Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grandhotel Brno 4 stars

Benesova 18 - 20, Brno, 657 83, Czech Republic

#31 of 79 hotels in Brno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1784 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Very polite and helpful staff, they were really trying to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - definitely breakfast for 11€ is not worth it, really bad breakfast for a 4 stars hotel - low ceilings in some rooms - room service & bar closes at 22.00 - breakfast room service is not offered by hotel

    Very polite and helpful staff, they were really trying to make out stay as much enjoyable as possible. Hotel is few meters to Brno train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    I like everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like everything. The old-fashioned stylish hotel with a real chiq of art decor. Rooms are big and comfy. Breakfast was excellent . The huge choice of fresh fruits. Location is very convinient to start a strolling over the city. A lot of parking space. The best choice to stop in Brno.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Indeed 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * Breakfasts were too expensive, one breakfast in hotel was like two breakfasts in the center, we didnn't order them * The price was a little bit too high, my impression was that it could be less about 10-15% * Beer in the fridge was overdue a week or so * Wall in the hall was dirty * Bed sheets weren't replaced (but it is rather rare they are replaced in other hotels) * Closing doors wasn't very intuitive :)

    * Ideal location, one just walked out to the center * The stuff was very nice * Next to a bus station when coming to Brno from Krakow and about 10min walking to the main bus station when leaving for Krakow (may depend on a vendor) * Large room * Large bathroom * The hotel was an old one, with history, and it felt special * Convenient beds & other furniture * Leaving luggage for a few hours after check-out was allowed, and they even had a procedure for that * They agreed to charge me sooner when I contacted them through booking.com * We got the room we saw on photos * Don't bother about the bath, the shower was fine * It was allowed to check in any time (we came around 00:00)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    I really needed just a room for the night travelling late in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really needed just a room for the night travelling late in the evening from Prague for a conference in South Moravia - and it was impossible for me to reach my final destination by public transport that late. This is why I wanted a room as close to the train and bus station as possible to travel on early in the morning - and Grand was just there. But in the end I really enjoyed my stay, despite it was just for one night - the room was really spacious and quiet, the bathroom with the tube a great comfort for someone as tired as I was that day - and the bed was really comfy. I also loved the breafast - and regretted only I could not stay longer than 25 minutes for it. The hotel is also very close to the historical city centre - I would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    The grand hotel is very helpful as a base for business and leisure travel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very good hotel of perfect city location, very friendly and helpful staff, excellent clean and spacious rooms, good breakfast restaurant, all this at quite reasonable price. Located right in front of the main railway station and having very easy and convenient bus connection to the airport. All possible shopping and dining facilities around. I definitely can recommend the hotel as a very good choice. Thank you, Grand staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent price for a great room in an very useful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent price for a great room in an very useful location. I'd fully recommend, especially on either the first or last night of a stay in Brno, as it is excellently located for the bus stop back to the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Really nice and charming place to stay if you have a longer getaway in Brno.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Though the hotel is stone-throw away from the centre, the area in front of the hotel is a bit dodgy with homeless people loitering around. All the parking lots were reserved so make sure you book the parking in advance. In Eastern-Europe the sun comes up really early and the blinds weren't very strong to keep the room dark.

    Big cosy rooms, friendly staff and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    We had selected a little bit better room, but was upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We had selected a little bit better room, but was upgrade. The room was huge, and interior you can just imagine from a grand hotel in excellent condition. The modern restroom was in size of a normal hotel room. We had some problems with the toilet. The repairman was there fixing the rapidly. If you like good old hotels with style, this is the place to love. This is a Grand Hotel. Also breakfast was good including good service. One morning, they offered the best baked beans I have tried. Unfortunately they just offered those one morning. Please, start offering those every morning!!!! Also the reception was very helpful. Very good place. The city of Brno is also very nice and the hotel is very close to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Altogether a very pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although on the first floor, the room was on the level of the street at the back of the hotel (it is built on a hill). This would have been OK (I wasn't expecting for a view) but there was a lot of street noise at night.

    The breakfast was not just 'good' (as advertised), it was excellent. Something there for everybody's taste. The room was very adequate in size and I liked the high ceiling - no claustrophobia here! The furnishing was good quality and tasteful. Everything was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Very nice hotel, but beware noise and lack of AC before late spring
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We noted from other reviews that the hotel can be noisy on the "tram side" (trams run right in front of the hotel), and so we asked for a quieter room on the other side. The first room we had was incredibly noisy for the first two nights due to people noise from the adjacent square and then street cleaners with a loud truck (hours of very loud generators). We had to sleep with our windows open because it was too hot to sleep otherwise - the hotel has AC, but it is not turned on until May! Therefore we were also fairly uncomfortable at night because the room was too hot. The hotel staff were very accommodating, however, and moved us to a higher room on the other end of the hotel - much quieter and we could cool the room by opening windows. Turning the AC on earlier would have reduced most of the issues we had initially.

    After moving rooms once due to noise, we found our final room to be really nice - a superior room on a high floor on the quieter end of the street. We were there for business and needed to work and the room was very spacious, the WiFi was good, and it was very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Very beautiful interior and tidy, clean hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is just in front of the public transport hub. Should not expect calm mornings if Your windows are facing the main street.

    Very beautiful interior and tidy, clean hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While it is a good hotel, the renovations and modifications over the years have covered some of the 'Grand' of yester year, but there are photos on the walls.

    Location, to the city, bus station and train station. There was a mishap in the hotel on my first night and I was put into another hotel nearby, the staff were great and organised everything in a professional and friendly manner. The second night in the Grand hotel was in a clean large rooms with excellent bathroom, breakfast was good and easy walking distance into old Brno city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Satisfaction: 80%
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow & pillow case has little unpleasant smell otherwise the room is perfect. Happy to have a big & spacious comfortable room. I didn't take breadfast in the hotel because met up with friend outside in the morning. Unable to provide photos here because already transferred to the hard disc, i am using hp now.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Not a 4-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy location. Cannot keep windows open during the night. They confirmed by email we would get a king room. When we arrived we were told they only have 2 king rooms and they were already occupied. First room we got was pretty awful; skylights only and no way to ventilate the room so it was really hot. They did not have air conditioning and would not have air conditioning until May 1 in the middle of a heat wave.

    Relatively large room Central location Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    It’s close to the railway station and tram, therefore easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s close to the railway station and tram, therefore easy to move to wherever you need. Definitely helped with my very early morning train back to Prague. The room was huge, so was the bathroom. But we had to walk quite a bit to get to it as the hotel is immense.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.0
    excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel gave me a free upgrade to a suite room for loyalty. I cancelled the 4th night and the Hotel did not cahrge for the cancellation. The room was quite adequate

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Second time I've stayed at the Grand Hotel in Brno, It's in a great location and very clean :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two single beds put together to form a double. The single beds were not the same size, very uncomfortable but after a few drinks you hardly notice. Should invest in double beds for double rooms!

    The location is perfect, the staff very polite and helpful :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    good location and good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hair dryer was not working, they should've checked every time before someone checked in

    good location and good price. the staffs were nice and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miserable head bar tender he is always there everytime I stay at the Grand hotel, Hebs also rude, he will put me off staying there in the future.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    4-day weekend in Brno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got a room with a view directly at another building but it didn't bother us. The building seemed to be an office building so during the weekend it wasn't an issue and closing the curtains will solve the issue. The breakfast seemed a little overpriced so we chose not to get it.

    The location was superb! Right next to the main train station and bus station so very easily accessible. Few minutes walk to the main square of the city and all the attractions. I would recommend staying here and would stay again myself. The staff was friendly though there was only one person working on the front desk so we had to wait a bit for the check-in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Because of the location, i might stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check out time was limited to 1. Come on. This was Sunday. Taxi took an hour to arrive. Breakfast closed before 10 (time change). Mini bar was never restocked. The bath tub was too deep.

    There were no croissants. The bed was OK. The hotel is a very much of communist vintage. If you like retro, this is your place. Totally centrally located. Nice staff. Old dame of a hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Old fashion and quite expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior decoration looks like form '80s. 80eur for double room is high in comparison to other hotels in Brno (eg Grandezza is spectacular and only a few Eur more)

    Clean, spacious room, baby cribs for free, additional bathrobes for kids

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    3.8
    I wouldn't recommend the hotel to my colleagues & friends
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible noise from the street. Impressions are like the tram is going through your room... The workplace had a table & a lamp, but there was no electric socket for the laptop or USB socket for the mobile to charge. It isn't so clean as you could expect from 4* hotel.

    Just a breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Good location also for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast with wide variety of hot and cold meals, meats and the fascinating Czech breads. Fast and uncomplicated checkin and checkout, quiet and clean rooms. Very good location, opposite the central train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.3
    nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not very modern, bathroom might benefit from renovation close to train station which is good if arrivig by train late but VERY noisy at night, earplugs are a must :)

    nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.8
    The large room, and proximity to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility was poorly maintained. Old is to be expected with a facility like this, but basic maintenance has been ignored for a long time.

    The large room, and proximity to the train station. Staff was friendly, and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice and comfy room, 24/7 desk, overall expirience was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and bed was not cleaned properly, universal shampoo/soap only, bathroom drain was blocked a bit

    Nice and comfy room, 24/7 desk, overall expirience was not that bad

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated room, just ok bed 90’s bathroom ‘Functional’ staff attitude and public areas Restaurant closed midweek on an odd day

    Room size (superior room) Cleanliness Efficiency at check in/out Good breakfast choice No nasty surprises

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single beds when we requested a double were tiny and very uncomfortable,curtains let the light in from early morning,room very stuffy but air conditioning very noisy, room located at the side of the hotel beside steps used all night by people out drinking, Breakfast choices were very limited especially for €11 per person would have been better going out for breakfast, location and little rough with casinos and strip clubs along side it,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Great receptionist, overall willing staff, room service...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses are in my opinion terrible, and especially the gap between them - when you expect big bed - is unacceptable. This room feature very much degrades otherwise decent hotel and facilities.

    Great receptionist, overall willing staff, room service quick and reliable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.5
    Very nice hotel, well located and professional staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows could use thicker blinds to better block light. Some staff did not speak any English.

    Very helpful and professional staff. Located right in front of the bus station for easy connections to Vienna or Prague.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    It is a good hotel with great history and location. Although, one can expect more from 4* hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room service could have been a bit better. We had empty shampoo bottle for three days. Also we had used most of tea bags on first day and those were replenished only after 3rd day.

    Staff was extra friendly and polite. Large and clean rooms. Good breakfast. Kettle and tea in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay in Brno and would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a shower over the bath which was nice and powerful but the shower screen was ill fitting and we ended up with a flood every time we had a shower. Everything else was perfect.

    Our room was on the first floor and was very quiet and comfortable. It was spacious and had everything in the right place e.g. there was a dressing table with large mirror and a socket handy for my hair dryer. There was even tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was very comfortable and the staff quickly provided the extra pillows we requested. The reception staff spoke excellent English and were happy to recommend restaurants and places to visit in Brno. We didn't have breakfast or use the restaurant but the bar was very nice to call in for a coffee or night cap. The hotel is very handy for the railway station which is just across the road and all places of interest in the town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    I traveled with my son.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I traveled with my son.Very friendly staff,good rooms, excellent location of the hotel. Breakfast corresponds to the level of the hotel 3 stars.Unfortunately, the hotel does not have family rooms-for 3 or 4 people, and families are offered to book two rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    A good hotel with its own style and character.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good hotel with its own style and character. This is a hotel with history and therefore it I felt the atmosphere of the times. The room is very clean. I liked the bed with a comfortable mattress and pillows. I recommend it as a hotel for business trips.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.1
    I wouldn't suggest to travel to Brno and this particular hotel on Xmas Eve :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's like a trip to the past. The hotel reminded me the Soviet Union. The smell in the building is like... of good old times. Breakfast was not included, although the price was the same as in a hotel in Vienna with the breakfast. Compare, guys, Vienna and Brno..

    It's a clean place, a room had a bath, staff speaks English..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast buffet was excellent but a bit overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A kettle in the room would have been appreciated!

    The breakfast buffet was excellent but a bit overpriced. Staff responded very quickly and efficiently to a problem that arose with the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Hotel is located in center city, very close to train and bus...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a little bit old with old furniture’s. Price for hotel room was quit high for old hotel without breakfast. I can imagine better hotel for this price.

    Hotel is located in center city, very close to train and bus station. They offer also Breakfast for additional 10 EUR. Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    A good location near the railway and bus stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good. No complaints. I thought breakfast was included but it was extra. My room was great. Closeness to railway station by underpass also useful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    Clean, warm, bit dodgy location
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm. Staff a bit grumpy when asked for tea making facilities. Needed extra pillows. Location not in the besr of locations - wouldn't recommend for a female lone traveller.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Stay there in the very centre across from the train station - also really handy to get taxis there
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    place was amazing - 4m high ceiling from another era room was spacious - bath a little small - however as I am 2m tall they all are ! Shower was a power shower - really an amazing place - already booked for my next trip

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.0
    There was a very good Indian food around the corner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room without window, no shower gel no shower cap ,the hitter was on the top f the bed, we could not sleep ,we had to turn the air conditioner on,bad cable ,expensive minibar.dirty carpet and sofa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice location , nice staff and good breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To Improve the quality of food in hotel resturant regarding fresh product non frozen .

    The reception and cleaning staff . In reciption Mrs Vera was very nice and helpful .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city, but requires a few quality of life upgrades to be rated a 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea & coffee facilities in room, poor choice of TV channels, smoking area in front of hotel made you easy target for vagrants

    The location is great, the hotel is clean and the breakfast was very good with great variety

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Actually i have stayed in GrandHotel many times before ,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually i have stayed in GrandHotel many times before , beside location and other positive things there are reception staff who reflect the best to the clients, there are 2 persons working in reception desk really i don't face people like them ,one of them old lady named Vera she was treat all clients in profissional way and may be she is the reason make me come back with my colleauges to this hotel many times, also the other person i don't remember his name ( verclav ) he is very active , smiley and polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Very nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel bar closed very early even though it was completely full. The staff also never bothered to tell anyone it was closed. They just kind of disappeared. There was also no sign with opening hours anywhere to be seen, so people just stood around for ages wondering what was going on. It's just a small detail, but it was kind of annoying. Even a notice saying when they close would have helped (and last orders would have been nice!)

    The room was much classier and more nicely appointed than I expected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's like back in time. Everything is clean but facilities look like were not changed for many many years

    Free upgrade, huge room with high ceilings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Fit for my purpose of a short stay at a good location in Brno.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like I said above, I think the body of the room could use a facelift, but for the money, it was a good deal.

    The Staff was particularly nice, which is not common in the Czech Republic. The restaurant made a really good burger, also uncommon in Europe. While the Bathrooms clearly have been modernized, the room itself could use a facelift. Still, for the money, it was a good deal at a great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Clean, traditional hotel, good for a few night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were nicely decorated, the main area is past its best days. The hotel looks much nicer on photos.

    It is a traditional hotel. The rooms nicely renovated. Staff was friendly and helpful. The extra charge for dogs is 15€/per day. We chose a superior room and it was huge. The bathroom is also large, towels are fresh and bathtub is really comfortable. Breakfast is nice, food of choice is great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Loved the city of Brno ! A quiet but interesting city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the hotel looked a little tired but as we were only staying the one night it was a matter of convenience.

    No breakfast included so unable to comment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Big selection of food for breakfast suitable for all tastes.
    • Solo traveller
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not every room in our group of 16 had electric kettles to make tea and had to ask for one.

    Big selection of food for breakfast suitable for all tastes. Excellent bread and cake selection and quality. Helpful and friendly staff. Bar prices very competitive. Bedrooms great all with working air conditioning. Good supply of towels and soap in bathrooms. Hotel ideally situated for trams, buses and railway is just across the road so ideal if you are completing part of your journey by train. The town is behind the hotel so easy to find whatever you need, even Macdonald and Tesco.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    The Grand Hotel, Brno ticks all of the boxes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything about the Grand hotel is grand. The location is ideal - you are in the middle of the city, the bus station and the train station are two minutes from the hotel. Should you wish to you could take a day trip to Prague, Bratislava or Vienna. The staff were efficient and caring. The room was excellent and the breakfast was wonderful. I contacted the hotel prior to arriving and they arranged for a hotel taxi to pick us up at the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    First rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 6-10 derelicts that congregated nearby on the stairs at the side of the hotel. Didn't approach passers by.

    Ideally located 50m from the intercity bus station. Everything in the hotel was first rate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and nice looking hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The head of the shower in the bath was not well fixed at the wall (I did not inform the reception about this, otherwise maybe they would have fixed it).

    The hotel is at the southern edge of the city centre and very close to publicc transport, including the main train station (that in fact was closed at the time of my stay), and a main bus station, but you do not really need public transport to walk into the city centre. My room was spacious and during my 5 night stay I was never disturbed by any noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Always nice to have a kettle in the room as well we do love a cup of tea when ever we fancy one

    The room was far bigger then expected with a nice sitting area and a massive bathroom . The windows could be fully opened so it cooled the room down .Missed not having a kettle in the room but did have a fridge .Big tv as well though not many english chanels but that was expected .Train Station is under the subway so you don't even need to cross the road and everything is so close

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    very impressive, spacious room. Friendly, helpful staff & close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a very small point - we had tea making facilities in the room but they were not topped up for our second morning. However this did not spoil our stay.

    very good location, opposite main railway station and only a few steps from the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    2.5
    The man in reception asked to pay penalty because I smoke in my room!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff in reception unpolite and with no respect to guests MAN IN DEPARTURE PAID MY ROOM -COFFEE -2 WATERS FROM MINI BAR AND HE ASKED TO PAY PENALTY BECAUSE I WAS SMOKING IN MY ROOM !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I ASKED SMOKING ROOM IN MY BOOKING

    Only position its nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area around the hotel will be much improved once the renovations to the main station have finished

    Staff were all courteous and extremely helpful. Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean and very quiet with a large, modern bathroom. Wifi worked very well throughout the hotel. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and served in the attractive Garden Restaurant. Although the main station across the road was closed for renovation a regular shuttle bus was provided to the temporary station. Trams and buses are just across the road from the GrandHotel, but it was a short walk to Brno’s attractive main squares. For a visit to this interesting historic city we can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location (city center, train station), comfortable rooms, time-travel in the common areas
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Common areas (corridors, stairway, breakfast room etc...) like in the 50's.....

    Excellent location, nice staff, large, comfortable room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice clean comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area around the hotel maybe seen by some people as 'dodgy' but I thought it was ok.

    Staff helpful. Comfort in the rooms. Good WiFi. Easy to reach other areas of city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though I was alone I would prefer a double bed to a single bed.

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. They arranged transport for me from the hotel to my client and back again. Breakfast and dinner delicious. Room comfortable, clean and bath/shower room excellent. Maybe a double bed instead of a single bed would have been nice? Everything excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Old World charm with a boutique atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rarely have we encountered such personal service and attentive staff - this hotel is a league apart. It exudes grandness but with the personal service of a boutique hotel - a rare treasure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Moto GP base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked late and had a room facing a bar and staircase down the side of the hotel. It can be noisy.

    Very friendly and helpful staff at reception. Very large executive double room with all the complimentary items you would want. Bathrobes and slippers provided. Good breakfast for all tastes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Luxury central hotel with most facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The shower was a bit fierce, I kept wetting the bathroom floor. The TV had only one channel in English, BBC World News; OK but we would have welcomed some light relief.

    I chose the building for its central location in Brno. I enjoyed the bustle outside but it did not impact on the bar or restaurant and our room was nice and quiet. I do not know how long ago the place was refurbished but I admired the simplicity, the comfort, the elegance and quality of the furnishings. Our stay was rather fraught in some ways but the hotel always provided a place of calm for our return. We normally ate out enjoying Brno's selection of restaurants, but occasionally we had dinner or lunch in, or just a drink at the bar and the service and the meals were great. On returning from a trip out a glass from the jug of iced water in the lift lobby was well appreciated. The answers to our requests for information from the reception desk were always provided with smiles and interest. The breakfast was something to look forward to; it provided immense choice and was very high quality. The pianist in the foyer of an evening was a pleasant touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love old buildings as they breathe history, but in this case I was not really happy with it. When you step inside, you can clearly see that hotel still has marks from the era of communism (walls, chairs, reception desk, etc.). Walls are scratched, paint is old. Room is very small, internet is not fast, not to mention that few services were unavailable. This hotel is not worth 4* or the money I have spend for one night. Would not go again.

    Only the location. It is right in the middle of the city, which is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    A grand old lady
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed in the evening; however there are plenty of places nearby. The breakfast selection was fairly basic, but perfectly acceptable.

    It has a great location across the road from Brno Hlavni Nadrazi ( the central station). It is a charming old-world type property. Reception staff were very helpful, lending me a UK plug adaptor as I'd forgotten mine. Breakfast room is very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Hotel upgraded my room till luxe for free.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the hotel's restaurant I've ordered dinner - salmon steak with boiled potato, but they brought me KNEDLIKI! Maybe czech people like them, but I don't at all... And I was very upsed they they brought me what is not I've ordered.... But I was very hungry so didn't want change the meal.

    Hotel upgraded my room till luxe for free. What was a very nice surprise! The room was very big and very sunny what made my statement lovely and nice!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    5.4
    Grand Hotel Brno
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was rubbish and the shower head was not attached properly the bed was extremely uncomfortable

    Easy to get to from the airport and almost in the old centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    The staff at breakfast were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows could have done with some blinds. It got light in the room early.

    The staff at breakfast were very friendly. The room was large and bright. There was plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Old but Nice
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was noisy at night.

    I came by bus and it was convenient to the bus stop. The building and facilities are old but well-maintained. The breakfast was very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the Executive room which was beautiful. It was bit pricy but worth it. Breakfast OK. We stayed only for one night and would like to stay longer next time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.7
    The bathrooms were very large and gave lots of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The curtains were so thin there was no point to having them and you got woken up by sunrise (during summer 4.30am) Two single mattresses put together to make double bed No tea/coffee etc in the room although a well stocked fridge.

    The bathrooms were very large and gave lots of space. A very good powerful shower Room size was extremely good enough space to move about even with a cot and a pushchair in the room. Location fantastic short walk to the heart of city and easy walk from train station and tram stop

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was good. The facilities where limited, and as for the bar we got the impression it was inconvenient and seemed a hassle and complicated to get a drink. I wouldn't say don't stay at the hotel because of that, it may have just been one of those nights for the staff!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Grand hotel lives up to its name...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The muffled noise of trams outside was a bit annoying but not enough to detract from the overall good experience..

    This is an historic hotel building which is most luxurious by Czech hotel standards. It is pricey but with value for it. Located directly across from the main train station, one need not hire a cab or take a tram to get there..2 minute walk...Its views are not great looking toward the station and to an industrial power plant, but the drapes were thick and the view is forgotten easily. The elevators are quick, the gym, which I used, was very good, and the breakfast buffet was abundant with good and efficient staff service throughout. Can easily recommend to Brno travelers. I was also much satisfied with Brno which is a young city, full of active college age kids, a series of attractive sidewalk cafes. and as in most Czech locations, lots of great beer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    First time visit to Czech Republic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the rooms were nice, and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The value for the price was probably in line with Czech Republic, but I found it very valuable.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grandhotel Brno traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: