Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Irida 3 stars

Na Porici 398/3, Plzeň, 301 00, Czech Republic

#22 of 29 hotels in Plzeň

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 469 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Good place at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, there was a terrible sewage smell for the 3 days we were there, especially at night. We could not tell if it was from the outside or the inside. Fortunately, it dissipated in the morning. I hope this is a temporary problem.

    The Irida is located just across the river from the city center; it is an easy walk. the outside of the building is beautiful, the inside is nice and the staff was helpful. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was good. There is a bar in the hotel which looked really nice, but we did not take advantage of it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location, easy, free parking and a good buffet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful sulphur dioxide smell that pervaded all the corridors - I imagine this is a problem that is beyond the hotel’s control. Only one single duvet and one set of towels were provided for us both, despite the rest of the double bed being seemingly made up for a couple. Very strange! The air con didn’t work either.

    Great location, easy, free parking and a good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice, safe and relatively convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bed lights, only very clear light on ceiling in middle of room. Airco did not work. Reported this straight away to reception and got a fan, which was not a serious alternative. But in the end benefits outweighted the doubts and I would go back.

    Excellent location, free and very convenient parking. Lots of value for money for these two important conditions to make your stay a pleasant one.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Decent budget hotel within walking distance to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The curtains in the room did not block out much light. There were blinds on the windows themselves but it was too warm to sleep without the windows fully open, so we were woken very early with the sunrise.

    Bed was comfortable, room was clean. Breakfast until 11 on the weekend was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay in vicinity of city center, brewery and stadium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is mentioned that Hotel has a parking, but it is just a piece of land, open for everybody. No sidewalk or grass, just hundred of cars parked on dirt. Security of a car can also be an issue.

    Very friendly staff, clean and warm rooms, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.6
    Don't stay here!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where do I start? The room didn't have curtains that could properly block in light, the heaters were jammed on full hot and couldn't be turned down or off, the shower didn't have a curtain, the room smelt of cigarettes, the sheet for the bed wasn't large enough to tuck in (it just sat on top) and one of the beds was broken which meant it sunk in the middle. We raised this with reception and they didn't have much to say but managed to move us to another room which fixed a few of these issues but the walls were so thin we could hear our neighbours up all night drinking and talking. Don't stay here! It is an awkward location, the rooms are overpriced and the quality is extremely poor.

    Efficient staff and they allowed us to check in early. Breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.2
    Overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TINY room for 3 adults...photos on website misrepresent size and quality. Smell of sewage from street very strong.

    One bed was very good, but not the other. Breakfast was nice selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.8
    Ok for an overnight stay on a budget, but no longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location seems a little sketchy at night. Parking was public on street, not secure. The initial room we were given was terrible - it had no curtains, the fridge did not work, the safe was locked and unable to be used, the room was way to small for the furniture. It was dusty and had only 1 pillow, 1 towel and 1 small blanket for the double bed/room. The room only had a bath with a hand shower and no shower screen. Breakfast was average, stale bread etc.

    The Lady who checked us in was lovely and tried to assist us with the numerous problems with our room. Ultimately we were moved to a room with more things working. It was relatively close (walking distance) to restaurants and tourist locations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    To be able to process booking we had to add card details,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be able to process booking we had to add card details, but in comment we add that we gonna pay with different card, company one. Staff haven't asked and processed the payment from personal one. The refund wasn't possible in the certain time as it was other person than on the shift, we would need to ask. So it brought us extra troubles which could be avoid with one question, as is usual anywhere else.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Good but more of a high functioning 3 star hotel than a 4 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 minute walk to the town center. Clean and comfortable with good decor and high ceilings. Beds clean and comfortable apart from the 3rd single which was a basic foam mattress on a wooden frame - quite solid. The shower head needed replacing but lots of thick towels. No Tea/coffee making facilities but breakfast plentiful with lots of choice. Only tried switching the TV on the last night of our stay but even the staff couldn't get it to work. Wifi is ok but dont expect to download or stream anything requiring a strong and steady connection. Most of the staff speak English well and were very helpful. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy if you sleep with the windows open, otherwise you won't hear the traffic... but the fridge in the room actually keeps you more awake by constantly going on/off, so if you don't need to cool anything, just leave it off.

    Within walking distance to everything... train station, shopping, zoo Superb breakfast, very nice staff, clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quiet hotel, yet just a stone's throw from the centre. We asked for a quiet room, and we certainly got it. Have stayed in other hotels in Plzen, and they were incredibly noisy!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    5.4
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel description is misleading: room with a view to a river and what we got was a backyard of a restaurant with the smell extractor outlet pointing to our windows. Don't even think about opening a window. Another bad surprise on Sunday morning: two builders just right outside our bathroom window working at the construction site. Also, 200 meters to the old town is also misleading. You have to go to the nearest bridge to get through the river, which make is much longer. Breakfast room very small.

    Nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel in ideal spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the armchairs was broken, the wardrobe almost came off the wall, cleanliness could have been better (some cobwebs here and there), there was no hot water available at the basin (the shower was okay, though).

    The room is quite spacious with high ceilings, the breakfast buffet is good, the location is simply perfect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Room was very small & crowded with too much furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small & crowded with too much furniture. Bathroom was nice. Maybe a little updating would help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Friendly and comfortable, just like being at home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly and comfortable, just like being at home.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly, nice hotel.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean rooms, comfortable beds. Friendly stuff, good localization.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge in the room was not working

    2 minutes walk to the Centre. Bus and train to praha is cheap.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great position, just 5 minute walking from the main square. Staff very helpful. Very good breakfast and cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    Lighting of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting of the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect, uncomplicated and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly and peaceful atmosphere, close enough to the centre of the city but in a great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.8
    Super friendly staff, quite good location.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nasty smell of the Indonesian restaurant. Very hot room temperature.

    Super friendly staff, quite good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Very nice staff, good breakfast with almost everything,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff, good breakfast with almost everything, great location, 5 minutes from city center. We will return!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.4
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wifi and room was like a sauna

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    Best located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly & flexible staff. Good & peaceful location with kids playground

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.2
    Would Stay Again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was soooo comfortable! It is a short walk from the centre which is also a plus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit on its own in the area

    Nice balcony Quiet area, but still close to main square

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    6.7
    The staff went above the call of duty to make me feel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is lot to be said about possibility to improve in areas of cleanliness (the bathrooms were very clean!) however because of the carpet and type of furnishings (soft furnishing in particular) the rooms appeared not as clean. The description of the rooms especially executive suite is somewhat misleading as the room does not have a window, but a skylight thus there is no view. However, the staff was very quick to switch me to another room.

    The staff went above the call of duty to make me feel welcome and this was more than five star service! The location is relatively close to city centre, 10 minute quick walk. Internet connection excellent! Bed was reasonably comfortable though somewhat spartan. Once gain kudos to the staff!

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    5.0
    There were 2 bottles of water and 2 glasses in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dusty as hell, old dirty towels, tiny room, overpriced, meh breakfast, room had one roof window. Bad value, I'm generally unhappy with the hotel.

    There were 2 bottles of water and 2 glasses in the room.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    8.3
    Free and secure parking by camera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perhaps just cleanliness could be better (especially dust on the floor).

    Free and secure parking by camera. Free Wi-fi wtih good signal. E xcellent location, about five minutes walk to the city center. And absolutely perfect breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    8.3
    The staff vere friendly and efficient, the room is quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Towels vere small, thin and old.

    The staff vere friendly and efficient, the room is quite large and well appointed. The hotel is a short stroll to town square. I think the hotel is good for the price.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    4.6
    The bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No towels in room Missing bulb No bin in room Décor was quite ugly Overall definitely not worth the money (55euros per night in Plzen can get you something much nicer) especially as I booked the 'Executive Double', expecting something more.

    The bed was comfortable Breakfast was ok Hotel restaurant bar was nice

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    10
    I was obligated to leave the hotel at 6h30 because of my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was obligated to leave the hotel at 6h30 because of my flying time for that I appreciate all the team of IRIDA and they're kindness for preparing to me a breakfast in small sac that I can eat during my way to airport

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    8.3
    The breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room didn't have a lot of windows, other than that- great!

    The breakfast was great. Lots of choices. The desk staff were so helpful and sweet.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    6.7
    Empty shampoo for 3 days, no soap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Empty shampoo for 3 days, no soap.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed and poor wifi

    Location

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: