Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vasilikos House

Main Street, 7740 Tochni, Cyprus

#7 of 12 hotels in Tochni

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 96 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was no warm water in the night for my wife to make a shower! The cable wasn't working probably and the top was that they didn't put any Greek channels! :) Arabic Russian European and even Chinese!! Also is our 2nd stay in the company and we would like to mention that the company needs staff!! Always there are 2-3 persons for all the resort running up and down doing everything!! The pool and the breakfast was far from the room, we needed to drive to them.

    the room was fine and spacious. The mattress was super conformable and huge! our small veranda was great and the view from the room was nice. The restaurant had nice food good prices and extra treats on the house! :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    A perfect example of a traditional Cyprus village! The view from the room was excellent! Very quiet place, perfect for relaxation! Good breakfast and the stuff was really friendly and eager to help with anything! Definitely going back! :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast .. again, i think it could be because it's off peak season, so the breakfast was very simple, eggs n either ham, sausages or bacon for the 4 days we were there, coffee was very tepid and the first few days, it was the instant nescafe stuff. not much choices for breakfast. One point to note as well, there are no toiletries, hair dryer (you have to request for it) in the apartments/rooms, so remember to bring your own, no soap to wash your hands either. but it does come with a small kitchen, fridge, oven, stove, plates, utensils, etc if you decide to make a small meal (oh, no proper wine opener!) Again, i think maybe it's offpeak but i found the owners a bit unfriendly, the first morning we were there, the owner came up to us at breakfast and said, you pay for your room now! no good morning, how are you, etc .. just asked us to pay n that was pretty much it. When we checked out, i walked into the office to drop off the key, the lady there did not even acknowledge me or asked if i had a pleasant stay. Maybe a bad day but oh well, never mind, we met other guests there who made our holiday really special plus we celebrated one of the guest's birthday as well, the number of guest at the hotel was small enough to make it all very cosy and enjoyable. I would go there again, but just dont expect any friendliness ;)

    The location of the property is slightly set away from the tourist spot, which is exactly what i wanted, the apartment/house we had was very cosy and comfortable for our needs. Though it does need a bit of updating, some of the bulbs do not work and we couldn't turn off the heating, so it was very hot in the night. The TV didnt work either and even though we told the hotel staff about it a couple of times, nothing was sorted out. Luckily, we got netflix and the wifi connection was strong enough to stream movies. We saw the pool but it was too cold to swim, however, we noticed that it needed cleaning. i think the reason the place looked run down is because it's off peak n there were only a few guest there. The onsite restaurant, Tochni Tavern was closed, but we understood that the owners requested the other one and only Taverna in the village to open for us, which was really great as we could have dinner there. The village is quite remote and as far as we can see, there are only 2 tavernas. One point to note, if you're allergic to cats, Cyprus is not a place to visit! haha.. there are tons of cats, everywhere, lucky for us, we love cats, so had lots of fun playing with them n giving them treats. The accommodation is also on a hill and spread across the village of Tochni, not the easiest place to find, but luckily when we got there in the evening, we found Nostos Taverna and they rang the owner to come get us. The rooms are really cosy and the view fr the balcony was breathtaking, we really enjoyed our stay there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our house was very dark wiht very little sunlight because it was right in the centre of the complex. The are no signs on the house where is the reception located so we were struggling for some time upon our arrival.

    The Vasilikos house is located in beautiful traditional village, near tavern and small supermarket. Few minutes drive from the Governors beach. The house was clean and good equiped. Breakfast simple but fresh and tasty with a stunning view. Our bed was super comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the 2 bedroom apartment was 2 apartments either side of a courtyard with a shoddy gate which could not be locked. the other side had a balcony over the road. this was not safe for our 6 year old children. the Booking.com info did not identify that we needed to check in at another area of the village, nor that breakfast was probably held at the other location - a 5 minute drive. fridge in 1 room was not working - nearly resulting in a loss of my wife insulin and the AC did not work in the other room.

    it formed a brief base camp

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hand wash, body wash, shampoo in the bathroom. A/C only in bedroom. Kitchen staff was kind of old and dirty. Also no sponge to wash the dishes. No oven, even if it was mentioned in room's description. Our room was much different than photos of booking. The pool was not that clean. Windows don't have blinds.

    Quiet and relaxing place only 15-20 min drive from Limassol centre. Kind of traditional decorated apartments. Lovely food at Tochni tavern; seems that the owner of "village houses" is same with mentioned tavern. For check in you must go directly to tochni tavern, the reception is located there. Also the pool is there, as well as the breakfast place. I booked "Vasilikos" but we stayed at "Adamos". As i realised the owner has many apartment's all over the village. Comfortable bed. Nice balcony with view. Basic breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    EVERYTHING IN THIS PROPERTY IT WAS DISCUSTINDG.

    The tavern in Tochni Village (no tavern which the owner is the same owner with the property) was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful silent apartment between green, flowers, orange trees with beutiful view. Typical stone houses but very modern, clean and full equipment. Fantastic stay and relax enjoy! Beach is 7 min with car.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need refreshing and certainly a good spring clean. Furthermore there were no stair or passage lights on the day we arrived and still no passage lights when we left .

    If you like a good Cypriot village location and a great view of the village itself then this is recommended. However there are no restaurant's local off season and a car is a must. Not suitable for any person with walking difficult.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cats on restaurant tables ...

    Lovely village with old houses and blue windows. The Vasilikos house is located on a little hilltop, overlooking the mountains and the village. The room was super cute, the Wifi worked and the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities/rooms are old and in need of refurbishment. Cleanliness forgot (spider webs and odd smells in rooms) Lack of organization in general. We did book two rooms but when we got there the houses were kms separate from each other. Make sure you book the appropriate house.

    Right location if you are looking to relax, good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite far from the pool. The breakfast wasnt so rich could use a lot of improvement. Pests all over the place. No soap in toilets. Understaffed

    Pet friendly accomodation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was built to resemble a little village so the rooms are spread around. The room we were given was located quite far from the restaurant and the swimming pool and it was too hot to walk there. So we had to drive there every morning. That was really disappointing since we chose to visit this particular location in order to relax. It's not really relaxing if you have to drive to get breakfast or swim in the swimming pool at the hotel you are staying! Breakfast was a bit poor too. It didn't even include eggs.

    It was really quiet and peaceful. There was a great view of the village.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was awful. We were not given the property we booked, pictures of my booking had nothing to do with what we got. My booking mentioned cooking facilities so we took a few things with us to cook. (We didn't have an oven as mentioned so when I called to make a remark they told me to take my food to the restaurant so they could cook it for me) Well that didn't happen!!! The pool is a shared pool and IT IS NOT A 5 MINUTE WALK from the property, you need a car to get there. Also our room was reachable from a path in the mountains (not suitable for older people or people who have any problems moving). No room service or cleaner or towel changed for 3 days.

    The only thing I liked is a tavern located in the village called Nostos... Great food, great service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Vasilikos house was a very very pleasant surprise for us: a cosy spacious apartment in a nice traditional house with a magnificent terrasse and great view on the really nice Tochni village (with really nice inhabitants and local restaurants). This happened to be the ideal base camp from where to organize our exursions throughout cyprus. The host is most friendly and helpfull!!- a real pleasure to meet and chat with him at our daily breakfast table. We highly appreciated his very relevant suggestions and advice. We highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that we didn't find any form of soap for the bathroom and/or the kitchen was pretty annoying. It had a sponge in the kitchen but no soap. Also the wireless connection was very weak..... quite unusable in the room we were staying. And if we used the shower late in the evening hot water was almost gone which is pretty weird since the weather was really hot. Another thing is you cannot park close to the place so to get there is a bit of a climb so not recommended for people with bad knees or something similar.

    Very Clean. The beds were very comfortable. It had a very nice balcony and a nice view of the village. A nice breakfast. Friendly staff and a big plus for the pet friendly accommodation. I liked the nice deep pool as well !!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no soap in the bathroom, the breakfast could have been better but was totally fine considering the overall price. The nice beaches are a bit far away, Governor's Beach is certainly not a must.

    The village is very relaxing, nice and quiet, there is a lovely restaurant close by (Nostos). The staff of Vasilikos were extremely helpful and gave us great tips for hiking and beaches. It was great to have a pool to cool down. The apartment in a restored traditional Cypriot house was nicely furnished and it was great to have a balcony from which to see the stars!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water took a long time to be available and sometimes never

    Nice breakfast, the room was good and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet environment, great place for rest-seekers. Wonderful restaurant with very delicious food!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very romantic and quite place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Beautiful place for romantic weekend. delicious breakfast on the terrace with amazing view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite, nice village, good food, grateful people

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Seems to be that no one has cleaned my room during 5 days.

    A very nice village, wonderful views, 10 minutes to a majic beach, nice rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not easy to find Room not located near to breakfast

    Clean Nice and calm location Price

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -short of staff -we were given a room not close to the pictures advertised -smelled like a museum -not clean enough bed sheets and quilt -i suspect our room wasn't even within Vasilikos House, as I understood from a map i saw and the fact that the room was named 'Mespilo' - the village was empty during noon, everything was closed, nowhere to eat except the complexion's restaurant, looked deserted- good thing Zygi, Lefkara and Governor's beach are near by (car distance)

    -The traditional feeling -location -view of restaurant -price

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    In this village are more Houses, not only Vasilikos house. And they all have the same reseption, which is on the other side of the village. The way is not long, but all through the hills. And the pool is only near reseption, not for swiming. They suggested us a local river.

    This place is perfect to see the beauty of Cyprus villages. Everyone must spend at least one night in this old and comfortable appartment. We had ordered a studio type, but we had got a one bedroom appartment, with separate living-kitchen room and big terase.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only minus (or plus when you want to have a real rest:)) - wifi and computer available only in restaurant and reception.

    Beautiful place, very nice staff, great breakfast, each accommodation has own veranda and separate enter! Place full of flowers and romantic is in the air!:))

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We have booked to stay in a two bedrrom appartment / room. Per review of the photos provided for the facility we expected to have a nicer room with jaccuzzi bigger rooms and better facilities. However we have been provided with a room not near to the photos or the specifications given. No jaccuzzi of course. Even though a self caterred facility we expected to have at least the basics such as toilet paper, small shower jell shampoo etc. Not even these were provided. The towells had a weird feeling and smell. Finally after a small conversation we had with the locals we realised that the room which was given to us was not in Vasilikos as booked but in another complex. Weird isn't it?

    Peacefull place ideal for relaxing with locals being very friendly and helpful to us. Even though we checked out late, we faced no issues or complains from the staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing village, beautiful place where you can really rest.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were creatures in the room. No soap. No wifi

    Kitchen staff were polite. The location was very good. The garden was nice

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfasts can be better A bit difficult to find the place

    Room was beautiful old style Pool was lovely and clean Near the center of the village

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was not easy to find the reception location at arrival, the pool

    The rooms, the price, the staff manners, the breakfast,

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Terrific location. Excellent service. Clean, cozy and comfortable apartments. The location was quiet, and the atmosphere was soothing.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Vasilikos House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: