Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Europa Plaza Hotel 3 stars

13 Alkaiou Street, 2404 Nicosia, Cyprus

#8 of 19 hotels in Nicosia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 314 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, comfortable and clean room, delicious breakfast. Do not expect anything fancy, but an honest quality price ratio. Actually the staff and the breakfast were above the quality price ratio. A place to return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Central heating - I couldn't figure out how it worked. At night it was quite fresh :), I used a spare blanket and it was OK to sleep (but slightly cold to work at the table). A bottle of water was opened.

    Good big room, very good big bath and nice (bleu) water! What was a nice surprise for me - a separate table and a chair to work - that very comfortable. Tea pot and tea/coffe bags - were also very usefull in my case. Very nice bar downstairs: very tasty salads, big portions and reasonable pricing. Quite good breakfast! Very friendy personnel (helped me out several times with some minor issues)!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. no bottle of water in the room (I alerady got usef to it :) ) 2. big bath, but there was no plug for the drain hole (a glass, helped me out to solve that problem though with less comfort :)) 3. no ketchup (breakfast)

    Personnel - ready to help, everything what I asked for was salved. The manners of the personnel - gentle but not sugary, ready to help, but not ingratiating. Tasty local sweets and olives! Good room, big bath

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I entered the room a kitchen bug was on the door and inside the bathroom The bed was very bad, the mattress was bad and the bed sheets were old.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very basic breakfast and menu is same every day; though there were very few people in the breakfast area. Bed was large but mattress and duvet needs to be changed. TV is very small; almost 14 or 16 inches screen. Staff at reception did not smile at all. Even the staff passing by did not acknowledge guest's presence. Housekeeping do their job but amenities are not of good quality; did not use any.

    Close to a very famous bar Murphy which have live entertainment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very tired hotel and complacent staff. Carpets were stained. Bathrooms not cleaned properly and in dire need of upgrading. Worse was the noise from the bar downstairs that went on until after 3 am. Called reception to complain and the response was "What do you want me to do about it madame?" !! Overall a dreadful experience - not to be repeated!

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not much to do in the immediate location but taxis are there really quick so not a problem

    the bed was a bit hard , but the shower was excellent as was the breakfast . I would definitely stay there again its well worth the money , and i'm sure others will say the bed is just right it's a question of preference

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked to be able to pick up another English language TV apart from Euronews.

    The hotel is close to the business centre, which was fine for me but not as good if your purpose is sightseeing. My company had booked me to fly into Ercan airport, which is only accessible by taxi and then only if your taxi driver has the relevant insurance for both sides of the border. All the staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful with good English. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet. I also ate lunch in the hotel, and the chips were fantastic!.....too much for me to finish however! Excellent place to stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too firm, to get to downtown is a very long walk (at night through at times not very lit places), the breakfast had too much British items that didnt appeal to me

    Nice man at the reception who loaned me an adapter for a day since the room only had British plugs, cleanliness, decent value, dinner at the restaurant with a discount as a guest was nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning was not working properly, it was extremely hot and the only way to cooler the room was to open windows what became very noisy, so eventually we had to close windows before going to sleep. Also we wanted to take a bath, but there was no bath clog. We called the reception, yet apparently nobody takes baths in the entire hotel, so there was no clog available and one of the main reasons we booked this room was that it showed that it has a bath. Lastly, staff seemed very impolite: nobody greeted us when we entered the hotel, I had to find the guys behind the corner who were running the reception. In the morning it was difficult to understand who is guest and who is staff as nobody said hello and simply were chatting with each other without caring too much with what's going on around them. Overall this hotel wasn't not worth the money we paid with its bad service and facilities

    The room was clean and big enough, and we came straight from 5 days camping, so it was quite nice to be in a hotel-like room with hot water and big bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WIFI is horribly slow, if you this is your business travel and you need to send lots of emails with attachments, you need to go the reception desk, as wifi is faster there. Forget to send it from 2nd floor.

    Everything, except of slow wifi :-)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dont like the bookings made through booking. Dirty bathroom and walls uncomfortable pilows . Heating are not working properly. Unfriendly personel.

    The manager at least was helpfull and apologise

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    too noisy , reception staff was unhelpful and unprofessional ( except from breakfast staff , young lady was excellent with a smile on her face all the time )

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise which, as mentioned in other comments too, doesn't let you sleep sometimes. This includes a constant hum (probably caused by ventilation) which lasts till midnight but mostly the sound from the cars. The room was on the side of the central road and I could hear the engines of cars and motorbikes during the whole night. It's not entirely the hotel's fault but soundproof would certainly help.

    Cozy room with large bed. The cleaning service was good and the staff in breakfast and reception was polite. Although they didn't offer much variety in breakfast, the food was tasty. WiFi was free and had satisfying speed in the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It was the best hotel we have stayed at in Cyprus. The staff was very helpful, the room was spacious and clean, big choice of fresh and tasty food at breakfast, reasonable price. Perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from both front and back of hotel

    Front Reception staff very helpful, especially Sunday August 7th receptionist ? Svetlana who went out of her way to help.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress of the bed was unconfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Room was spacious. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice! Friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best value for money in Nicosia

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were very uncomfortable and airconditioning was not very effective. Rooms hot and stuffy.

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good choice in Nicosia, reasonably priced

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable and the room had a weird smell!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was facing the side of the hotel with a view of parked cars and rubbish bins.

    The room was comfortable, and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound isolation was terrible. It was like door was open.Breakfast close at 09:45

    Nothing in particular...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    The cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not so clean as we would have expected. The minibar was locked. The hairdryer was not available.

    The room was quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The desk staff couldnt describe well where the hotel was located!

    we liked the room and the hotel was really clean!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nice hotel to stay in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    LOCATION IS GOOD EXCEPT FOR THE EARLY MORNING MOTOR BIKE AND SPORTS CAR RACERS ON THE ROAD OUTSIDE THE HOTEL (GEORGIOU GRIVA DIGENI)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mora halal food was gonna be perfect.

    The room had a perfect view, the employers were soo nice and adorable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stronger coffee...but that is my personal taste :)

    great choice and variety

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many parking places Booking direction was not correct

    Executive room was comfortable. Staff is professional A nice 3 stars hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a quiet area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    to becon itan omo kai ta auga kria

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm

    Good hotel breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love the bathroom. the Living settings is great. Overall its has a great value for money. strongly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was no hair dryer at the room.

    very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly central Nicosia hotel, not too far from Government offices Good experience overall Staff was kind to forward mail to me back home

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet on the floor. I would prefet plywood.

    Friendly Personnel, convenient location, fair price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good Hotel when visiting Nicosia - a place I would recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleanliness can be better

    Location is nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They let people smoke inside the coffee shop

    Bed & pillows were big

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Boy racers revving engines in early hours - not the hotels fault though

    Easy to find and the staff were very pleasant - bar food good too

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit roude receptionist at the beggining but she understood she is wrong and changed attitude

    Nice breakfast, nice room, comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pleasant room, comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night but everything was beyond our expectations, thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expenses for non-season

    Very friendly staff, generous breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent Location, very good service, good room service food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hard mattress. Pillow too thick. Surly waitress in the bar.

    Pleasant surroundings/decor. Helpful staff on reception.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect bed nice bathroom

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets and towels unacceptable!

    Breakfast was fare

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    20% discount at the local restaurant. Good choice at the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows too hard and too high

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Good value for money. Very clean and well maintained place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My order at the restaurant took a bit too long to be prepared.

    Best value for money deal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kind staff, cleanliness room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very spacious and remodeled

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    comfortable bed, excellent food at the restaurant and logical prices. excellent location. nice and clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vey friendly and helpful staff! I'm impressed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer in the bathroom

    Fresh towels every day. Large room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good choice when you need a comfort and clean place to stay. very good breakfast. moder and clean restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location, cleanliness, value for money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything!

    Food was great! Rooms very clean and comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    staying on a friday night was exactly the same as trying to sleep in a nightclub. I don't think I have ever stayed anywhere noisier.

    nice rooms, wifi works fine and location was perfect for my requirements. staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly and loyal staff!!! Haven't stayed at the hotel for half a year and was pleasantly surprized the personnel at the reception remembers me))

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Staff helpful but the ladies were not smiling, and not very accurate information from the FOM about how to arrive at the hotel (although it was not difficult to find it, anyway).

    Facilities in the room, late check out, bus stop to town near the hotel. Good overall.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was lovely, fresh fruit on arrival, air con standard, clean and modern. Didn't make breakfast as that finished too early for me - think 8.45 am. All in all much nicer than I expected for the price

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They gave us a wrong in the beginning but they changed it immediately.

    My wife and I were there to finish the paper work of our wedding. The hotel was near all the offices we needed to go and the hotel's employees were very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -

    The internet connection and the room

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed was not comfortable.

    The friendly hotel staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were Holly Bibles inside the drawers that were not Christian Orthodox, but heretic.

    Extremely large and comfortable bed!!

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The beds were a bit hard and the room had an old feel.

    Very helpful personel

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms look so old.

    The locations

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The very big room and bathroom in the executive suite.

There are also 70 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: