Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kavalir 3 stars

Plzenska 177, Prague, 15000, Czech Republic

#396 of 612 hotels in Prague

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1462 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with more electrical sockets but wifi connection was stronge.

    I was very impressed with cleanliness and the support of the receptionists.. I would use this hotel again-ideal for trams and it was quiet desite being on.the main road and.a large hotel full of guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was slightly far from the center and since the Room did not have Ac we had to keep the windows open to let fresh air come in but doing so we were able to hear a little bit of traffic nuisance but if you go to bed not very early then this will not be an issue for you.

    Breakfast was great, Receptionist had given us 3 bed room instead of our ideal booking of 2 twin beds so staff was helpful & kind. The View from the balcony was very pleasant. Public Transport stops bus and Trams are right across the street. Over good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was just fine.

    The location was awesome - the tram stop is just in front of the entrance. The lady at the reception is highly professional, she speaks many languages as well. The breakfast was good. The room we got was really big, the beds - comfy, the shower worked well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean rooms, comfortable mattress, friendly staff, hearty breakfast, strong wifi signal. Excellent real Czech restaurants in walk distance (e.g. Zahradní restaurace Klamovka). Tram stops in front of the hotel, the downtown available in 15 minutes. Fast, flexible and cheap airport transfer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel lacks air con and there was no bar fridge nor kettle in the room. They did provide us with a fan on the second day which helped a lot.

    All was good, we had a massive room which was a bonus. Tram just in from of the hotel, so that’s convenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite dated and there was some mould in the shower.

    This is a simple, does what it says on the tin hotel, just a short tram ride from the centre. Clean and friendly. There’s lots of choice for breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi signal was terrible. I was never able to get Wi-Fi in the bedroom, I had to go out in the hall near the elevator so I could get online. The bed also was very uncomfortable, the mat was so thin I could feel the wood tables on my back.

    Breakfast was nice, the room had good size, lots of space. The bathroom was very large as well and super clean, everything there seemed new. The personal at the front desk were nice. It’s located just in front of a tranvia stop, and not that far from the center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You have to ask at the reception for extra toilet paper.

    The room was very spacious. The bed and pillow very comfortable. Always hot water in the shower. People at the reception very nice and helpful. Good breakfast. The hotel is not in the center but we knew it. But there are several tramway to the center just in front of the door and coming every few minutes and also at night. Good value for the price. We definetly will come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the location was great. The trams were always working each second. The tram stop was just across the street. ıt took almost 15 minutes to go to city center. The breakwast was great. There were many different choices appealing to everyone. The room was clean and comfortable. I was alone but the bed was double. It made me happy too. Stuff were friendly and respectful people. The price was also quite reasonable including the breakfast. Strongly advise this place. By the way the bus also is very close like 5 minutes by walking to go to airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, close to everything. The room cozy, always clean and warm. The hotel stuff members are really nice. When there was a problem at room lighting, they fixed the problem really quick. Also, breakfast was simple and good! Highly recommend if you visit Prague.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hours are great and the breakfast was amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our stay was lovely and we would definitely book again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Something old: Besides the poor coffee, the iconic short black hair on the shelf under the mirror at the bathroom -which is part of the brand identity- was still there, and remained there during my whole stay. Furniture is somewhat worn out, but still well maintained, so do not imagine squeaky beds or anything like that. Some towels had frayed edges, but they were all pure white, and changed every day. Also, in my personal opinion, the lack of a small fridge is a slight disadvantage. I know it is not a must for a 3-stars hotel, but I would have appreciated having one in my room.

    Something new: The property seems to be well maintained, and rooms are very clean. The place is also safe and really well connected to the city centre and main sights. Another plus is that the breakfast is getting better; slightly, but better. Unfortunately, the coffee still is a creepy instant liquid of unclear origin. Me and my friends who were also there at the same time would have appreciated proper espresso coffee -you know, one made of coffee beans-, and in order to get it we had to go to the shopping centre at Anděl. Since Kavalir is connected by several very convenient tram lines, the Anděl hub is just several minutes away, so real coffee is not that far away. In short, Kavalir offers an old-fashioned charm and good value for money. I will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffee at breakfast is undrinkable! The rest of the breakfast is perfectly acceptable. No bar or minibar; kettle in bedroom but no cups or anything to put in them!

    Public areas and bathrooms have been refurbished. The hotel sent out a form before arrival where you could order a bottle of wine or fruit basket in your room (small extra charge) or airport transfer at reasonable rates. Considering the room rate, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The windows were facing the main road and it was a bit noisy to sleep. Although the breakfast choices were good, but it was the same menu every day. An addition of hot bacon or porridge would be nice. Also the switch from boiled eggs to omelettes or scrambled eggs every now and again would be nice.

    Great location, very helpful English speaking staff, good website giving good instructions how to use public transport. Good value for money. Lovely choice of breads and cakes for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was far to firm for my liking and the chef would not make fried eggs but other than that the hotel is great and I will still recommend this hotel to everyone

    Tram stop is right outside the hotel and number 9 operates every 6 minutes to the town centre. Very good wifi in the room enough to stream tv through the iplayer

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can be more electricity sockets in the room. No fridge in the room. No bar/restaurant in the hotel. We could not even buy still water in the hotel. The serving personal is speaking so loud in the coridor, that it makes a lot of noise, which can be perfectly heard in the room. Especially after 8-9 o'clock in the morning. In the coridor there is strong smell of bleach, which is annoying. It is not so close to the center of Prague. Only can be reachable via public transport.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only two things are 1. The wooden trim around the sockets in the room are too tight and obstruct the power adapters we use 2. If they could add BACON at breakfast then it would be a fine breakfast

    beds were good. Room fine. Very clean. water hot at all times Staff very helpful relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A clearer understanding of the price. What we actually paid was very different from the estimate given.

    The room was small but it worked out fine. The shower was also quite small, but again it worked out. We appreciated the staff the most and their helpfulness. I would stay there again when I go back to Prague.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very hot and unfortunately, as the tram was right outside as was the main road it was very noisy. There was a kettle in the room but no cups or complimentary tea or coffee.

    Easy access to the centre of town, good breakfast included. Helpful staff members, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Room had everything you needed including good water pressure shower and lots of hot water. Breakfast was excellent, great way to start the day. Easy to get into city centre, tram and bus close by. Great you are able to buy tram tickets from reception. Room cleaned everyday to high standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old TV, can't change my mobile due to unavailablity icon in the TV & power switch and no parking to any vehicle unless searching around others buildings

    Its breakfast and it's cost

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My bed was supposed to be a double, but was really two single beds pushed together. They were not secured, so they moved apart during the night. It was very uncomfortable which was a real shame.

    Trains and buses stop directly out the front of the hotel so it is a fantastic place to stay and explore Prague. The staff at the desk were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is included and is a good spread each morning. The room was clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a dated decor and old hot water heaters with metal knobs that stuck out behind the curtains that were not detected until we ran into them.

    Had an elevator. Convenient to the tram lines. Helpful staff that spoke English and willing to give suggestions for dining.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much. May be the furniture was a little bit old, but this did not bother us.

    The hotel is located in front of the Tram station. Trams are frequent. The room was very well cleaned every day. The breakfast was good quality, nothing fancy, but you eat well. The hotel arranged for a taxi to wait for us at the airport (as we were landing late) for about 20 EUR.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was not that comfortable. One of our rooms was much bigger and more spacious than the other (a little couch to hang out on). I wish they had bathtubs, not just showers. It didn't feel very *nice.*

    Breakfast was complimentary (always a plus). There were a couple GREAT restaurants very near to the hotel, one with its own homemade craft beer, which was delicious. There was also a laundromat nearby, which we needed by this point in our trip. The tram was very convenient for getting to/from town. Really easy to use public transit from Kavalir.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet connectivity was a little sketchy - kept going on and off. While you can manage with English in some places in the neighborhood, you'll also run into many who don't speak the language. It shouldn't be a problem though.

    Hotel is very easy to locate. It's right opposite the Kavalirka tram stop on the main road. The hotel room was spacious, big and clean toilet, room was well kept. Breakfast included a good spread of standard dishes (sausage, ham, cheese, beans, bread and more). The staff is very friendly. Front office includes people who can speak English fluently and are very helpful. Some good restaurants serving Chinese, Vietnamese, Turkish cuisines in addition to local Czech ones and super markets in the neighborhood. Safe to move around. They also help you plan some good city tours and have tie ups with agents who pick you up from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A comfortable hotel in low price range. A better breakfast would have been appreciated. A better / stronger shower and also a shower possibility in the bathtub would have been appreciated. All in one we was happy.

    Simple breakfast. Eg, bread, coffe, cheese and ham. What you need and nothing more. As expected. Nice tables and personal. Room, exactly what you need. A nice bathtub in our room to use. Only 1 minute walking to the tram (just cross the street) and you had nr 9 and 14 to take you to old city / centrum where you wanted. We went to the national theatre, the tram took us from the hotel to the theater without changing tram. Extremely polite and well organized reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Staff made my partners birthday special by leaving a nice card and 2 little bottles of champagne in our room. Lovey surprise xx thanks. Great attention to detail x

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything, the hotel was clean, the staff was pleasant and i would stay there again and so would my husband, the food was excellent and the room very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot in summer. No air-conditioning and if you open the window the traffic noise is so loud you can't sleep. The room and bathroom are both scruffy (see photos) and really need renovating. No shower curtain. The walls need painting, the electrics are dodgy. There's a kettle in the room but nowhere safe to plug it in! No spare sockets for plugging in phone chargers, etc.

    Good location next to a tram stop with frequent trams. Good breakfast. Beds are comfortable. Double glazing effectively keeps out traffic noise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They must add fresh vegetables like cucumber, tomatoes for breakfast and girl name Karolina should smile to ppl. She wasnt nice.

    Nice little cosy hotel with a great housekeeping, location, breakfast and reception staff👌👌

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    horrible double bed with two mattresses, that were split all the time at parts and between them formed a huge hole that could not be remedied by any means. Staff was very rude and spoke to us with bad words, when we called to find out about availability of rooms, and they named us the room rate by approximately 1000 CZK more expensive than those prices that were listed on booking.com. And even the price which we paid afterwards through booking.com is overstated for this level of hotel and their services

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only a few odd things: - motion-sensing lights is the room turn on every time somebody wants to use the toilet at night (it awakens the others) - good and large breakfast, tasty and varoius food but no vegetable - chairs in the restaurant are very loud

    Nice hotel, great public transport, a very good choice for your money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows are useless. Better pillows and curtains would be privilege.

    The hotel is good value for money. Furniture was a bit old but acceptable. Bus and Tram stops in front of hotel was very useful. Generally, I got what I paid for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Good basic breakfast, but no vegetables or fruits :( Every day the same, a little variation would have needid. The hotel have no outside place or smoking area for customers, so hanging in the hotel just to relax is difficult, if you don´t want to be in your room ..

    Nice staff and super good room cleaning!! Trams and busses goes right next to hotel and there is also small shop were to buy tickets, also small grocery store. A few bars near and Klamovka park with a good beergarden and restaurant just a small walk from tram stop Klamovka or from hotel (about 1km)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There should be more options in the breakfast

    The recipienists and hotel staff were very friendly. I was more comfortable when I talked to the recipienists

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning or ceiling fans as it was very hot.

    The staff were very helpful, particularly Helena in reception who was exceptional when my bag was left in a taxi as I was leaving Prague. Proximity to public transport was a bonus

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could improve their wifi. It was very weak and I could not make Skype calls.

    Loved how clean the place was despite being an old building. Even though far from the center it was super easy to get to the center with the trams stopping right in front of the hotel. Breakfast was decent! An excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some staff on reception didn't want to help you. The neighbour hood was not to desirable. Charged 10 euros more on arrival than when I booked it.

    Only 2 members of staff were happy to help you with anything that was sat on reception. Breakfast was good. Let you keep your room on at last minute.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is really place "value for money". The staff was friendly and all our special requests (like windows not to the street and bed preferences) were executed to 100%. Location is good with easy to get almost everywhere you need with the help of tram. We had windows to the yard, so it was really silent so it was possible to sleep even with opened windows.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Areas for improvement: - Safety Locker for valuables should be available in room - Easy to use water tap in bathroom washbasin - Main entrance should be open at least during day time instead of pressing the door bell to get into the hotel every time you step outside

    - Value for money - Near airport - Tram stop right in front of the hotel - Shops / restaurants next to the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the miroir of the bathroom is too high

    breakfast was good, it was very easy to get into the center of the city, the tram stopped just in front of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was outdated to say the least, a paint job and cleaning of windows/sills would make a huge difference. I've stayed in a much nicer rental apartment in Prague for the same price - this did not compare.

    Staff tried to help with public transit questions when asked. Very convenient street car stop in front of the hotel which made it worthwhile - easy bus ride from the airport. The breakfast was satisfactory.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good range of food at breakfast and a lovely room with plenty of space, friendly staff who found nothing a bother. Tram and bus stop just outside the door and easy to get to central Prague in a few minutes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't like the breakfasts very much; I certainly wouldn't choose the Kavalir based on it providing a good breakfast. Our room was facing the street so was very very noisy, however if we closed the windows the sound was significantly reduced. Bleach smell was very strong so did need windows open.

    Location was excellent with superb tram/bus to city links right outside the door. Whilst everything was very basic, our beds were changed daily. They didn't provide tea making facilities in the room but when asked if we could have a kettle, etc., they were helpful and obliging. The Kavilar was value for money and well located to access such an amazing city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the hotel in general, the rooms are not very clean, the bathroom smelled bad and the breakfast a bit poor, hotel very simple

    I'm like the connection with the city center

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been a possiblity for making a little coffe or the in the room.

    Very clean and nice hotel. Not modern, but fine and with very much value for money. Breakfast was good and the restaurant nearby, which the hotel recommended, served very good food for litle money. There are many trams just outside the door and it`s more quiete and non-touristic than in the center. Staff-persons are very helpfull and kind. It`s absolutely a hotel, I will recommend to my best friends. And I will come back to this hotel, if I ever go to Prag again. Very nice place! Susanne, Denmark

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room and bathroom were dirty, breakfast (at 9) very poor, without a single vegetable, the only fruit was tinned peach, hardly anything left to choose from. Not good quality either.

    Airport shuttle, opportunity to leave luggage after check out, location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was perfect, staff is nice, speaks english well. Room was tidy and nice. Wifi also works in the corner of the building. Tram stops front of the buiding, you can use it to travel dirfectly to the center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I like everything!! The location was extra good for us. We like the people who were working over there and they are very nice. The person who cleaned the room was doing pretty good job. Recommend!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a very good stay. It is a few minutes away from the center but there is a tram right in front of the hotel and the hotel staff was very helpful in giving us directions in getting around. We were able to go around Prague efficiently and get back home late at night. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not city centre, it's not on the metro, so you will need to use the trams. Missed not having a public bar in the evening and it could benefit from coffee making facilities in the room.

    It's what you need in a hotel. Comfortable bed, warm room, clean bathroom and a good breakfast. All for a good price. It is very easy to get to by tram - 5-10 minutes from the centre.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd appreciate more TV channels on TV when they have satelit there and also more options from warm breakfast.

    I really - really appreciate hotel staff. They were nice, friendly and open to help us with anything. Location was also very nice thanks to tram stand in front of hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More amenities would have been nice (like a kettle), lights in the room a bit dim. Elevator didn't go to the 6th floor. Overall happy with it and the negatives aren't mayor.

    Pretty good value, nice rooms. Tram station right in front of it. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast remains unchanged day after day, year after year. I would appreciate some fresh fruits, but the peach compote also works to an extent. However, what is really disappointing is the coffee -or what is supposed to be coffee-: a queer liquid with floating grains of -supposedly- instant coffee with not exactly pleasant taste. The hotel must invest in a proper coffee machine because with the one they have, they simply throw their money through the window. It's funny that the guests keep on complaining about the coffee, but the management does nothing to change that. Even though the hotel is very clean, when I checked in there were three short black hairs at the shelf underneath the mirror. I made a friendly remark at the reception desk about that, and went for lunch, hoping that when I get back the hairs would be gone. To my disappointment they were not. After the morning cleaning on the following day, two of the hairs were gone, but one was still there. Yet, I must admit that apparently there has been some inspection by the household manager or something, because finally couple of hours later that last hair was also removed, and there were no further problems in this respect. There is one more thing which can be improved: I do love cheerful people who laugh a lot, but it would be nice if the chambermaids are less noisy when chatting. There is an echo in the corridors, and even though they might be talking about work-related stuff, loud voices create the impression of lack of professionalism.

    Three stars hotel which provides very good value for money. Yes, there are neither fridge, nor air con in the rooms, but they are not required in 3-stars hotels. The place has an old-fashioned charm, and is extremely well connected by trams to the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Room seem to be old. But it was very clean. - Not enough light in the room. Probably, better to add 1-2 light bulb or lamp in case of some guests want the light to read a book or working.

    - Breakfast was good, wide variety of dishes. - Location seems to be far from city center but it was very easy to get the center by tram. - Staffs were very nice. Try to help me when I was in trouble with tram line. - There are mini shops near there. Easy to get some drinks or snacks. - Chinese restaurant near the hotel was great in taste, staff, and price. I went there two times.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they didnt had a restorant for dinner i had to go out and its cold outside

    It was woundrful stay the hotel is few steps faar from the tram station .the breakfast was super nice as well as the staff they always smile even they dont speak english well but they was so helpful i hope i will go back there once again

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Furnitures in our room were old. Carpet looked dirty. Restaurant is only open for breakfast. After that you can not have a single cup of coffee or tea. There isn't any cafehouses nearby. You have to take the tram to get some coffee or tea. But there are some restaurants.

    It's so easy to go downtown from the hotel because the tram station is 20 meters far. Breakfast was ok. Our room was quite big and comfortable. Bathroom, bed sheets and towels were very clean. Tram stop is so near. You can't have dinner at the hotel. But there is a pizza place in the side street of hotel. We took some pizza to our room from there when we were so tired.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Uniform limited choice on breakfast; no fruits and vegetables, no porridge, no omelet, no croissants. Tedious morning, if staying for several days. Limited number of TV programs (17channels in total, several of them limited to the misty contours), no music channels, not even local. No fridge, no coffee machine or kettle.

    Several trams stop directly at the hotel. City center easily reachable, though it takes time. Some small stores nearby. Hotel building has a good elevator. Easily adjustable heat in the room. Burned out light bulb replaced, missing second reading lamp brought immediately after the report. Bathroom had a bathtub. Careful cleaner. Responsive dining room personnel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    only one chair in the room

    Stop for tram outside the hotel. Tram number 9 will take you direct to the city center. Breakfast helt ok! I will come back next time I visiting Prague.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.order double bed-was twin 2.pillows was awful 3.cleaning services was poor 4.parking out of order 5.food was average

    Not far from city centre . Staff was polite and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High noise from traffic on street side. Reception staff could be more polite.

    The conditions were fair for the price. Good varied breakfast. Very close to tram station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is bad. In my 4 days on there I couldn't understand how it works. A bit far from the city centre but well communicated.

    Public transport just in front of the door. Clean and confortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Some noise at night from the trams and the road outside.

    Staff were very friendly and spoke English well. The hotel was comfortable and great value for money. Location is excellent - there is a tram stop just outside the door which goes directly into the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Though the room was cleaned each day and towels, shampoo, bedding were constantly replaced, there was dust in some places and I think though the rooms are cleaned a lot maybe they need more deep cleaning.

    Free wifi, pretty fast too. Easy to get to the city center, you can even walk 20-30 minutes if you don't mind. Area felt safe to me. Pretty clean, comfortable. Really affordable for what you'll get. The staff is also very nice. The breakfast is above average for sure, nice sauasages, beans, eggs and then the standard breakfast baked goods. A solid choice for someone on a budget who wants to go up from average. Thanks!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is a chinese restaurant close to the hotel, also kebab and a small store; tram and bus stop in front of the hotel; baggage room available for free

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 17 nights

    There is no restaurant in the hotel. If you want a coffee after 10 AM, or anything edible, you have to go out.

    Close to public transport, the bus and tram stops are right in front of the hotel. Also close by are convenience stores, a deli, a Chinese restaurant etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Good location, even it could be considered a little too far from the old city, we enjoyed every day the 30 minutes walk to the center. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast with very good cookies being available. We would return for sure here when visiting Prague next time.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very sparse, and looked a bit outdated. Wifi connection was very spotty in our room, worked best when standing right at the door, less so in the main bedroom area. It worked perfectly in the hallways and in the reception/dining area. The keychain for the room key was very large and not exactly easy to slip into your pocket or small purse.

    For the low prices they offer, this is a great budget hotel. We chose it also because it's closer to the airport than the city centre and we had an early flight to catch in the morning. Not exactly close to many sights, but if you're a walker it's only about 40 minutes to get to Mala Strana, Prazsky Hrad, and an hour to the other side of the Vltava/other sights. Nice if you want to get a real feel for Prague and its surroundings. If not, the tram stops directly in front of the hotel and takes only 20-30 minutes to get most places. Trams come frequently so it's barely an inconvenience. Reception desk can sell you 30min tickets. The breakfast included was very reasonable, provided a good variety of options. Yogurt, granola, eggs, sausages, breads. No complaints there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    when you book a double room you should get a double bed and not to singles pushed together, beds was worn and comfort was not great, the previous owners of the hotel had proper double beds, but since then standards has gone down and at one time there was a full English/American breakfast available.

    hotel was in a good public transport area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is quite far from the main attractions (around 12 tram stops) and you are always tied to the public transport schedule (you can't walk from the city center to the hotel). The hotel looks quite shabby from outside and this doesn't change much inside: the windows and the furniture are old and worn (but it's clean), the sink had been broken (a hole in it, I think) and now it was repaired (very clumsy and ugly repair) instead of being replaced. There is no refrigerator in the room (empty or filled) which is quite unusual for a 3 star hotel. We had to pay for our stay immediately as we arrived (it was mandatory). We were with our baggage and they didn't even allow us to get our baggage in the room, shower, change and then pay. I've never seen this before.

    Good connectivity with the rest of the city (bus and tram station across the street). Very good price for the stay. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No minibar neither a bar, no air conditioner.

    Clean and spacious rooms with big bathroom and bath, fast all-night connection with the city center, groceries nearby. Comfortable double bed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You definitely need to use the tram or bus to get in and out of the city center but with stops right in front of the hotel, it's pretty convenient.

    My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights and found the hotel to be pretty decent. The room was clean, if a bit dated, and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think a chair to go with the large table would be a nice addition so that guests can work on their laptop etc. Some cushions on the chair and bed might soften the room a little but these are minor items.

    I chose this hotel for both price and location. It is in the Smichov area of Prague, so just a few tram or bus stops from Andel Station and shopping centre. It is an interesting area of the city because it is not touristy but very "local." The tram and bus stops are literally outside the door, so it is easy to get into the city centre. Tram #9 goes over the other side and takes you down to the National Theatre and the main railway station. All buses and trams take you down to Andel. There is a bank next door, with an ATM, whiich is handy. I explored the grocery store which has all manner of useful things in it and the Papirnictvi from where I bought a nice notebook and some other stationery items at a reasonable price. The hotel is pretty basic and furnished in traditional Communist era style but I like that. The room had a hallway, toilet, bathroom and a large bedroom. It was quiet and comfortable. I found the hotel staff very helpful and the breakfast was superb, in fact I was not expecting anything like so much for the price! Lovely coffee from a machine (I am fussy about my coffee) and superb bread goods. In fact, I would go back again for the breakfast. A tip - there are some lovely local pubs in the Smichov area with good food and excellent beers.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could have been a little softer and the water temperature in the shower rapidly changed from hot to cold. When I requested a bottle of prosecco for the room it came in a bucket with no ice.other than that it was decent

    The kavalir was good for the money. Fab transport links and light spacious rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kavalir traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: