Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Zahradni 27, Karlovy Vary, 36001, Czech Republic

#21 of 100 hotels in Karlovy Vary

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 373 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff at desk not english speaking. Double beds in standard doubleroom a bit narrow.

    Nice, classic hotel with a lot of charm and nice view to the river and park.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    souna this here i dont like it is too worm and steam sound is surround.

    i like service from hotel receiption is very good. breakfast is good but everyday alittle same i think some day pls change for special. this room is good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - waking up by central vacuum cleaner at 7:30 - minibar not working - cleaning during stay was minimal - we didn´t get the deluxe room we booked, instead we were given the apartment for the same price - which is more expensive and we should be happy for that, nevertheless how does it happen the room you booked months ago isn't available? - funny smell in the bathroom, probably from the drain - no welcome drink (booking confirmation mentioned some...)

    - location - very nice staff - excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking - very strange idea to leave the keys at the reception in order to move car when needed (it's better to provide equal number of parking places); bathroom floor was not clean; the view from the room was horrible - facing the faded wall of the near building; we booked a room with balcony, king size bed and bathtub neither was provided (the room was a lower level than we paid); sauna was operating for 4 hours a day only, the pool was cold and jacuzzi was broken partly, we could not understand how this hotel could get such a high rate; would not recommend it; it is totally overrated!

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Castle spa (thermal bath) has very limited possibilities (processes) for lot of money. You can not take freely the bathes, because they send you out. They have just one big pool. The bath temperature is just 32 degr. even on the street you find many hot fountain. Come to Hungary for this :)

    the town is amazing, perfectly in maintained status, elegant buildings, wonderful walking among concentrated elegance which bring you back in the 19th century.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    not comfortble enter to the pool and jacuzi for old people/

    perfect hotel for staying' very good location, helpful staff we really enjoyed our vication great food we eated breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very nice and comfortable hotel in a magnificent location. The personnel was really helpful and kind. Especially the director was amazing. We'd like to congratulate her for being so courteous and attentive to us. We would certainly come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady taking care of breakfast was annoying and very rude. She was very impolite and spoilt our entire experience. The wonderful receptionist had to intervene to explain her and despite that, she misbehaved after the receptionist left.

    The hotel is very good no doubt with large spacious rooms, comfortable bathroom, and everything is very good. The female receptionist was very smart polite and good. She was quite helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    As we stayed during the film festival it was very expensive. The breakfast was ok, nothing special. We had expected noise from the Thermal hotel opposite but what was new (we've stayed here three times now) was the hotel next door, where a disco went on until six in the morning the first night we were there.

    Very nice comfortable room with balcony. Staff helpful and friendly. The location is great for the film festival.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking cost 18 EUR/day, and the pool temperature is very low and can not use. If you want to have a thermal pool just look for other hotel.

    Location and food in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View on the river but also on the very ugly "Thermal hotel"... Spa procedures rather expensive (not tried). In our reservation a free welcome drink was offered but we had to ask for it. Breakfast was fine but with too little choice for such a hotel (especially the continental part). Expensive parking (12€ for 24h) and the cars are all lined-up so you have to ask for the valet to get it out for you ; but there is not much other choice in that town anyway.

    Good location, quiet and within walking distance of everything, nice park just downstairs. There was a mix-up with our room which was already occupied when we tried to come in... But they heavily apologized and upgraded us from Comfort room to Deluxe room with balcony. Room super comfortable and quiet. Free sauna and pool. Very warm welcome from the english speaking staff (except one who was later quite abrupt...)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room: It was not my first time in the hotel but this time i was very unsatisfied with my stay. Room was not clean - bathroom was with spots and a dust, also there was a dust in the room. Light above the mirror in the bathroom and fan were not working. Water in the shower was not going out. After I announced all these problems at the reception only a porter has apologised. The receptionist was busy with documents and didn't say a word. No discount was offered. Breakfast: I asked for one espresso at the breakfast and the reply was - "We can't make an espresso for you because bar is closed untill 10 AM and general manager is here and HE DOESN'T ALLOW US to make an espresso before 10AM". So if one is used to start the morning with a cup of espresso - no chance here (unless you are lucky and GM is out of the hotel or your morning starts at 10 AM but breakfast is already finished). I was ready to pay for it and actually last time it worked fine and there were no problem with it.

    Breakfast staff, a young female receptionist and a porter were very friendly and ready to assist. Good location of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First night, we were given a room which is very small - no exaggeration. Not only room was small but also the bed was meant to be for 1 person, not 2. The water was not running in the shower and also the shower door was broken. There was no hot shower in the room. The room was nowhere close to being comfortable. When we asked them to change the room, they were really helpful and they changed the room after staying for one night. However, that room was also very old and not well-kept. There were no extra blanket in the room. The lamps were not working at all. More importantly, the wifi connection was not working at the room. The Hotel was not prepared for breakfast. Nothing was ready for breakfast. Lack of cutlery, plates etc. Although the hotel was promoted as a SPA Hotel, there is nothing related with SPA. They have one small pool which can accompany five people at tops. I have booked the hotel for my mum's birthday and it was a complete disaster. Luckily, after we have complained for 3 days, they have provided us a discount on the hotel rate.

    Jana - Hotel Manager was really helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wellness package (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would be nice if working hours of spa could be extended.

    Good breakfast, very friendly and willing to help staff, very nice spa, perfect location in Karlovy Vary for everything. Staff taking care of car parking was a nice touch.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Spa Package Full Board (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Based on the advise of the receptionist, I parked in the thermal spa garage. I learnt just before my departure, that I could have parked in front of my hotel. The restaurant is mostly empty.

    Perfect location and a stily building. Large, clean and comfortable room. Good breakfast choice. A very good base to explore Karlovy Vary; to drink from the fountains, to walk on the nice streets and in the parks, to try the various restaurants and explore the shops. In short I had a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wellness package (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The strict rules concerning the service time was not ok. We came to the hotel bar 22:05 and the bar was open, but the personnel did not sell to us as the cash was closed :-(

    Hotel was nice, including the sauna and spa. Room was good, quite warm, but open window to the park side made it very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointingly, a staff member forgot to turn the sauna on, meaning we were not able to use it. Breakfast was not great and hot items did not seem to get replenished so were less appealing towards the end of the period.The receptionist was unhelpful when we asked about local travel and it seemed like she couldn't have cared less about us (she did not ask how our stay had been).

    Nice spa facilities (although see also dislikes); decent location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service. I asked the waiter whether they have also gluten free bread for breakfast. The answer was: you get what you see! Since the spa addresses also digestive tract problems the menus could be expanded accordingly and the staff trained better!

    Very nice interior, comfortable clean room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Opening hrs for the pool/sauna could be longer, closing them at 8pm is quite early. Not a minus, just for information: Parking is limited and spaces are quite narrow for bigger vehicles like mini vans or SUV.

    Excellent place, right in the city center with a great view to the park. Interior looks high quality and fits the buildings historic style. Attached restaurant also looks great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sauna and swimming pool were very nice. The staff's attention was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Spa Package Full Board (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was my 2nd time visited Karlovy Vary, really glad to choose this right spa hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sauna included which is nice. Throwing water on stones (löyly) was not allowed, which is not nice. Parking was full.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Much better than the other hotel we stayed at for a similar price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are amazing : very spacious and elegantly furnished.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    expensive parking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very comfortable. The room was nice I liked it. The. Cru were very helpful and friendly. Good service and atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking below hotel, valuable in this town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spa facilities are good but could do with changing rooms or supply of towelling robes

    Location and breakfast very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Package Full Board (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * woken up at 8:25 for cleaning the room * strong noise of ventilation in the morning * small shower * paying parking lot

    * spa on 6th floor

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Package Half Board (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Excellent hotel, very kind staff from reception desk to restaurant and to balneo treatments. Quiet and clean, good breakfast and diner.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was a bit lacking when compared with similar hotels.

    Excellent location in the centre of the town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant looked tempting but was empty (we were out-of-season).

    Upgraded free to swanky room as first had small bed. Atmospheric high ceilings, fin-de-siècle ambience. Excellent staff

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not all spa offers available at the weekend; information regarding meals and facilities available not transparent; the best arrangement is half board. Failed communication between Reception and Kitchen; this is a management issue since the good services of the staff did together resolve the problem.

    Corner room, quiet even though close to city centre; swimming pool on 6th floor; wellness centre with experienced staff in spa; accommodating and helpful staff and a good selection of good Czech wine and spirits; disability access was good

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we selected this hotel for the spa (not the wellness centre) but we were misslead and told that also the spa was not available. very dissapointing.

    clean, great location,excelent beakfeast, pleasant stuff

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Foie Gras, i.e. liver of goose, as breakfast, for bread of cause. I chose this hotel because its hot spring and sauna. Of cause other hotels provides them.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Receptionists were unfriendly and handling self-caused problems poorly. We felt like we were bothering them with our presence. The first day was fine but on the second day we wanted to book a room for my mother. Unfortunately, the receptionist made a mistake and gave my mother a room that was already taken. We went back to the reception and asked for a solution. Instead of offering an acceptable solution the self-proclaimed "manager" tore apart the signed booking and threw it in the trash. In the process he got agressive, screamed at us and said: "If u do not like something you can go"! He clearly did not have his emotions under control. He did apologize later for his emotional outburst. However, he had no reason to escalate the situation to this level in the first place. While the receptionist's mistake is excuseable the manager's subsequent reaction was clearly unprofessional and not at all customer oriented. Overall, the staff at the reception was so disrespectful that we were actually ready to leave this place.

    location, room was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were entitled to a free drink upon arrival - we choose prosecco, which turned out to be out of fizz. Looks like the restaurant and bar and not busy (maybe because it was end of season) and it shows in the service. The pool area smelled of something that reminded us of mold and some areas in whirlpool and the pool itself did not work (maybe we should have asked somebody but there was no-one around for most of the time. Also the steam sauna was cold although it was supposed to work.

    Nice stylish hotel. We got upgraded to a room with a balcony which was nice. Also tried a couple of procedures and the service we got was really nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Value for money in a great location with everything within walking distance. Building was great example if early 1900's. Pool spa and massages good value for money. Rooms good size

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The exchange rate of the hotel at check-out was higher than in the exchange offices on that day and at the end the bill was higher than at the time of the booking (5 Eur difference).

    Staff, room, spa, wi-fi, parking, location, breakfast...

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Terrible small room. Disgusting smell in the bathroom. The same smell was in the wellnes area. There are several cracks on ceiling and walls in the room. Very poor breakfast. It should cost max. $50 per night. I myself wouldn't pay a penny for it.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was excellent, the room was large and beautiful. Very relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking cars is chargebill

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy room

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    expensive parking

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I have no complaints.

    Friendliness of staff and effort to respond to special requests

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would like to have morewarm food for breskfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Property needs some maintenance, eg paint, spa turbo jets.

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rude stuff.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff and nice room and location.Breakfast is really tasty and many choice

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient location, friendly staff, sufficient breakfast.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: