John from the restaurant was so sweet and gave great guide and tips on what activities to do around the city. Big breakfast with a wide variety of options - and also very yummy! I requested a late check out as my flight was in the evening and the staff was very helpful in arranging this hassle free.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Space at AG is magnificent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe even though the food dishes have great flavour, it can be enriched.

    The rooms are well balanced in decoration and fair use of technology. I have not seen bigger rooms at any other 5 starts hotels except on 7 stars hotels. You will find that quality here. Everytime I have been back it exceeds my expectations. There is a long way to walk from inside the hotel that connects to the harbour. I have been walking around many hours feeling vitality. Highly satisfied with the pleasant environment. Love the big bathtub and bathroom space. Service overall meets my expectations and I am definitely quite selective. Indeed Alexander the Great has become my favorite hotel in Europe!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Paphos Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Personally thought some art work in the public areas dated.

    Excellent mix of breakfast options-local and international. Easy walking distance of harbour and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    A very comfortable, efficient hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would like to see a Rowing machine in the gym area.A

    Attention to detail; willingness of staff to attend to requests; use of courtesy-room for late-in-the-day leavers after a very reasonable midday check-out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    The Alexander went above and beyond with a free upgrade and free champagne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed is not comfy what so ever, very hard. The side sea views are located in the back of the hotel and have a parking lot view with hardly any sea view.

    Prior to my stay I reached out to the Alexander due to the fact I booked the wrong room. I booked a side sea view when I wanted a full sea view due to the fact that it was my honeymoon. Once we checked in I was notified that I was upgraded to a full sea view with no additional charge. Due to the fact that we traveled around Easter on Easter they gave free champagne at breakfast and they also had a reception pre Easter lunch with free alcohol and snacks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Location was great right on the beach and close to town -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms were a bit small compared to what expected and the closed swimming pool always had all the doors open - so was a cold, would be nice to have a sign which recommends these are kept closed. For those who want to be outside they can go to outside pool but important for the closed one to be a warm place for small children (this is why we had picked this hotel).

    Location was great right on the beach and close to town - staff were also very friendly and professional. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    relaxing and good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the pancakes at the breakfast buffet were inedible (and waffles had all black burnt crumbs around them) also website should say that the kids club is for over 3yo

    almost everything was great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Free bottle of bubbly in room and birthday card -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No signal to TV in room

    Free bottle of bubbly in room and birthday card - compliments of hotel as husbands birthday. This was very impressive as we had not informed them it was his birthday

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Not as good as it should be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bun fight, waited for 25 mins for a cup of Green Tea and it was wrong when it finally arrived. Restaurant manager avoided talking to us and dint therefore tackle the problem. A good all inclusive hotel for budget travellers.

    Nice room, but sun bed broken and no air conditioning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    10
    Total relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Intermittent wifi.

    Liked the comfortable bed, the night time blue lighting in the bathroom and the large mugs for beverages in your room. Liked fruit in the room and night time turn down service .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    Excellence !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can not find anything negative, but if you really insist. This hotel seems very popular with the upper part of the older British society. So you might have a feeling to be in a luxury home for elderly British people. But you know what: it doesnt' matter, because it is just perfect service from every staff member. Having said this, this hotel might not be advised for families with very young children. For the elderly people: everything is accesible even with wheelchair. ADVISED for 50+ and much more !!!!

    A really exceptional hotel (half board formulae) that can be summarized in one word: excellence in everything !!! Fully responding to the 5 stars; fine room (superior room with sea view), nobody can want more; excellent bed quality, excellent view. Finest services (great super breakfast buffet with quality items); although a intensive business traveller, I am not keen of buffets, but the dinner buffer beats every expectation. Very high level of services, and the staff does everything to keep this very high level. Very polite, very british staff. large parking, no problem to find space. Nice walk to the city center and the archaelogical park. Wifi was working excellent. I can only regret I staid here for only 2 nights on my tour around Cyprus; it would have been better to stay here a few nights more and have taken this hotel as a home base. Not cheap, but it is worth every eurocent !!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel with great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Very friendly and always smiling staff. - Complimentary drink on arrival. - Very good breakfast/dinner. - Walking distance to harbour. - Entertainment evenings at hotel. - Indoor swiming pool. - Lots of Cats near beach area :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    7.9
    The property was right on the beach front and the sea views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't a hot tub as far as I am aware.

    The property was right on the beach front and the sea views from the room was beautiful every morning along with the sunsets. The spa was very relaxing and on site which was great. Breakfast had a lot of variety, not just your sausages and beans and toast. Very wide selection for breakfast and a small greek corner to try some small pastries. Very relaxing atmosphere and easy to walk to other restaurants and shops nearby.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    All that we expected and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The sunbed allocation system would benefit from a little fine-tuning. it seemed a little heavy-handed in low season

    Well-appointed rooms, comfortable beds and very good pillows, excellent breakfast and A1 service all round. We just couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    Premium location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was fair. Not enough local-Mediterranean variety. Poor soundproofing in the east wing. The music from the club located beneath was too loud in our room (first floor)

    Great location. 5 min walking distance from marina and the promenade.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Very relaxed stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was a little too close to the road and suffered Form a little noise.

    Staff very attentive, facilities great and the food is superb.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel with excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with excellent service!! This hotel alone makes me want to travel to Cyprus again! We had an early departure and they made sure we had a breakfast before we left at 5am. Wonderful!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    5.4
    Comfy rooms but management needs to work more in customer satisfaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big variety of breakfast but not so fresh. Had been given a room for disabled people without even being asked. Felt really bad as the room could be given to people in need for such room. Stuff unlocked and entered the room many times in unappropriate times for silly reasons and without even knocking more than once (!).

    Comfy double bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alexander The Great Beach Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: