Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Leonardo 4 stars

Soukenicka 33, Český Krumlov, 381 01, Czech Republic

#14 of 32 hotels in Český Krumlov

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 337 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 9 A lot of step everywhere in the suite. And the 4 windows are very small and only in the ceiling Have to be very careful where you walk because of the steps in the rooo

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    HURRENDOUS SHOCKING STAY! We stayed in a room which had extremely loud noise from a nearby music bar, and all of us, myself, my husband and 3 year old daughter got literally NO sleep at all. There were drunk men shouting in the street who had come out of the bar and the music finally finished at 5am! It was a shocking night and for the amount we paid I am shocked at the awful service we received, and would recommend any person thinking of booking a stay here to look else where. I have subsequently emailed the hotel since our stay complaining of the noise, and expressing my disappointment that they didn't warn us about the noise level (despite seeing we were travelling with a small child) and they have not even had the decency to respond to my email with an apology, which would have been the curtiuous thing to do. Bad management, staff who do not know how to crack a smile and in a very noise part of the town, be warned we sadly recommend you look elsewhere for a troublesome free stay.

    The room was decorated nicely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a problem for us, but it wouldn't be ideal for older people as there were old staircases and we were in a separate building from the reception / breakfast.

    Fantastic decor in the whole hotel - it felt like it was designed to reflect the past, with tasteful antique furniture and photos on the walls. However the bed was very comfy and modern. The position was fantastic, although the whole charming town is so small that everything is nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was rather reluctunt but still helpful. Breakfast was very simple and basic but okay for 1 morning and for such a small hotel. You need to know that you may not drive to old town as it is stricktly a pedestrian area. So if you come by car, please mind that to come to hotel you need to leave your car outside the pedestrian area, then to walk to hotel to take a ticket for 30 minutes car entrance to pedestrian area to bring your luggage and than you need to drive out for guarded public parking outside the old town. Please note that police is very active in old town and you may have problems if you drive to pedestian area without this ticket! Also for all the travellers who wants to stay in old town - the roads are beautifully paved with a stone, so remember it would be difficult to handle your suitcases over the flagstone. So bigger wheels cases will work better that small 4-wheel ones.

    Fantastic old place overdesigned with frames of old paintings and gravures. Well, a bit too much but it really brings a touch of history to strengthen impressions from visiting this incredible magnificent medieval city. We had a room of over 40 square meters and it was a luxury that you do not even need if you come to discover the old town and do not spend time in a hotel room. But anyway it was a great experience living in atmosphere of past while having all you need for a comfort stay. The location is perfect as you do not need to walk to the sightseeings - you live in the very heart of old town and you are surrounded with beauty of antique city and vibing pulse of city life.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second room we booked had tiny attic like windows so ventilation was poor. Both rooms were v warm and we had to keep windows open for air. Definitely needed AC. Since rooms were on first floor all night noises and street conversations caused disturbance.

    Our room was very spacious and well laid out. Morning staff Ms Jana was extremely helpful in getting our transport arranged. Breakfast was wholesome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the other side of the road is the main disco of the city, loud music till 4am and loads of people standing below your window chatting and smoking. If you come by car - there is no parking available close by

    Very cool, nice room, breakfest ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were barely helpful, breakfast was so unappealing it always almost intolerable. The room was expensive for what we ended up getting.

    Our room in Hotel Leonardo was tiny but clean and bright, and we had a comfortable two nights there while we explored the city. It's in a perfect location but still insulated from the noise outside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Received room without any air circulation possibility attic ( rooftop) room, with roof window of size 30cmx30cm, it was much over 30 degrees in the room during whole stay. Additionally window is impossible to open more then few cm. I have never ever had such bed experiences in any hotel. I felt like in sauna. Moreover according to hotel it is 4 stars!!. Hotel was not so much occupied on 1-2nd floors, definitely there were rooms empty on lower floors. So in my opinion booking,com customers are receiving worse service. To add my room was not any special rate, just standard prices. As I came late ( I informed hotel that I will be late due to flight delay)After 20:00 guests need to take keys to hotel room from another hotel - so it was impossible to change room, receptionist in the other hotel is just having envelope with key for You and is not able to help.

    Location of hotel is good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely noisy in the night. Could not sleep. No A/C, but could not open the windows, because the bar next to the hotel playing music at 250 dB and having drunken people supplied all night to the street next to us.

    Nice personnel. Great location, unless there would have not been a noisy bar with music till 3.30 am. Beautiful room. Historical building. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked to arrange an early breakfast as we needed to leave early the next day - was advised starts at 8am but breakfast was open and available when we left at 7am.

    The room was comfortable and they accommodated our request for a bathtub. Highly recommend the restaurant next door - Jacobs. The restaurant is perfect for if you are looking for a quiet, elegant atmosphere and the staff are absolutely wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The maids only made the bed - didn't restock the toiletries, clean the sink and take some of the trash out. The reception was closed at 9 pm when we arrived so we had to call booking.com and the landlord to arrange key delivery through another one of his hotels nearby; it all went pretty smoothly though. The parking's a bit far, but it's a heritage city, so fair play.

    Huge room, bed, bathroom, bathtub and TV, nice view, great location, interesting old building and decoration (nice touch - bunch of old Czech books in the room), decent mini bar, wi-fi works well, helpful staff. Museums, shops, restaurants etc. are right on the hotel's doorstep. You get a free parking card at the reception and a permit for when you need to access the hotel by your car.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the hotel difficult as located in the practically vehicle-free old town. Parked outside the city walls and walked with luggage to the hotel (somewhat difficult with a trolley on the cobble-stoned lanes) (we did receive a permit to bring the car into the old town for pick-up upon departure).

    Wonderfully restored building turned into a comfortable boutique hotel. Original features of the old house were integrated to create a historic atmosphere all the way to the rooms. Large room (we had #6) with antique furniture. Comfortable beds. Bathroom OK, lacked a shower curtain though (allowing water to splash over large parts of the bathroom floor). Had a great dinner in Restaurant Jakub (next door) where also a nice buffet-style breakfast was served.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the isolation, it was very loud. We could hear the neighbours and could smell their smoke.

    I like the facility it is very charming and authentic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi could have been stronger.

    Rooms were excellent! Really nicely decorated, matching era of hotel. The staff was really nice and very helpful, waiting beyond normal check-in because we were delayed by poor weather. Perfect location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is not suited to cars, and parking is about 500m from the hotel, a long walk with bags on wheels. The hotel does not offer any help with porters for large bags, which must be brought over cobbled streets. Thus although the hotel is nice, and the staff fairly helpful, I cannot recommend it at all if you intend to drive, because of its location. There are many hotels off the pedestrian island that have parking.

    The old town is very beautiful, but completely unsuited to vehicular traffic

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were three drawbacks. Parking after drop-off was a long way away. That however is probably the case with most hotels in the village. The wifi quality was very poor. The staff was young, not particularly friendly and definitely not trained in hospitality. It was pulling teeth to get a cup of coffee before 8, when breakfast is served. No offer of assistance with luggage. On the whole though the positives outweigh the negatives.

    This is a beautiful old hotel smack in the center of CK. Gorgeous, big rooms. Big, delicious breakfast. Extremely reasonable rates and great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot during the day pedestal fan and ceiling Windows for ventilation. Having rustic roof beams as a feature was great however if a person was of average height or taller it would be a problem.

    Overall room space. Cleanliness and lightness.breakfast adequate . Location close to everything. Staff approachable and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged us extra for the parking. Also the breakfast was really boring with so little choices. The last day of our stay, we went for breakfast at 9:30 (we've been informed that the breakfast is served between 8 and 10) and we realized that there is no breakfast. They had taken away everything and then they brought back few things. Awkward and embarrassing.

    Great rooms with high ceiling. Very authentic.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was very nice. Charming place historic building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no parking and have to walk from town parking to the hotel

    good value for money center of town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee at breakfast was horrible

    Beautiful old building renovated for modern comfort

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was quite noisy if you know what I mean

    I really liked the mirror in the room, it gave my girlfriend and Me a real boost to our imagination.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from the room nothing to write home about.

    Great breakfast, great room!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking far away

    Friendly staff Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location. Easy walk to everything. Room was much larger than expected and a lot of character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed quality

    Location and design of hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful place, very nice and well equipped room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift and no assistance with getting luggage up to top floor room.

    Good location, comfortable room, good value, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is normal.

    Tired of the journey is blown away by large bathtub.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Telephones in rooms No lift

    Friendly staff -excellent location - large rooms with nice views

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow was uncomfortable.

    Everything was great!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air coditioner was not in the room / dark in the room

    Location Good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Different rooms the same price,It's unfair

    High performance cost ratio

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    great location, nice and quiet room, kind staff, lovely interior atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, charming little antique hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be more versatile, room could contain asimple tea/coffee making set.

    Stylish rooms in which you can feel like a medevial knight, great location, wobderful town.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was good but the coffee should really be changed to something stronger and tastier. After breakfast first thing we had to do was go to coffee shop. When we arrived we noticed we had a flat tyre. Receptionist said she had called police for help as I was missing a tyre iron, they never showed up and receptionist just went home and we had to sort this out on our own. I know it was not her responsibility, but after asking in a few places around town someone gave me a number for a non stop mechanic that came out. Maybe someone should keep a number for a mechanic in the hotel for such circumstances?

    Location was great and managed to park nearby. Room was really nice and spacious with a comfortable bed and an armchair to sit in. Only there 2 nights but very comfortable. Although bumpy start to the trip, enjoyed it enough that we will return.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's no kettle or mini bar in the room, it is really a problem if you need some drinking water or any alcoholic drink on Sunday evening (because it is no mini store in this area).

    Breakfast is quite okay.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no information about parking parking is payed extra

    if you are interested in history and medieval ages, you should stay right in the heart of Cesky Krumlov - in inner town... This area gives you the real feeling of history and czech culture during the rennaisance, rokoko and classicism. We decided for Hotel Leonardo. Very very nice hotel with typical antique furniture. we asked for the room with view of the castle and there was no problem to get it without any payments extra. this room is on the third floor, there is no lift, but anyway, it is worth to go on foot and have a look how the hotel looks. Everything was perfect - clean, nice furnitured room, it has another floor, where is a bedroom. downstair, there is a bathroom - but only with a shower, there is no bath, that I prefer.The hotel is well stocked with toiletries, but I missed toothbrush and toothpaste. the view of the castle was wonderful, the terrace is above the roofs of antique houses...very romantic and inspirating! Of course, if you stay at the centre, you should count with a little noise and in the morning also with a noise of bells from the church... this is also the typical feeling of history :) dont be nervous, you can relax in very comfortable and large bed and read an old czech book about the world history. this book is right on the bedside...the breakfast is enough and up to four stars hotel...the staff is very kind, but its english needs to be little more practised :) the only negative was parking, that should be payed extra and there is no sentence on the webside how to get to the hotel, where to park... parking is not possible in inner town, so you will get the permission for just 30minutes to handle with the luggage to the hotel and from the hotel. so do not worry about lots od luggage, it is not a problem. I really recommend this hotel, because it is clean, nice, with a kind staff and the temperature at room is comfortable for spending time in uderwear :) the location is wonderful to reach all sightseeings. Go for them!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rate that was given by booking.com was for a single person. Since we were two people, they charged us for two, which is fair. But question is how did booking.com booked us for a single person?

    Very nice facilities, gear location and courteous staff, I highly recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI was intermittent. There was an IMac in the room but Internet on that was also slow.

    Location, room size, view, breakfast, bed, were all great! Staff were very helpful (eg. arranged early breakfast for our departure)

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no lift. Have to lug suitcases on the upper floors. Customers should be informed about before making an order. No parking. The customer have to park about kilometer away.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress and pillow were uncomfortable. No enclosure or curtain over the tub so you can't take a shower standing up

    Location. The layout of the room was interesting. Well appointed room.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi in room on 2nd floor is super slow. Basically with no internet.

    Location is great. Krumlov is really small. Any where in the old town is 5 mins waking to any sight seeing place. Room is nice and comfortable. Breakfast is ok. Not much choices but have eggs, ham, cheese , tomato, cucumber, coffee and milk.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only tiny gripe (as a Brit) was that there were no tea making facilities in the rooms.

    The rooms were full of character and the bathrooms excellent.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything.

    The rooms doesn't represent those in the pictures on booking. the staffs are poor in handling guests. Rooms are small and the bed is old. The hotel is wrecked completely. Not a 4star standard. I will not recommend this hotel offers to any serious person or family.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only thing was our room faced the music bar opposite and they pumping music till 3am.

    Ideally located in the town center of CK. Staff was very helpful with directions. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Really good Location, in City center, really Nice people And Perfect with a baby. They offered me water Boiler And baby bed for free!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sometimes the wi-fi signal turned weak.

    Great hotel! Luxury designed room. Located 50m from the old town square. Very kind stuff.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is a music bar right next to it so it was loud until midnight.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air conditioning. Slow wifi.

    Great location. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wonderful placement. Easy to reach everything. Helpful staff. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the location and old time character of this hotel. Would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was no kettle in the room. The breakfast wasn't that great.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything fine!

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really comfortable and the single room is big and has double bed. Also, the place and staff both are good.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Hotel Leonardo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: