Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monastery Hotel 4 stars

Strahovske Nadvori 13, Prague, 11800, Czech Republic

#39 of 612 hotels in Prague

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 742 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The quintessential Prague experience...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing. I enjoyed everything Monastery Hotel had to offer.

    I can not say enough wonderful things about my stay at Monastery Hotel. When booking for my trip to Prague, I did quite a bit of research on places to stay to ensure the best overall experience and I am absolutely thrilled with my choice! Located overlooking the city and Prague Castle, at Monastery Hotel you are away from all of the noise of Old Town while being immersed in the ambiance of Czech culture. If you enjoy being serenaded by live music every night from the restaurant below your window, waking up to the beautiful chime of the bells in the monastery and being able to find fantastic Czech food at the brewery just two doors down, than this is exactly the place for you to stay. Also, the breakfast provided by the hotel is the best I have had anywhere and made the perfect start to each day. Don't be intimidated by the uphill walk from Old Town at the end of the day. The gelato stands along the way and the breathtaking sunset overlooking the city that awaits you when you get to the top will make the trek more than worth it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Caveat: if you are travelling with elderly people, be sure to book a room without stairs inside. The price for the exclusive location are tourist crowds passing by during the day. But the noise is not heard inside the hotel.

    Fantastic location. Worth every euro spent. Rich and tasty breakfast, very nice and communicative staff. A wonderful garden to relax, be it during the breakfast or only at random. The connection to city centre is easy, either walking or by tram. The Castle and the Petrin tower are within walking distance. An highly recommendable hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Double thumbs up—
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good— will book again at the Monestary

    Great property- a bit off the beaten path which was what I wanted. Please know that all the major tourist sites are within walking distance but it is a good walk- and uphill coming back. That said public transport is immediately adjacent to the property and readily available for those who would rather ride than walk. There are a couple of restaurants/breweries on the property making it perfect for a nightcap. If you, like me prefer to stay local rather than the big hotel chains I highly recommend the Monestary. Wonderful stay, great staff, impeccably clean and a million dollar view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.3
    A small narrow room in nice surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room (and bathroom) with a narrow stair and very little floorspace with normal height (room 32). Small TV with few channels.

    Nice location. Nice garden. Breakfast OK. Nice bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Adventurous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to find . I got trapped in the garden at night as the key wouldn’t let me back in again I had to climb the wall and shout to a waiter to rescue me from a neighbouring restaurant

    Fabulous location and a wonderful character about the hotel Amazing views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely location for a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little cramped, but it's a converted monastery, and that's to be expected. Wouldn't lower my rating for that.

    Amazing location and the staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Helpful and friendly staff and large, clean and nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful and friendly staff and large, clean and nicely decorated room. Ideally located for Prague Castle, but also close to the tram for access to the city centre. Lovely breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    The hotel is very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very welcoming. Staff are friendly and efficient offering advice and helping to book excursions . Breakfast has a really good selection of different foods, all very tasty. The garden is great and it was lovely to be able to have breakfast outside. Rooms are cleaned daily to a high standard.Great views from our room and church bells made it a really relaxing place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff made every effort to make our stay enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appearance of the rooms could be improved. A fresh coat of paint on the interior walls and attention to details such as repairing broken bathroom tiles would enhance the overall appearance of the rooms.

    The staff made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. The location, away from the highly touristed areas, offers a lovely respite from the nearby busy areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    A very nice hotel with great staff and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a good walk away from the old town so we ended up using the tram system which was very reliable and frequent. This meant we could easily get to both the old town and restaurants without the climb back up the hill.

    Nice quiet location and the tram station within a few minutes walk. Views over the city are great and Petrin tower nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay. Will come back next time for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size is a bit small

    The location, the clean rooms, the breakfast , the lovely small garden . And Stephen the receptionist is so welcoming and helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was more than sufficient, there was enough choice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom is functional, but would benefit from some update in the shower cabin.

    Breakfast was more than sufficient, there was enough choice of meats, cheese, marmelade, bread, every day there was scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, usually some pancakes, sausages and always freshly made joghurt. The room is situated in an old monastery and therefore somewhat small -ish. But that is something that is known up fron and may therefore not be counted as negative! The view from the garden over Prague is absolutely stunning. The trip to the city takes around 20 minutes by foot (or tram). The hosts are fantastic, friendly, helpful and always willing to help resolve any wish you may have. Restaurants in the direct vicinity are touristic (rather expensive compared to what one gets), but a few minutes on foot or by tram brings you in the centre where you can find good food. Ask the staff for recommendations!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    fantstic stay in a beautful part of Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view and location were superb. The breakfast was very good and tastefull. Nice friendly staff. Very special to stay in a monastery. Large familyroom with good beds. Very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Peaceful, relaxing and very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have no negative comments

    We liked the peaceful atmosphere and enjoyed a good nights sleep every night due to how quite the hotel is. Everything was perfect for us. We would certainly return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place to stay. Excellent staff and service. Location can not be better and you can enjoy charming view over the city, alone in early morning or late evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Such a wonderful experience me and my family had in this hotel. Located right in the Monastery gives you a perfect view of the city of Prague as well as the nearby castle. The rooms are super clean and quiet. Will defienitely recommend this hotel for friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    absolutely fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was delicious Staff was very friendly and helpful. a room was very clean, spacious and very quiet at night And the location was absolutely fantastic. I will definitely go back again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is expensive for 18 euro for 1 day

    They hotel was amazing, the rooms clean and big, staff very friendly and location is so well, the breakfast was great with fresh orange juice, would always choose again. Free coffee whole day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Amazing staff, super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Amazing staff, super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a delight! Having it on the terrace outside in the summer must be wonderful. Incredibly easy late night check-in, everything was top notch, thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Perfect, would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing to dislike

    What a fantastic place to stay in. The moment you walk through doors into the beautiful surroundings you are made to feel at home. The guy who mans reception is so helpful. Views fantastic (from the garden), breakfast amazing (really sets you up for the day). Room cleaned daily and I love the extra little touches such as slippers and gown. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Great room, great atmosphere, great breakfast and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from the room but that is due to the history of the building.

    Bed was fantastically comfy - room was very large and clean. Fantastic character and history and close to the main tourist attraction.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Located at the Strahov monastery, unique rooms, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was confusing, but front desk was able to help. Pay for parking located behind hotel walls, but free parking allowed in monastery area. If you're tall or overweight, some rooms have lofted sleeping areas with tiny stairs.

    Located at the Strahov monastery, unique rooms, great breakfast. Great view of Prague from garden. Money exchange available with cash only. Luggage storage after check out is convenient. Key to room also allows access to building, great security. Pay for parking available. English speaking front desk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Very interesting place to stay - combination of history, nice service and nice spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the morning the room was full of smells from the kitchen, which was not very pleasant.

    The place is on a beautiful spot, with view towards the whole Prague, in the area of a Monastery. The building has the spirit of the Monastery, which makes it exciting and beautiful. We got a nice present - bottle of local wine. The breakfast was nice and fresh. The room was large. Very good internet. The staff was friendly. The hotel is near the castle and we walked to the center of the city, it is not too much (if you can and like to walk).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Perfect realy big room in old historical style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect realy big room in old historical style. The hotel is located in a quiet historical abbey, close to the Prague’s centre. Perfect restaurant (brewery) in 200 meters. Great service in the hotel, very nice staff, thank you all very much, we really enjoied!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful character hotel, fresh, clean and lovely extensive breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the sofa bed was really sturdy, it could have been more comfortable if a topper was added to the mattress. Rather hard to sleep. The bells going off through the night was ok... but the constant ringing at 6.30 was too much.. woke both mornings thinking it was a fire alarm!

    Lovely character hotel very clean, fresh bedding, fantastic views. Breakfast was very good with ample choices and all fresh. Love the touch of gowns and slippers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, It's monestary...so be prepared for lots of bell ringing!

    Very helpful front desk, he even sold us trolly tickets that we could use for 24 hours. Very convenient location, right down the road from the palace, restaurants and bars. Very comfortable bed!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    It's very nice location because the view from the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's very nice location because the view from the room was excellent! And this hotel is in the monastery, it's near to the library of monastery.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Great place to enjoy quiet and historical mood which I would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevators. Understanding it is due to keeping the historical building as is, lifting up heavy suitcases via stairs was a hard task after hours of flight.

    Great staff making the place relaxing and fun. Quiet location best to enjoy a stay with a less people.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    superb and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room could have been better especially near the wardrobe.Room a little dusty in some areas but generally clean

    excellent breakfast ..super friendly and efficient staff...excellent location as you can walk to most of the attractions. If you don't want to walk tram 4-5mins walk away from hotel. the hotel grounds are stunning with grand panoramic views and a view of Petrin Tower ... at night the view from hotel grounds is awesome A superb place to stay and it's also very easy to use public transport from airport to hotel, which costs very little.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit used rooms and bathroom (even if that's old building as such). Problem with heaters occured, all the night both of them have been making a noise, that did't allow us to sleep.

    Location is great. Close to the castle and old city. Amazing view on Prague. Nice staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Gorgeous accomodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Right next door to the Monastery Brewery with 1liter mugs of great beer! Easy walk into town, Prague is a beautiful city. To avoid climbing the hill back up, take the funicular up and walk through the grounds back to the monastery atop the hill.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Monastery Hotel is a great place to stay to see Prague!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything we didn't like.

    We loved the Monastery Hotel. The unique room was clean and had plenty of space. We ate at the restaurant next door (Bellevista) twice since it had a spectacular view of Prague. Tour groups actually stop at the monastery to get the view of the city. The breakfast was delicious - lots of variety. We walked down into the main part of Prague (the Charles Bridge area) which was about 15-20 minutes away - we could have also taken the tram but we loved the walk. The hotel is close to Prague Castle - less than 10 min walk. We were thankful we stayed away from the huge crowds in Old Town but still close enough to walk to everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    No question, our choice again, when coming back to Praha next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed very much having the garden to sit and rest, enjoy the stunning view down on the city of Praha or having breakfast there outside on the terrace with singing birds and the ringing bell of the adjacent cloister. Breakfast buffet offered a great selection of food and fresh fruit. Being 4 adults the big family room offered us enough space and even the sofa with excellent bedding quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    good choice to visit prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator, but we have two rooms, so left all big luggage in ground floor. the small room in the second floor is a bit narrow.

    very good location , and stuff are very nice and friendly. we stayed in our room to wait taxi until 1:45 pm. in the morning and evening, this area is very quiet and few tourist, we all like here. it's easy to go to monastery and could avoid crowded people.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Awesome stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevators. Travel​ light!!

    Not your run of the mill hotel. Their backyard is homey. Close to places of attraction and away from the busiest downtown area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Lovely building, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard to find... and the rooms are too small.

    Lovely building, great location! The view from the top of the hill was incredible, so was the monastery library - though you do have to pay to visit it... The staff were very nice and helpful. Breakfast - awesome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.8
    Not all it's cracked up to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would say this hotel is massively overpriced. You would expect a hotel that charges such a high price per night to have extended Reception hours - we were late coming in (and by late I mean 8pm!) as we'd been travelling from Budapest and our keys had to be left at a letterbox upon entering the property. I was aware of all this because I called to inform them we'd be arriving "late", and the girl told us reception would be closed by then, so it was a self check-in pretty much. We were given a room on the ground floor (or basement) right next to the entrance, and the room was nowhere near as pretty as the photos on their page showed. Besides, I chose this particular hotel because the views from the rooms are supposedly amazing, but being "underground" we enjoyed no views at all. The room we were given was next to some kind of generator and there was a constant and unpleasant din throughout the night. To top it all, the rooms on the ground floor have no air con, and it was boiling in July. I would have liked to have a word with reception about all this, but of course, opening hours were over, so all I could do was fill in a survey... I had very high expectations for this hotel, but it was a complete let down. Breakfast is included, but I feel more of an effort coud be made on the quality of the food. The pastries were appalling. I would expect more from a hotel charging these prices...

    While not in the centre of Prague, the location is still idyllic. Great views of the city and lovely surroundings. Was great to go for a wal around the cobbled streets - probably quieter than downtown Prague too. Loved having breakfast out on the terrace overlooking the beautiful garden. Receptionist was probably the friendlist Czech we encountered on our trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    The location and the views you get of the city are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi struggled at times, but no major dislikes

    The location and the views you get of the city are great. Restaurants and brewery's within the monastery

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and courteous and the setting of the hotel in beautiful grounds and overlooking the city was second to none. Having a delicious breakfast in the very pretty garden set the day off to a perfect start!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    A great place to stay in Prague!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed rather uncomfortable. Needed ibuprofen after 1 night! Steep uphill walk after long day in centre!!

    Good location with top tourist sites, bars and restaurants nearby. Easy 15 minute walk downhill to Charles Bridge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent facilities, well located and reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tastefully converted with good facilities. The first night we had a room on the top floor which was small but OK. The second night they moved us to a beautiful room on the first floor with windows on two sides, great views and separate sitting room. Good breakfast which you can take inside or out.. The monastery opposite has the most amazing old library which must be seen - quite the most spectacular thing we saw in Prague. Very friendly staff. Beautiful, peaceful location. Near the 22 tram route and the castle

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Good value stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi was odd, as our phones would continually disconnect from it anywhere from every few minutes to every 30 seconds. I've never encountered that before with these devices. It was fast when it worked, though. It's not reasonable walking distance to anything major but Prague Castle and Lesser Town, but again, it's very close to a tram stop. This didn't bother me, but the coffee at breakfast was only decaf every morning.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. They offered to upgrade our room at no extra charge, even. Breakfast was good and had some variety from day-to-day. It's easy to get to the tram from the place too, and the monastery's brewery and restaurant that's a very short walk away was excellent. The room we were in had air conditioning and that kept it cool during the warm summer days we were there. The bed was comfortable, and though the pillows were flat, we had enough to stack up to make it comfortable. The shower stall might be the largest I've encountered in Europe.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.5
    It was OK but the facilities were not as good as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows are hard to reach to open and a ladder provided in the room. I think the price was too high for the amenities in the room. A motel in the USA with the nightly rate half of your facility have far better facilities and have air conditioning. The bathtub was a hazard to exit. The bottom of the bathtub is much higher than the bathroom floor level and no bar is available to hold to when exiting. The bathtub's rounded shape where the side meets the bottom is hazardous and adds to the danger of slipping and falling. The rod should be placed where the exit must take place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    When in Prague, Stay at the Monastery!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room on the third floor required a lot of stairs, and since our bed was on a loft above our room, there were also stairs to get up to bed. The suite itself was lovely, with a beautiful view. Our only concern was that people "of a certain age" should be advised of the steep stairway up to the sleeping loft.

    The Monastery area is the perfect location for a Prague visit! It is green and open, affording wonderful views over the entire city of Prague. The area felt safe for evening walks in the nearby gardens. We were able to look down on the city and plan our next day's adventures! The hotel itself was in a fascinating old building with lots of nooks and crannies. The views from our windows were spectacular, particularly when the city lights came on at night. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty, with an option of eating outdoors on pleasant mornings. The restaurants surrounding the Monastery were perfect endings to long days in the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    You stay in the city center , but you are sleeping as in the countryside
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disadventages: no elevator, small room, bedroom on the andresolos - almost vertical stairs, small window. After 20 o'clock in the area everything closed.

    Advantages: location, boutique hotel, good transport on the hill - tram 22.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Gretchen stay at a very cool hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) The hotel is not very well marked, the sign says 'residence monastery' 2) All of the "queen" (sometimes called double) beds in Europe are in essence 2 twins pushed together. Sometimes they are in one frame, which negates any problems, but mine was 2 separate bed frames pushed together. Not much of a problem, this was a VERY cool hotel.

    The staff was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    The room was very clean, the breakfeast in the garden was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls between the rooms probably are very thin, you can hear everithing from the nearest room.

    The room was very clean, the breakfeast in the garden was fresh and tasty. The location have a special sharm, not too far from the touristic areas.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    Classic, historic building set in a beautiful place. Rooms comfortable, staff outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOT REALLY A NEGATIVE THING......It can be a little hard to find after hours. Not something that can be really mitigated by the property, just something to note for those not familiar with the area. You will end up at an archway with a big barrier in the middle. You are in the right place. I arrived after hours, had emailed the property and they gave me instructions on how to get my key, etc. They had everything worked out, was just a bit harrowing figuring it out in the beginning.

    The space design was spectacular, loved the loft concept. It was set in a historic area. The breakfast buffet was the best we have had in Europe so far--even included mimosas! Close to some shops and public transportation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Modern hotel in an historic monastery, comfort an style in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a bit hard to find initially

    Very modern decor, excellent breakfast and lots of nice personal touches such as cutely positioning our grandsons stuffed animals on his bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent accommodation and very clean
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing significant

    Luxury room, excellent breakfast. Very kind, helpful and pleasant staff. Good access to public transport. Unique atmosphere and quiet despite its central position. Will use again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Short but sweet visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extensive range for breakfast (fresh pastries, plenty of hot and cold options or fancy a glass of prosecco in the morning help yourself out). Stunning views, location, speed WiFi, secure parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    Monastic Bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whilst breakfast was very good (lots of choice) the dining room was a little small.

    Fantastic views across the city from a tranquil location. Convenient for Prague Castle and trams to city centre. Excellent beer from brewery next door!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    The location is ideal;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist could be more helpful with info for local restaurants. There is light in the morning entering the room but we didn't mind since we had to get up early. There is no elevator.

    The location is ideal; not too far and not too close to the center, maybe better if you have a car (private parking that you have to pay). We walked to the Prague castle (5') and from there to the Carlos bridge and the old town (15'). The room (double deluxe) was very clean and very very nice!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.2
    One of the most romantic views that you can have in a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An extra friendly porter. Among other things, he arranged for parking on the premises although I didn’t reserve in advance. The whole family (2 kids aged 11 and 13) enjoyed the stay in the 2-storey family room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.2
    willing staff, nice view, excellent place directly in one of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing important

    willing staff, nice view, excellent place directly in one of the most important monasteries in Czech, but calm at night, parking possibility, comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Top notch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service and modern, comfortable furnishings in a rustic building in lovely traditional surroundings near the centre of Prague. The complementary bottle of wine and the morning news sheet on tables at breakfast time were very nice touches! Amazing value for money!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    Unique and lovely place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything.

    Gorgeous location in an old Monastery. Huge family suite with comfy beds, clean and large bathroom, great views! Totally a unique place to stay!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel with a sense of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Again, take note that the hotel is situated on a very steep hill. If any of your party have trouble walking make sure you study the public transport routes or be prepared to pay for a taxi.

    Beautiful hotel with a sense of history. Our room had a view of the Strahov Monastery and Petrin Tower which was really amazing. The view from the location over the city and of Prague Castle is great. All staff were friendly and helpful and reception staff spoke English. Rooms were clean and, as we visited in winter, very nice and warm inside. Breakfast was the usual, no complaints though. Public transport in Prague works really well and Tram 22 stops close to the hotel. Only about a 10 minute walk to Prague Castle(downhill) from the hotel. Also possible to walk down into the city from the hotel, but please take note it as a very steep slope! Worth it though if you don't have trouble walking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs are steep and our room had a very steep set of steel stairs up to the loft mezzanine where the bed was- so was a bit tricky navigating down these to get to the bathroom in the night

    The building was amazing- old fashioned, refurbished beautifully and located right next to the Strahov monastery with 3 breweries within a 2 minute walk.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    Not your usual style hotel. This is something special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is situated on top of a hill. You can view Prague city from above. It's about a 15 min walk to most touristic sites, yet away from the noisy and busy areas. Tram stop is a couple of minutes walk and will take you to the center. The hotel has everything you need. Spacious rooms, breakfast is plenty, on site currency exchange, you can buy transportation tickets there also. We stayed there 5 nights. Really enjoyed it and will come back.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    5.8
    The receptionist didn't managed to call a taxi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist didn't managed to call a taxi. After waiting for 30 mins, I had to find it myself and almost missed my flight. Very small hotel with limited services. The monastery bells from 6 a.m. interfere with sleep.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Loved This Place!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a fun and beautiful place to stay complete with character, history and incredible views. The staff was very helpful with directions, train schedules, etc. They also have a great breakfast!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.3
    A charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too expensive for what you get, the room size is very, very small for two people. No proper place to put your luggage. The room might be more comfortable for one-night stay. Overall we had a nice experience, but would hesitate to book it for a second time, if the offered prices are that high. Tip: The provided parking area is limited, mind the size of your car, if you want to use it.

    Perfect and lovely location. Stuff was helpful. Spacious bathroom, despite the size of the sleeping area. Excellent heating in the room. Breakfast was OK, we had everything we needed. Bed was comfortable. They provide wrappers and slippers, which is a huge plus. Lots of charm about this place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    9.6
    The room was really unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really unique. Location quiet with excellent views over Prague from the top of the road. Very historic and romantic. We stupidly got our flight times wrong and were flying to India for our honeymoon. The Monastery hotel were really helpful and called a taxi and the airline who kept the check out open a little number so we made our flight. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    You must love this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect 😀

    Extremly friendly staff going an extra mile to accommodate all our needs and to make us feel at home. Beautiful location with extraordinary view, away from the noisy centre, but close enough to walk there within 15mins (very pleasant walk). Very close to the castle. And a big plus - possibility to have your breakfast in the garden! Loved it!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    The location and the ambience was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the ambience was amazing. The hotel staff was courteous and helped us with a lot of local information. Amazing value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    Cool place to stay. Enjoyed the back garden for great breakfast! Staff wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location, with a great garden for your breakfast. The room had a very high standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Excellent romantic atmosphere, great breakfast, comfy beds,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent romantic atmosphere, great breakfast, comfy beds, nice clean spacious rooms, friendly and professional customer service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    The location and the cozy unique atmosphere.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the cozy unique atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    Location is perfect but the accommodation was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much a hotel but more a bed and breakfast. Basic accommodation with no bells a whistles. Overpriced for what you get.

    Location is the best!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location perfect for exploring Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location perfect for exploring Prague

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    So cozy and so unique!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So cozy and so unique! Yes, you should check it out!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    perfect for 3 days vacations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    location, calmness, good breakfast and very nice services, i wanted to thank you for sucha comfortable stay

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Monastery Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: