Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castelli Hotel 3 stars

38 Ouzounian Steet, 1504 Nicosia, Cyprus

#19 of 19 hotels in Nicosia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 494 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Location near by from the active places e.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors close very fast and make boom sounds, the phone was not working

    Location near by from the active places e.g restaurants markets, reasonable price, clean, breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.0
    Do Your Research....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and the first thing we noticed, as we entered the building, was an odd smell about the hotel. We walked up to reception and went to book in. The staff were not that welcoming and when I asked about the car park, was greeted with a curt reply as to why was I asking...I said I wanted to park my car in it as per the request on my booking...I was told about how it works, so parked my car in a very large piece of land with no security. The room itself was of a funny design but functional. Shower room and toilet, was a bit on the small side. The state of the bed lining was not good with marks all over it and not the freshest we have experienced. The lighting in the room had a fault, which made them flash and make a "PING" noise every 5 to 10 seconds. I went downstairs to appraise reception of our findings and was told that there is no one around to sort them out but that he would, "Make a note of it". The area that the hotel is set in is right by the bus station so it was filled with many many people hanging around and looking a bit unsettling. There were some hanging around the car park of the hotel and as our room overlooked the car park we noticed some of them looking round our vehicle. This was the final straw, as far as my partner was concerned and I must admit, that I agreed with her. We left the hotel and looked for better accommodation that would be more attentive to our needs and feel, rightly or wrongly, less oppressive and unable to go out in the evening. We found it, booked in there and then returned and collected our belongings. I checked out, stating reasons given and he said he understood. If you are a business traveler, it might be ok for you...if you are a couple on a trip to Nicosia for a weekend away, I would advise you do your research before settling on this hotel. I haven't yet written to "Booking.com" to tell them of our experience, but will do.

    There was nothing that we liked.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in old town of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one electric outlet in the room & in order to use it i had to unplug frdge.

    Everything was good. Stuff was nice & polite. Breakfest - good hotel brekfest whith enought things to choose.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    3.3
    Avoid unless you are desperate
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness. The bed I slept in had bed bugs. I ended up being bitten all over. Spoke with management who said they had never had any complaints before.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.2
    if they decrease their prices around 30 Euro per night for single room then it may be tolarated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room with very old bathroom facilities room with a small window looking up to a wall at 0,5 meters distance small window filled outside with rat excrements they did not even changed my bathroom towels after 3 days of usage room service is a lough very poor quality of room service food rude personel in breakfast room they charge the water and the extra coffee at breakfast no smoking room availability dirty carpets in common areas

    the location the wifi strength

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was downtown.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My sink was blocked and rusty. Both my room and the room of my colleague. And the air-conditioning had a really annoying sound.

    The hotel was downtown. It is a bit old building. But the rooms were nice and big.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Quite pleasant but not any more than that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was supposed to get a superior room. I don't think it was particularly superior, although that would depend on on what it is being compared with I suppose. We were only staying for one night so it was not worth making an issue of it.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Excellent overnight stay in a very well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the hotel was complicated with all the one way systems and no road names on the way into Nicossia.

    Bed was really comfy and huge amount of room for two. Bathroom was great. Breakfast was plentiful and very diverse with lots of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Good, more than adequate for my purposes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hall carpets were not hoovered which didn’t give a good impression. This did not reflect the state of my room, restaurant area etc which were perfectly acceptable. I think clean carpets/halls/corridors would improve the impression of the hotel considerably.

    Breakfasts good, room clean and tidy, reception staff pleasant, helpful and engaging. Didn’t use bar or any other facility hence little further comment to add, sorry!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay there very much and recommend it to friends.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room cleaning

    The location in the Old City and the entire conditions at the hotel are excellent. The staff in the front desk is friendly and very helpful. They assisted us a lot in planning the trip, restaurants etc. The WiFi is excellent, likewise the air-condition.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel in Nicosia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large clean room with a balcony, right in the city centre, close to the bus station, freindly staff, great buffet breakfast. The bathroom had a tub and the shower pressure was perfect. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    Never be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A.C. had to open window however the outside noise and heat kept us both up all night. Left with 3 lovely mosquito bites.

    Only saving grace was nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.3
    Nice people and location but in need of modernisation and repair.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con didn’t work properly so it was very warm all night even with the windows open. The shower needed replacing and the WiFi was barely sufficient for email.

    Good location right by the old town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Reasonable city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV had just 5 chanbeks all if which were poor picture quality. There were a few small black marks on the bathroom grouting. Fluff underneath my bedside table. My room was on the first floor so I looked for the stairs rather than depend on the lift. I found an emergency exit but these stairs had bed linen and a fan at the bottom and an upright matters. While they did not block the stairs, the emergency exit stairs should be kept clear at all times

    Free parking. Full British style breakfast included. Fairly quiet location for a city centre and very close to the main bus station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Really spacious room, big sized bed, minimum outside noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tricky lights mechanism, the sun was coming in through the sides of the curtains in the morning.

    Really spacious room, big sized bed, minimum outside noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.5
    Not comfortable due to lack of AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning was switched on despite the temperatures were high 28 to 30 degrees . Very uncomfortable to sleep. Management said it was not hot enough to switch on AC The bathroom was small since we booked an executive room The mattress was very hard to sleep on

    Warm welcome Staff were curtious and helpful Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    I stay at Castelli at least 3 times a year and strongly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay at Castelli at least 3 times a year and strongly recommend this place. The staff are very accommodating, it's in a great location, great value for money and is a very comfortable hotel. Theodoros at the reception is always absolutely amazing making sure my stay is pleasurable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Potential of being a very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second room we got was very nice, but at night we figured out that a big and very bright spotlight is shining right into our room, a thing which could be easily avoided.

    The hotel has good facilities and could be a really good place, but everything is really getting old by the time and it’s not being kept in order so much e.g. switches are missing, the lamps are not working etc. Anyhow the staff is very friendly and we were immediately able to change the room because it was strongly smelling like smoke.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    3.3
    A disappointing and bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a double room superior expecting to enjoy a good night's sleep. I was sorely disappointed. First of all, the room looks nothing like the pictures featured here, and the bathroom was tiny. There was not even a kettle in the room. There was a layer of dust and other peoples hairs covering the entire floor, and the toilet seat had dried faeces stains on it. Absolutely disgusting. The bed was hard and lumpy and the pillows were even harder. The walls were so thin I could hear every word my neighbours were saying in both the adjacent rooms. I checked out with a sore back from the ordeal of sleeping so uncomfortably. One reviewer mentioned they were offered slippers. I was not, but they should offer slippers with filthy floors like that. Luckily I had my own with me, which got so dirty from walking on their floors, I have since discarded them. It seems this hotel put all their efforts into making the lobby areas pleasant and forgot to take care of their guests.

    Good pressure in the shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.3
    there are better options at the same location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very poor cleanliness. there are things that could be changed at very low cost. Bath curtains, pillows and sheets

    location is great. all by walking distance

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Pleasurable and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was on wheels and moved when you sat on it due to the wooden floor but did not have stoppers or brakes to prevent this from happening.

    The staff were welcoming and engaging.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    Good choice if you need accomodation near the center of Nicosia.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All laundry needs to be replaced: Bed laundry and toilet laundry. The hotel is opposite the fire brigade. Eventually you would hear their alarms, when they leave.

    The rooms are big and comfortable related to the price. They even offered slippers. Perfectly situated in the center of Nicosia.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    It was comfortable stay, and would return if in Nicosia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there would be more effort to meet my special requests, like a baby cot in the room prior to arrival, non smoking room important, none of this was fullfield. But was sorted out promptly after...

    Location is top and staff is very nice and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.8
    Free off-road parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee could be improved.

    Free off-road parking. Very comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Good location. Noise resistant windows. Late breakfast possible. Good WiFi. Best of all was the free upgrade to the suite. Really appreciate that. Thanks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.0
    lovely and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The executive double room is completely different than the one shown on booking.com. The bathroom is very tiny, almost half the size of the one shown in the pictures. Connecting rooms have no soundproofing at all. You can literally hear everything - even when next door guests are talking.

    lovely and helpful staff. Convenient location. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location to explore Nicosia, but the hotel has seen better days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not really clean and requires renovation. Our stay was Ok, but for the price we paid - ca. 100 CHF you can get something better.

    The room was fine - big enough with a sofa and balcony. The receptionist was very supportive and helped us out when we had a problem With the reservation. The location was amazing - all the attractions and restaurants are in a walking distance. We spent there one day in November and the Weather was changing a lot - we were able to come Back to hotel at any time and change. Safe and fridge in the room - basic things but not everywhere in Cyprus

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    3.3
    - Water in the shower were very cold and low water pressure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Water in the shower were very cold and low water pressure. - Toilet water flushing stopped working one night. When I mentioned the water related problems in my room to the front desk, they said there are no free room and they can't fix it at the moment and I was in a rush for some meetings. After I asked again, they said there is one free room left, but the person who booked it is coming in less than 1 hour, and they could give me his room - and they will send him to another hotel and tell him the hotel is full. OF COURSE I DID NOT AGREE TO THIS. So i stayed in my room. I will not feel ok doing this to another traveler, this is not a way to start he's/she's vacation. - A.C had a setting of heat/cool but it doesn't matter what you chose, because the hotel enables only one of them. - Card of the room stopped working. - Iron didn't work and had to be replaced, Iron table was very dirty. - WIFI was very slow. - Bed was very uncomfortable and old.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    A nice visit in Nikosia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There seemed to be a problem with the ventilation of the bathroom in my room (1st Floor, small terrace) . The smell from the kitchen was streaming into the bathroom. No safe in the room.

    The location of the hotel is great for the Coty visit. Everything is in walking distance. Breakfast was Ok. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    I am very happy and satisfied with my choice of hotel. Thank you.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I would have liked more tea and coffee supplies in my room. I needed to be up all hours working on various reports, so extra tea and coffee would have been much appreciated. Also, the water in the bathroom was a bit tepid in the evenings.

    My room was comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was superb, too. Excellent buffet breakfast on offer each morning, including plenty of delicious halloumi!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No electric kettle in room.

    Wonderful staff, very helpful. Was upgraded to suite and given late check out. Big Safety Deposit Box took Laptop. Nice selection of toiletries refreshed daily. Very comfortable bed. Very good air conditioning. All in all very pleased. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable bed and pillows, friendly reception and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a not very pleasant smell coming out of the bathroom. Also the bathroom fan did not work.

    Comfortable bed and pillows, friendly reception and housekeeping staff good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    hotel castelli is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run down and in need of refurbishment

    Location and friendly staff. Very good value. Reasonable breakfast. Useful to have on site parking. I wWould stay again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Not Quite Perfect but would revisit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner made strange noises. Toast machine was feeble. Coffee facilities in room unsatisfactory.

    Cheerful and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast including good hot tea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    3.3
    Bad stay and will never repeat it again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was putting the Dont disturb flag on my door and went out to come back and be surprised that the staff ignored the dont disturb flag and entered my room to take the iron as There was only one or two irons to serve all clients!!! Bed sheets were changed only when I was fed up and requested to change them. Cleanliness is at its lowest levels not to mention the rudeness of the staff except for few of them.

    This was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. When I checked in, the receptionist was so offensive and disrespectful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough sockets for electrical equipment. Jaded bathroom and very well used towels and sheets.

    The staff were welcoming and pleasant generally with good English. It was easy to find, just inside the old town walls and only a short walk from the old town centre. On site secure parking was convenient and appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    The receptionist (blond man with glasses) was very helpful...
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist (blond man with glasses) was very helpful and kind in the evening. The receptionist (blond woman) who was in the morning was not kind enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.3
    Friendly and helpful staff at the reception desk.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities (refrigerator, air-conditioning) require modernization. Thin walls do not sufficiently protect against noise from other rooms.

    Friendly and helpful staff at the reception desk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    4.2
    Friendly staff, Close to the attraction places
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircondition almost not working in most of the hotels specially the rooms. Uncomfortable beds. Smell of smoke comes into the room via the vents. Old, used furniture

    Friendly staff, Close to the attraction places

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was only partially working. One of the rooms key cards wasn't working properly, lights would suddenly go and come back again.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Castelli the ideal place to stay when visiting Nicosia
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The welcome when you arrive is warm and friendly The location is very central to the city centre. The choice for breakfast was varied The rooms are spacious The bar is comfortable and creates a relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    It is a nice, well located place with very nice front desk and dinner room (breakfast) employees.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I needed a safety box but there weere no rooms with safety boxes, that appear as one of the features in the hotel facilities while booking through bookings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.1
    Adequate with lots of room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fixtures broken; air con not working; pastries at breakfast were very stale; no water or drinking glasses in rooms; fridge not on when arrived ; floor did not look like it had been mopped properly; bar staff not attending bar when open.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.8
    Thankfully there are lots of other hotels to choose from when were next in Nicosia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirror in the room, said it was broken and awaiting a replacement, couldn't supply anything else for me to use, which when you need to dry/straighten your hair was very difficult....... also no a/c working, so a portable freestanding one was in the room, temp wouldn't go below 26 and so so noisy it was difficult to sleep

    Staff were freindly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Nice place from which to explore Nicosia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was lovely and very helpful. The room was great as well, it had enough space and all the usual equipment. The location is amazing - you are just a few minutes away from the main street, but far enough not to be woken up by noisy tourists during the night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    Average facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was not working and when I tried to call reception the phone was not working either. The room was smelling weird when i first got in.

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    6.7
    Castelli showing signs of age
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs to be updated and is crying out for a lick of paint. There is no bar available in the hotel The breakfast choice was very poor

    The location, the friendly staff in all areas of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    Cast- excellence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property located in the edge of the old town within the walls. Walking distance to shops, cafes, restaurants, greek meze places, pubs and bus stop. Staff were very helpful and properrty was well run.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit poor of choices for Mediterranean standards, however they do make the absolutely excellent espresso. Staff is caring and efficient, location is great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location and hotel staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit tricky to get to the hotel. But it is possible to arrange a shuttle bus from airport to the hotel.

    Hotel is right in the centre of the city. Extremely close to the bus station (3 minutes walking). The hotel staff was always very polite and absolutely nice and helpful. Room was clean and nice. Breakfast included and had pretty much everything you need to get full :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    It was a wonderfull stay in this hotel. We enjoyed it.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refrigerator was not working.

    The staff are so friendly. The buffet is nice. The hotel is located near so many places.close to bus station, parks and ancient places.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    6.3
    Bad organisation of the Castelli hotel spoilt the trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad organisation - when we arrived at the Castelli, we were told they didn't have a room for us and we were taxied to another of their hotels, the Crown Inn, which was only a two star and a twenty minute walk away from the old city where we particularly wanted to be. We had only planned to stay in Nicosia for two nights so this was a real blow. The Castelli did try to compensate by offering us a complimentary dinner on the second evening but the damage was done and it spoilt the whole visit to Nicosia.

    The location of the Castelli is perfect for exploring the old city and they do have on site parking which is difficult in the old city of Nicosia.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was fairly clean, room aircontition was almost dead so Room was really hot. I didn't have time to change room so I decided to stay at that room. The next day the lady at the breakfast ask me (not polite) my room number. I told her, but 5 minutes later she asked me again what was my room number. I told her, again. While I was having my breakfast, she came (3rt time) to my table in an attitude and told me:sorry sir, you are not registered... you room number is not listed... and then I told her my room number AGAIN.But this time I told her not to come near me again or ask me about my room number because the next time I will call her manager. This is not a way to treat you customers. Never ever again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.3
    a pleasant hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The towels are a bit frayed and grey. The air-conditioner not too effective.

    The location is very convenient; The staff are all friendly and helpful; the room is large and the bed comfortable. Although close to the town centre, the hotel is very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.4
    Parking space.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cleanliness was not good. The upper side of the toilet seat was not cleaned or disinfected for one day and the side under was not cleaned at all from the day of my arrival until 3-4 days later. No possibility to have dinner in the hotel. There was no room service available. Wifi signal was not so strong. There were times that I had no problem and times especially in the afternoon that I could not get a connection or was extremely slow.

    Parking space.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    6.3
    Short trip to Nicosia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was awful food cold ran out of coffee one day no orange juice next day only one member of staff on, place just getting a bit tired , staff were very helpful but severe lack of attention to detail

    Great location for centre

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.1
    Okay but not too many stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cold water tap in the washbasin did not work likewise neither did the plug - the chap from reception came up to try and solve the problem but it needed a plumber and was quite a big job - but he did try.

    The situation near the bus station had advantages and disadvantages those being the people who came in to use the money exchange shops to send cash home. However we had no problem and the hotel is situated ideally for the city wall and the old city. The rooms and linen were very clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to stay and visit old Nicosia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service and location Bear the bjs station. In the border off the historic city of Nicosia. Also near to the National Museus. We would definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    4.6
    A big disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had nothing to do with the photos displayed on the website, an extremely small double bed, a super small room, the bathroom disappointing, a very high value for the quality of the room, very limited breakfast

    Very friendly staff and good wi-fi

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    5.0
    Good location but very disappointing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deluxe double room was not clean. White net curtain was very discoloured and very dirty. Curtains were hanging off the rail. The window surround was very dirty. The room had some nice pieces of furniture in it but were so dusty. I would not have even touched the fridge. The room needed To be deep cleaned and walls and paintwork repainted. I would not stay in this hotel again

    Receptionist helpful The en- suite was clean The bed was comfortable Free wifi

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    4.2
    The stuff was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room 383 was like a fridge, not very clean, not even a glass to drink water, i asked for an extra bed cover and they gave us a blanket with holes and stains on it!

    The stuff was okay. The previous time was much better though!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    4.6
    quite old and dirty place but with everything necessary for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was not clean enough, it was constantly cold, the view from our window was terrific! and there was constant noise coming from some ventilation outside. Hotel is old and not pretty at all.

    the hotel is close to the city center

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.5
    Good if you are interested in living in the center of the city
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rather old. Facilities (as example, bathrooms) needs repair and renewal

    Very friendly and really helpful staff. Location near city-center (5 min walk) and bus-stop (2 min walk). Early breakfast (starts at 6.30)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    6.3
    Good posion to cross over to Northern Cyprus. Cleanliness is basic. Do not eat in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sofa settee you could not sit on it without sinking down to the floor.The carpet was dirty . The good size bathroom had cracks in the basin and the tile grouting was dirty. The breakfast was horrible. The eggs were all undercooked. The scrambled eggs tasted like they were cooked in water. There was no orange juice for my 5 year old Grand child on the second morning. Only Grapefruit Juice. They knew there was a 5 year old. They should have at least had juice that she could drink. The Kitchen lady was not very helpful and would not get my Grand daughter any other juice.

    The room size was large. Good size television. Great location for us. Mostly friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.1
    Great location, good staff, but the hotel itself could be better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Could be cleaner, and very thin walls. Oddly, despite it being November, there was only a sheet and no blanket on the bed, so I did get quite chilly one night!

    Excellent location, fast, reliable wifi, desk in the room, helpful staff - good for business travel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    4.6
    A very mediocre hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and not cozy at all. Besides a comfortable bed, there was no bedside light, a small painting or a mirror or anything decorative on the walls (or anywhere else!)! Breakfast was very poor and low quality. The room wasn't clean (very long black hair was littering on the floor during my stay) and it all felt old, dry and unwelcome.

    The location was rather good (central but quiet) and the personnel were helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    Castelli Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of anything.

    Everything was very good and the food and the staff ! It was clean and comfortable and a couple of things i asked i got it, so I recomend it. The location is excellent because you can go anywhere you like on foot (bars, restaurants, shops ....).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    6.3
    Location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs a full restoration.. bathroom, wc, and the floor were very dirty and old... concering towels... what to say...very bad quality and probably using them for ages now without replace them...

    Location was good.. the guy at the reception very helpfull and with excellent cooperation...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    5.8
    Seven Dwarfs with no Snow White
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely different from the photos on their official site and booking.com. When saw alive I thought they made a mistake, because I have ordered the room for the couple with big bed for two, but when I entered the room it was a bed for Seven Dwarfs even with no space for Snow White ...

    WiFi was really good. Location nice - very close to old town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    3.3
    A DREADFUL EXPERIENCE. GOOD ONLY IF YOU HAVE NO OTHER OPTION (LIKE US).
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    EVERYTHING! DIRTY (THE ROOMS HAVEN'T BEEN HOOVERED SINCE 1974, THE CARPETS HAD ALL KINDS OF STAINS, THE BATHROOM WAS LEAKING AND FLOODING, THE BED-SHEETS WERE DIRTY ETC ETC), THE PERSONNEL POLITE BUT INEXPERIENCED, THE A/C WAS NOT FUNCTIONING (THEY OFFERED US FANS TO COOL OURSELVES UNDER 37 CELSIUS). WE HAD VISITORS TOO (ANTS)!

    NOTHING WAS WORTH MENTIONED. THE LOCATION IN ONE OF THE MOST DANGEROUS NEIGHBORHOODS WITH DRUNK IMMIGRANTS FROM ALL OVER THE WORLD, SINGLES' BARS AND EVERYTHING THAT GOES WITH IT. DIRTY (THE ROOMS HAVEN'T BEEN HOOVERED SINCE 1974, THE CARPETS HAD ALL KINDS OF STAINS, THE BATHROOM WAS LEAKING AND FLOODING, THE BED-SHEETS WERE DIRTY ETC ETC), THE PERSONNEL POLITE BUT INEXPERIENCED, THE A/C WAS NOT FUNCTIONING (THEY OFFERED US FANS TO COOL OURSELVES UNDER 37 CELSIUS).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.1
    Good location, but not for room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the front (175) and was very, very noisy until 2am and starting again at 5am. A room at the side overlooking the car park would probably have been quieter.

    Location, staff and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    I was allowed to check-in earlier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When my bed moved a bit, I’ve seen, hoe dirty it was under it... much rubbish

    I was allowed to check-in earlier. Many thanks

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in Nicosia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.0
    Very good
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Quiet and very good location in Nicosia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in particular.

    Quiet and very good location in Nicosia.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    It doesn't seem to be 3 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like bathroom. Small and not clean. Also there was a stain on the bed.

    Location and price.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: