Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Podhrad 4 stars

náměstí Čsl. armády 30, Hluboká nad Vltavou, 373 41, Czech Republic

#3 of 8 hotels in Hluboká nad Vltavou

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 873 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love the surroundings and building itself! It is fascinating! Still the rooms don't meet 4 star rate however it is clean and comfortable, really close to the castle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were very disappointed when the whirlpool was out of order for whole weekend and capacity of wellness limited as we had chosen this hotel primarily due to the wellness. We hadn't chance to visit it at all. Moreover the receptionist was reluctant to manage proposed alternative. So be careful when planning wellness activities there.

    Very nice hotel in the town center near the castle. Comfortable room, clean and well furnished, comfortable and spacious beds. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has a very good location in an area with a nice view. Staff is very friendly, the rooms are large, comfortable and clean and the breakfast is delicious. It was an excellent choice for staying in this region.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since we stayed only one night, it was almost impossible to use spa, because it was all booked.

    Good value for money. Big room, bathrobes, vanity kits, lavish breakfast, free parking, location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were staying at the dependance and it was quite noisy. You could hear everything from the outside plus from the hallway as well.

    Loved the food in their restaurant. Everything was so delicious, we came for dinner two nights in a row.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    the neighbor did not like having children in the apt. even though they were quiet they came and asked us to not have them walk. was the only unfortunate thing.

    the neighbor did not like having children in the apt. even though they were quiet they came and asked us to not have them walk. was the only unfortunate thing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the annex which was really quiet. Room was a good size and clean. Breakfast and wellness centre was included but we didn't use. The castle is a short walk away and the town is lovely. The lady when we checked in was very friendly and helpful. Parking for the bike was right outside hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very nice staff, no recommendations what to do in area or about food, unpleasant receptionist. Wellness needs to be reserved.

    Location. Cleanliness. Size of the room. Bathroom. Very good breakfast. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was not stable. There could be a larger breakfast selection, the current one did not amaze us much.

    Great place, location directly in the city center and just a few steps from the Hluboká castle, spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows of our room leading to the main square, meaning impossible to open during the night due to the noise from pubs below. no airco. Especially, pretty unfriendly staff. not what you expect from a four star hotel.

    big room, location in the center of the town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition in the room - as it was very hot outside it was not so comfortable for sleeping.

    Great location - in the centre, just under the chateau and close to bus stop. Clean room, nice staff, very good restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a building next to the hotel. The couple in the next room had sex all night, rooms really need to be more soundproof! No air conditioning.

    Nice, clean room. Comfortable beds. Breakfast was rich.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got the room in the dependance building even though it was not mentioned in the reservation. We booked a particular room directly in the hotel.

    Great Location near to the castle. Just below the hill. Average accommodation. Reasonable quality for the price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got the room in Annex building a few meters away. It seems it used to be another hotel, when you get to the first floor you see the empty reception desk, the halls to the rooms are dark and the lights get switched on automaticly when you're already a few meters in the hallway which it's a strange and uncomfortable feeling as you don't know where you're going.

    Good location for visiting the castle, next to the way to the castle hill, it's about 10 minut walk up the hill. Parking directly on site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too many Japanese tourists on that day - it is great for the hotel but cause some inconveniences (ques in the reception, in the breakfast area) for other guests 😊

    Great location, close to the Hluboka castle, good breakfast, comfortable rooms, spacious parking, kind staff in the reception and restaurant, good wellness area with small pool, tasty food in the restaurant, fast Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff doesn't speak much english and not that good German too, so in case you need anything that must be done accordingly, write down in a papper and repeat untill you really feel confident they got it right. Go to the Restaurant before 21:30, very often after this time people smoke inside the restaurant (windows closed), in Czec Republic it is allowedto do it, so in case you (like me) has some restrictions regarding cigarrets, avoid this time.

    Very quiet and relaxing area. Rooms in annex build are all renovated. Location was very good in my case, easy to come/easy to go to Praha airport. The is a beatiful castle just behind the hotel and lots of nature around. Restaurant is the latest of the village to close and food very well prapared. The is also a Spa with 1 hour free for Guests, which I really recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    First impression coming from the person at the reception desk and from the building itself. For us it was like fresh air coming to our lungs when we met the people. Amazing staff!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    although the breakfast was really good, I was extremely disappointed with the quality of food at the restaurant for dinner. I have to say so far this is one of the worst meal I had in the czech republic it was the same for my kids. I also don't understand why it was that expensive. I honestly think that if you are a restaurant related to a 4 star hotel you have to improve by far the quality of food you serve to your clients.

    the location, the spa facilities. breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is actually two hotels (or two seperate buildings)- make sure you request a room in the main building as we got room in another building, about 2min walk still convenient, but it is no fun if you go to breakfast and in the morning raining you have to get dressed in full gear and walk to the main building. We would have preferred not having to get cold and wet to get to hotel. Same thing for spa- you would not feel comfortable walking to spa in bathrobe in different building. The TV size is mini- it is essentially a computer monitor thus hard to see when laying in bed, plus channel selection is really poor (some local and russian channels others didnt work). Then finally although the hotel directory lists that they have umbrella available when we asked they did not have any- not that they were out they did not have any. Breakfast selection is also very limited if you dont eat pork/meat or vegan- basically eggs three different ways, some cold cuts and sausage, some cheese, breads and cold cereal- capuccino machine did not work during our visit. As my husband doesnt like eggs and doesnt eat meat there was really no warm alternative- most 4 star hotels have oatmeal or pancakes as an option or some fruits. Basically I would not say that it is 4 star hotel, 3 at best.

    The location in the center under the castle hill.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disgusting breakfest, a few pieces of acceptable food is gone very soon and it is not refilled anymore. If yoou dont want to drink some dark staff called coffee there, you will be charged 90 CZK or so extra for a cup of double expresso. There was no parking place in front of a hotel because all area was taken by wedding guests from the hotel restaurant (irrespective of table saying that parking places are designated for the hotel guests). The wellnes costs is included in stay price, but when we came there, we were told that its full and that we should make a reservation when we arrived (however, the receptionist didnt inform us about that)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was dark sand in the bath after the shower. No conditioner. The wellness centre is ok, but the dzakuzi was switch off most of the time. The hostess told what it is overheating. Also, she was not care about it. Breakfast is in the other building.

    A view from window was nice. The room is big . Towels were changed each day. The hotel provided child bed for free.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, kind of a chilly weather...

    Great location, close to the Hluboka castle, good breakfast, quiet room, good parking. I got a room at the second floor, with partially oblique walls, but didn't protest about it because it felt more quiet and well lit.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist did not tell us about sauna and other facilities. She was quite busy to help us and didn't pay any anttantion to our words during check out. She spoils the whole impression of the hotel.

    Good area, location, rooms, amazing restaurant with fantastic menu and friendly service.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi doesn’t work!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    less parking possibilities personal is not very fluent in English

    amazing location and size of room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Average hotel. Nothing too good or too bad...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, crowded breakfast room, requested double bed, but got twins

    Good location, clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    one particular unfriendly young waiter boy at the restaurant

    Got a better suite, than ordered

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hotel room smell really weird, even we had opened the windows. Small bathroom and place around toilet.

    Hotel of situated at the great place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place near the castle, decent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are actually in another building next door. Really quiet. With a water fountain for the whole floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    blankets could be more comfortable

    everything except blankets

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses are not so comfortable.

    We've atayed at Podhrad three times amd we love it. If they change their mattresses, it would be great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one hour in the pool and sauna. If you want more time it is necessary to pay extra.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have great time

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and pillows are not very comfortable.

    Very good location, friendly staff and good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner in a room, was too hot!!!

    Good restaurant, helpfull stuff, big room, clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A 4 star hotel with no air condition at plus 30 outside and tiny window (second floor) is beyond worst imagination.

    Perfect location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place with natural surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Outdated hotel, needs new bathroom equipment. Stupid bathtub with no curtain so that all room gets flooded. Carpark is hard to access and find. No elevator to the breakfast room.

    Food in the restaurant. Good location

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not get the staff which spoke english to understand, that the room still had the old towels and bedspreads and sheet of the prvious nights guest and that best should be changed before the Arrival of the next guests.

    good Location, old Building revamped, quite a lot of steps inspite of having a good elevator

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My only complaint is an unavoidable presence these days -- two large tour groups came and went while we were there. We only noticed them when they loudly laid waste to the breakfast buffet.

    The location was great -- at the center of a small town near major attractions -- and the veranda offered an inviting place to hang out with a cup of coffee.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was bad the first day (new receptionist), but very nice the next one. We stayed for 2 nights. No info book in the room, didn't know how to reach the reception via phone.

    The apartment we had was amazing - great view, huge two rooms, big bathroom, so bright!!! Breakfast was very good, the place of the hotel was perfect too (right below the Hluboká chateau). Restaurant for dinner occasions = average.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing bad

    It was an ok stay - nothing bad but nothing special either. As touring Czech republic have seen some much better hotels but also some worse ones. Just convenient on our route.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be aware that there are two hotels having the same name and probably owner. The second hotel is an old hotel that was partly renovated. Definitely not a 4 star hotel, I would rate it at most 3 stars. As booking customer we received the worst room in the second building first floor above a noisy restaurant. Parking was 1/2 mile away from our room. No reception in the second hotel.The room itself was large but depressing. It seems that the second hotel is a remainder from the communist era. The main hotel may be much better but we did not experience it

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The main building and the adjacent side building are two different hotels! The reception and the breakfast is in the main hotel/building, so as the wellness area! Its not convenient to walk 200m outside when you are wet. Be careful, to use the wellness you have to book it in advance!

    Close to the castle as possible (500m walk)

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - no reception in our building (200 m to Podhrad hotel) - problems with finding the breakfast room - it would be nice to receive a discount for hotel guests for the hotel restaurant

    - wellness area (1 free hour for the hotel guests) and its employee - big rooms with nice bathroom - no problems with a change of room - very comfortable beds - close to the castle - view of the city main square

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately Wifi did not work well - it kept crashing down, and also I would expect much detailed cleanliness in a 4 star hotel (there was some dried insects on the floor etc.).

    We liked almost everything - the hotel located in historical building (we stayed in 'Knizeci dvur' depandance), the staff was extremely nice and helpful, room was large and quiet with gorgeous view. And I loved the breakfast too. Definitely worth staying here.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Couple

    We stayed in a suite in the "annex", which used to be a separate hotel and occupies the renovated upper floor of an historic building just under the Castle. Great view looking out over the golf course. The room was clean and proper, the breakfast good, and everything a great value.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor restaurant bed is uncomforttable, thin blankets even in winter time (those we had are good for summer) even though are of poor quality no bellboy in 4star hotel ( I do not really under stand how they can get 4 stars )

    perfect location

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It would be nice to have outdoor seating in the second hotel area.

    The porch is a pleasant seating area.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - staying in the "other building" makes it hard to access the SPA area

    + very good breakfast + very good service

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Massage war top

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    cold water in shower. Spiders in the bed

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very well positioned just 5mins from the castle

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff, perfect location, clean, spacious and tidy rooms

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Best hotel if you plan to visit Hluboka

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was hot - no klima.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very large rooms!

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location! Wonderful staff! Excellent rooms!!! Fresh and Tasty breakfast! Ama-a-a-zing view!!

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Breakfast. Coffee can improve

    Amazing. Proximity to all interesting places

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Comfy beds, good wifi. Breakfast was fine, but need to get there early. There's a couple of nice eateries nearby too...

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Good bed and very much space

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very small swimming pool, but enough for kids, never available masage

    Close to golf club and castle

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, breakfast, relax center with infra and Finish sauna, location just "below the chateau" :)

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Hotel Podhrad traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: