Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cyprus Villages Kalavasos

Main Street, 7733 Kalavasos, Cyprus

#12 of 12 hotels in Kalavasos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 47 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.9
    Absolutely fabulous location if you looking to get away from usual resorts 💕
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The larger pool area for all to share was a bit dirty and neglected which was a shame as views fabulous. Missing a few bits in kitchen area eg kettle & knives but we coped .

    The rustic style property was so pretty & quirky and felt like you were living in amongst the locals the way they live .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing Apartment, but lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 12 nights

    We did not get the apartment we booked on this website, in fact when we showed the pictures to the staff we were told that apartment wasn't even in Kalavasos, but Tochni! The room was much smaller, the kitchen was tiny and didn't have much on offer so we ended up not cooking much and going out more. The room was incredibly dark, even with all the lights on we couldn't see what we were doing. Incredibly disappointing because we only booked because the specific images for the booking looked nice, but what could we do when we were given a completely different place?

    It was a central location, was very peaceful and quiet surroundings and the local restaurants were excellent. Parking was very good. It was nice having access to a swimming pool which was just a few paces away from the apartment. There were cats everywhere, which we thought added to the charm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Loved the whole structure of the accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem is that you advertise swimming pool but the pool is far from where we were and needed a map to get there. Also the cleanliness could be better. It was not dirty but had a lot of spiderwebs, dust, etc..

    Loved the whole structure of the accommodation. Beautiful rooms. You have your privacy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    We (2 adults, 2 kids)stayed in Tenta, an apartment in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except salt and pepper, there is not much to find in the kitchen: some sugar, coffee or tea would be nice. But we got it in the grocery store.

    We (2 adults, 2 kids)stayed in Tenta, an apartment in kalavasos and we had the whole top floor for us. The pool was in about 2 minutes walking distance and big and steep. The village is very beautiful, close to the beach (10 minutes by car) and offers a lot of infrastructure: grocery shops, Lots of vivid restaurants and a few touristic shops. The apartment was big and comfortable and we could enjoy an amazing view over the village. The hosts where very kind and as soon as we requested additional things like an air fan for the living room where the kids slept, it was there right the next day. We even cooked twice in the kitchen and could find all the equipment we needed in there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    Nice place and village. Bad maintenance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The problem was the maintenance. in one apartment the electric outlet of the AC did not work in the kitchen area so it was stifling hot; also, the key in the front door (main entrance) could not be extracted, so we could leave the apartment only from the floor below. In another apartment, the AC worked only partially, and did not cool well. In the third apartment the problem was that there was a gallery above with a double bed, and two beds underneath on ground level. The AC was located above ground level, so it was not at all effective upstairs - again stifling hot! Our recurring calls asking to solve these problems were not very effective. Regarding the room with the open gallery - this should be stated clearly on the website, as it is not always acceptable to everyone. Also, the small swimming pool is hidden among the buildings, with no signs leading to it whatsoever. It took us a good 45 minutes to find it! All in all - this is a lovely place in a lovely village - if only it were properly maintained!

    We rented three apartments for our family. They were nicely planned and decorated in traditional greek style. The apartments were very spacious and included also living areas, kitchen, and courtyard. The problem was the maintenance. The managers were very considerate regarding our arrival and checkout times as our flights were scheduled at very unusual hours!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    The location is perfect.
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody was waiting for us at the house so i need to call and remind them. The fridge was not connected on the plug. Poor wifi.

    The location is perfect. The village is very nice. The house is huge and nice with nice veranta.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable apartment with wonderful terrace - but make sure you take cash to pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No basics supplied - hand-soap, salt and pepper etc. Be warned - the owner's agent would only accept cash payment so we had to drive ten minutes to the next village to find an ATM. Then he had no change, so we paid slightly more for our accommodation than the stated rate. And in this apartment, don't turn off the hotplate at the wall switch as that also operates the small refrigerator.

    The apartment we were allocated (Takis House 2) was delightfully rustic, with a good-sized bedroom and comfortable bed, an adequate bathroom, good-sized kitchen/sitting room and a wonderful shaded terrace with views across the village to the mountains. We enjoyed sitting out there each evening and soaking up the atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    3.8
    NOT a nice weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no essentials at all and no mention of this so we didnt pack basics like hand soap! tissues -a bottle of water.. maybe a sachet of coffee - a tea bag nothing except old towels and wc roll was provided - also it was a rainy night and rain was coming in through the window next to our childs bed the stone floor was seriously wet had she have gotten up and slipped things would have been seriously bad she ended up sleeping in our bed for fear of this it was also draughty next to her bed heating was adequate though not very warm there is central heating until 11pm and a/c if u need after that the owner is helpful enough he sold us wood for the fireplace at extra cost which was ok but 10 euro lasted around 2 hours max in general not comfy not a fun weekend away wont be revisiting

    central location in village

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    4.6
    Apartment facilities dissapointing and not as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was advertised as a two bedroom apartment, when in reality it compised of a bed in the living area and more beds on a mezzanine floor. The bed in the living area was right next to the main door which was not ideal when this is for a child. There was also a staircase leading off from the mezzanine which went through into the apartment above. This door was locked from the other side but there was no way of knowing how it was locked and if anyone from the upstairs apartment could gain access to our apartment. The pictures on line are very misleading as you do not know which ones relate to which apartment. The kitchen facilities were not particularly clean and the toaster was totally unuseable. No hot water issues on our last couple of days also. This apartment is not suitable for families and is most definatly not 2 bedrooms.

    Location of the property was very good. Lovely small village but with plenty of amenities. Retro Tavern was especially good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    It was an enjoyable stay in a traditional environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not understand how (if) wi-fi works in the apartment. We used the wi-fi of the cafeteria. Those travelers who like warm bathrooms have to consider that in winter there is no separate heating in the bathroom, and coming out of the shower might be a bit unpleasant, for some moments. Hot water was perfectly hot, but it takes some time till it starts running (you have to let it run on full power for a couple of minutes, which is a pity considering that the island has limited resources of water). To check-in, we had to contact the owners on mobile phone and agree about the point where we arrive by car to be accompanied to the property, therefore please take care to have your mobiles charged and with the roaming service on. I guess there is no person on behalf of the owner permanently present at the apartments, and the booking site does not give the exact address where to arrive. Anyway, in our case everything worked well. We paid in cash, including the booking system fee, and did not get a receipt but I guess it is not an irregular practice in Cyprus :)

    We liked the location of the property, and we had an amazingly good sleep there. The apartment has all the facilities needed for cooking. I am not sure about laundry though, as we did not needed that service for our short stay. We liked the historical look of the apartment and the particular feeling created by an ancient arch (exactly same type of arches we spotted in the beautiful church of Kalavasos), high ceilings, the fireplace and big space. It was a perfect place for our family of 3 people. There is a grocery shop nearby, and a cafeteria for morning coffee if you like to have breakfast outside in the sun :) Although, the cafeteria does not serve cappuccino (the choice is between strong, rich Greek coffee and instant Nescafe with additional milk). Also, there are 2 taverns for dining out. All these facilities just less than a minute walking from the house. The Kalavasos village itself is sweet and quiet. The place gave us the feeling of being in a traditional environment, which we preferred against those plain hotels along the seaside. It took us just 15-20 minutes by car to reach the beach. Overall, I would evaluate the property as neat, romantic, with some touch of local style, convenient and quiet (at least as it looks out of the peak season). I think it would be especially appreciated by families with children, also by hikers and true romantic-lovers.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.5
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of kitchen facilities. Noisy neighbours. A little bit untidy.

    Location is great. Friendly stuff, always ready to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    amazing house in towncentre next to Best tavern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    amazing house in towncentre next to Best tavern

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    the swimming pool was not clean
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the swimming pool was not clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    3.3
    dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dirty everywhere with dust all over the room, the place we stayed have nothing to do with the place that the photo's show.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    not very clean,,,towels existed from summer...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    The swimming pool was very dirty and far from the property.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was very dirty and far from the property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Good appartments in beautiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything! Very nice place to stay for relaxing. Very friendly people and quite, peaceful and just nice village.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.5
    The house and facilities were perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I wish they had cleaned up the yards from the dead leaves and dirt from verandahs. The floors in the house were a little dirty and furniture a little dusty.

    The house and facilities were perfect. beds comfy. plenty of room and obliging owners every request we had made was done perfectly

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No wifi. no hot water. the swimming pool is actually in another house and there's no reception (the reception is in differrent village. we checked out 2 nights befor scheduled

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Traditional Cypriot house was nicely decorated and it had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Traditional Cypriot house was nicely decorated and it had a very good ambient. house is fully equipped, nothing has left behind during the decoration. People were very kind and friendly. it is situated in a good location.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    It is an excelent choice for a calm and peaceful holiday in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is an excelent choice for a calm and peaceful holiday in a traditional Cypriot village. People are very open and helpful. Governor's Beach is wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.6
    The accommodation was lovely, the space well considered and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Someone has a dog in the village that non-stop barks from dusk till dawn all to be heard with windows open. Perhaps the neighbour could be kinder to the animal?

    The accommodation was lovely, the space well considered and decoration pleasing in traditional style. The swimming pool was of good size to swim and chlorine not very strong, the flowers are lovely, happy days x

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.8
    The rustic charm of the apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not really a negative, but there is no internet facilities..( which was a blessing ).

    The rustic charm of the apartment. Peaceful surroundings. Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    8.5
    Situated in a perfect position for getting around the village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Situated in a perfect position for getting around the village

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    7.9
    very nice decorated house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the pressure and the temperature of the water wasn't good .the wifi was not working .

    very nice decorated house. very cozy . pet friendly

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    6.3
    Big with enough space for kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Mouse around the roof and a lot of ants. They touched everything.

    Big with enough space for kids.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location. Village. Village locals all friendly.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: