Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4 stars

Jansky Vrsek 3, Prague, 118 00, Czech Republic

#184 of 612 hotels in Prague

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 949 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak Wi-Fi, no mini bar or kettle

    Big spacious room, comfortable mattress and pillow, very big bathroom, very good breakfast, very good location 5 minutes away from Charles Bridge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi did not arrive at the 4th floor Options at breakfast were quite limited (more cheese for example)

    Balcony was great, location very pretty, comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing l really liked

    The hotel is just not worth the price they charge. So many cheaper better hotels around. The atmosphere is of a an apartment. It doesn’t feel like a hotel. They luck a lot of hotel touch in their rooms and service and location is even a no no.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt properly air the room. Windows open to inside courtyard, no fresh air

    Quiet neighborhood ensuring a good-night’s sleep, but also only 2 blocks from attractions. Cool design at hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom may be improved (the shower cabin).

    The hotel is placed at walking distance from Charles Bridge and the Castle. The rooms has a confortable bed and was clean. The breakfast is OK, with various choices. There is a small grocery store 20m away and a lot of restaurants at 5 min walk. Overall, it is a nice place to stay for a short visit in Prague.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room did have some cosmetic damage and nothing major but for a 4 star it really should have been taken care of. There should be a fridge in the room as their is space, an electric kettle would have been great but you can rent one if you ask reception. There are additional charges here and there so read the manual in the room as it does offer advice and rules about the hotel. Parking is expensive so do some research about alternatives. The veranda was closed for renovation which was a disappointing as the view would have been spectacular.

    The hotel itself is quirky and I could have spent all day looking at all of the memorabilia which is displayed everywhere. It is located close enough to all the main attractions and within easy reach of public transport which is 10 out of 10. You will find everything you need within walking distance so the location is perfect for Prague. All of the staff especially the breakfast staff were really nice, very hardworking and breakfast was delicious, no complaints at all as they offer variety with the food and drink. The coffee room with the PC opposite the reception was a bonus and available 24/7 but you do need to pay 30 CKZ to use the coffee machine which is cheap but bear in mind no change is given. My room was spacious, the furniture was fine and the bed was very comfortable, ample wardrobe space with a safe, the bathroom with the tub was great although be careful as it does get slippery and plenty of toiletries and towels provided.WI-FI was good enough I didn't have any trouble and their is a lift to use.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the room there wasn't hair conditioner, but if you ask they provide.

    Very nice views in the room with the balcony. The breakfast was quite good and with choices. There was an excellent restaurant nearby (St. Martin).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Basic Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't usually leave reviews but on this occasion I feel I have too. First of all, we did book a basic room, so after reading the many reviews I was expecting a basic room, but the room we got was extremely small, not only that it was to the back of the kitchen area, where it got very noisy in the morning with the staff working. It was like the room was an after thought and I would say if you get Room no.1 I would ask for another room. Getting to the room involved walking through the (Dark) dining area and through a door to the kitchen, through another small corridor with just the 1 room stowed away to the corner,not very practical!! There was some mould in the room in places, another cause from such a small area, AC was ok, It did have a window but onto a street, where a lot of traffic passed. I do not complain to hotels, as I feel if you are paying good Money, you should always get the best, by doing the right thing right the first (and every) Time!! On the back of this, Prague is the most beautiful city I have ever Visited, and will return.

    I liked the design of the hotel and that is where it ended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t understand why one night stay was taken before arrival and then only returned when home.. had to pay all three nights on arrival when one was already paid for so technically paid for 4 nights when I arrived.. would be annoying if one didn’t have the money..

    Room, clean, comfy, everything one needed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely hotel in fantastic location - very close to the Castle and only a short walk to the Charles bridge. It's quiet and safe area, with plenty of nice restaurants within a couple minutes walk. The hotel itself is a bit quirky - the retro design might not be everybody's cup of tea but we enjoyed it. We had a spacious room with beautiful views and comfy bed. The breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from, fantastic coffee and traditional Czech cakes and pastries were a nice addition to the usual continental breakfast buffet. Also great value for money when booked early.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is stiff as a rock. I didn’t get a good night’s sleep.

    Location is great- away from the hustle and bustle, but a quick walk to where the action is. Around the corner from the US Embassy, so it’s a very secure area. Decor is interesting, and breakfast is v good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could be improved is to make the coffee and milk free that is in the all day tea and coffee room and also please put small milk jugs on the table at breakfast time!! Each time we had a cup of tea at breakfast i had to take the cups to the big milk jug to fill them up, its a tiny touch that would go a long way and make the breakfast experience a little more relaxing

    Huge bed!! Incredible views from room 42, loved the unique quirky design inside the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not up to expectations (that where high). It is ok but nothing special.

    The hotel is very nice, cosy and we had a great bedroom, just like in the pictures. The hotel location is in a quiet neighborhood, short walking distance from Charleston bridge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The slippers felt like paper, it would be better not to have them or maybe provide cosy socks instead

    The bathroom was very clean, staff friendly, breakfast good and decor amazing if you love design

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was such value for money

    The décor of the hotel is really quirky. The hotel is small with great staff and the room was spacious. We loved the location really close to the castle and close to Charles bridge with love bars and cafes on the way.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at breakfast were not very attentive (not available when requiring non-buffet items, e.g. coffee).

    The view from the balcony looking over Prague. Reception staff were very communicative. The large smart TV.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you depend on wifi, it isn't the strongest, but again not the reason you are probably coming to Prague :)

    The hotel is very centrally located, and the room price including the breakfast was very competitive (we didn't expect it to be included and were happily surprised) The breakfast is a buffet with a great choice of options.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was a room downstairs where you could make tea and coffee (you had to pay) I would prefer coffee making facilities in the room. Also there was only one pillow each on the bed which were quite flat.

    Great decor, comfy huge bed and a great big tv in the room with Netflix on for when you take a break from walking around the gorgeous city of Prague.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected bedclothes to be changed after the first day of our stay.

    The hotel is really stylish, I like the vintage design idea, which makes this property stand-out from the lengthy list of Prague hotels. The restaurant is especially cool and the breakfast is very nice. The staff is very friendly too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Best hotel ever. Good location. Very very good breakfast. Nice terrace view and kind staff. We loved here and we will come back to stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very good at customer service - they were all really young and felt like they didn't know what they were doing... It had the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in in years.

    It was pretty low cost.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    In this scale of luxury, there was not a minibar in the room or a boiler for coffee/tea. If we wanted something we had to go to the lounge. The breakfast was really limited and on busy days lots of things were over early. Maybe for an average hotel this is normal but for this level we expected something more. The personnel was always friendly and helpful but there was never a genuine smile in their faces.

    The whole hotel has a total unique design with lots of 60s items of the former " iron curtain" world (DDR, Czechoslovakia, USSR). A true museum experience, impressive and enjoyable. Our room was extra spacious and always clean, even the days that we were late out of our room there was someone in to clean. The location was really nice, close to lots of points of interest and easy accessible by public transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only improvement would be to offer a milk alternative at breakfast. However, we just nipped across the road and bought our own soya milk and they kindly kept it for us and made us a cappuccino with it.

    The staff were lovely. Location, design, quality of the breakfast - it was all amazing. Bed was really comfortable. We would definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room don't have outside windows, so there's no view and no option to vent the room with fresh air. The only view you have is hallway so you don't have pravicy at all so you must close the curtains all the time. It feeling like you're a museum item that passing people can watch you. The hotel charges extra for early check in with out tell you the of the correct and full amount.

    Very good and rich breakfast. Neat and clean hotel. Cool vinteg design.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel design is very stylish. The girl sit in the reception is gorgeous and very friendly. The property is very close to the Prague castle and easy talk to charlie bridge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly reception greeting....very blah....no smile....almost as if we were "disturbing" him. Very bad low,dim lighting everywhere in building. Had to walk in almost darkness until we got to our room corridor. Old carpets in bed room.hard uncomfortable mattress, large enamel chip in bathtub, caulking coming off around bath tub. We had to leave at 5:45am to catch a flight to Toronto. We asked if it was possible for kitchen staff to pack us a little "bag" for breakfast as it was "included" in the rate. Vlasta said he would ask the kitchen staff in the morning. We saw kitchen staff on duty when we came down to reception just before leaving but Vlasta said it was impossible to pack anything for us(not even an apple & a bun?????) I had to take my medication with water and ended up feeling nauseous in the taxi :((( because I was on an "empty " stomach. Hotel NOT centrally located....hard to get to and find. Not going there again :((

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selection of DVDs in room were all horrors!! You had to pay to select one from downstairs so without any English TV apart from news we just had creepy films!! Weird!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1. the breakfast was poor and boring' nothing change- the bread not fresh 2. in the room there is not a minibar/ hot drink kit- the hotel cut cost on small but importent things like toylet paper, 3. the hotel charge more money for 1 hour that we were earlly and didnt change the price when we leave 12 hours earlly. 4. the location of the hotel' not so good' its on a hill so its not fit For a pregnant woman

    the design

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    snippy receptionist when i arrived pay before you stay policy floor in my room not very clean very unpractical shower stinking towels

    breakfast and room very nice nice view from room good size room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking.

    The facility had an off-site parking place. Our rented car was a hard fit. The hotel was on 'Embassy Row' and the police stopped all cars entering the area for a full, pop the trunk, the hood, and have a mirrored inspection along the undercarriage. We were close to the bridge and the river, and in the heart of old Prague. Restaraunts were plentiful. The staff were very capable and accommodating and extremely hard working.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They destroyed some of our clothes on the laundry and did not assume the responsibility for it. It was shameful!!

    They have DVD reader and movies in the room!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee faxility in the room. No computer in room, though promised in websight. Far from public transportation.

    Very big and comfortable room. very good breakfast. Interesting decor.staff very willing to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV could have more English speaking channels.

    Staff was polite and giving good service. Room was cleaned everyday, at the breakfast buffet a hot pot of coffee and hot milk were brought to you, and receptionists and manager were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is wonderfully decorated both in public areas and in the rooms. The room size was good. Breakfast very good. Would certainly recommended and will return

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was so impressed by location and view. One of the best hotels in Prague, very quiet location, nice view. Perfect terrace with amazing view. Many choices of international TV channels. Very close to Charles bridge. Very nice room decoration. Good breakfast. So best choice for stay in Prague city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything in this hotel ,begining from cleaning room during out stay ,rich and tasty breakfast every morning ,very special and silent atmosphere ,we have a great pleassure to be in this hotel .No doubt if we arrive to Prague again I will want to book this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very early pickup the next morning to get to the airport, and the front desk prepared each of us a wonderful box breakfast -- all waiting for us at 6am!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything during our stay in the hotel was great: the stuff is really helpful, the rooms are clean and stylish and the breakfast is excellent. The hotel is really close to all the tourist attractions and the area is calm and safe. I would definately recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to take the best from your stay in this lovely city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our only complaint was there should been more electrical outlets available in the room to plug in and recharge stuff - 'loved everything else about the hotel and our stay.

    The east-facing 4th floor room with private terrace was such a treat. Waking up to the early morning light over Prague with birds singing was a joy and the afternoon sunsets with fabulous views of the palace, which was only a few blocks away, made our visit to Prague unforgettable. All of the staff were exceptional and even accommodated our special request to keep a few special beers we had purchased, chilled and available to us during our stay. Did I mention the decor? It was well done, true to the era and "totally groovy!" We would stay there again. Good (authentic and where locals eat) restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, friendly stuff, interesting design of the interior. The food was fresh and delicious. And the bonus - the terrace on the 4th floor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing, the hotel advertised by booking as 4 stars and it it's only 2 stars.

    Nothing except that they allowed me checking out within less than one hour after checking in , and I paid 220 euros for one night

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was far from hotel about 10 minutes walk.

    Good location from hotel to Prague catsle only 5 minutes. Hotel interior is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was absolutely amazing- was walking distance from everything we wanted to see including the Charles Bridge. I loved the decor, it felt like I was in an Austin Powers movie!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room window opens out to a common corridor and as it is fairly open down to the dining room downstairs, we were woken up by another guest's phone alarm or by the coffee machine going.

    Very helpful and friendly staff who helped us with all our requests during our 4-night stay. There's a kettle and tea bags in the common room downstairs which is great for a cup of tea. Room was spacious and overall decor interesting. Breakfast included so that was nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reservation wasn't right but staff went out of their way to compensate. It happened a few times elsewhere and think it is problem with booking 3rd party.

    Funky interior and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There could have been a bar or restaurant in the hotel which was available in the evening. It would have been nice to have some tea and coffee available in the room -however there was water and glasses which was good!

    Simple but great breakfast. Great spacious room with clean shower and toilet. Laptop in the room was very useful! Quiet hotel and area. Fantastic design art and decor! Really great location - in great distance to the centre of Prauge, and close to the castle with lots of nice cafes and shops around.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 3 nights

    .this is a bad hostle more then a 4 star hotel .breakfast is poor and lame amature staff with no customer service awareness we were asked to pay the minute we arrived although its not written and after getting an approval to pay on check out, next morning we were again demanded to pay

    the location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You don't have much choice when it comes to breakfast. It's very limited but is nice. Some of the staff have poor English. The hotel cleaning staff are very poor. We spilt some tea on the bed sheets on the first night and on the day we left the hotel the stane was still there. So for a whole six days the bed sheets were not changed. Plus one day the bedroom wasn't clean, even though we asked for it to be cleaned. We stayed in the Top View room and the balconies are tiny, barely get one person on it.

    The location of the hotel is wonderful. Litrally 5 minutes walk to a tram stop that brings you directly to the centre of Prague. John Lennon wall and Charles Bridge are also about 5-10 minutes walk. The staff are very helpful in helping with any request you may have. The beds are extermely comfortable and the hotel has some cool vintage pieces of furniture. The breakfast times from 7 to 11 are very good. We got a massage done by Thomas and it was fanastic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was expensive and a few blocks away, but even then the guy parked my car for me and they held the keys, to be honest wasn't much of a hassle.

    Great Location Super friendly helpful staff quirky comfortable functional rooms Great breakfast Excellent value for money strongly recommended. I love this hotel!!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay in Vintage Hotel Design Sax was a nightmare. We reserved a double delux room and were put in room 24, the bathroom flooded and the carpet was molded. We complaint three times with no resolution. The last time, obviously fed up, I went to the reception myself and told the room was horrible (IT WAS). The rude and useless atendant instead of solving the problem, call me in another area to give me a lecture about not saying bad things about the hotel in from of other guests (????). After a lot of fight we finally changed rooms to the 22, that was OK. One more thing, the room 24 had other guests personal belongings (shampoo, soap, ... terrible cleaning service). And the chair was burned. The breakfast is poor, you have bread, ham, cheese, iogurte and some fruit. If you want coffee (expresso), hot chocolate, eggs or omelete you have to pay more for it. It is a bad cost benefit. My advice: run!

    The standard room was good and clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. As we arrived to the hotel, on a direct bus from Berlin to Prague, during the check in process, we found out that I forgot my passport in Germany. I've showed the receptionist a copy of my passport on my smartphone and my partner showed him her passport but he said it's not sufficient. Then, without explaining us a thing, he called someone and spoke in Czech, a language we don't understand. When he finished the conversation he asked me to join him to a sidel room. Then he said that he has just spoke with the local police! and that I have 2 options: Get arrested immediately because I'm illegal at their country or somehow get my passport back! He did this without warning us before and let us think about our options and alternatives and was very determined and blunt, what made my partner and me very upset and worried. We asked him to call the Israeli embassy (I'm Israeli and my partner is German) and they asked me to show him the copy of my passport on my cell phone but he refused to accept it. Then they asked to talk to him and convince him but that didn't work either. Of course he added that he won't accept us to the hotel. As my partner was searching for an Airbnb apartment to replace the hotel I've reached the Israeli council for further instructions. At the same time I asked the receptionist to call his supervisor and cancel our booking if it is possible. The receptionist said he's the man in charge but at the same time another woman arrived and after I explain her the situation and asked to cancel our booking she spoke to him. After a short conversation between the two she said they will allow us to check in and stay in the hotel. We felt somewhat relieved but we were so frightened from the experience that we've decided to call Fedex and ship my passport asap from Berlin to Prague, a service that has cost us 106 Euro.

    great location next to the castle and Charles bridge

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym was under construction. No electric kettle within the room to make beverages. No instructions on how to use the room safe.

    Breakfast spread was good. Staff were generally attentive and helpful. Room was generally clean. Close to prague castle and embassies.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness of the room. Especially bathroom with stuck long hair on bathtub, broken pop-up plug and moldy/dirty tiling around. Broken wardrobe and spotty carpet didn't add to comfort either. I didn't have time to change room though. If not for all that above the stay would have great value for money and would be a 10.

    Design of the room, corridors, facilities, everything. The location is superb and thanks to that the view from terrace and most rooms is simply amazing. All staff was really friendly and provided great service. Breakfast was both diverse and delicious. Room was very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was French size (which I did not see when booking) and very squeaky, which disturbed our sleep. It might have been only our bed though. The rest was very good

    Everything was ok, very calm location, good breakfast, kind staff who helped us book restaurants for dinner too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the decor - the furnishings, the light fixtures, the shelves of collectibles! The hotel was superb all around. The unique design of the public areas, the rooms and the cafe area had lots to look at and enjoy. Our room was large with a very comfortable bed and fun furnishings. The breakfast buffet was extensive and one of the best we had in Prague. The staff was outstanding - always helpful and very gracious. The castle is an easy walk from the hotel. This is a must stay place in Prague!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit smaller than the one in the pictures and some of the benefits mentioned in the description, such as DVD's or coffee available for customers, is not included, you need to purchase them by separate.

    The room had a great design and view to the Cathedral and other beautiful monuments. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is good and it is very very well located.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff weren't super friendly, it is in a quieter part of town and there were just little things like no drinks making facilities in the room.

    It is a really cool, quirky hotel. Breakfast was cool and it was nice & spacious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with the windows to the hallway, which isn't a real problem, if you're not a fresh air addict (we actually found it funny). However, if the hotel ever refurbishes blinds would be better than curtains. And we didn't understand all the negative criticism found in the reviews on booking.com.

    The design was awesome and it made us feel as if we made a journey back in time. Perfect location for sightseeing but still away from the drinking crowds in Prague. We loved it. There are some nice restaurants around the corner.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was under construction so that was a little disappointing that we didn't get to use it

    Loved the design of the hotel as the location was great for all the attractions!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has basic rooms with windows into the hotel hall. It wouldnt be a big deal if they have aircon. The air inside of the room was really heavy and there was no way to have a fresh air. At 6:30 morning we woke up because we could hear the noise from restaurant ( they were preparing breakfast) next day we payed extra and changed room-the room had window and also aircon. We payed difference $15 for new room. So the cheapest room for two is definitely not worth money at all. I recommend to take better one or look for different hotel. I stayed in the Prague before and there are definitely better hotels available.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Their DVD didn't work (the disc probably faulty) and an electric plug didn't function. It suggested lack of attention to detail by the overall manager. Breakfast was rather cramped and the staff seemed under pressure.

    The staff were very helpful and the rooms comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The standard room we got was smaller than it seems in the pictures, with no desk or sitting area, and a very small bathroom. Noise insulation wasn't very good, being in the 1st floor we could clearly hear vehicles passing by early in the morning, even with the windows closed. The room available to leave luggage didn't feel very safe, with bags left untagged.

    Very good location for visiting tourist attractions, with everything at walking distance. Party places a bit further but metro/tram stops are very close, and it is good if you prefer to sleep after a whole day walking! Clean room and facilities. Everything is nicely decorated and with a strong retro feeling. Nice and gentle personnel in reception. Good breakfast buffet selection (sweet and savoury, hot and cold) with small changes every day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast spread could've been better. Not that near a tram or metro stop

    Great location, in the Mala Strana area so away from the madding (tourist) crowd. About 5 mins to Charles Bridge and also to the lovely Kampa area where you'll find the John Lennon wall and a few David Cerny sculptures. Lots of great restaurants around the hotel and was a bonus that it's just up the street from the American embassy and the police station, so very safe.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor was incredible. The chairs in our room were beautiful and comfortable. The bed was comfy and the rain shower was wonderful. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some misunderstandings/handling mistakes with the reservation we made on booking, nevertheless the staff was kind and we were grateful to have the chance to clarify this issue with the hotel owner, who was really kind and helpful.

    The hotel's vintage concept has been setup in a great way , tastefully and with original pieces that makes it unique! rooms are very comfy and breakfast is also good! The hotel is located little up the hill but therefore quite and chic!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Happy that we upgraded to a "deluxe" room with outside facing windows as opposed to "standard" room which opened onto an inside atrium.

    Fantastic location near main sites but on a quiet street. Excellent selection of food for breakfast with good service and nice eating area. Comfortable room with funky design elements.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was very small, seemed to be a large single bed. Taking the price into account, we didn't expect to pay extra for so many things: capuccino, baked eggs, gym, sauna, etc. this should be better indicated. Check in very friendly but took a long time.

    Beautifully decorated hotel, very clean, friendly staff. Nice location in beautiful ans quiet area of prague, nice small wine bars in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no space to put suitcase in the room, I kept tripping over it. Dirty silverware in the breakfast room. Stains on the floors. Old towels. Very poor toiletry products. No bottle openers or cork screws in the room - wanted to open a bottle of wine and the girl at front desk had to run around looking for one all over the hotel, finally she found one and it was broken. Elevator had problems, wouldn't stop on my floor. Lots of little things that aren't a big deal but only make this hotel suitable to be 3 stars. Definitely not 4! Which means it shouldn't cost as much as it does just because there's vintage designer furniture and modern decor.

    Location is wonderful - super close to Prague castle and lovely short walk to Charles bridge. Beautiful neighborhood, away from all the crowds but very close to everything. Staff was very sweet and eager to help with any issue that came up. Great breakfast buffet and coffee service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dirty carpet in the elevator,... Although the carpet in the room was not dirty, it does not give a clean feeling. Very few parking spots in front of the hotel. We had to put our car in the parking garage of their other hotel, a 10 minute walk away. Good service and a secured place, but not very practical. If you want baked or scrambled eggs for breakfast, you have to pay extra.

    Decent hotel. Very good location, everything is within walking distance. Special interior, seventies design throughout the whole hotel. Very friendly staff. Breakfast is rather plain, but sufficient. Room was big enough, good working airconditioning, windows can be opened.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Minor note: - Extra charges for breakfast when ordering items outside the menu (why would I pay extra to have an espresso for breakfast instead of a "normal" coffee?). - We saw some rooms whose windows were looking into the main corridor. Must not be that nice, so be aware.

    Overall fantastic experience. - Hotel design: excellently decorated in '60s style. Many nice pieces all around the hotel, both in the lobby and in the rooms, but never too "heavy". - Position: walking distance from the city centre (old town) and main attractions. - Room: we got a deluxe room, which was quite big, very clean and comfy. Besides the bedroom, the room had also an entrance with a small balcony and the closet. The toilet (with extra sink) was also separated from the main bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When visiting Praha try to avoid to stay in the main center as it gets so crowd and noisy. This location if you don't mind crossing once and another time Charles Bridge is superb.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quilt were strange, too small

    The super king sized bed is very good Breakfast was nice Location was nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanest hotel I have ever visited Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked a kettle and tea Making facilities in the room

    The breakfast and quirky furniture style

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View of Inside Atrium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no tea and coffee in the room. Our tv didn't work properly

    it was clean and good location

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Vintage Design Hotel Sax traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: