Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residence Karlova 4 stars

Karlova 42, Prague, 11000, Czech Republic

#850 of 1,508 Holiday rentals in Prague

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 169 apartment reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue with the property was that we were not given the penthouse apartment that we booked and were allotted altogether a different apartment. There was no balcony as assured. Nor were the rooms same as the penthouse we booked. We did not create a problem since we booked it for two nights but we checked in only in the night on the day of arrival owing to flight delay. So pls be careful while checking in to ensure if you’ve received what you booked.

    Location was amazing. Right in th centre of all action, yet the street outside was not too noisy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a different flat, than on the pics, no air condition (we stayed in summer, it was very hot). There were some problems to enter the flat - pick up the key in different part of the city, entering the building was not easy (we came at night, lights were off in the building, we need to pass thru the dark patio)

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnitures are old compare to the impression of the pictures on the website. The bed is not comfy due to 2 single beds combined together. The washing machine wasn’t working. We had our clothes still soapy and wet from using it.

    The location is perfect. It is comfortable apartment size for 3 of us. We had duplex apartment with 2 bedrooms going down the stairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location to stay in Prague!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would recommend fixing the tile work in the upstairs bathroom as well as repairing the air conditioner unit in the upstairs bedroom - it was very loud. The courtyard entrance into the "Karlova Residences" was a bit dodgy and not well lit at night but that is a critique for the building (with other residents) and not the unit itself.

    The location of the unit was perfect - right in the heart of the old town. The unit itself was very clean and big. It was perfect for 4 people. The rooftop patio was an added bonus! I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Really good location and size
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that you have to pick up the keys in a different hotel. I had to go with my family carrying all our bags from the train station to the pickup place, and back to the apartment. They should offer a way to get the keys near the apartment.

    Just steps away from the astronomical clock. The location is great and the apartment is really big!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    3.3
    The property is just in the center of Old Town.
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property works like a bad joke! I've seen a dozen properties in the world so far and this one has the most ridiculous system of check-in I have ever seen. The apartment is at Prag 1 while the check-in office is at Prag 5. With all the luggage and tiredness, you have to go that far, get the keys and pay the deposit there. Not even a front desk inside the building. The rooms were different from what we saw on the website. Definitely looks older and flimsy. The bathroom has that pungent smell and you hear the drainage running even if you don't use it yourself. The wi-fi was on and off often. The TV has that distorted broadcast and there was no cable TV. Not everyone speaks Czech, they should know. And they tried to cheat the customers. They promise the pay-back of the deposit but then charge you with another service fee when they send someone to the apartment to pay it as if it wasn't their responsibility. I would never recommend this place.

    The property is just in the center of Old Town. The reception was trying to be nice but their managers are not even close to that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Great stay in beautiful apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some window blinds in bedrooms were missing made it very light in the morning.

    Location is excellent. Clean, comfortable apartment. Warm and cozy. Really enjoyed our brief stay. Would recommend to friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    Key problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    It really is a problem that needs to be sorted that if you arrive in the main train station you have to cross the city for the keys .I was delayed 3 hours by plane and it meant I had to travel from the main train station to the hotel .There really should be somebody to meet you at the apartment with the key.That would make the whole experience so much better.The apartment is great but the key situation is very poor that's why I won't be booking again.Thanks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    2.5
    I do not recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor value, You must pay extra. You must come very far to get the key. you need taxi. You have to pay 20 euro for keeping your luggage. also luggage is very far from you. Do not be fooled by photos, photos are different. You can't sleep well because it's too loud.

    Only Apartment location, Any others you should give up

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Good location, a lot of room in the appartement.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains on the windows. Some places in the appartement were showing clear signs of wear.

    Good location, a lot of room in the appartement. 2 bathrooms, 3 toilets!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    very friendly staff excellent location, clean and spacious. pleasantly surprised for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had to get taxi to separate hotel to collect keys, however this is my ONLY complaint and was well worth it anyway.

    Very spacious and clean apartment, everything needed was there and two seperate showers so excellent for groups... very impressive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    A basic apartment with a great location. Better suited to a longer stay (not a weekend visit).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos of the property were clearly taken some years ago. It is actually quite dated and a little tired. Very basic decor and atmosphere, could do with some TLC. New pictures should be taken. It wasn't clear that keys had to be collected from the hotel first - we ended up getting the airport return through the hotel as It saved faff. No flexibility on check out time, but they can store your bags (albeit for 10EUR extra). The luggage transfer did not include the bags actually being in the car - so we had to make a detour to their hotel premises on route! Factor this in to your travel time. Expected there would be some basic toiletries considering it's operated by a hotel but there wasn't and we had to go buy some. They could do much more with the place.

    Convenient apartment location in the heart of Prague 1. Light and airy. Terrace has a lovely view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Perfect location, lots of space for a group!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you've arranged pick up, just note Karlova is a very narrow and busy street so your driver will not be able to get you from the front door. Make sure you know how to locate them in a nearby street. Also, just remember to collect the key from a different place (not the apartment itself).

    Plenty of space, great facilities (including a combo washing machine and dryer) and perfect location in the heart of Old Town. Booked the apartment for 3 and we got the penthouse (as a last minute deal) but would definitely recommend for a bigger group! Nice views to Prague's beautiful rooftops and the square in the distance. Got the staff to pre-arrange pick up from airport so driver took us to the hotel for the key collection first. Also arranged baggage holding as we had a late flight on our last day and drop off to airport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    wonderful and very good location to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One more think I want to add is security deposit was highly priced tough refundable 200£ kinda taxing at once. That to cash for a traveller cos else where in praha they only charged us 50euro

    The collecting key part was a bit of hassal apart from that it everything was excellent. Loved it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Like home, we cook breakfast everyday as Chinese lifestyle,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like home, we cook breakfast everyday as Chinese lifestyle, there's a very nice bread shop in downstairs, I can do some iron work as well, really love it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Within walking distance inside old town and close to charles...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still quite noisy during the night, since it is exactly inside tourist area, the key have to be collected in prague 5 in another hotel, while the apartment is in prague 1. Parking space is not available, must search public parking / inside mall. Not suitable for family looking for quite place.

    Within walking distance inside old town and close to charles bridge, near clock tower, palladium, wenceslas square. Clean and perfect for grup of 4 to 6 people. Suitable for party people, so many club nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    one of the best holiday appartment i have stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The A/C was not working.

    The property was immaculate and very spacious with 3 toilets. the rooms where large and we loved the balcony overlooking the old town. the apartment was maintained well and clean. it was in the city centre with in meters of all important locations. absolutely loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    5.4
    Great location, friendly staff but the flat is by far not whats promised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flat was very used up and many facilities were broken. The beddinga were dirty when we arrived and the heating stopped working inbetween. Yet the staff did their best to solve the issues swiftly. Dishwasher was quite dirty and the upper flat had only a bathtub underneath the roof so one could not shower while standing.

    The location was great. The flat had a dishwasher and a washing machine. The staff tried their best to help out and were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    5.4
    Ordinary place in middle of Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything, firstly the pictures are misleading and should be rectified to reflect the real apartment which is being booked...we expected a diff apartment compared to what we booked.. then we have to go to some other hotel for checkin...that was quite uncomfortable..someone at apartment should be available for handle over of keys... The feel of room was of a very low quality..bathrooms were really not upto the standards ..as if staying in a hostel..bedrooms were small , really distasteful and dingy. i have stayed in many places where i requested for a baby cot...never have I paid for a baby cot...but here i had to pay 20Euros...anyways not a big deal..but that for me shows the kind of compassion the people have ...felt like dealing with gold diggers ...who just want to make money.. and give a damn ... Simply very very ordinary place compared to my previous experiences with other apartment stays with different rentals... I will not recommend it to my friends or family ...i think there are better one's available with the same price , location is not the only thing i look for...

    apart from living room being spacious nothing much !! I have stayed many times in Prague ..so i could compare ..

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location, not the rental office location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suggest you go to the rental office and find the location of the apartment before releasing a cab with your luggage. We happened to arrive on a day when the one street that services the rental office was closed. We were driven from Kraków to Prague by our polish guide. We had to park more than a few blocks away because, with the street closed and all the one way streets there was no way to drive to the rental office (even with instructions from the local traffic police. So we drag all of our 3 weeks of luggage to the rental office only to discover the apartment is not at the rental office location but more than a short walk to the actual apartment. By this time we had paid and released our polish guide which would not have mattered because the van was parked further than the apartment location. However, after this disappointment everything was great. The entryway is a bit "sketchy " and the motion sensor light was not reliable but the location made up for it. One caution, we were there in October when it was sufficiently cool to close the windows at night. For this apartment if you are relying on open windows to sleep comfortably, the street noise could be an issue.

    The best recommendation I can give is that, without a doubt and in the right time of year, I would stay here again. Extraordinary location I estimate two blocks from the astronomical clock. You are in the heart of the city. Big apartment, comfortable. Beds were comfortable but not luxurious. Kitchen was well appointed but we did not cook. Local restaurants and pubs are too good and economical, even in the heart of the tourist area. Staff was good at booking tours but the communication of rendezvous locations needs improvement.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Amazing Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had some problems with wifi upstairs.

    From the first step into appartment Everything was just great!!! Amazing views from all windows and terrace. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.8
    Spacious apartment in the heart of Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not easy to find this location. We had a staff coming with us in the car to show us how to get to the parking and the apartment. Internet did not work well in the downstairs rooms, but worked fine in the living room upstairs.

    Location was awesome. Right in the city center. Price was very good and they offered us parking at a location near by, 3 min. walking. You can cook your own meals, full kitchen. Very spacious!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.6
    Location right in the heart of it all.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two bathrooms, one with a toilet and the other one had the power outlet.

    The staff member checking us in was very nice. Location was right in the heart of it all. Should have been noisy being on a popular street, but windows kept the noise out. Apartment was large with high ceilings and many windows.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    10
    Very beautiful place, few metres from Charles bridge,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very beautiful place, few metres from Charles bridge, historical atmosphere, romantic, spacious, it has a magical feeling of history. Loved it, plus the staff were amazing and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    The location and the size of the apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The living room need more luxury touches And the also for the rooms.

    The location and the size of the apartment

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Center of old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A few steps from Charles Bridge, center of shopping, restaurants area, clean apartment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Everything was good and location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was good and location was perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Everything was fab and location was brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fab and location was brilliant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    The Shower was too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Shower was too small

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Large, spacious apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, 2 minute walk to the clock etc.

    Large, spacious apartment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One towel per pearson for three days is not enough. There is no cloths hanger in apartement.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.4
    Staff at the hotel was not helpfull at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the hotel was not helpfull at all. Never booking this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    we enjoyed our stay here tremendously.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and eventhough it's right in the city centre it's nice and quiet in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    Where you get the key is so far away from the aptmt that it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where you get the key is so far away from the aptmt that it defeats the good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Collectkeys from long distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Collectkeys from long distance

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    6.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty. Rusty hot flask. Musky smell.

    Great location. Huge space.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    7.5
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the cheak-in was at another hotel and then we went to apartment in another car and it was far from apartment . i didn't like it.

    great location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    Central, silent, close to most of the main attractions ( main square, Charles bridge, castle)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top location just close to the main Square, apartment was inside a cort so very silent. All shops nearby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Best location if you don't care the noise from street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air condition is poor, and it's noise from street.

    Large space, close to old town square, very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.8
    The location of the property was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking is pretty far away, and that was a bit of a pain. We had a bit of trouble finding the apartment, as we had had to split up for someone to drop the car at the parking garage. The staff was helpful, though, and made sure we got to our apartment and got settled in once they returned from showing where to park. The only other complaint is that the wifi is spotty, but we had 4 devices connected.

    The location of the property was perfect. We loved being right in the center of Old Town. We were able to walk everywhere. It was astonishing that we weren't able to hear the hustle and bustle of the street below us. We absolutely loved our time here and would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    we loved the location as it was like walking out onto a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    we loved the location as it was like walking out onto a Christmas fairytale with old town square with its entertainers and market stalls also although we were in a very busy square it was so quiet and we had a balcony which was lovely to sit out on. it had all the amenities you could want to have a self catering break would definitely stay at karlova again a wonderful stay

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    10
    The staff were very helpful and showed us around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were very helpful and showed us around the apartments on arrival. The location was fantastic only 1-2 mins walk from the Old Town Square where the Christmas markets were held. Very clean and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.2
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Front bedroom gets a lot of street noise during the night but that's what you get for staying in the core centre... loud drunk tourists. So if you sleep light, better choose the backside bedroom.

    Location, location, location! Everything is just around the corner! Apartment is very nice and spacious, clean and well designed, although a bit simple perhaps (bathrooms are a bit small and plain but it's not a serious issue at all!) Staff very helpful and available.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.1
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The check in was slow. The receptionist spent 15 minutes on the phone speaking to someone else while we waited ...

    Location is excellent. Wifi is good. Apartment is spacious ...

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    8.8
    Got a pick up from the agencie to there office and then to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When we was at Prague it was 35 degrees plus, very hot. No air con a few fans but not enough to keep us cool very hard to sleep sometimes because it was hot. Also where we was on the 3rd floor wifi was very weak and was annoying had to travel up and down the stairs or lift. One of the things that upset my stay was the main doors at the front downstairs of the apartment the automatic key wouldn't work to get in or out, was broken had to stand outside the apartment for 2 hours roughly at 2am not exaggerating. Had to sit on the street and call the apartment agencie and finally got through to Robert which took about an hour to resolve. Finally got into the apartment at 4am. I had to use my phone from UK to call them which charged me and we had to pack and leave that day.

    Got a pick up from the agencie to there office and then to the apartment for 600 Kronos which cost roughly £9 which was a bargain for 5 of us. Location was one of the best places we could be right in the heart of Prague. The staff that showed us to our apartment I forgot his name was very professional and showed us where to go and how things worked in our apartment. Staff was overall was very good.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    6.7
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor housekeeping

    Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent location. Very friendly staff!!!! Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Great apt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Stairs.

    Great apt. Center of old town but very quite and secure behind 3 sets of doors. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    10
    very good
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    very good

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    10
    central and professional receptionists and reservation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    central and professional receptionists and reservation manager. thank you

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    10
    nice modern and clean and in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice modern and clean and in the centre

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    10
    Central location, value for money, very clean, Wi-Fi easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No complaints

    Central location, value for money, very clean, Wi-Fi easy to use. Deposit returned in full promptly at end of stay.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: