Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ruze 5 stars

Horni 154, Český Krumlov, 381 01, Czech Republic

#30 of 32 hotels in Český Krumlov

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 468 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    2.9
    Awful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not cleaned well. Mold in fridge and bath tiles. Dusty. Unacceptable standard. Two star hotel at best.

    The terrace views were the ONE tedeeming feature of this unkempt and filthy hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.3
    Dirty rooms...bad housekeeping. Embattled staff that seemed overwhelmed by duties. Do not stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge was full of mold. The bathroom tiles had some mold between them. Bed was hard with thin mattress. Layer of dust on cabinet. Spider, fly and ants in room all on first night! Computer downstairs did not have access to internet for entire three days we were there. Maid left our door unlocked after enterring. Thank goodness nothing was stolen! On our last day, there was a mix-up and our room was not cleaned; we called down and we were told the maid would come straight away but three hours later....no maid and we were out of toilet paper. We went down to the front desk to get some. Tried to speak to the manager twice about the awful situation but we were always told he was in "staff events". This hotel gets a rating of 1 out of 5. Total disappointment! Disgusted.

    The one redeeming quality at this hotel was the view overlooking the terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was very good, and the wellness area is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ladies at the reception do not speak English or German very well. The connection between the parking plot and reception is bad, slow, sometimes doesnot work.

    The breakfast was very good, and the wellness area is very clean and beatiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    The location is very good, especially as we can have an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very good, especially as we can have an excellent view of the castle at the terrace just outside the hotel. It is close to where we alight from our taxi and this is important as no car is allowed to enter whole area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    This ain't no 5 star hotel !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coldish reception on arrival; dining room closed and privately reserved for an Asian group for the whole week-end; nobody at the bar because employee busy at the dining room; the pool was closed for the week-end; very average breakfast; WHY WAS I CHARGED SO MUCH ???

    Location and that's all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    4.6
    No 5 star hotel at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down hotel, staff not very helpfull. Speak hardly any English or German. Facilities like hotel bar & restaurant, swimming pool closed. Breakfast beneath supermarket quality without any extras. Mostly frequented by large groups of Asian travellers.

    the location. Good WiFi even on the magnificient terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    No value in booking this particular hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were highly disappointed with this hotel and the services provided. We picked this particular one in Cesky Krumlov in order to have extra comfort, but our expectations were not met. The five star level is far from reality especially when you rate by services. We have not chance to sit even once on the hotel terase to enjoy the view as it was either reserved or the waiters were too busy to serve us at the lunchtime despite the fact we were the hotel guests. The staff from reception was not informed about the restaurant and the wellness and vica versa and so not very helpful. The hotel is of a significant historical value, but would definitely need innovation.

    I very much like the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Location and view were a plus
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wellness especially having to book the small sauna and the whirlpool was cloudy.

    Great location and view overlooking the river. Not really 5 star facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.2
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are hard and terribly uncomfortable. The bathroom had hair all over from the last guest. The fridge didn't work. The worst part was that we were supposed to be given a permit to drive through the town, which is a pedestrian zone. Since we left the car at the front door and the staff parked it, and part it back to us, we had no way of knowing this. As a result, when we left, the police stopped us and fined us 1000 korunas. I walked back to the hotel (wasn't allowed to move my car and office had my passport) to find a resolution. Three staff members admitted they had made a mistake and forgotten to give me the permit. The filled one out but the police no longer accepted it. I walked back to the hotel a second time to see if they would at least split the cost of the fine with me, but to no avail. Nobody was willing to help us out except to repeatedly say the were sorry.

    The view from the room was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    we got the impression they did not want english speaking guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    even though we were paying top dollar for the accommodation they would not let us eat in their beautiful dining room even though it was not fully booked, and we were forced to find somewhere else to eat. This was not too convenient as it was about -10C outside at the time.

    it is a beautiful. building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Special atmosphere like in an old castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some furniture has to be renovated. Breakfast was from low quality products for 5 star hotel.

    Special atmosphere like in an old castle. Even staff is dressed like in medieval ages.location is amazing. Spa is great bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    The sport and leisure facilities were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little firm for my liking and the room was a little below my expectations, there was a broken chair in the room.

    The sport and leisure facilities were good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Cesky Krumlov is a charming village and this was our second visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On your first night dinner was served quickly and efficiently. However, on the second night it took 2 hours 15 minutes to serve a two course meal to the eight of us due to a large tour group ahead of us. They needed more staff or a bigger kitchen .

    Quirky, especially the throne toilet in the bathroom. Wide corridors, high ceilings gave a feel of spaciousness. Good Location. Swimming pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Completely worth it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We felt like royalty staying here. The hotel is like walking back in time. Our room was incredible, the spa facility is amazing, the staff so helpful and kind. I will certainly stay here again!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Decoration in the room is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration in the hotel especially wax of knight is scary. No lock of window when u want to open it.

    Decoration in the room is nice. Location is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.0
    Very poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facility is very very far from one would expect in a five start hotel. It's really a tree star, so the value for money is low. Most importantly, the staff doesn't really care. We got no help whatsoever and were nearly left starved on Christmas Eve due to a complete luck of service. The hotel bar looks nice on a photo, but there is not one serving it. Beds and the bedding are a joke; I suspect those pillows were in use from the time the hotel was built. I would not stay at this hotel again and not recommending it to my friends.

    The location is great. It's right in the old town, but away from the main crowd. The historical ambiance is nice too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Great place to relax, comfortable bed and really good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the second day of our stay, we had dinner in the restaurant, unfortunately. The quality of service was disappointing. The food was average and (comparing to other restaurants in town) overpriced, our waitress was rude and impolite.

    Great place to relax, comfortable bed and really good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.8
    Not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast restaurant was too small and crowded. The room was so small and not so clean. The bed and pillows were not comfortable. Bathroom was small and poorly maintained.

    Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel and location can't be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were not unfriendly; but they also were not too engaging to talk.

    Our room was warming and comfortable. We loved the old world decor in the room and throughout the hotel. The location is ideal since it is in the old town area but on the edge to provide some quiet evenings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    Is it really 5 stars hotel !!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, the AC wasn’t working as they turn it off during winter season but they didn’t mention that before you book the hotel. The bathroom wasn’t clean and the shower was leaking. The breakfast was ok for the first day as many people were there but the other day it poor quality and the egg seems like it’s been cooked since last night. Definitely doesn’t worth 5 stars !!

    The location was amazing and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.4
    Nice but overall the hotel felt too big to stay on top of the little things that make a stay special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a premium price at a 5 star hotel these little things added up to disappointment: At first our refrigerator did not work, then we did not receive toilet paper for two days. We had to call down multiple times for things like this. Also the breakfast options were just ok and the late night menu that is in their book was non-existent, difficult when restaurants close at 10pm. More appropriate for large tour groups but not a personal experience.

    We thought the room was charming and it was very comfortable with a great view and the sound of the river flowing all night. It was nice to have the pool and whirlpool for a little break from walking around and the massage was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    It was a lovely place with great staff. The facilities need a big upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel the rooms need an upgrade in furniture. Though they are wonderful there is a lot of outdated stuff in the rooms. The beds especially need to be updated. Unfortunately the swimming pool was out of order when we were there which was a little disappointing. More variety in the breakfast selections too would be nice.

    We loved how friendly the staff were and accomodating. The location was amazing too. The rooms are lovely, set up to make you feel royal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    3-star hotel pretending to be 5-star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The porter opens you the parking gate, but does not help you with the luggage. He does not even ask if he could help you. Long queues for food and coffee during breakfast. Selection of food was small considering the price. When you sit at the table and talk to a partner during breakfast, I expect the staff will not bother you by moving the free cutlery from your table to a other tables. Of course, no excuse for distraction. Considering the price I had high expectations, but I was totally disappointed. There are hotels with better services (for similar price) in Český Krumlov.

    Český Krumlov is a nice place and the hotel has a good location near the main square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.8
    Unsophisticated and adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is not a 5 star - more 3 to 3.5. The mattress on the bed was hard and uncomfortable. There was little warmth and enthusiasm at check in and the lady (who represents the face of the hotel ) made us feel as if she was doing us a favor. This was in contrast to other 5 star hotels we stayed in in Prague. I would not stay here again.

    The hotel is well situated in the heart of the old town. The antique furniture in the room was a nice touch. The lady doing the massages was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.6
    Reception was not welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff is not friendly, not welcome. We should have a complementary welcome drink from a genius program of booking.com but the reception did not bring us anything, just push us away from the hotel by saying that it was not a time to check in you can leave your luggage and go out without any suggestions.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Good breakfast and very comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No so beatiful as the photos shown.and a bit too old ...it is not beatiful and good enough to be a 5 star hotel.

    Good breakfast and very comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.8
    Underwhelming stay at the presumably the best hotel in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no lighting next to the bed. One side of the bed did not even have the bed stand. Although, after I complained to the staff, it was added. There was some kind of filler between two beds pushed together. This filler dropped to the floor as soon as we got to the bed leaving a huge gap between the beds. When we moved suitcase stool away from the wall to pick up something that fell behind, the dust balls on the floor were so big and it was so many of them that we felt pretty bad that we have spent a night in this filthy room.

    Location was very good and breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.0
    Poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The daily clean of the room was extremely late in the day One day it didn't happen at all. Bathroom not 5 star standard. The bathroom fan didn't work. No comfortable seating in the room. No kettle for teamaking.

    Location & history of the building is superb

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Very Enjoyable Stay, great summer terrace and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location was excellent and staff extremely friendly. We left our rooftop open on our car and it started raining- the reception was very thoughtful to call our room to tell us about it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.5
    Worth a try for different experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good experience staying in this old fashion hotel. We found welcomed package in our room, even though it was wrongly addressed to another couple. But anyway, we quite enjoyed it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    So so hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the 5 stars hotel the room is not sufficient. - no bar - paint on the wall fall down - bathroom not good for 5* If the hotel is 3* then ok not 5*

    Beautiful place, nice staff...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.8
    3 stars max
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spiders' nets + dirtiness + not working pool + not working elevator + dirty/stinky + this whole underclass medieval costumes: the girls wear plastic sandals and socks with pink stripes underneath + breakfast: poor selection and everything had a greasy smell + tiny-tiny window in the room (a single one) and weak lighting bulbs so it is impossible to read + oh those out-of-scale medieval costumes on the puppets in the corridors ... really poorish

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.7
    Stunning building, Terrible service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff terrible attitude! No service mentality! See above!

    Absolutely disgusting service and attitude! Seems like skeleton staff only. No bar service all day. Wellness centre and pool closed, not working.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    4.2
    Only the rate is 5-star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too much! Just to name a few items: staff tends to be unfriendly and unhelpful, many do not speak English and are overworked (they seem to work from early morning to late in the evening, a waitress was seen 'cleaning' rooms). The rooms were covered in dust, there were hairs in the bath tub and on the towels. We had to wait 40 minutes before our luggage was delivered to our rooms; it took three calls to the reception, of which only one was actually answered. One day the door to our room was left open by housekeeping. The duty manager tried to make our stay more pleasant, but overall this hotel has a very long way to go to even reach a 4-star status.

    The building's history has its charm, although the historical details and furniture are not always practical. Despite being understaffed and offering little choice, the quality of the restaurant is very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    6.3
    very disapointed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The WIFI network is very bad. Only have a little signal and can barely connect to it. 2. The air conditioning can not work. I feel very cold in the room ( I went there in April) 3. After our request and suggestion, the equipment did not change anything... 4. It is a five-star hotel, however, the hair dryer is quite old ( only a "tube" to blow hot air..you know what i mean..?) .

    1. Breakfast is very good. You have many options. 2. The decoration style of the whole hotel is unique (heritage style..?) very suitable for take pics indoor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Not a 5 starts despite the price ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Wellness area was closed due to technical reasons, we received a room upgrade instead but we were disappointed - In general is not a 5 starts, the breakfast is not even a 4 stars.

    + The rooms decoration + The perfect situation in the nice city of Cesky Krumlov + The terrace over the river

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    4.2
    Nothing good here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management is very rude. The hotel is too pricey for what you get. The other hotels in the area are friendly and the value is good I would never stay here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel in beautiful Cesky Krumlov
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel in central location. Beautifully restored property. Had free upgrade to large superior double room. Breakfast buffet was of a good standard with plenty of choice. Made use of the gym.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    8.8
    The pool and jacuzzi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double room beds are actually single beds, and therefore a bit uncomfortable if you wanna cuddle with your partner. Ofc, you have the option of taking the Deluxe room, which has a big bed but its much more costly. All in all, a pleasant experience!

    The pool and jacuzzi!!! Worth it

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.1
    Unpleasnat personnel sinking waste pipes stale bread for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is unpleasant. The bar has no personnel at all. The cleaning service is poor. The waste pipes stinked The worst thing of this hotel is the personnel (at least during my visit). They do not have the behaviour expected in a five-star hotel. First of all, we were given a welcome-drink voucher when we arrived, and we went to the restaurant to drink it. After 15 minutes waiting nobody had appeared, so we decided to go to the town and have the drink later. When we returned (around 9 p.m.) we tried again, but no waiter was there. I asked at the reception if they could send a waiter and a bothered waitress came. We asked her, which beverage could we have and coarsely she answered that only sparkle wine. Next day we were having the breakfast and beside us, one of the cooks of the restaurant was arguig with a waiter, asking him what we (customers) were doing there and telling him that all customers have to leave the dining room immediately because she needed to prepare the dining room for a lunch. SAYING THAT NEXT TO US in the middle of the room, as if all customers were deaf or were not present there. It is true that they were arguing in Czech and most customers there are foreigners and do not understand the language, but still it is inappropriate for a 5-star hotel. The situation was so unpleasant that even the head waiter told her not to provoke such embarrassing situations in front of the customers. When we returned from the breakfast, we realized that the cleaners hadn't put new shampoo and gel in our room. The waste pipes of the bathroom smelled very bad also. The toast maker of the breakfast did not work properly and the bread was stale.

    The building is beautiful and the location is perfect Regarding the building and the location, the hotel is located in a beautiful and singular building (an old castle) in the centre of Ceský Krumlov, from this side, it is a really goog hotel. Some of the mannequins imitatings old monks and priests might seem a bit creepy and one might think that there is an overrepresentation of religious stuff in the corridors, but this is just a personal opinion.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel in old hostorical building!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is nice but not friendly as they should.

    Convenient hotel in old historical building Nice view of the Castle in the viewpoint in front of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.7
    Nice room but unfriendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist Dana is very unfriendly! We have never met such a rude receptionist like her. We booked 2 different types of room with different prices and she told us the 2 rooms are the same! Don't count on her to give any help on your trip. And we cannot enter the room until 3PM as the check in policy is very strict. It was a disappointing experience staying with Hotel Ruze!

    The hotel is very well located with good view of the lovely town. The room is not big, with two single beds, clean, quiet at night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    6.3
    Doesn't feel like a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -the same level of breakfast as in a hostel. -even the sauna has to be booked. -"gym" of 3-4 items, I guess only exists for the extra *star*, i.e., for a tick. -mini bar was empty

    -location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.5
    Location was good, staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the room was terrible, bathroom in general needs some attention. The owner/managerwas interrogating staff in the bar which was very unfair on very good staff and guests.

    Location was good, staff were great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    Hotel with perfect location and classic style decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel is prefect, just minutes walk to the tourist attractions. Also, just walk across the street at the hotel entrance can have a wonderful overview of the best scenery in the town. I also like the classic atmosphere of the hotel with nicely decorated room, lobby and restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    4.2
    Avoid at all costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public rooms are great and really reflect the fact that this building was once a monastery... However, a nod towards the past is one thing, but full blown medieval (aka very uncomfortable) furniture is faintly ludicrous, including the throne like surround over the toilet, see picture. This is not a 5 star hotel, nowhere near. The bathroom is extremely dated, the air conditioning did not work, and the furniture belonged to a museum. The toilet brush was filthy, and the beverage choice, which was not filled each day, consisted of camomile tea and sugar. The flowers on the tables at breakfast, weren't just wilting, they were dead! The staff appear miserable, apart from the excellent Milan, on duty on the terrace. Perhaps it ha something to do with the costumes they all had to wear?! Overall this was an extremely uninspiring experience. Absolutely no sense of leadership from the management, go if you must, but if there is any where else on offer I would try that.

    The location of this property could not be beaten, right in cesky krumlov with a fabulous terrace overlooking the river. Excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    7.9
    Great position and a lovely feel for a former Jesuit dormitory from the 16th century.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not as good as it promised to be. One morning there was no bacon or pastries and the bread and rolls weren't as nice as we have had elsewhere.

    The hotel's position was a real winner - so close to everything. The hotel staff were welcoming and the room was good - clean and comfortable. We were on the first floor with a good view and glimpses of the river.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    3.8
    More like a 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Calls itself a 5 star hotel. For real? Shower barely works and drizzles out , while alternating between scalding hot and cold . No kettle in the room for tea and coffee, you need a "premium room" for a kettle . Poor service , one of those places that thrives off ripping off tourists as its a one time only visit destination

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel in need of some upgrades
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning, toilet, Internet and shower didn't work in our room. They need some upgrading to the rooms. The staff was NOT helpful.

    The facility was a beautiful monestary fully preserved. The views were incredible. It was very easy to find from the bus station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    3.3
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning did not work . The room was stuffy and smelly. The beddings were not comfortable. The service staff were impolite . The food in the restaurants was of poor quality. The equipments in gym were old and outdated . The room can hardly fit in more than one person .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    4.6
    Cesky Krumlov was worth the visit. The Cruz Hotel was not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not like the attic room with the small, lumpy bed and the weird furniture: Even King Arthur would have been uncomfotable on the pretend-medieval chairs. There was no desk, just two very small tables. There were no convenient power points. We had to ask for an extension cable. This started off as one of those much too difficult tasks. The hotel was noisy: Passers-by, loud music in the park and large groups of tourists staying at the hotel all contibuted. Some of the staff had an atttitude problem: Eveything was too much for them. The hotel has a lift but falls short of reaching the top floor. To get to the room, one has to climb 3 very steep steps. No great fun when carrrying luggage. This is NOT a 5 star hotel.

    The location of the hotel was very good. Valet parking was very efficient. One or two waiters in the terrace restaurant were very helpful, efficient and friendly. Others were not. The joke played on us by booking .com descibing our accommodtion as "5 star, deluxe double room with a King-size bed". It was none of these.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most staff were not helpful. Torn towels.

    Quiet location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.3
    Hotel was 3 star at best. Surly staff with ‘I don’t care’ attitude. Horrible place - don’t go there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Giorgio Switzerland
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located near the walking area and the center of this beautiful old town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.6
    Doesn´t meet expectation of 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is not meeting 5 star; room was not very clean, bathroom old and worn, the room the same

    Very nice massage in hotel wellness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.0
    The location and decoration were good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff were not nice and polite for a 5 star hotel!

    The location and decoration were good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems in the hotel

    Great location, perfect, in the center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast super and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast super and the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    overall, good value for moeny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bedroom is rather dark and the wooden furniture look unwelcoming

    good location, walking distance to the old town and castle

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for five star hotel i did expect little more.

    location, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Room too dark
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room too dark

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.2
    床太短 The bed is too short
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    床太短 The bed is too short

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.3
    Staff was very pleasent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad.

    Staff was very pleasent. The breakfast was very tasty. Location excelent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Room. All satisfying

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice room but need better service for 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service. Have to come down myself to get something (e.g. wine opener) at the kitchen.

    Room decoration is nice but look a bit old.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Great place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff & Cost of hotel food

    The location was wonderful, but staff wasn't real helpful or friendly!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel but do not expect to be charmed by the interior fit out. Needs help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gym only opens at 9am which is very inconvenient. Hotel has no charm and lacks atmosphere.

    Great location with nice view over the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location. The restaurant garden has amazing view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.2
    Would not recommend should be rated 2 or three stars not 5!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, dirty room, unfriendly staff,

    Hotel had a nice terrace but it was closed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    lack of english speaker
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    lack of english speaker

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.8
    Authentic Short Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was terrible

    Spa massage

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Loved the style of this hotel.just needs fix up those things
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in great need of work cleaning The mattress was not comfortable

    Loved the view Lay out of room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Charming environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent.

    Charming environment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.9
    Well located and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The squeaky floorboards ! And no wifi available in bedroom .

    The breakfast was well catered . Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: