Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Iron Gate Hotel & Suites 5 stars

Michalská 19, Prague, 11000, Czech Republic

#168 of 612 hotels in Prague

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1203 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked iron gate suite for our stay. We had a bad experience during the first night of our 3 day stay. The air conditioner was not working. We complained to the front desk. They sent a representative to confirm, which he did after examining the machine and his system for 30 mins. This confirmation was given to me after I called the front desk and not by them directly. Since it was summer, spending the whole night without air conditioner would have been quite difficult. Requested them to provide another room. We were informed that the hotel was fully booked and they couldn’t accede our request. They were ready to shift us to another room only the following day. To help us get through the night, we were offered some Coca Cola and a small table fan. Left with no other option we asked them to give us the fan. We were given a much smaller room the next day (@ 3:00PM). Room was decent with a working air conditioner.

    Nice and big cozy rooms. Good gothic decor. Good breakfast. Amazing location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, room and common areas are high level

    Not clarity on the cost of extras. Not even a bottle of water complementary, espresso to be paid extra at breakfast. Services are not of a 5 stars

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but not great.

    Location is excellent. Staff extremely helpful. Had a two story loft suite that was great with comfortable beds and a bathtub for two! Outdoor courtyard also serves as nighttime restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price for accommodation had increased considerably since last August, when I made a previous booking which I had to cancel due to my mother's untimely death. However the quality of accommodation, service and location was second to none.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. They organised transport to/from the airport and sorted broken air-conditioning promptly. The food was excellent, and the breakfast superb. A meal at the Hotel's sister hotel, U Princes' rooftop terrace is also well worth doing, this was booked from the Iron Gate Hotel reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect Location in the heart of Prague. Nice spacious rooms with affordable prices. The Hotel has a restaurant which offers also a huge variety of room-service offers if you would like to dine in room after a hard day of work. Would totally reccomewnd it for business as well for pleasure travellers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a junior suite with ceiling beams... Got a ground floor catacomb. Noise from the yard. And the waiters/bellboy hang out for smoking and phone conversation was outside our junior suite.🤨

    Clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very slow wifi in room. Some plugs were not working. Electric kettle was not clean, thank god we looked before boiling the water and drank it! Cos the bottled water we poured in it turned white. Don't know what was inside. No welcome drink as was indicated in my booking. Interior design of room could be upgraded. When paying at the end of our stay, we couldn't split the bill.

    Very good buffet breakfast Clean room and hotel Central location and quiet room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, huge and very beautifully restored room, central location but quiet. Clean and the right temperature! (I always find hotels are too hot!) Good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though hotel is close to all main locations but access is a bit tricky, one tends to get lost in the narrow streets around hotel.

    Breakfast, Staff, Room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in process took a bit long. We couldn't check in before 3 pm and when we got back at 3 pm we had to wait another 15-20 min until we were able to check-in.

    Wonderful Junior Suite. Very nice hotel. Just a few steps from Old Town Square. Breakfast was good and staff was very freindly. My husband and I love Prague and would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    struggling to find fault with anything!

    Location is perfect, only 5 minute walk to the old town square. Great breakfast in the morning. We really enjoyed our stay, great value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They could provide water Room can be cold at nights since suites are kinda big and heaters are not sufficient.

    Breakfast is rich and delicious. Rooms are quite comfortable, some TV's even have Netflix.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Goliath Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very difficult to find driving, had to call twice. Not good signage from a driving perspective. Had to put in a different address to actually find the property. Staff not that patient or helpful with this issue.

    Room was spacious and beautiful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    our room was on the 3rd floor, down a long corridor, outside a door and back in again. bit far from the main entrance!

    The room was very nice and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Iron Gate Hotel really exceeded my expectations considering the price I paid. The room was super spacious, the breakfast was great and the staff were also really friendly and super helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I came back to Prague!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel were doing some kind of renovations which we werent informed about however we were woke by the sound of drilling every morning. It was fine when we were out for the day but you couldnt spend a long period of time in the room due to the noise.

    The hotel was in an ideal location, right next to old town square. The room was comfortable and good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Charging for an espresso coffee is rather mean. In our suite, light came through above the curtains, a problem for people who prefer darkness in the morning.

    The suite was very spacious, the large bed comfortable, the jacuzzi in the bathroom great after a day out sightseeing in the cold. Breakfast was excellent, really good quality and abundant. Very good location, very near the Old Square and Mustek metro station used to/from the airport. Very close also to the Estates Theatre (for opera lovers). The Deer restaurant inside the hotel is very good and convenient if you don't want to go out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Goliath Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We where given 2 rooms that where cheaper than I booked 200 euro less . Also was over charged parking my car when I questioned the price of parking I was ignored when I challenged it again 3 security gentlemen made there present felt what would you do beware beware of this hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were a real disappointment having seen the pictures on the internet, they were very dark and oppressive the floor of our shower was really badly stained and the lights outside weren't turn off all night.

    The location is excellent it's really good for accessing old town The dinner was very good but quite expensive and we had to ask for an item that wasn't ours to be removed from the bill .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast buffet not very good. No English- speaking tv channels - just US newsgreat location

    Comfortable bed. Great having 2 bathrooms. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room, although comfortable, was at the back of the hotel and we found it a little dark. Also we overlooked the rear entrance and in the mornings - between 5 and 6 - we were woken by the sound of barrels being loaded/unloaded.

    The food served in the hotel was very good. Breakfast had a wide range of options, and the evening meals were very good. Reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had 2 bad experience with 2 rude members of the stuff. The check-in experience was the most unwelcoming of my life at the point that I want to run away from the hotel after and the breakfast staff was not very nice. The hotel did not meet my expectation. Our room was, facing the street, was a bit noisy during the night. I was surprised to find close to the bed a bottle of water with the price on it :(. The breakfast was not what expected for a 5 starts hotel (e.i. cappuccino and other hot drink an extra cost)

    The position is great and the interior of the room is nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel itself was lovely, the room was great, the location was fantastic right by the old square. and a good breakfast. However there are just a couple of things that were disappointing, especially for a 5 star. The room was cold when we visited in February. The air con / heating didn't have any affect at all and the little heater supplied again didn't either. So we were cold the whole time.... and the duvets were 2 separate ones! There was a lovely big jaccuzzi bath, but the shower was just a pipe from the bath, so no shower that you could stand under (and get warm). It was such a shame to what would have been the ideal city break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was of average quality. Did not meet the standards of the rest of the hotel, including the evening meals in the restaurant. Don't let this put you off though, this is a great hotel.

    Fabulous location, room was extremely comfortable, bed was huge and extremely comfortable. Loved it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the early morning building noise on the Friday morning. Head lady at the breakfast was sometimes a bit rude especially if you turned up half an hour or less before breakfast ended.

    The breakfast was very good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was excellent. Really spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The hotel is in the city center so you can easily walk to all points of interest, even without using public transportation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we were given was a little run down. There were quite a few black marks on the walls (in need of a new paint job). The paint was chipping near the shower head, the tiles on the wall had different colors and were not aligned. The sides of the bathroom door were losing pieces of wood. The room was not as spacious as we’d expected. There is very limited space for makeup/ shaving bags in the bathroom etc. Very awkward layout. One of the heavy chair/ futon could be removed. We even lost power at some point when we turned the light on in the bathroom after a long day of walking and the staff had to come and play with the breakers. We expected more for a « Deluxe Suite » in a 5 star-hotel.

    We loved the location. Close walking distance to everything. Staff was extremely helpful and nice - they offered us an early check-in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dark rooms, no daylight with a smell of kitchen and food all over the hotel. Loud music until midnight made it difficult to sleep and was disturbing as the rooms are not well isolated.

    The location is very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the decor and ambience of this fabulous hotel. So much character! Like stepping into a piece of living history.... the location was perfect, we were able to walk everywhere during our stay. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. And the breakfast awesome!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Goliath Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottled water in the rooms could have been included in the price

    The breakfast was included and there was something to appeal to everyone. The carrot cake was delicious and so were the croissants which were fresh every morning

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything that was an issue at all.

    Very nice hotel. Great location, great facilities, friendly and helpful staff. The included breakfast was 1st rate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was REALLY hard. I like a firm mattress but even for me, too solid.

    The breakfast selection was amazing. Also soup for breakfast?? Actually a great idea. Goulash & chicken soups both delicious & great start to chilly morning. The suites were great. Really luxurious with plenty of space especially for tall people like us who like that added head height. Good house-keeping. Very clean apartments. Decked out for Christmas so well. Ideally located for exploring the town with the old square just 2 minute walk away, but slightly off the main drag so quieter.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Goliath Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have to say this hotel is so overpriced, and the staff is are not very kind. They cannot proper speak endless, and it takes so much time to just check-in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in the heart of the old town. The staff were outstanding, extremely helpful and very friendly. The hotel has a sophisticated but relaxed ambience. And the best breakfast ever!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were greeted.... or should i say not greeted with "PASSPORTS", and not "Hello and welcome"..... etc. Zero customer service, very rude front of house. The room I booked was the room we were given, however, not the room we expected as the photos didn't correlate. No where on the website did it display the photos of the actual room. My requests weren't honoured either. The room we got was down in the courtyard and was definitely not 5 star. The shower floor was disgusting and unfortunately the bathroom needed attention all round. The sink was coming away causing plaster to come off the wall, the shower head had been moved and the holes not been repaired. The overall room would be cosier with carpet too, as it was tiled. When i contacted reception, the very rude man at front of house said there was nothing he could do.... end of conversation. The hotel was very nice though, we just got one of the poorer rooms and felt it was false advertising. The food and variety of breakfast was amazing and you couldn't be in a better location.

    Central location. Breakfast. Courtyard. Pretty hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very disappointed that the hotel could not give us a room with two single beds although this was firmly requested at the time of booking. One of us at 65 to have to sleep on a 'put you up bed' with very thin mattress and no bedside light is not acceptable.

    Location perfect for December Quietness of location and huge beautifully furnished rooms. Great choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was slightly too firm for our liking but still comfy enough. The lighting in the room was very dim, could have been part of the cosy feel but was mainly lamps so had to get ready in the bathroom - not a problem at all just something to note.

    Wide variety of breakfast choices. Nice selection of products in the bathroom of our suite. Beautiful Christmas decorations. The Pianist in the bar in the evening was superb :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not the one I was expecting, very dark, poorly lit, hole in wooden floor outside bathroom, shower curtains far too long. Breakfast had to be picked up from down a flight of stairs, juice dispenser actually on stairs, hot drinks also had to be taken up stairs, only on third day did member of staff greet us in dining room, very weak coffee ( had to pay if you wanted any coffee besides one in urn) . Price of biscuits, crisps and water in room extortionate... didn’t even bother looking at mini bar prices.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess this is something that might not happen all the time but the guest on top of us were making lots of noise and since the floors are wood you can hear everything coming from upstairs. Again, I don’t know if that is the norm because of the wood floors or it was just those guest. The lighting in the room could be better, they have lots of lights but with small bulbs witch it makes it difficult to see when you need lots of light for a certain task.

    I stayed at the hotel 3 days, left December 2nd. Excellent location, walking distance to Charles Bridge, 3 minutes walk from Old Town Square, 3 minutes walk to metro station to move around. At least my room was huge with a little cozy living room. The restaurant is also very romantic and cozy, excellent service and great food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I liked everything

    The hotel is located in a heart of old city and has very nice interior design. It is a romantic place. Staff is very friendly. Restaurant is nice, breakfast is good. Nice pubs and cafes around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ...for breakfast you need to bring your ID, your Passport and any other identification proofs you can get, bring all, plus your hotel key and so on...otherwise you can not be served, besides the fact that you pay for it... and the manager not very understanding of the say: customer is ALWAYS right, ESPECIALLY WHEN HE IS RIGHT!

    a real nice hotel, nice location and nice room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Beautiful old style building and interior but well maintained with excellent facilities. We had a deluxe suite and it was beautiful.The location was perfect just 2 minutes from Old Town Square and about 10 minutes from the Charles Bridge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night reception staff on checkin. Tried to tell us our booking was ‘cancelled’ & we had to pay double. After 30 mins or arguing at 1am he finally agreed we would receive our room at original price quoted.

    Room was great - 2 floors, 2 big double beds & 3 toilets. Jacuzzi in upstairs room was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decoration was a little dull, TV had nothing but News channels, bed was squeaky and uncomfortable

    Great Location, helpful staff, nicely decorated, tasty breakfast, fast Wifi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the man on the reception desk on the friday evening unfortunately let this hotel down i found him very unhelpful and rather arrogant. He needs some customer service skills !!!

    beautiful grand hotel was beautiful with heaps of history. from the reception to the rooms me and my husband could not fault this beautiful hotel. Breakfast was fine

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in suite was dim and made it a bit depressing. Cost of water and other items ridiculously expensive, their medium bottle 149 Krona. Supermarket 6 Krona larger bottle. This gives the impression of being ‘ripped off’.

    Lovely hotel, breakfast good, location fantastic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the front desk could be little more professional.

    Went for our anniversary there. Amazing room and very good breakfast More center then that you can not.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a bit small. At the end of the bed was a wardrobe - not great if you have long legs.

    Friendly welcome at reception. Taken up to my room and shown all the facilities. Wifi was very effective - no need for passwords.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Room was fantastic - very tidy and clean. Staff were extremely helpful and attentive. The Hotel was exactly as described on Booking.com, right in the centre of everything and only a short walk to the main attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t understand the breakfast was complimentary until our second day.

    Our suite was amazing! The furniture was beautiful, the beds comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and the location was perfect for us! Closer to the square became more expensive and noisier. When in Europe, we love to sleep with the windows open. It was perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were not facilitating and ignored the fact that we didn’t get the room we had booked. The hotel itself was lovely. Food excellent. Excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mostly incompetent and inefficient personnel making for example check-in and check-out a fatigue as You have to deal with an unfriendly and unflexible youngster, whose little bit of English is quite uncomprehensible. Bad organzation of the personnel leads to unpleasant situations for example during breakfast when the few tables available are all full or not cleaned. Frequently You have to wait in queues for the coffee-pot to return. This situation deteriorates on weekends when external people also take their breakfast there and are given priority over the hotel-guests. It's just a question of management but I have to admit that the unexpected tourism-boom in Prague obviously leads to a lack of qualified and trained personnel. One thing You should consider if You arrive with heavy luggage at the airport, is that You can't arrive at the hotel because the Michalska is closed to non-resident travel: transporting heavy luggage for about 100 mt on medieval cobble-stones is no pleasure.

    Beautiful hotel in ancient buildings (about 1460). No room is like the other, a bit labyrinthic as composed of at least 3 different buildings around a delicious internal court. Some of the rooms are very spacious, some on 2 floors with 2 bathrooms but some are without a window. You are right in the heart of Prague's old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only window in the room was blocked by the TV. The window didn't look out to a good view either. The suite had an extra room upstairs, which isn't as convenient as being on the same floor. We never used the extra room. But the worst was that there was only a jacuzzi, not a shower and a jacuzzi, which meant we had to sit down to take a shower, as otherwise we would spill the water everywhere. All this is not clearly spelt out in the room description.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check-in was a little slow, but it's hardly worth mentioning.

    The suites are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The one we stayed in was also very quiets. Comfortable bed; very nice breakfast location in the interior garden. The location is excellent. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just found the staff so miserable all the time it really is not a cheap place to stay so a good morning or afternoon wouldn't of gone a miss to be honest even if you didn't mean it... I could go on but I won't.

    Lovely place set perfectly for sight seeing big room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There isn't anything that we did not like about the hotel.

    Great location. Walking distance to major sightseeing places. Friendly, helpful staff. Restaurants and Cafes within walking distance from the property. So also the tourist gathering places. The Astronomical Clock is just around the corner. Breakfast was good with choice of hot and cold foods.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was really top knotch

    Junior Suite generous size /. Location perfect close to the famous clock in the square but on a quiet side street. Breakfast outstanding - varity and quality! Cable TV with many English channels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Approach to hotel was not good, very difficult to take big car or taxi since this is in busy area. The AC in the room was very noisy. The manager was too rude and not polite however other staff was ok. Restaurant staff was very good. They did not inform us that the route from which we pass will be closed if we come late hence we had to search the alternative in the midnight whish was very difficult.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Property is conveniently located to all the sites. There was an excellent selection for breakfast. The suites were large with a separate living room from the bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On arrival the guy on reception was not at all welcoming. We asked for extra tea and milk in the room which did not arrive until I put a review on trip advisor. We paid for a deluxe suite. I wouldn't view it as deluxe when compared to other places we have stayed. The seating area was ok but the sofa and cushions were off a lowish grade. But the worst thing for us was that it was not possible to open the wardrobe in the bedroom properly due to it been so near to the bed and you had this constant battle with the door / the wardrobe and the desk and its seat. Certainly not enough space in the bedroom for it to come close to being classed as 'deluxe'

    breakfast was lovely and the location great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioner control must be at room but not, and bed should not be 2 seperate and different height, it was not comfortable.

    Perfect breakfast, otel at narrow street but very close to center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Showering was a bit awkward and there was no where to hang the shower head.

    Very spacious rooms with high ceilings, lovely breakfast and amazing location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Improve touches to get 5 stars - better towels as very thin poor quality for otherwise such a plush hotel - we asked for more and never received them - room service was cold and had to be returned - careful if use the sofa bed as they tried to charge us 90czh a night for this

    Beautiful hotel and room and lovely courtyard bar so close to main square but no noise staff friendly except on the night shift - bar staff fabulous

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom had a odd odour, not quite damp, but weird. Although breakfast choice was great, the hot options (egg, bacon etc.) was cold/luke warm and we usually only went down about 8am, so not too late. Also you had to pay extra for proper juice, there was only squash available, really? Breakfast staff were a bit dopey, e.g. first morning, we sat down and it was not obvious where the breakfast food was as the area was behind the busy kitchen area through a corridor. We sat for probably about 5 minutes even though staff smiled at us but were busy chatted to each other. It was pretty obvious it was the first time we had breakfast there and no one bothered to help out until the lady who must've been in charge appeared. Cleaner must've thrown several of my plastic carrier bags out and I only realised when packing on the morning before I left and needed bags for shoes/dirty washing, very annoying! Lastly, although there was a sign to be more environmentally friendly and to hang your towels up if you want to reuse them, they got replaced every day, there's no need!

    24 hour reception was awesome, especially when your train was very delayed! Rooms were a great size and looked amazing, we were only in a junior suite. Large room, comfortable bed (slept very well), minimal noise from outside, desk, sofa, TV, free WiFi, large bathroom, toiletries, towels, kettle (plus for a Brit abroad, this isn't always the case in mainland Europe). Good variety for breakfast. Amazing location. Although the "bad points" look longer, this was really an excellent stay and would definitely come again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend and I had booked exactly same room, the deluxe suite, which accommodates 3 yet I was charged for the extra bed that was the umcomfortable sofa bed in the room. My friend's room was much better in terms of decor and layout. The staff at reception were not friendly or helpful. Would avoid staying here again.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was warm.

    Could not be in a better location. Valet parking. Front desk staff was amazing. Rooms are beautiful. We stayed in a deluxe suite and highly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The laundry service in the hotel was not satisfactory. Shirts were not ironed properly and they would send back all your laundry in one hanger. I had booked the Iron Gate Suit based on the pictures but when I got there, I was given another room (different than the pictures) which they consider as being of the same class. Make sure when you reserve to send a request by email of the room you would like to stay in.

    The rooms are clean and neat. The location of the hotel is amazing (right in the middle of Prague)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great but it's a little hard not to get lost eith so many passages. They gave us a room that was practically impossible for us to open the door, and they didn't offer to change us until we requested it. That was the only thing that made me upset.

    Staff in the morning is very helpful. Cleaning ladies were very kind as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel is tastefully decorated. The location is excellent and hotel staffs were friendly and helpful. Our taxi they sent didn't fit all of us so we took another taxi. We complained and they refunded us half the taxi fare. Highly recommend this hotel. It is in a quite street but just minutes from the old town square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple practical suggestion: provide TRAYS at breakfast. The food is accessible only via steep steps and you have to go back and forth from table to food layout up and down those steps. I think the hotel drivers as routine should always ask passenger if they are OK with the radio playing rock music or would like it off.

    Spacious room with lots of character and no street noise. Excellent air con

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we had was a duplex, and it didn't had a central switch to turn all the lights and AC in the room, so I had to go up and down the stairs. The aspect that you really have to work is the breakfast experience, honestly very poor in terms off variety and quality, fix this and you'll be great.

    Fantastic stay! We had the iron gate suite, huge well appointed room with all the amenities that we coukd need. The hotel is a minute walk to the old town square,so you are in the middle of Prague an walk everywhere from there. But the highlight of the hotel is the staff, congrats to Lenka, Milan and Zdanek for the way that you took god care of us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If being extremely picky it would be nice to have some bottled water supplied free rather than having to pay as part of the mini bar selection. Apart from that we had no complaints.

    Lovely hotel in a great Central location very near the Old Town Hall Square. We had a suite so we had a separate lounge and even a second toilet. Breakfast was good. Help yourself with a wide choice. We ate two nights in the restaurant and there was a good menu and polite, attentive staff. Everyone spoke good English.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    Beautiful old building. Close to everything. Lots of nice restaurants nearby. Excellent choices at breakfast buffet. Staff was friendly and helpful. 2 room suite was spacious, quiet, and air conditioned.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bath/shower was tiny. Not big enough for a relaxing bath and the shower was very short. Apart from that everything was great.

    Everything was great, staff food and room simply amazing. The hotel restaurant was really good and not too expensive. The location is the best!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Iron Gate Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the Iron Gate Suite under the impression it was a duplex as that's what the pictures show - two levels with two bathrooms. We were so disappointed on arrival that the suite wasn't a duplex and didn't have two bathrooms - the description of the iron gate suite is SO misleading in my opinion - apparently only some rooms in this category have two floors. The room we had was gorgeous but when you're expecting something else was disheartening, especially as it was meant to be a special room for my mums birthday. I don't see how I've paid the same amount as somebody who got double the floors and double the bathrooms this doesn't make sense to me! This was the only negative though

    Can't beat the location - so close to main square in the old town and Charles bridge but also really nice and quiet, you wouldn't know you were so close to everything. The courtyard restaurant and bar is lovely and has a piano player in the evenings - and the staff are very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Iron Gate Hotel & Suites traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: