Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Golden Star 4 stars

Nerudova 48, Prague, 118 00, Czech Republic

#11 of 612 hotels in Prague

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1732 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have gotten a better room (window was small). The one we got was on the top floor with a dormer window.

    The location of this hotel was great. Right by the castle in old town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Prague done right
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time in Prague and wasn’t sure the best location to stay in. Not only was this a perfect spot to get to everything you need to see, but the view itself is worth the uphill climb! The rooms are spacious and comfortable...just open the window and marvel at all Prague has to offer!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    An excellent, and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was large, so it would have been nice to have had a separate walk-in shower rather than a shower over the bath.

    Our room was large, clean and comfortable, with efficient aircon. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from Charles Bridge. We found this to be a very good location as it is not as crowded as the very centre of the city, though still close to it. We tended to walk into the centre as this is downhill, and get the tram back (nearest stop about 5 minutes walk).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Everything was superb but especially the hotel's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything was superb but especially the hotel's location and that the staff really made as feel almost like at home. The hotel is basically located right next to the Prague Castle and also not far from some of the other Prague's most famous tourist attractions. All members of staff were extremely helpful and I cannot thank them enough for making our stay in Prague unforgettable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Golden Star is a really good hotel. The room was large, clean, modern and comfortable. We had a lovely view towards the old town. Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel located in a quiet area very near the Castle and about 25 min walk to the old town. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    We will DEFINITELY be back to this hotel!
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was absolutely perfect. We traveled with our infant and a large dog and the hotel was extremely accommodating to both as they have an elevator which can be hard to find. View from the room CANNOT BE BEAT!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Gem of a hotel in Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were greeted so warmly on our arrival and the staff continued with a high level of service and warmth for our weeks stay. The location of the hotel in the Mala Strana district nestled at the base of Prague castle hill is perfect to explore this side of the river and down across Charles bridge and the Old Town. A wonderful and extensive breakfast gives you a great start to your day exploring.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel with a friendly and helpful staff! Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel with a friendly and helpful staff! Modern rooms mixed with a charm of an older building. Hotel is on a hill (right next to the Prague Castle) so be prepared for a bit of walking (or taxi).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room on fourth floor had some sloping ceilings as it was in roof and only a small window. Landmark view was actually just the uninteresting castle wall, although if you leaned out good view of pathway upto castle!

    Great location up a hill on way to castle. Enjoyed breakfast on terrace with view down street. Quiet at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Higher quality breakfast would be nice but it was included in the price so can’t really complain!

    Amazing stay. Lovely staff, clean and equipped room. Location was brilliant - slightly away from the old town, but on the way to the castle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Hotel near the castle (and far from the old town)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lift was out of order for 2 days and our room was at the fourth floor. No support or explanations at the reception. It was not a huge problem, but the situation could be better managed by the staff.

    Very nice location close to the Castle. The view is simply fantastic if you can get the right room (need to check before booking).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Excellent Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really enjoy the breakfast, they can make you omelet or eye eggs as you can order from the menu for free, and there are lots of choice for the breakfast. The room is tidy and clean, but our rooms' bed is separated for two single bed and combined as one bed. They have heater in the bathroom so it is connivence for washing needs. The location is great, it is near to the castle, and you can walk within 3 minutes to achieve to the best view Starbucks. The staff is warm hearted and they also provide exchange services, and you can ask them to order taxi, also, they can keep the luggage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    The hotel was in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a lovely location. The room was clean, comfortable, and overlooked the Old Town. Decor was modern and simple. Breakfast was great. There was a lot to chose from and all tasted lovely. I went to celebrate my birthday and was given a bottle of wine to mark the occasion which made it special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Beds extra big very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wouldn't change anything ideal for what we intended would return.

    Beds extra big very comfortable. Room spacious, cleaned every day and lovely slippers and dressing gown to add to the luxury!Lovely breakfast, staff couldn't do enough for us. Quiet location in the evening but ideally located or a visit to the castle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only downside was due to booking the standard room we didn't have the view that overlooked the street to the town (this wasn't really clear from the website). Although the staff tried to upgrade us but the hotel was fully booked. So make sure to book the deluxe room if you would like the view.

    The bedroom was light and airy with a high ceiling. The bed was large and comfy and the bathroom pristine with luxurious decor including marble in the bathroom and lobby. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast varied and plentiful. Amazingly the property is literally next to the path up to Prague Castle and on a beautiful historic street (though you need to walk down it to catch the tram) with lots of gift shops. You can saunter to the local square for a meal or to access Charles Bridge within 10 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Peace and comfort just outside the touristic city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Golden Star is a nice hotel, situated close to the castle. The Charles' bridge is some 600 metres away, I guess, a short walk. The biggest advantage of this location is, that this is a quiet area, particularly during the night. No noise, hardly any traffic in the street, etc. The rooms are very comfortable, and rather large for a city hotel. Good bathroom too, and a nice breakfast buffet. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Nothing to complain about!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Get back to your comfort zone after a day trip in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view from the room on the city, a 2 minutes walk from the citadel of Prague and close by to a transportation hub to take you anywhere. The room was big and comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    The location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the room wasn't very soundproof. I could hear every single person coming to their room in the night, or the toilet flush in the neighbouring rooms.

    The location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic. The view from the room in the 4th floor overlooking the castle and the city was stunning too. We also really liked the breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Amazing would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs slightly runny and could do with some extra English channels however that’s us being very fussy :)

    Loads of toiletry choice so no need to take your own! Amazing greeting by gentleman on reception and welcome drink offered, very nice touch after a 3 hour delay arriving! Room was lovely, really comfy bed! Breakfast good choice. Great location literally right next to castle and only 15 minute walk to Charles Bridge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location in the most beautifull part of Praha.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit noisy in the early morning, staing on the first flour right over the reception area.

    Perfect location in the most beautifull part of Praha. Great rooms, comfortable beds and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    Far away from city center but nice and big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel, far away from the city center and restaurants. The quality of the breakfast was poor, and the buffet crowdy.

    The size and the modern room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Well appointed, well located and well run hotel in a picture perfect city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really. Buffet breakfast a bit congested, that's all.

    Welcomed with a glass of prosecco to this gem of a hotel in Nerudova, one of the most interesting and lively streets in the city. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful, the room was beautiful with a fabulous view and the breakfast was varied and plentiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Superb holiday, in a superb hotel, in a superb location. Would recommend 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I wanted to be picky, I would say that the only thing that bothered me a little was having 2 single mattresses next to each other (creating a gap in between) rather than one large king size mattress on the bed. BUT anyhow, the bed was very comfortable. Other than that everything was absolutely perfect.

    The area is very picturesque, peaceful and quiet and just a minute walk from the beautiful Prague Castle and less than 10 minutes from Kampa, Little Venice and the famous Charles Bridge. The hotel is situated up a steep hill but that did not bother us at all. Very spacious, very clean and very comfy room. Bathroom was spotless with everything you need (clean towels every day, toiletry kits, robes and slippers). View from the 3rd floor is fantastic. Location is great with many souvenirs shops and restaurants in close proximity. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was of good quality with local products and large selection of sweet and savoury options, freshly squeezed orange juice and sparkling wine! The check in and check out was super easy, good communication as well with the hotel to organise our airport transfers. Would recommend 100% this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Great place to stay for a short weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came back to our room one evening and it smelt like food, it was awful! We rang reception to let them know and there only advise was to open the window or turn the air conditioning on. Appreciate there isn’t a huge deal they could do but the smell was very unpleasant and they weren’t very accommodating to try and resolve this.

    The room was very clean and spacious, all facilities were pretty new and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good! We were greeted with a little chocolate by the side of our bed, a bottle of wine and two bottles of water which was a lovely touch!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing! Cozy room, nice bathroom with heated floor, yummy breakfast! You can just walk to most of the places you would want to see in Prague. Don't need a transport ticket. Excited to come back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    The room was lovely, staff were great and bathroom was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the hotel was fantastic

    The room was lovely, staff were great and bathroom was very big with a great shower. The hotel provided bathrobes, slippers, wine, water and plenty of bathroom essentials. The location was great, however be aware as there are lots of hills nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a weekend stay in Prague.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Confusion on check out re our bill.

    The hotel was perfect for our weekend stay in Prague. The staff were helpful and breakfast lovely. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. There was a small issue while checking out, they had tried to charge for 3 days of parking although no where on our booking did we state we needed parking, we did not have a car during our trip so that was confusing. However the staff member apologised and removed the parking from our bill.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location, quiet at night, lovely breakfast , value for money hotel but still of good standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complimentary wine in the room was a bit ropey and I’m not fussy but actually couldn’t drink it !!

    Lovely breakfast which was always well stocked even if you arrived nearer the end prosecco on arrival a nice touch. Very friendly and helpful staff .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioning did not work in the middle of the night and it was hard to use.

    Excellent location - right outside the Prague Castle, good customer service and beautiful room.The breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff with excellent rooms, great location in a stunning city full of friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    View wise from the rooms is less than 50/50 you either get a lovely street view or as we got a wall and the same for the other side. Does include a small amount of tourist noise if you are next to the palace steps but nothing too loud.

    The location was excellent next to the palace, but not for those who want a long walk uphill to get to bed. On the upside the rooms where lovely, clean and modern even included a sweet surprise of complimentary Chardonnay wine and water.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, can be further improved!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - We have made arrangements for airport-hotel transfer. The driver never showed up - Poor sound-proof/noise from other rooms and housekeepers - Average breakfast (not 4-star quality)

    - Great location/view - Large room/bathroom - Very clean room - Fast wifi

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a beautiful building in a great location, just next to the castle. We had a room with amazing views over Prague. Staff was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Very close to castle. We got large room(35) with beautiful view over the city. The room was very comfy, nicely decorated with taste and clean. The bed was very comfy. Great breakfast. The staff was 5star (all three of them at the reception). The parking was just outside the hotel with the residence card from the hotel for 18 euro per day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Clean, spacious and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was two single together, rather than a double bed, this was the only thing

    The bed was amazing. My girlfriend and I had the best sleep we have ever had.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.7
    Sadly I couldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are thin so you can hear every bit of furniture being moved. Also in a very noisy location so didn't get much sleep any of the 3 nights we were there, not the hotel or staffs fault but unfortunately the way it is.

    Staff were lovely, deco was modern, breakfast was ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room and the bathroom - bathrobes, slippers, complimentary wine, water....everything was fantastic. So much detail and care. And the breakfast was just 5*.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional!!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would prefer one double quilt instead of the two single.

    Very good breakfast. Very kind, helpful and smiling staff. Amazing heating floor in the bathroom. Excellent location in the old town. Highly recommended!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    memorable and enjoyable stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an excellent property , very well located near the major sites. The staff were very friendly and helpful an the housekeeping was very efficient too. I would love to stay again at the same property

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    The room was high quality but the bed was uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was two single beds with two single duvets rather than a double bed with a double duvet. No hot vegan breakfast options. The bed sheets were also too abrasive which meant the bed was not comfortable.

    The bedroom lighting and mirror made the room very light and the bathroom gave a luxury feel. Good location in terms of closeness to the hrad.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Big, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok but I would have preferred more vegetarian and healthy options. Still, we got value for our money.

    Big, clean rooms. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The view from our room wasn't the best but we got what we payed for. Definitely value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    One to remember!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t have been better.

    Me and my girlfriend arrived, and were welcomed by the staff with a big smile. Upon entering the room they had left us some complimentary prosecco, the room was unbelievable and the location even more so. Thanks for a wonderful first stay in Prague.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location of the hotel is brilliant for visiting the castle area and there are lots of really good restaurants and shops around it. However, because of the steepness of the hill up to the castle area you should avoid it if you have mobility issues, unless you can take a cab - not UBER which will not pick you up from the hotel, but insists on a pick-up point in the next street, which involves going halfway down the hill to get to it. (Not the fault of the hotel of course). Trams are quite a distance away. Our vestibule had the smell of frying in it each day, but frankly these are really minor issues.

    Breakfast was plentiful and consistently good. The room (27) we had was a quiet one. It had no view, but I think the peace was a good compromise for the view. the room and bathroom were very roomy and the second door after the entrance created a vestibule which enhanced the peace and quiet - more hotels should have this. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. It felt natural and not forced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Over all prague is one country i will visit again. I would highly recommed the Golden Star to friend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hills and the cobble stones, hard to walk on at times. Our hotel was very central. The reception staff were lovely and friendly. There was a good amount of stations on the tv. They provided umbrellas which was great as it rained the second day .

    The breakfast was lovely, a good selection to choose from. Staff very helpful. The rooms were spotless and the room was cleaned each day. The bar closes early which was a pity. Over all we would return to the Golden Star .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Modern, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would liked to have had coat hooks by the door.

    This is a lovely, modern hotel in a beautiful building, quite near the Prague castle. Our room was very clean and comfortable (good bed and pillows) with plenty of space for our suitcases. We were in a standard double room so no castle views, but we looked onto the cobblestoned street. Dressing gown and slippers are provided which is always nice and also plenty of toiletries including body moisturiser. The staff were very helpful with everything including booking restaurants and airport transfers. The breakfast was quite good with a nice variety - cereal, toast, eggs, fruit, pastries. We liked the location, the area was quite busy during the day but it did not have the hoards of tourists near the old town area. We walked most of the time - there is so much to see when walking, and also caught the tram a couple of times. There are probably more restaurant and bar options on the old town side of the river but not a problem if you don't mind a pleasant 20 minute walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Perfect Location at the Golden Star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were slightly disappointed Christmas Eve for dinner......it didn't seem at all Christmasy and we had our meal in the breakfast room 😕

    Everything! Room was perfect with good views overlooking the city. Location was fantastic ,everywhere within easy walking distance. Breakfast with everything anybody could want,great selection!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    Views from prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall a good place to stay with location and renovated building but perhaps a little overprices for what it is.

    location is great but the hotel is on top of a hill. if you have difficulties walking up maybe not best place. Very clean hotel. Reception are very friendly but don't know much about where to go or to do except for places next door to the hotel. Room is good size and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Christmas in Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing came up.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. They even managed to book tickets for a concert 3 hours before it started. The room where very spacious and modern. In an medieval, fully renovated building. The location was excellent as it was very close to Prague Castle and 15-20 walk to the Astronomical Clock. The room was very good value for money. Highly recommended hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Great value and a fantastic part of Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We booked last minute . The staff were so helpful and accommodating . Couldn’t fault the location . Just walk down the road to buses and trams or a sort distance up the hill to the cathedral or monastery a must for a meal and craft beer . The breakfast was excellent with a fab view. Would I stay again yes without a heartbeat . Great value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    memorable stay in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were s friendly and went above and beyond.It was my husbands 50th birthday and they brought up a complimentary bottle of prosecco which was so appreciated.The room was beautifully decorated and romantic.Not like a modern characterless hotel.Thank you

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable accommodation with commanding view of the city. Do not miss the sunrise - it's beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was reasonably good, but nothing special in my opinion

    Nice hotel with hospitable staff and great view of the city (make sure that your window are looking eastwards). Everything we needed was there and working well

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.3
    Charming hotel at the foot of the castle steps
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was fine but not outstanding.

    The hotel was charming and well located just at the castle steps. You really felt part of the history of Prague. We had a 2-roomed hotel room and it was quite large with a beautiful view of the city. The beds were comfortable and we had a bottle of wine to great us. Lovely!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Probably best Hotel which is located next to Prague Castle
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Important to mention that parking in that area is screened by authorities so you need quickly to put into your car the parking permission which you receive at the reception. Parking on the street can be tricky, I was lucky and found every day my one parking place. Receptionists are very friendly and are always in good mood, really appreciated my chats over there. The place is next to the Prague Castle and in good walking distance to Charles-Brigde. Rooms are in good size, good bed and light in the room which gave a good atmosphere. Some complimentary drinks in the room ... wow, great service! Breakfast buffet but you can order some fresh egg options, very delicious! I'm looking forward coming back to that place, really nice stay and well deserved 10,0 rating!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Postcard worth view in the mornings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great

    Great hotel at a great location with views second to none. Room 34 faced the city from the hill right next to the Prague Castle. Waking up to the postcard view is a great experience. Loved it. Hotel is tidy, convenient and well looked after. Lovely place to stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's more of comment than a criticism: the hotel is ideally situated for the castle, monastery, and hill as it stands at the crest of Nerudova. By the same token though it is quite a climb from the Charles Bridge and Old Town - good brisk exercise which we did at least twice a day!

    The hotel commands a vista over a picturesque cobbled square immediately beneath the castle and cathedral. The building itself is very classically elegant, although modernised in the interior. The staff were incredibly friendly and efficient. The breakfast was splendid - loads of good fresh food. Finally, the room looked exactly like the photos in the guide, which is always a relief!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful hotel in a wonderful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Lovely staff and a beautiful hotel in a good location. Breakfast was good quality with plenty of options... the cooked food at breakfast was a good standard which is a rarity!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic for a getaway in Prague.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room feels a little cramped, but nothing major.

    The staff at this hotel is absolutely fantastic. They go above and beyond trying to accommodate any request. The hotel was fully booked when we arrived, yet the staff was very friendly. The atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxing. A late checkout wasn't possible, but the staff accommodated for us to stow the luggage and use the lounge while waiting for a taxi. Taxi was arranged by the hotel as well. Location wise you can't get better than this. The central location close to the castle, the beautiful view in the morning during breakfast and the room views were stunning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    An excellent experience....
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a lot of noise early in the morning from the inside of the hotel. I gather this was from guests departing very early.

    The entire experience of this Hotel was: EXCELLENT! Room was very nice and extremely tidy. Reception staff very helpful and friendly - excellent service! Breakfast buffet was very good too. We will most certainly come back to this wonderful place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Amazing !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    I have been travelling for a long time. This hotel is totally perfect. Feeling like home. Clean, kind people, amazing location, amazing view. Golden star is my home In Prague. For sure I will visit there again!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Location, friendly staff and very clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. The bed wasn't a couple bed, there was two single mattress pushed together.

    Location, friendly staff and very clean room. Really enjoyed the welcome drink, bottle of wine and chocolate. I appreciated the robe in the bedroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Sophisticated luxury with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was two single beds joined together, and I would have preferred a large double bed. The location has its advantages and disadvantages. Its worth noting that the walk back from the old town might be a bit long for some people. These are very minor complaints, overall it was great.

    We were in room 33 on the 4th floor and had an amazing view over the city of Prague. Our room was in fact a two room suite with two bathrooms. It was the height of luxury. It was my Fiancee's birthday and the staff remembered from the reservation and presented us with a bottle of Prosecco which was lovely. We felt very pampered staying here!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area a bit functional and lacking character of rest if hotel but reasonable choice.

    Superb room (25) with a view to die for. Excellent area literally under the castle - busy in day but quiet at night which suited us. Only a 10 min walk to Charles Bridge and the more crowded Old Town if you want more night life.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    The friendliness and helpfulness of the reception staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was a little disappointing (although there's a cute terrace outside which is very busy). One coffee machine at breakfast is not enough, especially at peak times.

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the reception staff, especially Jiri, was outstanding - I hope the managers appreciate what an asset they are ! We had a wonderful room, the bathrooms were great and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    A Real Gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome at this hotel. All the staff were first class and our room was spotlessly clean with excellent facilities. Very comfortable beds excellent breakfast along with a superb location Can't recommend this highly enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is good in some ways as it is away from the noise of the main tourist area but the hill is quite steep and so you do get a lot of exercise and there aren't any trams nearby.

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    One of the best hotels in Prague!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is uphill so if you aren't fit for walking a 10 minute walk at a steep hill consider reconciling on a different hotel.

    Amazing view. Beautiful room. Decent breakfast. Staff is amazingly kind and helpful. There aren't many rooms so the hotel feels very private like a boutique hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower looks great but flooded the bathroom floor as it didn’t drain very easily.

    Everything! They even give you a bottle of wine upon arrival and chocolates on your pillow! The breakfast is great and has a good selection for all different tastes, the beds were so comfortable, the towels and bedsheets were so fresh and clean, the decor was lovely and the staff were so helpful and friendly! The view was probably the best you could get in Prague short of staying in the castle itself! Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    AMAZING Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is tricky because it's close to the center but is in the middle of a very steep hill so you either have to walk uphill about 7 minutes from the bus stop either walk 10 downhill from the next bus stop

    Super clean, very comfortable, staff is helpful and kind

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Our trip overall was amazing and would defintely return and stay in Golden Star again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could have been a little better as there wasn't a lot of choice but wouldn't stop me from visiting again as there are so many nice places you can eat. Having breakfast included in our stay was just a bonus.

    The view from our room was amazing. You could see the whole city. We stayed in room 45 on the top floor. The trip was for my partners 30th birthday surprise and we got upgraded when we arrived and received a complimentary bottle of wine which was a lovely surprise. I would definitely stay here again if we returned to Prague.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    amazing hotel anyway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could hear neighbour snoring in my room. No public transportation direct to the hotel so you need to climb

    great breakfast. Reception is so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Spacious, comfortable and deeply relaxing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning and heating in the room was faulty which made things a little uncomfortable. An accidental breakage of the wine bottle was not replaced which considering the price of the room was sad and the cleaning of the glass was not complete shards were found later.

    Absolutely love the location of this place - looking out over the old town, nestled under the castle and cathedral is magical and the view spectacular. The room was comfortable, spacious and the bed superb. Breakfast was brought to the room and was ample and beautifully prepared.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    The perfect base from which to explore the beautiful city of Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautifully refurbished hotel, we were given a large very comfortable room with a view over Prague. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and the variety of food on offer for breakfast was very impressive. This is a lovely hotel with extremely pleasant staff in a great location, bustling during the day but peaceful at night. Couldn't fault anything. The hotel also organised taxis to and from the airport that were also excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    I will always remember the fabulous and unbeatable view of Prague from our roon (#25). Unforgetable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - perhaps more fresh fruit, less (or preferably no)canned.

    The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The beds very comfortable (on firm side). The location right next to the castle was a nice quiet respite from the hurly burly of the old town and the area the the near the bridge

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Stunning city and stunning hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. Staff were excellent especially the young man on duty for the first couple of days of our stay (3-5/9/17). He organised all of our activities and gave wonderful advice about what to do. Room gorgeous and very quiet. Very good selection at breakfast. Had a bottle of proseco in an ice bucket delivered to the room for my birthday which was a really lovely surprise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.8
    Not too worthy considering price and stay experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first night we(2 ppl) were arranged in a room on top floor which only have a small window without any view(different with description on hotel page), it actually looks same as SINGLE ROOM photo on booking page, after we asked on 2nd morning they changed us to a luxury room with very good view just toward to the street Nerudova and entire city. The staff on breakfast always interrupted and supplied food on the same time we(and other guests) picked up food(a bit rude); elevator was broken from the evening we arrived till next morning; both desk and sink table had water stains; shower water temperature was not stable.

    Nice quality shower kit. Plenty of choices on breakfast. Wifi was fast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel but a bit far away from the sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most tours and activities etc were on the other side of the river, was a minimum 20minute walk to get to old town square. If you are going for a relaxing time then this hotel is great, if you are going for tourism, bars etc then not a good location

    Nice room and bathroom, quiet. Good breakfast. Some staff at front desk were very helpful others knew very little and gave bad advice

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Golden Star traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: