Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mama Shelter Prague 4 stars

Veletržní 20, Prague, 17000, Czech Republic

#319 of 612 hotels in Prague

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 294 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Too short!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little far away for walking to Old Town, but if you like to walk, you could be there in 25 mins. Small section at night I wouldn’t recommend doing alone for women, but usually people around.

    My room was nice and clean and free tv and movies to watch after a long day of walking. Dinner at hotel restaurant was good. Patio overlooking the city was nicely decorated and provided a little view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    This property has really nice and comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Mama Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, this is not in the city center but close enough anyway. Not that bad at all.

    This property has really nice and comfy beds. The rooms are clean and modern.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice clean and economical
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    why i didnot stayed more:)

    It was not in old Town or city centr but still within 10 minutes reach to the other side of the city which was quite good, Staff was lovely and friendly specially the lady at reception:)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Mama Shelter: a great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on our final night in Prague and really appreciated the vibe of the place. It is nicely decorated and has a cool patio to enjoy some drinks. The rooms are big, clean and fully renovated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also quite good. I will stay at Mama Shelter again if and when I visit Prague again. It is a bit futher from the downtown core but the area is actually much cooler (less touristy) than the other parts of Prague.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    We love mama!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small. If you're traveling with a big suitcase, it would block the way.

    Nice breakfast. Daily room cleaning. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfy bed. Aircondioned

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Mama does Prague
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Mama Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet is not well organized. Food is arranged in a long row, parallel to many tables with only a narrow passage through, so there are constantly bottle-necks and it's hard to compose your breakfast. maybe it was an extra busy day, but with such a large restaurant and capacity, the organization could use some improvement.

    very comfortable with a fun atmosphere. Nice bar and terrace. Great for meeting friends

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people seemed a little buzy sometimes (in the morning and at night).

    Very comfortable bed, great view on the city from the highest floors, very good wifi, restaurant open very late for Prague and it's a good one. Will recommend and probably go back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Going back 4th time
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Mama Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    check in and check out should be much faster, especially when you have us in your database

    It’s a special place, new, clean, having a nice atmosphere and good vibe

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was great. The ac worked fine in the rooms. The bed and pillows were perfect. Had taken the quadraple room and it fit fine for the four of us. Not in the city centre but not too far. Am glad to have chosen Mama Shelter.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Mama shelter magic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, modern hotel. Amazing breakfast, super comfortable bed, and great location right opposite the tram (10 minutes to old town). Great decor and style as well. Cant recommended highly enough, everything you would want in a modern hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Awesome vibe at Mama Shelter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Mama Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the intense heat of the summer this year the restaurant and bar areas were too hot. Hopefully that won’t be the case once the heat wave ended. The hotel has just been reopened after being refurbished and rebranded. Staff are still learning how to make things run smoothly but from what we saw it won’t take long for those teething problems to be fixed.

    We loved the clever creation of a hotel with the communal feel of a hostel. When we arrived at reception we were surprised to see a pool table, and a video screen showing kids movies. The terrace seating was excellent with table service from the restaurant or for breakfast, or drinks in the evening. Breakfast had a broad range of food available. The interior design was very clever and had clearly had lots of thought go into it. Some very interesting and different use of modern accessories such as TVs for effect. Fantastic! The room was very comfortable. The management team was very approachable and friendly, working hard to get things perfect. A special mention for Richard, who was working very hard in the restaurant at breakfast time keeping everything stocked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    I will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast (partially): everything I found in bain-marie could have been much better... Scrambled eggs from powder, pretty average sausages, splattered pancakes. BUT the "cold" part was really good.

    Very clean and well equipped room (hairdryer, safe, fridge, aircon, fancy tv, etc.), comfy bed, extraordinary style of the hotel, very good value for money. 15-20 minutes walking distance to touristic part of the city. Extremely good restaurant with reasonable prices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.3
    A never-forgetable experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was a terrible experience for us on Aug.14-15 in this hotel. "With parking" was one of the reasons for our choice of this hotel, and of course with the good comment from the guests. We arrived at the hotel rather late, about 11pm. We got into the entrance of the parking lot with a ticket automatically pressed out, and a guy in uniform came to us, firstly telling us there was no vacancy. After we asked him to recheck, he was kind enough to come to us again at the checking-in counter, telling us there was a last parking availability. The girl at the checking-in counter knew all about it. Yet next morning, after we checked out, we found our car was ready to be towed away by the police, No matter how hard we tried to explain it was that we were guided to park there, it was useless, and the hotel didn't say one word for us its guests at that time. Instead the hotel was shaking its responsilibility fully and we were instead blamed to park illegally. How rediculously it was! And how disresputful it was? In full darkness we were guided (not on our own at all) to park in the parking lot!!! Then it was all to our own responsibility to try to find out where our car was towed away and how we could get it back. We had such huge trouble to find our car finally, and paid the fine of 2150 local currency. After driving back the car to the hotel, I insisted seeing the superior to talk about it. With the explanation of all that had happened, the superior had a better attitude, admitting that they should have had our contact phone number, in which case we could have been contaced to move our car in advance. Finally we got 1000 local currency back from the hotel superior for part of the fine. On that morning there was another young Polish couple also had the similar experience with a fine (who were guided the same way as we were). For this incident it cost us nearly 4 hours to deal with all this, and on that day we were to drive back to Dusseldorf!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable beds and peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice but a bit on the small side The room was also quite bare and felt a bit unfinished Perhaps tea/coffee in the room? The breakfast was nice, however, it was very crowded and messy at peak times

    Comfortable beds and peaceful location Let us check in early Quirky and interesting decor Nice breakfast with a good variety Great tram link to city center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    Pet friendly and good food in restaurant and great service.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Mama Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Bad organized, old jam and jelly, you had to cook your eggs by yourself while people had to wait in line.

    Pet friendly and good food in restaurant and great service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Best hotel 🏨
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very clean and beautiful, all the staff was very nice, have tram near the hotel. The reception was very good and kind, they was help us a lot, spacelly Aneta( very nice person and she gave us perfect service.. thanks!) This hotel and the staff made our vacation to amazing!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    I forgot two shopping bags inside the closet and remembered...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Mama Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I forgot two shopping bags inside the closet and remembered at night. I contacted the hotel and they will send it via mail. Thank you for your honesty

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Super clean, comfortable and fun place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff surly and more interested in flirting with each other than serving - however this was typical in almost all Prague resturants/bars

    Great room. Breakfast was decent. Good location for our needs. Hipster area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel, modern, well placed (away from centre of city), friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    A group had arrived before me. I had to wait 30 minutes to check in. The staff were very nice when I eventually got to reception but perhaps in this situation waiting guests could be offered a drink at the bar etc.

    Modern, cool, somewhat hipster, we had a 9th-floor room, great view, free movie and nice breakfast...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Bed was incredibly comfortable and room was very clean and well equipped. Breakfast was excellent with a great variety. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Close to the tram to old town and very good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Bar area, food, pool table, comfort, free movies, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area, food, pool table, comfort, free movies, great breakfast selection, modern interior. Affordable luxury. Maria/e on reception was attentive, informative and lovely!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    newly opened place with many good surprises
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Mama Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    an advice: when guests are coming to check-in and you need more time to fulfill their data (which you have it anyway from reservation) ask them to have a sit, offer them a glass of water and ask for the extra time you need. first impression matters.

    this is our second time there and we were completely satisfied. this hotel is full of positive surprises. rooms are spacious, clean, common spaces are a delight. looking forward going back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.6
    meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 6 nights

    no AC, they lied to us telling us that they are trying to repair them, we slept 6 nights with no air conditioning. Size of the room is a joke. the staff are kind and sweet but clearly lack experience with dealing with clients. the cleaning lady kept knocking on our doors starting at 8:00 a.m even when we wouldn't put the sign up.......like why?

    the lobby is big, modern and spacious. TV options were nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel, very modern and stylish.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Large Mama Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was sat outside eating a sandwich on a table which the hotel restaurant owns and someone told me I can’t eat here unless I buy food from them. Even though I’m staying at the hotel. They said I need to eat in my room. Which I didn’t want to do bc the AC wasn’t working.

    Great hotel, very modern and stylish. Extremely clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    If they fix the aircon , it will be a nice place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Mama Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I used this hotel a lot before they rebranded to Mama Shelter. I liked the clean 60s decor and design, I am not a fan of the new cluttered, fussy style, nor of the loud music belting out on the terrace. The air conditioning was not working (they had only been open a week) and my first night's sleep was the worst I have suffered in a hotel! They did supply a fan, which didn't help much.

    Breakfast was good, with excellent service. Beds were comfy. Car park on site was one of the main reasons for booking the hotel and it was reasonably priced. I like the location, near the National Gallery and EU building. The tram stop is outside the hotel, so easy access to the historical centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    It’s a newly renovated hotel by talented designers with huge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being just opened there are few problems with AC, hot water, staff experience, however I really hope they’ll solve it because it would be pity to ruin reputation of such a great place and unique in Prague, through bad reviews. It was hot day and no AC in the whole hotel, next morning no hot water, maybe you’d think for a discount next time...because we will definitely return :)

    It’s a newly renovated hotel by talented designers with huge reception area, restaurant, bar, beer pub, terrace, etc. there are screens, games, books, all kind of treasures everywhere. It is a must go for people who want to feel new, out of box experiences, for people searching for affordable luxury, for millennials and for families with children. Location is good, rooms are big, decorated with quality objects. Everything is clean and organized. We had an XXL mama room, 5th floor, where space and view were cherries on the cake. Wish you a good luck, see you next time!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, no towels in the room. I had to call two times requesting for towels as they were missing in the room. Weak English by the staff.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    A fan and a soap dish in the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A fan and a soap dish in the bathroom

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice Hotel and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Hotel and great location!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    excelent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    Everything was excellent! Nice room, nice staff!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more food options

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Mama Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it. We stayed in quite a few hotels in Prague but this one probably beats them all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Good to be back in Park Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice of Czech cuisine woud be nice childish decorations in room and lack of space.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Best Hotel in Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tea/coffee in the room.

    The property had so many cool features in it free to use for guests.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Room cleaning could be improved.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaning could be improved.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    New big rooms and toilets is very good and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning services is slow

    New big rooms and toilets is very good and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Good location and nice interior design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location and nice interior design. Extremely pet friendly, awesome breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    One of the best choice in prague I extend my stay for two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Mama Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best choice in prague I extend my stay for two times .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    wonderfully
    • Couple
    • Large Mama Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very clean, comfortable bed and breakfast was delicious. I was satisfied with everything. Nice hotel, recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    I love the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Mama Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    We can buy tram ticket at hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can buy tram ticket at hotel. It's very smart and easy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Good Location/ friendly staffs/ lobby/ swing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels and bed sheets -too much fiber dust

    Good Location/ friendly staffs/ lobby/ swing chairs outside

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Neat place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Mama Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time wasn’t early in the morning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Perfect place for short escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect place to stay, good access to transport and not so far away from city centre. Would recommend bar, they can mix really good cocktails.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Air conditioning was just what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was just what we needed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy and crowded because over 200 travelers came from Czech air lines

    Clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Breakfast & Reception area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Medium Mama Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast & Reception area

    Stayed in July 2018

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Mama Shelter Prague traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: