Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Esplanade Spa and Golf Resort 5 stars

Karlovarská 438, Mariánské Lázně, 353 01, Czech Republic

#4 of 55 hotels in Mariánské Lázně

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 329 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    3.8
    5 stars? I don't think so..
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst thing of alls is the spa. I have booked for my wife a package in the spa. That was the entire youth with salt from the Dead sea und massage on the whole body. Also i bookes manicure and pedicure. The duration of the package was 3hours and 40minutes. After 2hours and a half my wife has finished. She told me that she was lining alone in a room full of light for 45 minutes with an oil with salt and the massager was not there the whole time. Instead when the lady left the room, she told to my wife ''Schlaffen schlaffen'', which means in german ''Sleep sleep''. And she locked my wife in the room. When there was a fire, how can my wife exit feom ghe room? The lady came and sge told that they have 1 hour massage. After only 25 minutes of massage and not on the whole body, she finished the massage and started the manicure and pedicure. My wife couldn't say anything, because the lady spoke only some german. The manicure and pedicure were also bad. The selection of the colours was too poor, only 2 colours, which were too dark, and they were so old and oily, with peaces inside the bottle. The whole package kosted about 200euros. Too expensive without anything special. I complaned two times to the reception and the first time they phoned the lady who did the massage, and then told me that this was the package. And the second time they kept some notes. Also only few people from the staff speak english. I speak german,so i had no problem. But my wife, who speaks only english, can't do anything in the hotel. The room was also dirty with spiderwebs and dust. The lamps over the bed and the curtains had stains. The cover of the bed was too old and worn.

    We had halfpension. The dinner was great with big portions. You can choose 3 places from the menu. My wife had her birthday and i had ordered a birthdaycake with chocolate. Unfortunately that was very small and with strawberries. No chocolate at all. The breakfast wad also good. The view from the hotel is also very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    friendly, quiet, perfect for getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very friendly staff, excellent restaurant with very nice Czech wine selection; sauna & steam bath can be rented privately; beautiful view of the town; very quiet hotel - perfect for relaxation and a short getaway.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from the resort center, probably better to visit in the summer.

    Elegant, impressive old hotel, huge room, very hospitable staff, excellent pool and spa, good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    beautiful and charming place, wish the service was better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    stuff was weird. young ones were good but the older stuff seemed to be focused on old German tourists, totally neglecting the locals.

    beautiful building, super comfy bed, charming swimming pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel, exceptional service, very good restaurant at the hotel, a lot of choice at the breakfast, nice design. Parking is available at the hotel. It has a very good location, just few minutes from the center, but on the hill, what gives a wounderful overview of the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    excellent weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Turn off (quite horrible) music in restaurant, sauna, and most of all at breakfast

    Very nice staff. Hotel very quiet. Incredibly relaxing. We felt very well looked after

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel with rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Elevator was not working during our stay. 2. When we were checking out, receptionist asked us to pay again, because they lost our bill. When we refused, she told that she won't let us leave. And told that we have to show her our copy of the bill. But it was in the suitcase already and she had to called to the bank. Lady was very rude. Not 5* level of customer service!

    Clean hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.1
    nice place but to pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast - very average - very basic selection of Czech cheeses - many 3 or 4 star hotels have much better, cofee too etc. , extra price for sauna although private

    The location, pool, sauna

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Royal hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff professional and pleasant making every effort to make the visitors feel comfortable right from the beginning. Rooms large ,very clean and beautifully furnished all this in a beautifull surrounding. Nice and clean swimming pool . Very good and rich breakfast . We had dinner in the bar once and it was also very good with very friendly service .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.5
    Not bad, but nothing special for five stars hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite 1+1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very low quality of pillow and duvet. Heating in the end october worked only two-three hours per day. Overpriced restaurant and minibar.

    Spacious appartment. Swimming pool. Nice place above the city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel staff, interiors and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool officially opens at 7:30, I would prefer earlier opening hours. Also, the use of sauna and co. should be for free in a 5* hotel.

    Very helpful, kind and proffessional hotel staff. Beautiful interiors, nice calm location, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    Eccellent breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wellness Package Double Room /min 2 nights
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was not so good in te room; not so close to the city by walking; not a really 5 stars european hotel

    Eccellent breakfast; beautiful hotel , just a little bit old style

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    10
    Sumptuous and spacious room, welcoming, helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite 1+1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Health spa staff unable to understand any of the 3 languages ( English, Italian, French) we speak, limiting our possibilities for obtaining further services.

    Sumptuous and spacious room, welcoming, helpful staff, gorgeous setting.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    6.7
    So so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The female staff at the reception was blunt and not friendly at all.

    We had dinner at the hotel restaurant. The food was not bad and a good value. The restaurant staff was nice, too. The swimming pool had a view overlooking the city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.5
    Ok to burn money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel strives to deliver an upmarket feel, but atmosphere feels cold and not relaxed, somewhat lacking in class. Foreign clientele may be found wanting with regards to their behaviour towards fellow guests and the staff. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room or complimentary water.

    Wonderful location overlooking the Spa. Short, if steep walk to the main historic centre of the town and the Colonade. Room super spacious with small balcony.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is beautiful and cozy the room is big and clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was thinking if to write about this only thing I didn't like: there is one girl working at the reception that would never answer my greeting! The other stuff were very kind and lovely

    The hotel is beautiful and cozy the room is big and clean, even though it is up and needs a walk to the center it is situated in a gorgeous place The breakfast was good and the staff waiting there are kind

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.8
    Accommodation very good, food not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Presentation and quality of breakfast buffet. The part of the restaurant that was open was situated in a hallway adjoining the bar.

    The room and the bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.5
    Just like any ordinary hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite 1+1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found a pube hair in our private spa when we used it. It is a king size bed, but came with two single duvets. It is a five stars hotel, but the restaurant is not worth than 2.

    The suite is spacious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    a welcoming house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Splendid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    customer satisfaction guaranteed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything top-notch. very friendly staff. good breakfast. and a lovely town as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    The vacation was very enjoyable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb service,great food Elegant surrounding,generous Christmas and New Years events.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast cleaniss bath
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi

    Breakfast cleaniss bath

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Great quiet place.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great quiet place. Super breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed the stay. Found it a bit out of the way. Walked one day to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite 1+1
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were to hard.

    the eggs they made for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    The room site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the tvs around

    The room site.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.3
    location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite 1+1
    • Stayed 1 night

    air condition was very noisy and controls were not working. room was 28 degrees and it was not possible to change

    location and staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    10
    Great relaxation, with beautiful scenery and spa treatments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was wonderful, beautiful scenery and walk through the old city towards the town centre

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    The hotel is enormous, very comfortable and has an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The hotel is enormous, very comfortable and has an excellent restaurant. The staff are friendly and attentive. Royal Marienska golf course, five minutes is set in parkland and is very well maintained. The staff at the course are extremely helpful and friendly. Well worth a visit and I intend to return to investigate this most charming area which is also known as Marianbad. It is a well hidden gem. Marianska is also a spa resort.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.8
    The spa treatments and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff of the hotel, like reception and especially during breakfast. Breakfast was a chaos totally not organised.

    The spa treatments and the location

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    6.7
    We have been staying for the 3rd time and visited...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I will make a list of negatives to make it more constructive: 1. It is a smokers' hotel. Yet not mentioned anywhere. Someone can smoke in the lobby, in the restaurant, in the room. Yet this is SPA hotel. We have stayed 3 times - the first 2 we have been lucky as no smokers were around us. But this last time - it was nightmare. God bless our room did not smell. If you are non smoker - you are allocated in not so nice seating area in the restaurant. 2. There is no seating area ie lobby bar - which is a big negative. After restaurant you have no choise but to go back to the room. 3. The price menu in the restaurant is even by Prague top restaurants is high. Yet the food is nicely served. 4. This is SPA hotel, but sauna or steam room is not freely available and have to be rented for quite substantial sum. Even 3-4 star hotels offer free sauna access. The only reason we have been visiting this hotel - is the mineral water pool.

    We have been staying for the 3rd time and visited occasionally for a lunch 2 times this hotel. Atmosphere is great, personnel is friendly and efficient, know what they do. Mineral swimming pool is great. And its own mineral water supply is the top benefit.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    10
    WOW! What a property and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WOW! What a property and service! We have been for 1 night, to connect with friends in Marienbad, and it was low season.. and, it was stunning! The Junior suite 1+1 was extremely spacious, with bathroom of a size that other hotels may have for a room..! Spot clean, amazzzing view towards the city from the hill..! Reception was very friendly, we asked for an early check-in (11:00) and we got it with ease & no extras. The pool area was absolutely beautiful and relaxing. Breakfast was truly shocking by variety and fast, attentive service. True 5* all-through. My only place now to stay in Marianske Lazny, if happens to be.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    4.2
    Good quality room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Strange staff. Value for money. Useless reception. Staff difficult to work with. Requests not accommodated. Unwilling to help. Second night on property would be at second, disconnected building. Didn't stay second night.

    Good quality room. Nice exterior building and probably better for older couples.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.2
    The hotel decoration and furnishings were top rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Except for the breakfast room, the service was not worthy of a five-star hotel. The reception desk was civil and polite, but uninformed and very cool. The waiters in the restaurant were forgetful and inefficient. The swimming pool had bread crumbs scattered about. One had to reserve and pay for use of the sauna and steam bath--unacceptable in a five-star hotel.

    The hotel decoration and furnishings were top rate. The setting, above Marienbad, was superb. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The mosaic-lined swimming was a work of art. The restored, 19C elevator was also a work of art. The service in the breakfast was warm and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    6.3
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    "Value deal" and "Genius deal" mean they put you up in an annexe in inferior rooms. A rip-off at the price. You don't get the balconied rooms, just dull, cheaply fitted out, non air conditioned rooms off to the side. The staff are just rude and dozy.

    Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    5.0
    The ac central air condition t not working because of...
    • Family with young children

    The ac central air condition t not working because of technical problems , and the management of the hotel dead will takes tow weeks to resolve it ???????

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    7.5
    Lovely room, breakfast setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The massage was pretty basic, not what I expected for what I thought to be a pamper session. The whole atmosphere in spa area was pretty tired.

    Lovely room, breakfast setting. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    9.6
    Amazing hotel, beautiful and clean rooms, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    sauna is not for free ( 25 euro per hour)

    Amazing hotel, beautiful and clean rooms, lovely swimming-pool, terrace, fantastic and friendly stuff, great food.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.3
    The size of the rooms and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    For a 5 stare hotel unexpected to see the demand for extra payments to access the wellness sauna,...

    The size of the rooms and the location.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.6
    Friendly and helpfull staff, breakfast, pool, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the coffe set in the hotel room was missing.

    Friendly and helpfull staff, breakfast, pool, location

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    Beautiful ,comfortable , luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beauty salon

    Beautiful ,comfortable , luxury hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.1
    Nice hotel ,
    • Family with young children

    The receptions staff need to speak English

    Nice hotel ,

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.2
    The Best hotel in Marianske Lazne!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The Best hotel in Marianske Lazne!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.2
    Everything was amazing except.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    .. The spa bath wasn't working ! (room 302) + hair from previous guest in the bath :S

    Everything was amazing except...

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Esplanade Spa and Golf Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: