Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Smetana Hotel 5 stars

Karoliny Svetle 34, Prague, 11000, Czech Republic

#172 of 646 hotels in Prague

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 362 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    4.2
    Located a stone’s throw from Charles’ Bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poorly trained staff (when we actually managed to find one!), bad facilities. Expensive for what it offers. Definitely won’t come back as much better alternatives in town.

    Located a stone’s throw from Charles’ Bridge

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    The hotel was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fabulous! The staff were courteous and accommodating. The room was amazing. Tomàs, the waiter in the restaurants, was the epitome of great service. I felt like a princess staying in the palace.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall we are happy with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We requested for an ironing board and iron to press our clothes and was surprised to learn that the only option is for us to request for laundry services and pay additional. Most hotels offer an ironing board and iron for guests and this should not be used as a way for the hotel to make more money.

    The hotel is very well-located near to Charles Bridge and is within walking distance to many places. Clean, comfortable and helpful staff. The food at Smeta Restaurant was also excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location juay few minutes walk to Charles bridge n old town, comfortable stay with this spacious delux room, services was great and attentive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Prague Vaca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and cigar bar service needs improved - not very polite

    We liked everything else about the place. Check in was great and spa facial was wonderful suites were large and beds were telling best.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Smetana hotel is like cherry on the cake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent except the dinner portion we ordered were a bit small. The steak tartare was nice however the two little breads were not big enough to satisfy and adult person.

    We loved absolutely everything since the starting communication and offers from the hotel till the last minute we had to leave . All staff we had the pleasure to deal with was absolutely fantastic. Highly professional and amazingly pleasant. I'd like to mention Wendy, Guest Relations Manager. She was absolutely determined to help us with our problem of early check in and late check out. Travelling with 2 years old boy was a challenge and having 26hour plane trip in front of us was scary task. We would like to thank all of you you made our stay very pleasant and relaxing. We will be recommending your hotel to everyone and we definitely plan to come back. At least to have the fantastic pancakes for breakfast. Well done. The view from the windows were breathtaking. Next time we come for longer to really enjoy what that beautiful hotel has to offer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Prague is a fairy tale city with a lot of culture and history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fabulous, the view from the room was extraordinarily beautiful.The staff were very friendly and helpful in setting up the TV to watch the rugby World Cup. The bed was a super comfortable 4 poster. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. The attention to detail was fabulous eg a phone supplied by the hotel for use during your stay. Breakfast options could be ordered a la carte with gluten free options and bread available. Transport to the airport provided by the hotel. I would recommend this gorgeous boutique hotel .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    Not recommended. Service, breakfast, bathroom should be improved for a 5 stars hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service, breakfast, bathroom should be improved for a 5 stars hotel.

    Nice location, nice building, but it is not a 5 stars hotel. Service at breakfast was very long.. They do use their nice patio.. Bathroom was not nice... low cost equipment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Definitely a hotel to chose the next time round.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't really find any faults.

    I had one of the top suites in this former palace, perfect for entertaining guests and with superb views of the river and castle-more suited for a couple seeking a romantic break than a boring old businessman like me!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Quaint hotel with a lot of character and located in a great spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning did not work properly, which led us to leave the windows open. With the room that we had, people could see directly into our room. It was a bit of a struggle balancing the temperature in the room with our desire for privacy.

    The location was excellent (right by the Charles Bridge) and the attached restaurants were great. The room was very charming (a lot of character) and the staff were nice and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel ~ fantastic hotel ~ nothing is too much trouble
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic stay ~ we were really well looked after by Wendy and her team . We were very lucky to be upgraded to the Casanova Suite which was just beautiful, we didn’t want to leave ! Breakfast was lovely in the courtyard lovely coffee too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Superb small hotel in the heart of the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel grounds are locarted in an old mansion or palace, with two sunny courtyards. We were given a suite, the "Casanova Suite" with high ceilings, a big 4-poster bed, and a view of one of the courtyards. The room had a kitchen, and even volumes of Casanova's Memoirs and photos of the Casanova era. The breakfast was very good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    good ! will choose same hotel if we were to go to prague again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the airport transfer was fine going to the hotel - but a mess on returning to the airport

    convenience of the place being in zone 1. it is a hotel somewhat old worldy and full of history. breakfast was good though we had to pay extra for it. the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast

    Nice and serviceminded staff. Clean and spacious room. Excellent location close to the Charles bridge. The view from the room was stunning!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Poor service, nice property (central & good quality) - will stay somewhere else next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent our wedding anniversary there and asked for an additional service (tickets for a certain concert). First via booking.com ("we will take care"), 2nd for a confirmation via mail ("no problem"), 3rd time on arrival ("our colleague will be here soon"). Guess what happened, when we tried to pick up 1 hour before the event should start: "we couldn't make it". No sorry, no try for alternatives. And guy was back playing with his mobile... They didn't recognized our wedding anniversary (was written in the ticket request as well). Long story short: I expect a different service level of a hotel of this price-level. Parking is nearly impossible there (not theire fault!)

    Close to Karlsbridge, central location, nice room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Historic with so much potential but falls short of current luxury standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was inconsistent: the front desk employee who checked us in was curt, officious, and off-putting, but the bellman and another front desk staffer were pleasant and helpful. I wish the breakfast was included in my rate. I also wish there was a gym and other perks like a free smartphone or iPad for our use: it would have been nice for the price and the potential luxury of the space. The interior decor was also inconsistent: the restaurant and cafe were nicely designed and loved some of the antiques in our room, but other parts of the hotel looked generic, sterile, undecorated and less cared for.

    Lovely comfy four-poster bed in a high-ceilinged room with beautiful historic architectural details. Clean, spacious—and the kitchenette was a lovely plus/surprise. The meals in the restaurant and cafe were delicious. The entire hotel/palace space had so much potential—loved some of the antiques and huge windows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    excellent stay and hope to visit you again in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent location, rooms and importantly a very friendly staff. at the front desk (preta and others ... apologise if i have got the spelling wrong), roma (driving staff) and the housekeeping team who were fairly prompt

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Great location , next to the Charles bridge , hardly a 2 min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location , next to the Charles bridge , hardly a 2 min walk Beautiful rooms, old Czech culture infused with modern day architecture Staff was very friendly and hospitable Would definitely go and stay there again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.8
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay extras for everything. The management tries to take as much as they can, wether through currency exchange, booking a car, a ticket or even a meal.. which we really found irritating.. For example they would charge you400 euros for a ride that costs 250 euros.. Staff were not pleasant, especially at the reception desk..

    The location is perfect. Spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Beautiful old building, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel experience. The reception staff recognized me immediately when I arrived and being very helpful. The location is very good, I enjoyed the beautiful river view of Vltava in my room. Definitely will come back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing hotel close to everything
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room overlooked the the river and The Charles Bridge - amazing! Bed super comfy and room large and luxurious. All staff very helpful. Within walking distance to everything. Breakfast also stunning - you wan't want lunch! The main restaurant is expensive, we didn't eat there and it was always pretty empty. Millions of incredible places to eat out within five mins walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location lovely hotel just not quite the polished experience I'd hoped for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't find the evening reception very friendly and was a little unprofessional which put a bit of a dampener on the start of our experience as we arrived in the evening. Also we understood that we were offered the option of upgrading if we paid but after reading other reviews it appears this may have been complimentary so this is disappointing if this was the case. From our room we could hear noise from the club which I hadn't expected. On a minor note we definitely found the milk in very short supply.

    Lovely and clean hotel, the Prosecco waiting for us on arrival was a very nice touch, a long with our welcome note. The bed was very comfortable and we received good service in the dining room, and in our room (fresh towels restocked toiletries etc) and helpful day staff always happy to show you around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Heavenly palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Incredible isn't enough. The location, the history, the quality and the comfy beds were amazing. The food was wonderful and the price was great when comparing with tourist trap restaurants nearby. The internet was fast and the coffee in-room was replenished every day. Location was very close to Charles bridge and was across the road from the river. The property waa spotless. The beds were veey comfortable. It was my mums birthday and they arranged a cake and non-alcoholic champagne, which she loved. I usually never want to stay in the same hotel twice, but I'd definitely come back here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    3.8
    The location near by the Charles bridge, only 5-10mins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst 5 star hotel I have been stayed, The reception staff not helpful , even don’t understand English ! The mattress no spring support, just like used hundred years, I am sleep at living room sofa , and the hotel don’t have mattress choice , finally they find one staff understand English , put extra bed in the living room for me

    The location near by the Charles bridge, only 5-10mins

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    We would be very happy to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was excellent.

    Great two bedroom apartment, perfect for our two night stay allowing our teenage daughter to have her own space. Also excellent WiFi. Beds were very comfortable, we all slept well. Staff were friendly and polite on arrival and checkout. We were given a map of the city and walked everywhere. We didn't eat at the hotel as we wanted to explore the city, but the restaurant menu looked delicious. The service and coffee from the hotel cafe is worth mentioning. All up it was an enjoyable getaway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Elegance and comfort in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service in the bistro was occasionally slow - they seemed to be short staffed.

    We enjoyed the bistro, restaurant and lounge just off the reception area. The mini kitchen in the room was welcome too. Room was very spacious and comfortable with a sitting area. The staff at reception were very helpful and spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Best location and super big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's super nice that the hotel send the driver to pick us up at the Prague airport. Hotel is in the heart of old town Prague. 3 mins walk to Charlie bridge. Perfect location to everywhere!!! Fantastic suite room, old fashion but everything we need is there. Definitely over our expectation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is very well situated and offers the best views. The staff is friendly and hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was not comfortable ... at first it was too soft and so we were upgraded to a nicer room with a very firm mattress lacking in comfort. A good mattress makes all of the difference for a good night’s sleep.

    The hotel is located next to the Charles Bridge and river which makes it very central to the center of Town within a close proximity to everything by foot. The castle nearby and the lovely view from the hotel made it so beautiful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.1
    It was a good hotel with a comfortable room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely disliked the amount of emails I have received beforehand from the hotel, with different offers and options. I understand that hotel would like to show their support but in my opinion its simply too much. The roommaide came in the evening to my room, and to the room of my colleague, pretending offering fresh towels which were already there, but pushing some advertisement of the rivertrip in the hand. None of us understood this action really.

    It was a good hotel with a comfortable room Clean Well decorated With strong wi-fi signal The staff on reception was supportive. Location is extremely central. Directly in the heat of Prague next to Charles bridge

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Elegant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular

    It was a true unique experience for us. Remind me of Hotel Bumbai palace. Room 308 becomes our yearly destination as it was really pleasure accomodate there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.6
    Annoying
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the night does not help anything and poor information i got from him. Better not to ask him for any information. The worse is i got wrong information and useless from him . Would be better to ask from the lady during day time.

    I love the location during the day time but in the night there's a club near the hotel...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    3.3
    Nothing I liked and it is a joke when you said it is 5 star...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Very old building, furniture and the parquet of the room except the reception! 2) No hot water at the bathroom only warm and you can find it after 3 minutes or more and it is not clean where you can see the rusty color. 3) Not enough heating inside the room 4) Very bad drivers for valet parking And as soon as I received my car on the day of checking out it was hit by another car in the garage and the manager said this is not our responsibility!!! 5) No lobby available 6) No Spa, Gym or massage room 7) It is a big lie to say that is a 5 star hotel not even 3 star 8) Not good insulation of the sound or the weather! 9) My travel experience is about 10 years I’ve been in most Europe and I would say this is the most bad experience!! 10) The reception employee not qualified to work for 5 star hotel also the servant and room service labors only looking for tips! 11) Didn’t match my expectation

    Nothing I liked and it is a joke when you said it is 5 star hotel!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    3.8
    Definitely Not 5 stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was cold - heating didn't work even at 32 deg. Bath not cleaned for 3 days. Bath water not hot: lukewarm to cool on last night and next morning. Basin has no plug! (apparently true of all basins in the hotel???) Pillowcase had holes and one bath towel torn and frayed. Bed linen needs to be renewed. Superior attitude of most management staff: unhelpful and unobliging (nothing less than 1000 czk - needed for tips). Final insult: having paid bill the night before departure being informed I hadn't paid for a scrambled egg and 2 orange juices as I was leaving!!!

    Prime position. Hotel transfer quick, efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    4.2
    This is a 3 star hotel trying to be a 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You couldn't put the heat on when it got to 4 degrees at night, they gave us a portable heater. The water did not get very hot when showering. The heater you hang towels on didn't work the first half of the trip. Could only get 1 English speaking channel on the tv.

    Location was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful quiet respite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water could be warmer.

    Spacious suite was an excellent respite in very busy Prague. Staff were excellent. Pachtuv Palace is in an excellent location for sight seeing & very close to the Charles Bridge, theatres and restaurants if not dining at the hotel/palace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, splendid location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room in the attic was large, but partly with a low ceiling due to old roof timber. We had to watch our heads. No English speaking TV channel. The hot water was not hot enough, this can be dangerous for the spreading of legionella bacteria.

    Restored, old hotel. The inner courtyard very charming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location, shabby digs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall, the hotel was in need of attention to detail. Room was shabby - poor lighting, holes in curtains, no carpeting (I know they're proud of their floors, but a rug would have been welcome), spattered water closet walls, scratched furniture. The hotel needs painting, and the flower boxes were pathetic. These are not qualities I expect in a 4-5 star hotel, and they really need t up their game.

    Location was outstanding, right in Old Town but quiet. Staff was above and beyond helpful and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel with lots of history
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Our beds were too soft. We spent 8 nights (2 rooms, family of 4), but everyone developed back problems. The bed could have been better. Because of this issue, we may not go back to this hotel even though everything else was nice.

    Great location, beautiful architecture, great food at their restaurant. The staff at the restaurant were very kind, professional, and very accommodating. Most of the staff were also very professional and kind. The hotel has so much history!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic! Just ask for a room with a walk-in shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment was the shower. It was just a nozzle over the bath. Unfortunately the bath was positioned under a sloped roof so you could not stand up in it. Had sit in the bath and shower yourself sitting down. Very awkward.

    The building was gorgeous and the room spacious and very comfortable. The staff bent over backwards for us. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel!! It allowed us to have an unforgettable weekend!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.4
    Great location, a bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was the worst of the 10 hotels we stayed in on our trip. Bed was the worst of the 10 hotels we stayed in on our trip. Shower temperature fluctuates. I was looking forward to this hotel based on pictures, but sadly disappointed.

    Location was wonderful, with great restaurants nearby. Old town center, and Charles bridge just a short stroll away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    Room was lovely and with a great view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps to the deluxe room are very steep - difficult to take luggage back & forth There was also building works going on which were very noisy

    Room was lovely and with a great view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    5.0
    Very unsatisfacory. We have stayed at better places in Prague for half the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was unsatisfacrory. You literally had to kneel down to have a shower. You have to walk across a courtyard and climb 2 flights of stairs to get to the room. The bed was tight against the side wall so only one bedside light. the service at breakfast was very poor and the price we paid for accommodation was £55 more than quoted by Booking.com. Never again.

    Location was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    5.4
    Uma desilusão
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is considered a 5 star hotel in Prague center. It costs normaly around 300€ per night. Many problems around The entry to the hotel was in “construction”, arriving by taxi to the hotel is not easy with a very strange entrance through a restaurant... Anybody to help us with the luggage? Don’ t expect so! Our luck was the taxi driver... The reception very small and without any privacy, where you can hear all other clients complains and questions... People in the reception less polite than other cheaper hotels in Prague. They made me a “upgrade” to a suite palace garden... What was that? A big room with a kitchnete ( what a atypical thing in a palace room) , dark with views direct to the front Smetana building hotel... No garden! The only “ flowers” you could see from our window were other hotel clients in their own rooms: any privacy! The air conditioning? Not working inside the room, just in the hall to the bathroom. I asked for help. Apeared a man who worked In reception not very educated or polite, saying that of course the AC was broken in the room and he was going to send someone in the next day....! Was he joking? Outside was anomaly hot afternoon (30 degrees celsius) and I had booked one only night... I imediatly said to him that I did not accept the answer and that I wanted to change the upgraded room to the normal room I had reserved. Imediate answer: we are fullybooked! So I imediatly said that in that hotel I will not sleep. I phone to the reception telling all these things and my anger with all that , taking in mind that of course the hotel was not fullybooked because there were several types of rooms avaiable through internet... So they answered me that in matter of fact they were not fullybooked and they were going to find for me a nice room in 5 min. I took a bath... But probably who designed that bathroom never took a shower there... In the final of a 7 min shower I had water in the floor all over the bathroom!

    Dimensão dos quartos .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.3
    A 'nice' experience but was hoping for 'fantastic'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Baroque Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An indoor pool would have been nice given the * rating but knew there wasn't one. Found breakfast rather strange (very 'eggs' focussed) - but they certainly were high quality eggs! Accept that continuous repair is necessary to such an old building but didn't stop the lack of access being a pain.

    Absolutely fabulous room but was the most expensive. Location is perfect. Staff helpful and happy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Stay in a Palace and see the castle from your room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Construction of the entry was underway.

    Gorgeous old Palace remade into a hotel. Very close to the city center but not exactly in it so less noise. View to Hradcany castle. Excellent restaurant-we had the "asparagus" menu, even asparagus ice cream. It was a top notch restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Palatial Feeling in Central Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palace Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The power went out in my son's room during the night. Other than that, the facilities were great.

    Location was exceptional and the large, elegant rooms made you feel like visiting royalty (ok -- lesser royalty, like a Count, Viscount or Marquis).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Luxury in the best location in Prague!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We felt so pampered! I loved the bath, the picturesque courtyard, the location couldn't have been any better (right next to the bridge), and the eggs were so fresh that I thought they were cheddar cheese!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.8
    Vintage hotel near charles bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor, and water inside the shower needed time to get hot.

    Amazing location, friendly staff and very nice rooms. Showers have essential oil capsules that make the water smells fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.3
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We ate breakfast in the hotel three times and had to work out the process on all occasions. On the last day we found out that tea and coffee were included! We were surprised to find our room didn't have internal access and we had to use an outdoor verandah.

    The location was excellent for wandering around old town square and crossing Charles Bridge. Our room was very large and clean although very different from what we thought we booked!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    Loved it !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower . . . was actually a bath, so my suggestion would be to request a shower if that s your preference. But water pressure was perfect !

    Location location location, we were in the centre of it all ... staff were lovely and the room had a rustic old world charm feeling to it ! Room was very well equippped with hair dryer, safe and coffee facilities. We loved it Comfortable beds, all the amenities and good continental breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    6.3
    Good location, poor staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we asked the staff for help about non-working kitchen utility they said they will help but never came to help us and we waited them for more than one hour before we realized they will not come. Also, they told me I will have to pay one price for the parking but then charged me more than triple the promised rate. Also, they tried to charge me for teabags I asked for even though these were complimentary teabags. And only when I said that these should not be paid, they removed this items from the invoice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.0
    4 days in Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Baroque Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom very poor for a hotel with this day rate, hand held shower which had seen better days and generally a bit shabby. Service in the breakfast area was also very poor. For the price its simply not good value.

    Great location, lovely old building very much in the character of Prague.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Garden Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing place! Beautiful! The pictures did not do it justice - it was far more glamorous than the pics indicated. Staff was wonderful. Every question answered, service was great!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.9
    The location is wonderful just next to the river and old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last day. Room service did give coffee and not make my boys soft bed for sleep.

    The location is wonderful just next to the river and old town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    The location was fabulous and the staff was extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fabulous and the staff was extremely helpful. Choose a castle view room. If possible.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    the best location for a short visit in Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast: the buffet could be better

    Wonderful location at 100 m from Charles' bridge

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    The room was much bigger than I anticipated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was much bigger than I anticipated. It had a great view of the river.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so inexpensive

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.5
    Few staff are not talking English language..!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was going alright including timely services.

    It’s very clean, quiet and timely services has been provided..!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Air conditioning didn't work the entire stay and was not...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn't work the entire stay and was not fixed, ended up using a fan.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Music outside of room in the evening

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    the city & architecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the food

    the city & architecture

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    The location was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not good enough to deal with customers

    The location was fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    I like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very good location Friendly staff Lovely outdoor lobby Good view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Looked amazing and staff where great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked amazing and staff where great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Everything was fantastic, the staff, the location and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic, the staff, the location and the room, could not have had a better experience ever

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    TV is very small in the sitting room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    TV is very small in the sitting room. it is not an HD device ! The TV inside the bedroom is not functioning at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful staff, comfortable rooms and excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff, comfortable rooms and excellent location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    The staff were awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were awesome! The property is in a wonderful location! The room was amazing and the bed was extra cozy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Great experience at the very centre of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the 3rd floor wifi did not work, so I ahd to go downstairs and work in the cafe.

    Beautiful and spaciaous room was super clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    We stayed at unique room with beautiful historical paintings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at restaurant could be better

    We stayed at unique room with beautiful historical paintings! Food, location, staff were awesome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, rooms are a little on the old side, food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, rooms are a little on the old side, food is great, staff is b helpful though the concierge services were not strong.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is very well located and the staff were extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very well located and the staff were extremely welcoming and cordial. Great place to stay would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great location, super nice team, beautiful building and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, super nice team, beautiful building and rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: