Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Horizont 4 stars

Velka Plan 141, Pec pod Sněžkou, 542 21, Czech Republic

#5 of 14 hotels in Pec pod Sněžkou

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 771 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too many sick people arrived at that time. But this was not a hotel fault, of course.

    Quality of meal in a restaurant was very good. Prices are reasonable. Shuttle bus to a ski resort operated very well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged for robes, slippers and parking. Happened to us for the first time in 4* hotel. There was no shampoo inside the shower. Wellness didn't meet our expectations, looked more attractive on the pictures.

    Breakfast was very good. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Most Staff personnel didn't speak English.

    A very nice and clean hotel for families and small kids. Lots of activities for children. Restaurants are nice and the food is excellent. Great location and free shuttle services to all ski slopes nearby. I would definitely come back again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is rather small and full with people even during the low season. The road leading to the hotel may become icy and you won't be able to get to the parking. The hotel could have put some gravel on the road.

    The rooms, breakfast and quality of both the restaurants. Very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bar at the terrace closed earlier most days, maybe because of lack of customers. In summer Pec seems to be a massive building site, so I had to close the window in the morning.

    Although we have been to the hotel several times before this was our first time in the main building. We stayed in the separate apartments before, but mainly in winter. I liked the room and the view. We had the standard two bed room. This time we used the swimming pool and the Jacuzzi, which were both nice. I also got information about buses and cabin lifts from the reception. The hotel was not busy at the time. We enjoyed the breakfast included in the room and we took the dinner once. But the terrace restaurant was my favourite, again. We had brilliant weather and I am surprised what you can do in Pec and its surroundings in summer. I had some trouble with the safe in the room but a quick call to the reception and they sent somebody up to fix it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strange smell in the room, slightly unpleasant, would be nice to have some scented candles or house perfume.

    Great hotel with a good restaurant. Good facilities. It's a bit old school, but it's quit charming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's got a bit "used" feel and I do not see myself paying the full price for it

    Friendly staff Clean apartment Elastic checkin time Great breakfast service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff seemed rather grumpy, particularly then in the buffet restaurant. We were half board guests, shocked we were being charged for a jug of tap water with our meal (would have been cheaper to order a beer). As a guest of the hotel paying for the accommodation as well as food we would expect a jug of tap water to come for free with our dinner. I didn't dare to ask for 200ml of boiled water for a milk for my 8 months old. The staff in the restaurant were a bit unhelpful, never greeted first or assisted with bringing a high chair (particularly on a day I turned up there with two of my under 3yo kids without my husband) I still had to do it by myself. It was not clear whether the buffet was self service or some meals were supposed to be plated by the chef who was stearing at us while we were doing so. The rest of the staff were then super focused on clearing plates away every 5 seconds this was seriously intimidating. No hint of friendliness toward us or the kids if anything it felt like we were not much welcome in the restaurant with the kids. The hotel is labelled "baby friendly" and all the facilities were in place for that yet it didn't feel like it. Also the room service was rather different. Didn't make our beds bit stacked the duwets on top of our pillows exposing the bed sheets. Perhaps some of the above is cultural and that is the way thing are. Yet I would not expect this in a 4 star hotel (wonder how were these stars awarded). I didn't see a baby changing unit anywhere except one outside ladies lockers on the way to the pool. I would have expected at least one close to the play room or in the disabled toilet by the restaurant. Oh and the food was rather average (talking about half board that is the buffet restaurant) perhaps the other restaurant makes up for it, sadly we didn't get a chance to try it. We visited in June, perhaps it is some sort of off seas service.

    We liked the family room arrangement, kids toilet seat and stool available. The views, the location was great and the playroom at the lobby was great. The spa, gym and pool were lovely and so was the staff down there. The pool could have been a little warmer (definitely not a place to bring a baby!)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - not everybody speaks (or want to speak) English - especially not all receptionists which is strange because menus and most other info's are translated; - no bottled water in room by default (and yes - it's still **** hotel); - strange system of lifts i.e. you cannot go from reception hall to 4th floor by lift but there is some lift on 4th floor - but it goes somewhere else (?!?); - when staying in Czech I always expect they will provide me with their tasty beer but there is almost none in hotel's facilities; - little pricey.

    + real four-starer breakfast: very tasty, a lot of choices, nice coffee, waiters keep bringing food and cleaning tables just all the time; + fast internet; + number of restaurants and bars all over the place (including this one on top of building with great view and friendly barman); + huge parking lot; + nice rooms, comfortable, with safe, good bed; + AFAIK there is some free swimming pool, sauna and other things in case of bad weather.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ladies at the reception were rude and helpless! Lady said that cable road (lanove drahy) and bobove drahy were not working, but we found that they were working. Receptionist called Lenka was rude, kept telling 'vydrzte, vydrzte (be patient)', I think this word is not proper!!!

    We liked cleanliness of the rooms. Lady from reception of the sport/wellness club was very kind and helpful. Gym and other sport activities were good. Food at buffer was so so, but in Horizont restaurant was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fitness room and massage room are very close to each other. During massage you could hear the fitness music pumping. Guests should be informed about that before making the reservation.

    Wellness facilities. Restaurants and choice of food. Although this time we had mixed feelings about the food. First we had some traditional czech food which was great, but in the evening we had steak and pork sous-vide. Pork arrived raw inside and cold. We asked to cook it more, which was fine, but we had to ask again as it was still more rare then medium, at this point when we asked for the second time to cook it, waiter should propose something else, as the end result was the pork was chewy and barely edible. Perhaps some lack of experinece from waiter or chef. Despite that dinner, I would still recommend dining at Horizon, as mistakes happen, and prior to that dinner we had an amazing meals prepared. On top of that Skyclub18 at Horizon have great wine selection, which saved the night. This was our second stay at Horizont.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrific cuisine, gastronomy under limits, communist style and bad smelling food. - Comida es un desastre! Priserna kuchyne, smradlave jidlo! Just do not eat there

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wow, I could write about this for hours, where do I start? The food is disgusting and unhealthy, worthy of Ukraine, 1975. The entire place needs an internal renovation, it is pretty disgusting and hideous. The playroom for children is the worst, it is airless and a horrible place to leave your kids. There really is no animation, they let the kids do nothing and watch TV! The swimming pool has rust on the stairs and the swimming pool staff, one person and a cleaner, are unfriendly and the whole set up is just so commie! This hotel is a disaster and is not a 4-star property, that is a joke. If renovated with different food, than they could justify what they charge. If you are English speaking, stay away!

    The wait staff were extremely kind and patient with small children. The front desk tried to be helpful, even though for the most part their English was limited. Rooms ok, but tiny.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Speed of lifts. One of them goes 1 minute to 17th floor :-/

    Location and is awsome - wooden surrounding, beatiful and silent green environment. Perfect place for sport activities. In hotel stuff very nice, comfortable whirlpool (jacuzzi) and big screen for watching football matches :-D

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening Buffet wasn't as good as the other parts of the stay.

    Good Location, Good Breakfast, Swimming pool and Whirlpool basically to ourselves. Sky bar is worth seeing (reserve table). Good Staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in room terrible and the shower wasn’t good.

    The facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Table tenis, bowling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All very very fine. reasonable price, the bar at the top floor was nice, and they accept furry friends.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amazing view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant on the business floor was amazing! Superb service!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payed parking

    Good spa facilities and excellent location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed everything - surrounding mountains,wellness facilities,a varied bufet breakfast,comfy beds,smiling staff as well as Pilsner Urquell.;-)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the diner buffet.

    The hotelroom is verry clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tasty food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, comfortable rooms, exceptional breakfast, wellness facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of the rooom not matching the cost

    Location and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Spa area a bit small for a big size hotel like this

    Beautiful view from rooms, comfortable clean room, very good breakfast. The receptionist (Michalle if I spell it right) was super friendly and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Expensive comparing to the quality and the overall standard. Sport facilities had to be extra paid. Pool was small and the water was too cold. Requires renovation.

    Friendly, helpful and engaged staff is the biggest value of this hotel. Nice atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No coffee and tea facilities in your room. No childrens lifts working in low snow. The snow cannons only work on TBars which make lessons for children very difficult. Check the snow and childrens lifts before you travel. The food is very limited for vegetarians and extremely limited for vegans.

    The hotel is great for a ski location and the facilities are good.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Totally disappointed with New Year's Eve party since it was our main goal... Program and food was very very poor. Felt like in kindergarten. Cost of it was nearly the same like hotel so you expect something more. Hotel itself doesn't look like 4-stars. The time has stopped here a long time ago...

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    For a 4 star hotel I would expect that there would be tea/coffee making facilities in each room not as an add on room service cost. Its the little things that change an average experience to a great one! Also paying for car parking when there as a paying guest

    Location was super and newly refurbished bedrooms

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1980s atmosphere - old design, live music programme, radio station at breakfast, no bathrobes, very steep stairscase leading downstairs to the pool.

    Excellent food, local as well as seasonal specialities, home-made cakes, staff awarding system - give a card to the member of staff who made your stay most pleasant, sky bar on the top floor, plastic bag for wet swimwear at the pool, good wellness facilities included in the price.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool was 27, which is fine for adults, but a little cold for children, elevator was very slow

    Nice view, nice to be high up, good that they have buffets for dinner as well as breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    4-star hotel should not serve coffee from an automatic push-button machine for breakfast. Bacon was overdone, to eat it we had to break it into small pieces by hand. 4-hvezdickovy hotel by nemel servirovat k snidani kavu z automatu. Slanina byla prepecana.

    Friendly and helpful reception staff, excellent modern and clean room with fabulous view, all great! Prijemni recepcni, vyborny moderni a cisty pokoj se skvelym vyhledem, vse super!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The overall place felt like it was trying to be new, when in reality it's old. I wanted to sleep in a little, but the rooms are definitely not sound proof - I was woken up by charwomen at 8 AM when they were cleaning other rooms. It definitely didn't feel like a 4 star hotel.

    The reception staff was helpful. My room was clean and ready when I arrived. Location is great with everything close by so you don't have to travel far. Breakfast was good, up to standard.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioner in the room.

    Amazing and delicious breakfast - big variety of food, pancakes and eggs cooking for your wish. Nice pool. And the view through the window was really adorable.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel doesn't show ist best from the outside, but inside, it is very nice, perfectly clean accomodation with all services one need.

    All the staff is just fabulous and helpful. The bar at the 18th floor has great view, serves very tasteful meals and nice selection of drinks.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a very good hotel and deserves a score higher than 8.4. While the hotel dates from the 1970's guest rooms have been very well modernised and are comfortable and kept in an immaculate condition. The two restaurants are excellent, The 'a la carte option' is not expensive and the food served is of a very high standard. The breakfast selection is also very good with a member of staff on hand solely to cook eggs and pancakes to guests' specification.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking should be free for the price of accomodation. The ski room is too uncomfortable - small, having narrow corridors, without any place for sitting and changing ones shoes, the box for skis is too small, cannot be used for leaving the skiboots there. It should, definitely, be improved.

    The location is not perfect, but it works very well with the skibus, so no need to worry at all. We really enjoyed the coctails in the 18th floor with a beautiful view and a very pleasant and helpful waiter (the hotel should really appreciate the job he does). We also enjoyed the wellness facilities during our stay. In general we are satisfied with our choise.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms have very thin walls. Thus, if you want to sleep in you better bring ear plugs as you hear the neighbors. The staff in the restaurants could be more friendly. For dinner I would rather recommend to go to one of the very good close by restaurants. The short walk is truly worth while it. You will get for cheaper or equal prices extremely good food in a much nicer setting. Watch out for the elevator doors if you come with kids. They close very fast and hardly stop if you are inbetween.

    The location is excellent, the shuttle service to the ski resort (each 20 min, free of charge) is super convenient, you can walk in minutes to nice restaurants, the sauna is good, the breakfast was very nice, and the hotel offers a ski basement with lockable cabinets, ski service, you can even buy the ski pass there. Overall very good experience.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Terassa restaurant and free bus to the mount

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The view from the hotel was great.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there was a bit stuffy during the breakfast.

    staff, location, comfort, swimming pool, breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    ----

    Modern and functional facilities, ample supervised parking. Close to hiking trails and lifts to the mountains.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, nice views.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The architecture.

    The staff and the view.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too far from the main ski lifts.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was a tad off

    Helpful staff Sports facilities The restaurant food Breakfast buffet Comfortable bed

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Hotel Horizont traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: