Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grandhotel Pupp 5 stars

Mirove namesti 2, Karlovy Vary, 36091, Czech Republic

#14 of 100 hotels in Karlovy Vary

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1381 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not feel welcome as one would expect of a 5 star Hotel. This is a hotel of another era that failed to modernise to minimum standards: in room noisy crackly floors, no coffee facilities, no A/C, staff that bairely smiles.

    Not much !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was closed

    Swimming pool and spa was not open while we stayed at the hotel... no airconditioning in the room...everything else was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a long way far from the golden age that use to have in the past. Too old and none of the glamours of the past, even in the services provided.

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old bar and restaurant needs to be refurbished and a makeover in style of music drinks etc. Not good enough for Pupp standards

    Great personal service with car parking, luggage trolls. Luvley rooms. Appreciated cleaning of my room whilst we were in the spa. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall impression - not 5 star hotel from service and personnel traning perspective. We arrived with small kind and the same night till 2 a.m was annual ball with very loud music. Nobody preinformed us and also did not care about putting us in another silent part of the hotel. Personnel was not able to do smth with this and the night which costs a lot of money was simply lost. Overall hotel is very loud, we had windows with the forest view and it appeared that this is a backyard of the hotel, where they load and unload garbage and personnel smokes, etc. nobody cares to plan and make everything so, that there is a silence for the guests. On the reception if you ask people to recommend you smth they do not know. Overall very high price for such attitude and service - but not 5 star definitely.

    Location is good and very good spa area: swiiming pool, spa service, sauna.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are old, require repairs, have inadequate materials (especially, bathrooms) for a 5* hotel, furniture smells...

    Marvelous location! Very good common areas -restaurant, lobby, SPA, fitness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was not equipped for a shower. It had a bathtub with a shower rod that only reaches shoulder length so very difficult to wash hair. Plus it had no shower curtain or any enclosure so the bathroom got a little messy after.

    The hotel itself is impressive and historic. The staff are very courteous and the breakfast is rich.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most boring hotel ever,never in my life been in bed by 10 at night as I was at this place coz there was absolutely nothing to do. When I asked if there is anything to do around the town coz I was bored at the hotel the personal started acting very disrespectfully. What 5 star hotel doesn’t have a tub and a bide in its bathroom🤔 pupp

    Good Internet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I adore smoking cigars and pipes. There was no special bar or room for gentlemen, who want to smoke a pipe and enjoy a glass of becherovka.

    It was a perfect experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were extremely uncomfortable and the room was too warm (despite putting the temperature to 18* the room was 26*)

    Beautiful historical building, stunning the interiors, big rooms, most helpful staff, the best possible location: close to the centre and right next to the forrest and it was one of the most pet friendly places I have visited. I definitely will come again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only outside parking (pretty bad through freezing nights) and for extra fee of Eur15 per night. Noisy (Russian) guests in the corridors. Spots from piant on floor. Parts of furniture in a bad shape, especially in the bathroom.

    The location is no doubt exceptional, also staff are great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the water temperature in the wellness could have been warmer even the jacuzzi was on the colder side.i dont think most people come to town to just swim in the cold water .it also showed there was nobody in the area for hours.number 2 ,even though there were many wifi choices none of them worked properly.it was extremly slow and impossible to watch a video for examample,.uneccapted of a hotel this quality ,but the best was when ,my wife started to take a shower and after 15 minutes the water was still to cold . i called the reception the answer was the funniest i ever heard and was wondering if this is what they would have told the numerous celebrities who satyed at the hotel ,every body is taking a shower at this hour and thats why there is not enough hot water .please try again later

    excellent location .friendly staff,great breakfast.historical feeling

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    poor internet connection in the room poor light in the room (could not be read books) We had to go to the spa with all over the dinning room

    location, staff is very friendly , breakfast was great,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was not at superlative, as we expected for an 5* icon hotel. Cold on the hallways, very small bathroom, poor english, no help with the luggage. Rather disappointing casino, no Texas hold'em ( James Bond 's game ) :(( , only Russian poker (never heard those rules) Maybe because of the low season :)

    Beautiful icon, impressive old hotel, elegant restaurants, astonishing pool and spa .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration of room Limited access of swimming pool for kids: reflect the age of the visitor population thereofe not kids friendly hotel

    Decoration of dinning room, bar The hotel is dated from many decades and we can feel the long history

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing staff (so friendly and kind), brilliant spa and pool, beds were comfortable and just an incredible atmosphere. I never usually write reviews, but had to for this one. If you are a James Bond fan, stay here and relive in reality the Casino Royal movie! :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a little bit old. Hotel consists from two parts. General part is really beautiful and convenient. The second one is not at all especially if you want to go to Spa centre. in this case you should go through all hotel, restaurant with eating people it's too long way.

    Perfect Spa area. Sauna 95C, 55C with herbs, 45C. Good pool. Beautiful lobby in the main building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard. I did have to call housekeeping to get my room cleaned, but they came right up and took care of the problem.

    The property was very well-kept and the staff were on top of their A game with customer service! I really enjoyed the food and the casino!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one problem. When we arrived the valet took our car and parked for us and then we were presented with a bill on check-out for €28 for parking. This isn't much but it was the principle - I wasn't going to pay for something I wasn't told about. This ends positively though - as soon as I explained that it wasn't clear that the parking wasn't included the staff just took it off the bill - no problem!

    The old-world glamour of this place is incredible. Its like stepping back in time to 17th century Bohemia. The staff were lovely, very attentive and knowledgable and nothing was a problem. The spa was amazing and the breakfast was lovely if slightly eastern-european and Russian for my taste.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a small suite and although the view was lovely, the rooms could do with a makeover. The shower was very small.

    The main rooms of the hotel are beautiful. The location is excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no internal passage way between old & new wing. To use the wellness centre (new wing), people staying in the old wing have to be properly dressed to walk through a hall and a restaurant.

    Great location, great wellness centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a small shower for a huge room and bathroom. The blankets also were to shorts. Horrible think was that we didn't have directly access from our room to the spa.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good - fresh crepes even! Pools and saunas open from 8-8pm and were very enjoyable. Staff is wonderful. Pricey but very fun for the weekend!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the steep drop drive to the hotel. Nothing to do with the hotel but would warn others driving to the hotel to avoid doing this- there are calmer more pleasant ways to approach this lovely hotel.

    This old world hotel is all about style. We had a fantastic room, great service, excellent breakfast and a personal touch for such a busy place. One of the best stays I have EVER experienced. The staff are friendly, the meals at the Grand Cafe and Restaurant were amazingly good and each night was fun at the hotel's Becher's Bar. Driving and parking there was easy save for our own malfunctioning sat nav which took us down a steep drop to the hotel. Perfectly situated in Karlovy Vary and within short walking distance to the main sites. Although pricey for the Czech Republic it was well worth the treat for a romantic holiday, anniversary or honeymoon. Just book it, you won't regret it!! I will dream of returning one day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't know about the Genius perks.

    This hotel is truly 5 stars. The staff was incredibly helpful and they even opened the restaurant for us so we could have an early lunch. The meals were all amazing. The entire hotel is a marvel to look at. The Night Bar is fun and we also enjoyed the casino. Several movies were filmed here making it even more amazing to walk around. Karlovy Vary stands up to its reviews as a Spa town. We highly recommend this hotel and the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They could not make a cappuccino coffee!!!! They breakfast chef could only speak Russian!!!! Czech of English would have been OK, consequently it to some time and THREE attempts to have scrambled eggs

    The hotel is evidently PET friendly, that is OK but a dog in the adjacent room, we were in 308 howled for 30 mins. or more at 3.30am!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was big and comfy but not special. What is special about this hotel is the common areas; restaurant, bar, lobby, the ceremonial hall. You can't help being impressed by the history and atmosphere of it all. Breakfast was great and the dinner in Grandrestaurant Pupp was excellent. Staff was really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Poor breakfast room in the left wing: you better go to the right wing for breakfast !! Unfortunately too many noisy Chinese groups (mind you ! nothing against China but some of these tourists should learn how to behave in society !).

    Great hotel full of history (including filming some scenes of James Bond's Casino Royale...). Perfect location in Karlovy Vary. Great wellness center inaugurated in 2013 (nudity zone with sauna 95°C, steam bath 45°C and 60°C, etc. + swimming pool, jacuzzi, whirlpool, even a "flower bath" at 33°C with orchids). You can also enjoy good advice from the concierge and go to several golfs in the region (several of which belong to Pupp and offer discount rates for people who stay at the hotel...). And don't miss a visit to the casino with a free welcome drink !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Poor breakfast for a hotel of this standard -inexperienced young lady chef trying to cook omelettes for ever more impatient guests(not us) Not very appealing choice

    Very helpful receptionist especially travelling with two dogs- 24hr security at the nearby car park where the guys were so helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a bit dated and although the facilities and location were great, I don't feel the room was worth the cost it was. The cost is possibly based on past reputations than current standards.

    The location was fantastic and the staff offered some great routes to hike

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would start by sharing my real rating for this hotel is -1 if possible..only the location raised the rating. I have never rated any other hotel EVER worse than this one as i believe one negative opinion has real impact on decisions, but this hotel well deserved my low rating. I only reserved two rooms for one night to check out if the negative reviews i read are correct,, and they were spot on. When i search for a hotel i filter the negative opinions if the same complaints are repeated then there is something true and no longer a personal preference/opinion. For this one , this is what i read and you can read on this and other review websites by filtering negative ratings. There are two wings in this hotel and you don't get to choose during your booking. One part is fancy , the other looks like a 3 star hotel. They even have separate receptions and restaurant. This is the park side and where you get 2nd class experience and you can tell only by seeing the difference between both receptions and restaurants. I read from others that this was separate 3 hotel and they bought it but im not sure about it but sounds correct.even if it is rated 5 now I am from Dubai, i have been to 5 star hotels across the globe including Europe Asia and America and i know exactly what 5star treatment means and this was way far from it. I have been to hotels where furniture did not meet my expectations and looked not renovated but never seen hotel that divides there visitors to two classes like this one. The only good thing in this place is the location and exterior, go take pictures with it but do not throw your money in this place to be treated like you are not worthy. I took only whats called comfortable rooms for 568 euros. I intentionally choose this room as i was only testing if its worth our stay for 20 days as i read negative reviews regarding the different sides and this was my worst spent money ever.

    Liked the location, but another 5 star hotel is right across..skip this one if you like a real 5 star experience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But the staff! They were so rude and unfriendly. Literally SO rude! The service was nothing comparing to a 5 stars hotel service. Second, the breakfast was meh. It could have been a lot better for a 5 stars hotel. Third, we were accommodated in the second part of the hotel while the first one was not fully reserved as they claimed. Fourth, my friend slipped on her arm at the spa, the lifegaurd Roman and the reception desk at the Royal Pupp spa were so helpful and they told us to pass by between 2 and 4 pm the next day in order to see the doctor just to check on her arm. When we went, the secretary of the Doctor answered 'oh he cannot see her because he is fully booked -while we were the only ones in the medical depart- He doesnt have the equipments.' . We just wanted him to do a check up not do a surgery! So sorry, but the hotel does not deserve its 5 stars! At ALL!

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel , old furniture, late to do check out from staff ( hotel 5 star) don't but one of staff in reciption for customer, we smile cooking food in a room and aisle , noisy at morning they take a Garbage from downtown stair, hotel look 4 stars

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is pure luxury. I treated myself to a massage and a meal in the restaurant and both were excellent. My room was amazing and I am so glad i treated myself to a couple of nights at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In the room : First to days old and not appropriated towels No hot water (a little bid warm) In the cellar dining room : I made a reservation for 10 guets, when we arrived nothing was done about the reservation 2 starters have to be refused because the carpacio of fish looked dark and smell bad !!!!!!

    The prestige of a palace hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have been to the GrandHotel Pupp many, many times during the past 16 years. In fact, we are VIP customers and have a VIP card. We had business in Frankfurt. When our business was completed, we decided to make a 300 km detour on our way back to our home in east Germany, in order to stop by the Pupp. We arrived at 2100. We were greeted by Pavel at the reception desk. I told Pavel that we were VIP customers but we did not have our card (as this stay was short-notice). Pavel did not bother to look up this information. Instead, Pavel's sole concern was getting our bill settled. He just wanted our passports and a credit card. To be specific, he demanded that we pay our bill up front before checking in. Since our reservation was guaranteed on our credit card through Booking.com, I was shocked that we had to pay our bill upon arrival. I understand that hotel reservations are guaranteed on a credit card, but a credit card guarantee is different from outright pre-payment I also understand (from long experience) that during one's stay at a hotel, other charges (e.g. food, spa, etc.) might be incurred. However, the guest settles his/her bill upon check-out. As we are paying our bill, Pavel is continually distracted by phone calls and other guests who had shown up at reception. Once we paid our bill (and I had to remind Pavel to return my credit card), another man suddenly appears to show us our room (since reception was so busy, it might have made more sense for this other man to have been helping out behind the desk--answering the phone or working with other guests). However, we could not go to our room immediately because Pavel never bothered to give us our room key (we were in a Premium Suite). The other man then went behind the reception desk and waited for Pavel to get off the phone (why this man couldn't retrieve our room key himself is a mystery).

    We were very happy to leave the hotel the next morning. Doing so made us very happy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First time in my life I did not get my towels. I was third person added to a double room and was advised to use the towels from swimming pool. For $400 per night it was kind of too much. The masseuse was less than average.

    Pool and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    its a bit of a walk from the parking to the main reception (there are two receptions and you dont park right outside the main receptions)

    Great breakfast (included), nice small balcony overlooking the river

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is absolutely awesome for a proper relaxing stay. We only stayed for one night but had a great time and enjoyed all the facilities - the room, the spa area, the Becher's bar and breakfast (very wide choice of food, also very delicious)! The staff is extremely helpful and polite, they speak many languages. We will definitely be back, thanks!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet access for hotel guests is not password protected, and the connection dropped out quite frequently. If you want to iron some clothing you must hire out the ironing room for an hour at a time, or else pay to have staff iron your item for you. Not very economical for just one shirt.

    What can I say - it's a 5 star hotel. Luxury all around, historical building, beautiful lobby and restaurants, and the spa for guests was amazing (the massage pool was a lot of fun). My room was spacious and very well appointed. Non-smokers look away now... for you smokers out there it is a paradise. I had a smoking room which is what I asked for, and you can smoke in the lobby and other parts of the hotel - yes actually inside the building! I kept expecting someone to come along and tell me to butt out, but it was all ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint would be that we ask them to order us a Taxi and they did with no hesitation.....BUT they took us in their VIP car and charged us double of what a taxi would have cost us. If we where told of the cost we then could have made up our mind if we where prepared to pay double. We thought it was complimentary and a nice gesture and where very surprised of the cost when getting to our destination.

    The hotel was old and beautiful. Great location and beautiful town. Would recommend a visit. Very very beautiful place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Grand Hotel Pupp, has seen better days. The Hotel is beautiful and staff are kind. The service however is not what you would expect for a Grand hotel. The food was very disappointing... breakfast buffet and dinner in the Grand Dining Room. The Spa was awkwardly located as we were staying on the opposite side of the hotel. The pools were disappointing and the atmosphere was not spa like. Good note, the massage was great.

    Beautiful town and scenery.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Usually the staff is waiting to be activated .. the room is proper but like in the 80 ies

    The a la carte Restaurant was a good experience .. food and staff both to be recommended

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in our suite was uncoordinated, tired & disappointing, the food was also extremely disappointing with very little attention to presentation, certainly not what I would expect from a 5 star hotel.

    The staff were pleasant & the views were stunning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa is closed after 8 PM

    Spa is fantastic even if the steam room was out of service. The hotel premises are top, you really feel in a James Bond movie

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 TV channels. 3 pay per view channels. I have never experienced anything like it. Also internet connection was incredibly slow. Had to do my hair in hallway because they didn't have GFI outlet in the bathroom. Beds were small, overall not a 5 star hotel!!!

    Breakfast was great!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is magnificently positioned an elaborately decorated. We stayed in a large room overlooking the park and the river, with sofas and an enormous bed. The bathroom extremely modern with welcome underfloor heating. We ate dinner in the Grand restaurant where the staff were very attentive, spoke many languages and the food and wine superb. Breakfast is served adjacent to the Grand Restaurant in equally elegant surroundings and offers a wide variety for everyone. We didn't have time to experience the pool or the spa but it looks very clean and worth a visit if you can. A elegant hotel in the oldest spa town in the Czech Republic, famous for many movies including filming of scenes for Casino Royale

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything fluffy towels, toiletries, bath robes and slippers. Breakfast was great so much variety served in super surroundings. Large bed room with balcony on fourth floor.. with mini bar. It was a 70th birthday treat for me and a surprise for my 10 year old grand daughter who had visited Karlovy Vary two years ago and always wanted to come back to stay.; Thank you for the birthday gift on arrival and gifts on leaving. The staff were very friendly and helpful would love to return and stay longer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the hotel was full/ I think always is/ we was two and we cant eat at hotel restaurant, because there was no place for dinner a la carte! And we came before 6 p.m. to reserve something and it was too late. They had no alternate solution, no one cares, simply ,, they doesnt have space". - spa is too small, there is 10 loungers for all, there is no place to put your stuff anywhere. I am dissapointed, that we left with the feeling that for each guest is not well cared in the same way. In so big hotel is not alternative solution for example as the room service for free, in case they dont have any place for us in restaurant. Breakfast for reserved for big group too, som we have to go to the different room.

    - hotel is historical and interior is beautiful - is straight in the centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is outside but not many hotels have one. Booking.com doesn't offer diner, only breakfast, but dinner was available in hotel.

    Perfect place to stay. Restaurants and bars downstairs more like a museum, variety of food is one of the best. Spa zone gorgeous.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a very special trip for us. I took my 86-year-old mother and 90-year-old father to Karlavoy Vary most likely for the last time. With great attention to detail, the staff made it possible for my parents to have the same romantic room they had always enjoyed. The hotel even had a wheelchair available so that my mom and I could go shopping - a pilgrimage we have made often since the fall of the Berlin Wall. The quality of the staff and accommodations of the Grand Hotel Pupp are in keeping with its prestigious and imperial history. It has been an honour to have watched both this landmark and lovely town on the confluence of the Ohře and Teplá Rivers bloom since the fall of Communism. And, may I add, the breakfast has mightily improved over the last 27 years. It is now bar none.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    There was hardly a single thing that we didn't like in the Grandhotel Pupp. From the moment you step in you travel back centuries and get overwhelmed by the historical feeling and spirit of the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and at your service all the time. Spa section of the hotel is absolutely amazing. The comfort and cleanliness of the room was implacable and the rooms were attended to twice daily. A definite Yes and recommendion to future fellow travelers.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room small and dark. No coffee or tea not even the water boiler . We book 25m room but get small room that smell. We have to call and ask for new room . Restaurant was ok but nothing special. Not impressed .

    Nothing!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel. Stayed here after seeing it on Last holiday. As a solo traveller I felt perfectly safe at all times even when taking a walk down the town at night. Staff were all lovely. Think I was the only fluent English guest in the hotel at the time. Great hotel for chilling out. Had a fabulous massage in the spa. The pool and spa were beautiful. Loved the massage pool and the herbal steam room. Cafe Pupp is gorgeous for a quick bite and a drink. I had the hot chocolate, healthy croissant and hot cider and they were all delicious. Great guitar player in the hotel at night and food there was lovely too. Huge selection for breakfast in a magnificent room. Probably best breakfast selection I've seen. Had the most divine omelettes made to order. Will definitely have to go back again!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The motorway from Prague still doesn't reach Carlsbad.

    I had not been since 1980s when it was full of Party apparatchiks. Still luxurious and magnificent, other guests inoffensive. Staff were outstanding - punctilious, charming and kind.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water in the swimming pools and hot tubs was a bit on the coldish side. The beds were a bit hard for our taste and I would have expected more than just one pillow.

    The room was spacious, with a very high ceiling and the hotel was grand, with plenty to explore. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the price of food was too much considering it didn't offer anything super special.

    general care of the personnel...the hotel shop was closed, they have, however, managed to get from the warehouse what I needed to. Nothing was a problem, my family and I really felt it mattered to them that we stayed in the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room above us had small children who ran across the floor every evening. There seems to be poor noise insulation because it sounded like a heard of elephants above us. The chandelier in our room even swayed and tinkled.

    Breakfast was delicious, the hotel was gorgeous and centrally located.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free wifi is slow to the point of being sometimes useless. Kids can use the pool just between 11 and 3pm, maybe there could be at least a day in the week where under 15 can go all day long.

    Breakfast is excellent, hotel has a unique style and the pool is perfect to relax and for the kids.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to the casino with our room cards but not with our passports and the man in attendance was quite unfriendly about it all. We left feeling disappointed about it all.

    Our room had a balcony overlooking the river, it was exquisite.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -no kettle to make tea or coffe in the rooms -no complmentary water in the room -in Tv no channels like canal+, HBO, etc with interesting films -on the swimming pool which is quiet small was information that water has 29 degrees but in fact was much less because water was cold -near hotel doesnt exist any attractions, included possibility to make skiing, You have to go to PLESIVEC or another place near a boarder with Germany if You want to make ski

    Hotel is located in wonderful place, its near to the main street. Unfortunately outside the hotel You can find only very expensive shops with articles most for Russian, etc., outside are only few restaurants which can be alternative for eating in the hotel, where lunch and dinner cost in bufet 800CZK each per person. Breakfast was tasty, but as compare with anothers 5 stars hotels was rather poor choose and every day the same, also for example no salmon or hot chocalate.Very good service during breakfast, but hotel was almost empty, is definitely low season in february, march. When u park your car in hotel parking they will bring You car near reception any time You ask- its very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed was very hard cleaning staff came in unusual/uncomfortable times and did not speak English or other foreign language at all woke us up at 8.30 in the morning

    Wellness area Grand restaurant/food was amazing Becher's bar

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One morning we saw two rats moving around the back of the building. Nothing else to mention.

    Great location, much choice of food for breakfast, large room, comfortable, firm bed, many spa choices, clean and elegant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing...if you find a problem with this hotel you need psyciatric help or to stay at home

    absolutely fabulous ,i have stayed in many top hotels including the london rits the burg alarab and hotel de paris in monaco and the hotel pupp is probably beaten only by the burg and it was 6 times the price ..beautiful building fantastic staffand great value

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were absolutely amazing and went out of their way to tend to us. We arrived much earlier than anticipated after driving for 16 hours with ill twin toddlers. They obliged immediately by opening up a beautiful room. While the hotel has the formality and grandeur you would expect in its class, the personal warmth,familial comfort and heartfelt inclusion as if you are one of the family has not been compromised. A rare combination in today's world. Thank you to our new Pupp family for a wonderful break. See you again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms need refurbishment and the pool area due to the acoustics was really loud although there were almost nobody around

    Breakfast was really nice. The restaurant and cafe are really belle epoque and luxurious looking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one flaw that needs mention is the smoking lounge. Upon taking our first step into the hotel, we were struck by the cigarette smoke from the smoking lounge attached to the hotel's main lobby. It was a disappointing first impression. In addition, in order to get to the hotel's main restaurant, breakfast room, bar, and coffee shop, one must pass through the lounge. The old world is still alive here, in both good and bad ways.

    An excellent stay. Premier service and facilities. Beautiful and spacious rooms. A lovely setting and historic character. The relaxation pool and spa center was modern and outstanding.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the allowing of indoor smoking in some areas, lobby bar. Could have had a warmer tub in the spa.

    Top spot. Many things are good. Spa, decor, service, young but attentive staff, big choice quality breakfast. Most courses on the restaurant dinner were of good standard. It's a bond hotel :-)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our second room where my mother stayed was in need of renovation. We visited this hotel to take advantage of the hotel spa in this spa town. However, we arrived on a Friday evening and found that most treatments were not available. I had been emailing for a few days trying to secure some treatment appointments. The response back was "we will schedule you upon your arrival." For a two day visitor this did not pan out well. It was early November, beginning of low season, and the spa seemed to be sparsely staffed. I found myself wandering empty halls looking for assistance on several occasions.

    My room was recently renovated and very attractive, although a bit dark. This classic hotel has much history. Staff were courteous and pleasant, most spoke good english.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not bother eating at the restaurant. When we ate at the restaurant in the evening there were only 4 people including us! When we sat down I realised why - very expensive with small portions. There are much better choices of restaurant immediately outside the hotel door on the main street.

    Overall the hotel was a great place to stay - big rooms, excellent staff everywhere (including the restaurant). A special mention to the hotel reception who parked our car because we were unsure where the hotel car park was and we had left the car elsewhere in the town and walked to the hotel. The breakfast was terrific - a huge range of food and great quality. You would do well to match it anywhere in Czech Republic. The wellness facility was fine, but a totally different style to the main building. There were the usual range of quality wellness facilities - sauna, hammam etc. The gym was good too. It was a proper gym with excellent facities and not a converted bedroom! The location was first class - right in the middle of Karlovy Vary. Everything is within walking distance. Would I return? Definitely, but for a longer time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smokers should be banned from the inside of the hotel,especially cigar smokers. In the hot sauna we missed the possibility of an "Aufguss"

    We liked the management´s attitude in respect to ecology (use of towels, sheets, etc.). Breakfast was extremely delicious

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceny v restauraci jsou "trochu" přemrštěné.

    Jedním slovem LUXUS. Tento hotel má všechno, co si můžete přát..... umístění super, krásné, nové a čisté pokoje. Úžasná snídaně. Personál bez chyby. Parkování přímo před hotelem a hlídané. Wellness pro relax. A nejvíc mě nadchlo, jak jsou připraveni na děti.... dětská židlička, postýlka, hernička a pokud něco zapomenete, tak mají na půjčení (chůvička, stoupátko, dětský příbor).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was a bit disappointed for this the fact that the spa/baths area was modern and does not contain "medicinal water" whatsoever.... It was just a modern spa facilities as any other that you may find at any other "sport club" of your town...I was expecting something "old fashioned" style as the ones you may find in cities like Budapest. Another thing I felt surprised was the fact that many of the staff did not speak english..some of them only Russian or German...I'm not brittish at all but for a hotel of this category, the knowledge of english is important...the location of the hotel was not ideal...you have to walk quite a while till the springs...other hotels are much better and centrally located, close to the Kolonade...but as I said...It's a great hotel...The room I was given was facing the backyard patio and as a consequence was too dark and with poor light...If I have to come back to KV, I may try to other hotels like the Bristol or the Savoya...

    it is a great hotel. You may find there the charm of the "old times". The breakfast was good enough and staff was always ready to help. The lobby was fantastic...I spent hours on it....

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast: slow service when you want to ask fresh made food from egg( long waiting time, uncertain trainees, not polite)

    Excellent rooms, clean, nice view from terrace.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    First, we were upgraded into a very nice room with a sofa, chairs, coffee table, desk, nice bathroom and 2 beds. We were booked for 2 beds and when they showed us 2 our room (2 friends traveling together), there was 1 double bed. They quickly corrected the problem by upgrading us and we were very thankful. Secondly, the staff was very nice and helpful. Third, the breakfast was delicious and the seating plentiful. We wished we had booked for longer. I would stay here again in a minute because the hotel and area are beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grandhotel Pupp traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: