Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cerny Slon This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Tynska 629/1, Prague, 11000, Czech Republic

#232 of 646 hotels in Prague

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 985 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    8.3
    Very cheap and amazing location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very cheap and amazing location. Bed was very squeaky and with no AC, you have to leave the window open which was super noisy. That said, for the price and location, it was worth it. Would not stay more than 1 night.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.9
    Best location but worst beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was curt, not rude but could've been more helpful. The only reason I'd hesitate to stay here again is how uncomfy the beds and pillows were! We were there for three days and two nights and were SO exhausted from not being able to sleep due to how stiff the beds were and how thin the pillows were.

    The location was absolutely superb, couldn't have picked a better spot as a home base in Prague. Having a restaurant on site was extra convenient since it's open super late (we arrived and were able to have dinner at 10pm!) and breakfast was much better than I had expected. Great hot food, numerous drink options and wonderful fruit selection.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard flooring in rooms very noisy. Woken early by people moving around upstairs. Also woken by drunken people walking past hotel in middle of night. Not a very restful stay!

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    I was delighted with my choice of hotel would definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only complaint was the shower it was very basic, also the towels were very thin but the bathroom itself was huge and cleaned every day.

    I loved the room and the location, the food was excellent, we ate in the restaurant one of the nights and it was really nice and very good value.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.6
    It was a nice stay, good location, good price, didn’t feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a nice stay, good location, good price, didn’t feel dangerous or uncomfortable for staying alone. I asked them in advance to arrange a ride to get to the airport and they booked a taxi right after I asked (quick response) the driver was gentle and drove safely. The breakfast was delicious and cheap, not many options but good enough.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    Just off Old Town Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lots of character and old charm. Large room with a bath too, in central Prague Old Town. Good breakfast and meals in the restaurant.Lift as well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only negative is out of control of the staff/owners...noise. Due to the great location you also get passing drunk people who can be very loud shouting and singing.

    Great location. Historic building with great features. Nice little bar. Friendly staff. The room was large, had a Juliette balcony. Travelled with my wife and child, staff were supportive and happy to help.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.1
    O really a good stay and close to old town Square but away from the main noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food could have vegetarian options in cooked breakfast Friendliness of some staff

    Staff on the front desk and the cleaners were helpful and friendly The lady in breakfast room very unfriendly Bar staff ok Decorating was beautiful and the beds were comfortable Internet was not working approx 24hrs but otherwise ok

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed the stay in a very well appointed room close to the old town square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee sachets in the room. very limited supply of teabags.

    Spacious room and bathroom. Best location close to Town square. Excellent restaurant menu.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pictures on the website did not reflect the hotel. The room I selected was not the room I was given. The breakfast wasn’t value for money. The bed made noise, for every slight movement. The policy one up all up, you could here the rooms left and right up and down.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    8.3
    All in all a good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, I didn't expect the hot water to come from a water heater (it was located outside of the room). Here I am, sitting in a bubble bath with a hair mask on, and the tap water turns cold, thank you very much. Also the furnishing and the tiles in the bathroom are simply... basic. Clean and neat, but just basic; I expected more from a 4-star hotel. It does get quite noisy at night, but I always travel with the earplugs, so it wasn't an issue (neither was it for my companion who didn't use them).

    The location, it's all about the location. The hotel is located at the Staromestska square, which couldn't be more perfect for a quick first-time stay. We had a room in the third floor (or the attic), and I truly enjoyed the authentic atmosphere, the building seems to be more than 400 years old and you can tell - by charming squeaky slighly crooked staircase, the old brickwork, the thick wooden beams in the ceiling.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very courteous, helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is very near bars and can get noisy on Friday and Saturday nights with patrons stumbling home drunk.

    The staff were very courteous, helpful and polite. Great location for sights. Ambience is perfect for a stay in Prague. Integrity of the old structure had been preserved.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.2
    Good location, food, but a bit noisy and challanging to drive to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The noise outside at bedtime was continuous, particularly on weekend days.

    The location was excellent, right in the center of old time. It was easy to walk and see the key sights. It is also easy to take the local train to key areas like the bone church (actually both cheaper and easier than the paid tour).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    5.8
    Great location but outdated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Creaky floorboards in the room directly above us meant we were disturbed late at night and woken early. The room wasn’t particularly clean- balls of other people’s hair were in all corners of the room. Our final bill contained a series of small, unidentifiable “other” charges. These were not explained by the receptionist so we are unsure what they were for.

    Breakfast buffet was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    Loved the location and the old world feel of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a little loud outside the hotel at night with revelers carousing, but I always travel with ear plugs.

    Loved the location and the old world feel of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.5
    Position and the view from our windows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a little outdated and ‘tired’ for the price but is clean. It seems a bit mean to not have milk or coffee and minimal teabags. Some light globes weren’t working and we were instructed by notice not to leave milk or food in the minibar fridge or it would be thrown out. It is in a great position but it was a bit noisy on Saturday night but the double glazing as sufficient at all other times.

    Position and the view from our windows. Good quality of toiletries.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    7.1
    No cellars the fact it was in the centre and a very old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel was advertised with cellars that contained a resturaunt and bar... this wasn't the case. The dining room was a small musty room that smelt of wet dog and the bar was a tiny little cupboard size room next to reception. I am very disappointed that Booking.com advertised this place with the cellars which was reason why I booked it. We were all very upset about this. The 2nd room we booked for friends was very hot with no air con. We told the receptionist this on the second morning and a fan was thrust at us! On the plus I forgot to lift my Kindle from the room but they did post it to me using the card that was attached to the booking. I received it 9 days later.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great location and lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was great

    Great location, 10 steps to the main square! Room was large, almost a suite, and the hotel has an elevator. Breakfast was excellent and the hotel packed us a breakfast bag because we had a very early departure. The hotel's restaurant was very good and we enjoyed our svickova and pork knuckle. This was our second time staying in the hotel - highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, but room was not what I was expecting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Room was disappointing. It didn’t have the ornate gothic style ceilings as pictured. It was just a dark room, with old furniture.

    - Location was amazing. - The room was actually pretty quite if you shut both windows to the street. - Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    6.3
    Hotel to avoid if you look for something else than location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff who was on charge of the check out was really unpleasant, she spent her stress to the customer. The diner was also not good (reheated meal) but the breakfast was correct.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Top located hotel for exploring Prague!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It got a bit hot on the top floor but a fan was provided and the windows opened all the way so it was ok. To be expected from an old building!

    Amazing location right off the main square and in a lovely historic building. Breakfast was good and bed was very comfortable. Great for a short break away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant location, a hotel with history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some assistance with luggage going by stairs from level 2 to level 3 would have been desirable, as the steps are uneven

    Brilliant location, a hotel with history.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    9.2
    Central location, easy to get anywhere in Prague.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had a room facing the street and it was noisy outside til mid-night.

    Central location, easy to get anywhere in Prague. Breakfast was very good. Very clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    Amazing.......
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff where very friendly and also on the last night, i left my phone in a taxi and when i rushed back to the Hotel, the lovely night receptionist called my number and spoke to the Taxi driver. My phone was returned to me within 15 minutes. The staff where so helpful. If i needed directions or any questions they where more than happy to help. The Restaurant was amazing, the staff again very helpful and courteous. The food was beautiful. For my first time in Prague and also being on my own, this just made it for me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and very charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom has a bath and shower in the bath, for older people it can become difficult to climb in and out a bath-tub to take a shower.

    Best location ever. Very clean. Great room, good bed, perfect breakfast. The food in the restaurant is superb. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It couldn't be better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    6.7
    Great location for the centre of the old town, however don’t go here if you want to sleep before 1am
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise at night was awful!! Don’t expect to sleep before 1am. The breakfast was poor and if you went down later (because you’re catching up on your sleep) there is not much left and they don’t keep the food topped up. One morning we spent €8 each on cereal and bread.

    Very close to old town square. Classic Czech hotel. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    10
    Exceeded expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed one night at Cerny Slon with my best friend, who had never before traveled outside of the USA. What a fabulous experience and first impression! We loved the room, the charm, and the staff, who always made us feel welcome every time we walked in the door. (Thank you, everyone--we miss your smiles and friendly conversations.) The beds were comfortable and the room was clean, and we enjoyed the variety of provided teas. The location of this hotel could not be any better; literally steps from the Old Town Square. It was a wonderful first night in the Czech Republic, and next time, we hope to book ahead so that we can stay longer!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    7.5
    Good location, helpful staff, but, old brown furniture needs changing, creeky and too old and dark
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Final bill settlement confusing as booked the hotel and expected to be able to pay in Pounds Sterling (GBP). However we were told they could only convert the bill from CZKs to Euros. This made our bill higher than quoted, which is not really acceptable. We paid by credit card. We expected to pay @ 345.00 English Pounds allowing for changes in currency rate, however, we ended up paying 10179.00 CZKs. At the rate on the day we have paid 25.00 Pounds more than expected. This is not acceptable and it was a disappointment to us. 2. Old brown furniture (wardrobe) noisy and creeky and needs replacing as makes room too dark. 3. Safe is on ground level in old wardrobe, too low for someone with a bad back.

    Excellent location and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    8.3
    Nice, clean hotel with a squeaky bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities: the bed was so squeaky that I could not fall asleep the first night. But we asked the staff and they fixed it the next morning. The bed got much better but was still a bit squeaky. Since the hotel is located downtown and there is a restaurant, you may find it loud (cause drunk people sing and shout outside). It did not bother us that much, but I guess in the hotter tourist season it may be more uncomfortable. Wi-Fi would come and go at times, but in the end, we managed to watch a movie on Netflix, so it was not that bad.

    Very nice and friendly staff: they helped us with our inquiries. Great location: you are staying in the middle of Old City. The bathroom was very clean and had many towels. Breakfast was nice, good selection of bread and pastries. The first morning there were three different kinds of cheese, but the next day only one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    9.2
    The location is superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entrance doors were confusing and at night they would be closed as if they were locked which scared us when we came back to the hotel after walking around at 12am.

    The location is superb! Literally had the Old Town Square as our backyard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    8.8
    The food in the restaurant was amazing however we only ate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The waiter - very rude!!

    The food in the restaurant was amazing however we only ate there once. When we were paying the bill we were not very o fey with the currency so did not tip the waiter enough. He took serious offence & threw the money back at us saying he wasn't homeless & we could keep our money. He was so rude. It was a genuine mistake & the lovely barman tried to clam him down. Obviously we gave the correct tip after we were made aware but we couldn't eat or have a drink there after that experience which left a very bitter taste in our mouths. No apology was given by the waiter. He ruined the experience really.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    7.1
    The rooms were very clean, spacious and nicely decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff could be a bit more friendly, the girl at the reception hardly acknowledged our presence when we went for check-in. At checkout we were charged about 10 euros more than expected - the receptionist's explanation for this didn't make any sense. Finally I found it a bit tiring to be asked each morning which room we're staying at. That was happening during the breakfast buffet.

    The rooms were very clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The location was ideal, most places of interest were within a few minutes walk. Also, an abundance of warm water was available at any hour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    8.8
    clean, intimate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    clean, intimate. close to EVERYTHING very easy to find and arrive by metro and bus from the airport, no car needed. great place highly recommended for couples/singles

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    The location could not be better for accessing the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything about this hotel is 10/10. Ok, the bar is a little small but the staff are extremely competent and friendly: The food in the restaurant is excellent in both quality and value; rooms are great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    7.9
    Prague is a special city and the hotel was very well located in the main square, good breakfast.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We changed the reservation from a single room to a double room and the breakfast I originally requested on the original reservation was removed from the modified reservation, and I was not aware and had to pay extra.

    The breakfast was very good quality, and alot of selection. The location was perfect right in the main square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location would definitely recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The broken sink in the bathroom and the breakfast wasn’t our cuppa tea but was doable

    Oh boy the croissant was definitely extra flakey. The room was beautiful with all the beams.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was so dark in the bathroom and you had to hold the faucet up with one hand to shower. Getting ready in the morning was rough.

    Location was perfect. We could walk to absolutely everything. It had everything we needed including free wifi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy streets, but understandable considering location. Mattresses could do with an upgrade. Would have liked bigger towels.

    Location was excellent. Clean room and good quality linen. and quaint. Good breakfast and great overall ambiance. Beutiful building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    9.6
    Nice staff, comfortable room, elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff who packed us a breakfast bag when we had to leave very early. Nice that our double bed did not have the usual gap of a European bed. Nice linens and elevator. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    9.6
    A building from 1300 one of the oldest of Prague and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no elevator till the third floor, so you will have to carry your luggage up the stair by your own if your room is there.

    A building from 1300 one of the oldest of Prague and the location couldn’t be better

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    9.6
    All the charm of Prague in the fantastic super central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All was just fine. There was just one staff lady who could be even nicer, but she's still pretty acceptable in general (something like 8 out of 10). :)

    My second time in this charming hotel and for sure - not the last one. Fantastic location (literally - 20 steps from the Old Town Square), very big comfortable and well equipped rooms (we had 1 double and 1 single - both were perfect and spacious), very good breakfast in the cosy hotel restaurant. Most of the staff ladies are really very nice, polite and helpful. As a nice improvement since the last time I was there there is a newly added elevator - very helpful if you live on the 1st or 2nd floors. Getting to the hotel from the airport was super simple with Uber (30 - 35 minutes). Next time I go to Prague - I will choose this hotel again. Tip: Just around the corner there is a very nice cafe "U Budovce" having live music every evening (after 8pm) - good food, great musicians every time we were there (this time and a couple of years ago), wonderful atmosphere!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room itself was a bit dated but spotless. I enjoyed my time here . I doubt you could get a better location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    7.9
    Good value hotel in a great location with good food and friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a nice size and the bathroom spacious and a high standard. The room itself was a bit dated and the TV small with only two English speaking channels, both of which were American news channels. But this was more than made up for by the great location and friendly, helpful staff.

    Great location, only a few metres away from the old town square. Very nice, helpful staff. Good food in the restaurant. Good to have a lift to the second floor which helped a lot with my wife's hip condition.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location for the Christmas Markets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in the bedroom could have been better and the single beds were the most squeakiest thing I've ever slept in!

    Location of the hotel was fantastic, everything was in walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    10
    Prague in christmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Creaky floor boards - not too good at all of you have some late night walkers & there is limited sound proofing between floors.

    Fantastic in every way. Rooms are large and comfortable. Great friendly service, the restaurant is reasonably priced but the food is exceptional! The mixed grill and prague mixed grill - superb. They even provide a discount for those staying at the hotel - but do make sure you book.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    10
    Wonderful short break. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Eating out and tourist attractions expensive, but no criticism of hotel itself.

    Huge room, large comfortable bed, huge bath. All very clean. Wonderful choice at breakfast. Located just yards from main square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    9.2
    Christmas in cerny slon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price had 12czk per night tax on it and so charges were different . You dont know how much u will pay until you are leaving.

    Great location for winter market and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a bit squeaky every time we moved but it was comfortable

    Location was perfect just one minute walk from the Old Town Square, staff were friendly and helpful, the room was a little old fashioned in decor but perfectly clean and pretty good size. Bed was quite squeaky but comfortable and pillows were soft which suited me. Breakfast was ok and adequate. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    9.6
    Awesome hotel and friendly staff! Great location and awesome food in their restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed at room 11 and the bed was joined together. Be careful not to jump on middle of bed as it is a single bed joined together keeping in mind that the bed frame in the middle can cause injury. Mattresses needs to be replaced into a higher quality ones.

    Very nice hotel and very friendly staff! The receptionist helped book our sightseeing trip! Card key to use for elevator and room was nice and convenient and safe for guests. World class food at their restaurant and beautiful hotel and restaurant! Very attentive waiter anf speaks good english too! Location was great as it is a few steps from the old town square!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    10
    Excellent choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything!!

    The location of the hotel is just amazing, just 2 steps from the old town square!The room was truly beautiful and clean!Staff accommodated all our requests and helped us book a good-value for money transfer from and to the airport!Highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    A very comfortable and excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was fine.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The building was very characterful and well maintained. The room was very nice and the beds were spacious and very comfortable. We slept very well. We are sure that if you stay here you will be very happy. Breakfast was very good. The location was excellent. The hotel is only 2 minutes from the Old Square and next to the Tyn Church. There is also a nice bar in the hotel. Excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, brilliant location, less than 2 min walk to Old Town Square and surrounding areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel bar was tiny, we were disappointed that the bar downstairs (photo's shown on website) was not open or in use.....when we questioned reception we were told that this part of the bar was never in use.... This is false representation of the hotel facilities available!!

    We were a party of 6 adults. 2 of the rooms (Double on 1st floor, room #5 & Twin on 2nd floor, room #11) were absolutely lovely - both very comfortable and spacious . The 3rd room was on the 3rd floor (room #15) up in the eaves of the property, tiny and hot (although there was air conditioning) and only accessible via a steep staircase not recommended for older or less mobile guests.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    10
    Fabulous! Great location in Old Town Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location next to Church of our Lady before Týn in Old Town Prague. Hotel provides spacious comfy, warm & clean rooms. The staff were really friendly & helpful with providing Airport Transfers for 700 CZK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    Wonderful and it was a 50th birthday celebration for my husband and it couldn't have gone better for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't anything we did not like!

    The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful and we will definately come back to this hotel and recommend it fully to our friends. We have never booked online before and also going through a high street travel agent.....not anymore it will be booking.com ever time!!! We have just booked a holiday throught booking.com to Amsterdam for our son's 21st birthday for this Saturday. Kindest regards Teresa Austin

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    9.6
    The location and character of this property made our short trip to Prague memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We used the restaurant every night after our busy days exploring. There was a good choice of Czech food and the cooking was excellent. The dining room room is characterful and homely. The hotel is in a wonderful location just off the Old town square. I would highly recommend this place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful historic hotel in fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing room (#16) from the top floor with high ceilings and exposed beams. Not a factor for us, but no lift to the 4th floor. Window with chair to be able to look out on an alley / church adjacent. Though we didn't mind, with windows open at night, the alleys provide a lot of echo and it goes on late into the night. We enjoyed it as background noise, but others could be irritated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    8.8
    Liked it overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No coffee in your room in the morning. Only tea. You had to go downstairs and buy it.

    Comfortable room, comfortable beds and nice bathroom. The location is excellent. It doesn't get better than that. We were about 30 steps away from the historic old town center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    Very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lights were a bit dim in the restaurant and couldn't read the menu, but waiter made up for it, giving us a little torch which was amusing and resolved the problem!

    The lounge room was very relaxing! Location perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    10
    Excellent location, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just one minor thing, the bed was 2 hard framed singles pushed together with a gap between the mattresses to the frames, could put a dampener on romantic breaks.

    Excellent location. Friendly staff. Reasonably priced. Clean room. Mini bar (again reasonably priced). Helped to prevent book tours.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    9.2
    Great location with very supportive staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well if you are sensitive to a bit squeeky floors(not too bad). The coffee at the breakfast could be improved. Which is a bit wierd since they have a real coffe machine at the bar. They have a boilder in the room but which is great but it is only for té. It would be very much be appreciated with quick coffee e.g. Nescafee or equivalent.

    The Location is in 10 meters from the main square in the old town. It is a nice and cousy hotels with squeeky floors. The receptionists are really helpfull no question is to hard and they really take their time to help one out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    10
    This is a very nice place to stay. We visited Prague twice this year; I would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check out was not as smooth as usual, the receptionist may have been training - but she was very distracted and speaking to others while we waited to check out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    10
    Comfy and charming hotel in an amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was perfect!

    The hotel was located right next to the old town square - the convenience and access to shops, restaurants, convenience stores and even Thai massage outlets was incredible for such a reasonable price. Also, it was only a few minutes walk away to the famous Charles Bridge. The design of the hotel room was very nice too, it had an old charm and cozy feel to it thanks to the use of woods and warm colours. Another review mentioned that the lift only goes up to the first floor - however, when I was there, it had a new external lift that went up to the 2nd floor too. Finally, the breakfast selection, though simple, was quite delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    10
    Awesome stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Hotel had so much charm. We stayed in room 16 and had a Juliette balcony where we people watched in the evening. Room was quite large and bed was comfortable. The staff were Amazing! We got to check in early, and when your jet lagged that is a bonus. Another staff member even called the train station when I had a concern about our train . Thank- you so much. Breakfast was good and served in a quaint room. Right next to the main square in Prague. I would stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    6.3
    If you can afford it, money is no object, go to a different hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I do not book breakfast any more when stating at this hotel as the owner is grumpy and if you come down after about half an hour after the three hour breakfast time starts, there is usually none of the poor breakfast left anyway. On a precious visit in the last two years this happened and when I asked could some food be brought out the owner got angry and ranted to me in Czech and walked off bringing no food out which I had paid for. She appeared to pretend she didn't know what I was talking about and so I had to pay for breakfast outside the hotel all week on top of what I had already paid for breakfast tin the hotel. The best thing about the hotel is locality. There are much better hotels and staff in the old town centre but also a lot more pricey with it.

    The locality of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    7.5
    We were staying in a beautifully quaint hotel in the heart of Prague.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We liked the fact that we were staying in a medieval building. It was quaint and we enjoyed our balcony. Our room was spacious but a bit warm since the weather was hot. However, we enjoyed it very much. The restaurant while so very authentic and wonderful had few vegetarian options for dinner. So we did not eat there -- breakfast was lovely. The coffee was not great -- and was made in some kind of noisy machine -- but as I said --we enjoyed our stay!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    10
    A great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything.

    The location is ideal to enjoy the city, easily accessed, just at the Old Square, close to monuments, shops and restaurants, but the hotel itself and the rooms were very quiet. The room was clean, big and comfortable. The whole hotel was nicely and traditionally decorated. The staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    10
    Prefect Location, Lovely traditional hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee in the room!!

    Great location, From the minute we checked in to the minute the lovely receptionist said goodbye after she had organised a car to take us to the airport the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had a meal in the restaurant on the Saturday evening and it was lovely, from the very nice bar man taking us through to the restaurant to the very nice waiter serving!! We had traditional food which was lovely. All in all when I visit Prague again I will certainly use this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    10
    Really interesting , traditional style of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room could be brighter. Prague is a very lively city and you are right in the centre so if you keep your windows open at night, you are going to hear noises. However it has double glazed windows so if they are closed you won't be disturbed.

    The location is superb, right in the centre beside the old town square. The rooms are really interesting with nicely decorated ceilings. The staff were very friendly and helpful, printing off boarding cards for us. The restaurant has a very nice cosy feel with traditional Czech food. Breakfast was excellent as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    6.7
    It's all about location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's an old property. Lighting was quite uncomfortable to read or see with, as lamps had a greenish tint. But since I didn't expect to stay in my room all that much, it was fine.

    Location, location, location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    3.8
    A very convenient location but aweful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was aweful and our order for room service was rejected citing they are busy! There is no air conditioning and you are forced to either use a small table fan in the room or keep the windows open. If windows are open there is lot of noice from outside, people screaming, vehicles passing and you cannot sleep.. not a great experience at the hotel apart from the location. Hotel refused to call a taxi for us, they instead tried to sell their own which was bouble the price of a uber ride

    There is nothing good about the hotel apart from the location, that was great and very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    8.3
    Jewel of architecture, but noisy neighbours
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The area is very noisy, not because of cars, but because of pub crawlers passing by drunk and loud at different times in the night. The room is not sound proofed againt that, so, if you're a light sleeper or jetlaged, you won't get a good sleep. The towels were small. No coffee and milk selection with the electric kettle, just tea.

    The archytecture is gorgeous, the location is ultra central, within 2 minutes away from the astronomical clock. Waking up looking at gothic ornaments of the cathedral right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    10
    Perfect Prague location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only the coffee!! It was very strong and not the best I have tasted, although I got used to it. Nothing else to complain of at all.

    The location was superb, and although close to the square the double windows meant we slept really well each night. Breakfast was excellent including home made cakes!! The hotel was incredibly clean, and staff all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel in a brilliant location. Expensive with rude staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rude staff on check-out. We woke late by mistake and were 20 minutes late to check-out. Our card was disabled so we couldn't use the lift and had to struggle down the stairs with our cases! That made the process even worse. Poor service and a bad attitude doesn't help anyone :(

    Great location, good room. We knew parking was going to be difficult in a historic city so we used Mr Parkit (Panská) car-pod parking for my classic Porsche :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience staying at historic Hotel Cerny Slon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dodgy wifi ... intermittent service.

    Staying at this wonderful historic hotel was a real treat. The lovely lady on reception was friendly and helpful. Good idea to use the taxi to/from the station which was organised by the hotel (other tourists we met spoke about being ripped off). Room was huge and charming, bathroom fabulous. Nice to have drinks in bar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    5.0
    Horror Room #15 | Utter Disapointement on Perfect Location
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room #15 has been a total disaster: -- small and claustrophobic -- two slits, rather holes, played "windows" while were of a size of bathroom windows in a smaller house -- A/C did not work -- the most uncomfortable mattress ever -- two "single" beds, by far the smaller ever. I am "only" 188 cm and 130 kg but have never been in a hotel bed that was as midgety as those two. Moreover, as I was leaving at 7:30 AM and was at reception at 7:15 AM I had a minor diabetic episode and needed a slice of bread, anything, just to calm the system down. They DID NOT give me food ("breakfast included"). Even more so, the receptionist did not even try to help or to tell me where I can to so I had to wander around until I've found an open store. Utter horror of the place. I must say, Prague is a mesmerizing city, more than deserving its fame. But I am getting slighlty annoyed but all these "5-stars" (like Merchants Crown hotel, a "five stars" without a lobby) or "4-stars" like "Gorgeous Prague Rooms" a ridiculous set of horribly decorated rooms or this disastrous one, a "4-stars" Hotel Cerny Slon. Someone has to do something about the rating system. Unless you go to the grand old hotels and get what you expected, the rest is just a money-grubbing bunch of nonsense. Not good Prague. I love you, but what's too much is too much.

    Perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: