Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sophie's Hostel 3 stars

Melounova 2, Prague, 120 00, Czech Republic

#97 of 612 hotels in Prague

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 697 hostel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay for solo travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not as central as I anticipated but still easy to get around.

    Inexpensive, clean, and comfortable for solo travelers. This place actually makes you feel like you have your own space despite sharing main room. No bunk beds which is a plus in my opinion

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location! Staff members are welcoming and helpful. The apartments are massive, clean, and comfortable. Truly one of the nicest hostels you can find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed having having single beds with nothing above me.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought breakfast was a bit expensive. The noise outside through our night.

    Enjoyed having having single beds with nothing above me. Plenty of space. Ability to open the windows. Own kitchen and bathroom for max 5 people. Lift is an added bonus. Able to have a bar down stairs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    I really liked how there was a bathroom and kitchen inside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    I really liked how there was a bathroom and kitchen inside my room, I was not expecting that at all. The room was pretty spacious too so I wasn't in the way of other people. It is pretty simple to get to from the train station and to other parts of the New Town and Old Town. Overall, it is a great hostel to stay in with others or by yourself.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff are nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from downtown and room’s ventilation was not good.

    Staff are nice! Hostel sell transportation tickets so it’s very convenient. There’s lift and tram stop is a 6-min walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Great Hostel to Meet New People
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear people talking/singing from outside the hostel. It was a but hard yo sleep sometimes. Other than that, the hostel was really worth the value and I highly recommend it!

    It's a good place to meet new people as there is a common area by the bar with tables and chairs. The toilet and bath are very clean and modern. Also, the breakfast buffet was terrific! Happy hour for beer if that's your thing is also available. The staff was nice too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    amazing
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    paying additional money for breakfast

    everything except there is no free breakfast which u must pay additional fees to have a breakfast which is unusual

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Perfect central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the 10 bed dorm squeaked loudly which would wake people up. The dorm door was slightly blocked with one of the bunk beds so people kept accidentally smashing it when they entered. There was only one toilet >10 people. There were dirty underpants left on the bathroom heater over my entire stay. At night rowdy drunk people made a lot of noise on both nights i stayed. One of the under bed draws squeaked very loudly. The pillows were too flat and soft, i had to fold mine in half and still it was too flat.

    The toilet paper was of excellent quality. The location was right in the city centre. The key cards worked faultlessly. Each bunk bed had a light, shelf and power socket. The WiFi strength was strong. The floor had a modern and nice kitchen. The shower was strong with hot water. 24hr reception with helpful friendly young staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not inclueded but one can pay 6 eur and will have a complete all you can eat meal composed by differents jams and cereals and breads, cheese, ham, pepper, milk, tea, nutella, butter, coffee, etc. I missed more bathrooms, i didn't have problems but just 1 toilet and 1 bathroom with toilet for 16 people seems to be not enought.

    Confortable bedroom, big metal boxes to put the things under the bed. Bed was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Everything is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything is great. Really nice, a wide variety of choices. The apartment is neat and cozy, with stylish but warm. All the hardware and software (design, atmosphere etc,) make this hostel so comfortable that I even wish to stay here longer. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Perfect. Enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the subway ans tram stations. Easy to find. Not expensive at all. Possibilty to take breakfast. Very clean. I was in a dormitory for 5 ladies. It was perfect, there was a nice bathroom and a kitchen for 5, with fridge and everything to cook.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, cheap, well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly not much. There were two bathrooms for the dorm, one of them was a little tight and there was only one toilet (for like 16 people or something). Aside from that excellent Hostel

    Everything went well. The room was comfy, the location is great, the people were nice. The receptionist went at lengths to tell me what I should see in Prague, how to go there, I got a free (and very handy) map. The breakfast was good, the beer was cheap. All round excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Valuable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water from the shower was not very stable--sometimes I experienced weak-strong random changes, but not often. And the sink in the shower room needs to be repaired as well.

    The bed I slept in was very comfortable. The private space (aka the size of the bed) was quite enough as well. Wifi signal was really strong in the whole building. As a hostel, Sophie's was perfectly clean!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall, a good hostel! Highly recommend people to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dorm rooms had poor WiFi connection. Bad experience where someone just shifted my belongings to another bed. Resulted in me having no bed and had to shift to another room.

    The staff were very kind. Place was very clean. Value for money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Great place for a first time solo female traveller, comforting atmosphere and brilliant company.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the lockers next to our beds could have been slightly bigger as you coudlnt really fit very much in.

    I loved the atmosphere of the hostel and the many opportunities to meet different people. The staff are very friendly and helpful and I had a great time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    I expected to be in a room for 8-6 instead of that we were...
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The proximity card system for entering the rooms, did not worked always.

    I expected to be in a room for 8-6 instead of that we were only 3, and the room was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.4
    Beware of BED BUGS in FEMALE DORM
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sophie's Hostel has a nice location, staff, rooms, common area, etc. but I encountered BED BUGS IN THE FEMALE DORM. My 3-night stay left me with over 20 bites. I felt gaslighted by the staff. They insisted my bites were not bed bugs and showed a lack of urgency to investigate, which is ludicrous given a Booking.com review from Mar 2018 also mentions bed bugs in the female dorm. Clearly a known problem! Only when I had strong evidence on my last morning - found a bed bug filled with blood on my pillow - did the staff bring in a housekeeper to inspect. There was no refund offer made while I was there. They agreed to refund me only after I emailed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Great for city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Lovely one night stay. Friendly staff, slept in a 10 bed dorm. You get your private box under your bed which you can lock. Didn't have any breakfast there but it should be good. Reception is 24 hrs. Bathroom is clean and modern.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hospitality and professionalism
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower room can have a proper ventilation system. The air in the corridor was moisty all the time. Doors to the room make a squeaking sound even if you are careful - please grease them. The social scene was very shallow during my stay; a little bizarre, or unlucky for me, that this monumental building only attracted drunk teenage tourists that had no appreciation of culture.

    The best part of the hostel was its staff. They do not cut short of explaining things about Prague, though they must be getting the same repetitive questions every day. If you show an interest in specific things, they will look up the information with you. Great hospitability. The property manager also showed a genuine attitude in taking guests' opinion - not just processing you. I stayed in a shared room with no bunk beds. Very comfortable, and the price was low.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    This is by far one of the best hostels I've stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the property but so many snoring roommates that made it almost impossible to fall asleep even with earplugs on. This made the stay less enjoyable for me.

    This is by far one of the best hostels I've stayed in. First of all the price is wonderfully cheap but the location was great. Walking distance to many tourist destination. The toilets were always clean and heated. Beds were comfortable. They allowed for free luggage storage. Kitchen was equipped with a fridge, kettle, microwave, stove, oven. I really liked it here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    It is good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't get the key of the room because of the system problem (which the staff told me) so it will be inconvenience to enter the room once I go out.

    The hotel is clean and comfort. It also well equipped.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only complaint is that the pillow was too flat. I had to fold it in half.

    It was extremely clean! The breakfast, amazing. The staff, friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    quiet sleep and loud late party and near to center ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, secured, near to markets and restaurants ,kitchen well equipped, knowledgeable friendly staff, quiet sleep airy rooms, excellent bath facilities, fast weefee, tall spacious dorm beds, onsite rambunctious pub for meeting new friends but also quiet enough in the rooms while sleeping...and very tidy. Suggestions: since you have high ceilings maybe curtains for dorm beds during the winter to keep the warm air and perhaps another fridge in the kitchen.. .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was huge and The bed was super comfy! The bathroom was Really modern and clean + i Also got a kitchen! The bar was also Really Nice with a great staff ;) Wish i could stay longer than one night!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Sophie's hostel review
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a larger guest fridge, and some coffee and tea at the guest kitchen otherwise very good

    Very nice and helpful staff , comfortable bunk beds, strong wifi everywhere, clean etc everything :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    All very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    3E big shower room - Floor Ceramics tiles are moving under feet. Needs to be fixed before it cracks and injures someones feet in shower. Otherwise all perfect.

    All very good. Best out of 10+ hostels I've been to in Prague.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Great city and accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff, nice integrated pub with great activities to get to know other guests like a beer tasting event. Good and clean facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    a great place to stay for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the wooden floor is a bit noisy; the upper bed requires quite some muscle to climb. there is quite a gap between the bed and the wall, so my phone fell twice (luckily it didn't hit the guy on the lower bed). I stayed for 4 days, it seemed that sheets were not changed for every visitor, so if you really care about hygiene you should bring your own.

    great location very near to tram stops, friendly staff, spacious and very clean washrooms. the room is tidy too, great value for such price!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Very Good hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Good hostel! Clean and good price! The staff of the reception is reaaally nice and sweet. The location is also in the center of the city, you can travel aroundc city just by walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains on the bunk beds..

    The staffs are very helpful and attentive,the room is big and toilet and shower is clean..they provide hairdryer near the shower room..they also have kitchen..lastly,location..it is located near the tram and metro IP Pavlova..if u need to get there,just go out at the museum exit and go straight..its near Ibis and Novotel!and oh..they have lift!u dont hve to carry ur luggage up the stairs like some hostels

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some smelly in the room due to the sewer,but it is a normally problem in Prague.

    The size of room is pretty good.And the price of breakfast is valueable, just 145 CZK per person. Staff are friendly and nice. Every thing is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.2
    Real fun staff. Good sense of humour, the Russian male janitor is particularly keen on jokes!
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wish I could have stayed longer.

    Cakes and cookies, breakfast, cozy atmosphere, convenient bar. I liked the fact that the desk clerk's name is Sophie.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should provide with bathing soaps, shampoos and a towel for free as for some people it might be difficult to carry all the way from home as some airlines do not allow carrying such stuffs.

    The friendly staff and the outstanding breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really liked this hostel. All the employees are REALLY kind and I felt that they wanted me to feel comfortable all the time. The accommodation is in a nice and modern place, well located. I really recommend this place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    This is a fantastic hostel close to city centre, great connection to both bus and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really love, that our 5 bed female dormitory,had it's own bathroom and also a well equipped kitchen, so I could prepare some meals for myself. :) Rooms are spacious and lovely decorated if you like clean design. Everything was clean and lovely. Staff is also very helpful :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Staff are very friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed the beer tasting! Ian, the bar tender was super. Great place for solo travellers to make friends too

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Top hostel! Wouldn’t stay anywhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Sophie’s Hostel is the perfect base for exploring Prague. I booked 3 nights and ended up staying for 5! The staff were super helpful & friendly; the dorms & ensuite bathrooms were always clean; bar/cafe downstairs perfect to relax in and well-priced. Thanks for an awesome stay Sophie’s, you set the standard for what hostels should be!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    GOOD SERVICE FROM SOPHIES HOSTEL AND BOOKINGS.COM
    • Family with young children
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing worth mentioning

    The staff, location, hospitality. The staff were very eager to support with guiding on directions, calling someone over the phone and translating our request in czech language and there was staff to help round the clock.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Friendly and easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communal kitchen was pretty small. I stayed in room 1a, the bathroom light is operated by motion, don't sit down for too long as otherwise the light goes off! The hairdryer is located in the corridor next to the bedroom door which makes it very noisy in the bedroom when someone uses it a 7am!!

    Nice friendly hostel with a bar (happy hour 6-8pm). Easy to walk to the centre of town from (although I think most hostels are)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Sophie's Hostel was amazing! We really enjoyed it there! <3
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We got the 5A room, which is actually not a room, but more like a mini-apartment. It has a nice kitchen, 3 beds (2 single ones and one double size) and a very beautiful bathroom with every comfort. The ambience is very minimal and modern, very nice, everything was working well and we had so much fun and a good time. In the kitchen we found coffee, tea, sugar, plates, everything that's needed to cook. Everything was sincerely perfect. It's really worth the price. And the bar and the common rooms are really cute and nice, perfect if you are young and you want to have a good time. The staff is young, prepared and absolutely lovely. We will come back here soon because we truly fell in love. Also, the people working here helped us through everything. We are eager to come back! Also, the position of the hostel is practically in the middle of every facility and every important attraction of the city. We enjoyed it so much and part of our experience was being in such a good hostel. Super recommended!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    The atmosphere is quite good and no strange neightbourhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is kind of out of centre of heart but you can't ask too much with this price.

    The atmosphere is quite good and no strange neightbourhood.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    I liked the fact that it had a kitchen inside the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is really tiny that it hardly fits two people with luggage.

    I liked the fact that it had a kitchen inside the room. You can store your food in the fridge during your stay(don't forget to tag the date of check-out). Also having your own twin bed was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow was way too thin. Room was way too warm. These two things made it hard for me to fall asleep.

    - no bunk beds - lots of space - bathroom inside dorm - high ceilings - cleanliness - friendly staff - good location - very secure I enjoyed walking to the centre everyday from here. It's roughly 15-20 minutes away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Very superior hostel, 24 hour desk, lots of extra services...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit further than ideal from town centre, but still easily walkable, and very quiet at night which a place in the old town likely would not be

    Very superior hostel, 24 hour desk, lots of extra services and advice, great happy hour. Large comfortable and nicely decorated room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Large room very comfortable with extra beds and big shower,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It doesn't have much of the hostel vibes, it is more like an hotel

    Large room very comfortable with extra beds and big shower, reception guys friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bathroom the shower was sort of open, so that when someone took a shower the floor was kinda wet everywhere afterwards.

    The girls room had no bunk beds. Everyone had a seperate light and power outlet. We had our own kitchen and bathroom, which was very convenient. The location was very good, close to metro stations and the old town. The staff was very friendly too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice big rooms but slightly out of centre hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little far and we didn't realise. About a 15 minute walk into the centre. Made it awkward to walk back in evenings.

    Rooms were large and didn't have any bunk beds in our room which was quite refreshing after a few weeks of travelling. Always got a good nights sleep here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Facilities were good and room was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power wasn't working for half the room when I was there, didn't find where the kitchen or common room was so found it hard to meet people. But the hostel itself was good.

    Facilities were good and room was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Great time in Sophie's hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complains

    Amazing hostel with very friendly stuff and very good structure. One of the best hostel that I stayed in. P.s. very good prices at the bar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    The beds were super comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were super comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked and the service was really good. I wish I had more time in Prague. Would have liked to party in the bar downstairs. The location is a little away from the main city centre, but you can comfortably walk there in 15 min

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Hostel is out of my expectation and it's cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wher the day I checked out, the elevator was out of order, but staffs helped me to take my really heavy luggage from the fourth floor.

    Staffs are really really nice, I have arrived at the hostel in the morning, and the staff allowed me early check in. Ppl can buy stamp here and staffs will help to send it. There is a hairdryer inside the room. Ppl can rent daily necessicities from reception. Wifi is fast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Next to IP Pavlova Metro, got to watch couple in the next...
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was broken and falling through onto the poor person below me!

    Next to IP Pavlova Metro, got to watch couple in the next bed having sex all night!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Choose this hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excelent hostel with great accomodations. I stayed alone in a private room. It was really big and new, with 3 big windows and a nice view. It had 3 beds, even though I only needed one. Very clean, staff was helpful and kind. And it's the lowest cost for a bedroom like this at this standard that I've already stayed. About the location, it's 20 min on foot to the old town, where everything happens (or 15 min by metro).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Near with the metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have air condt. It's not too comfy in summer. But they've got fan. The bed is creaky sometimes.

    Near with the metro. Of course clean and the hostel design is awesome. I was here last year and come back again this year cause the location is pretty good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.0
    Don't stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is awful, incredibly rude and inappropriate. The rooms are not ventilated and becomes extremely hot. The hostel is far from all of the sites.

    The place looked nice and it was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, very clean, great neighborhoood, helpful staff, bar opens till 4am, 5 females share one bathroom and basic fully equipped kitchen.(very rare for hostel) air flow is great. I would highly recommend any of my frirnd who needs hostel in prague. Best hostel opition! Will for sure come again if needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    The hostel have a good structure, have nice bathrooms and is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't have a good lounge room and isn't the best place too met people. The beds could be better. and should have a bigger locker in the room.

    The hostel have a good structure, have nice bathrooms and is in a good location. The staff of the hostel was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they could provide some desks or chairs in dorms would be better.

    great location ,reasonable price, I had a wonderful time in Sophie' s but mostly was because I had the best roommates I guess.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Ascension Weekend in Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much. During a very busy time, one basin wasn't draining well & I let the staff know, who immediately called for the necessary work to be done.

    Everything: Very comfortable, naturally lit room; spacious yet cosy common areas.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.9
    Sophie's Hostel is very clean and the staff are always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast seems a bit steep at about $6 for the cold breakfast buffet. It is delicious and all you can eat but could be better priced from $4-$5 USD for what's offered.

    Sophie's Hostel is very clean and the staff are always helpful. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the shared bathrooms. Also, the general respect of the fellow travelers who stay there. It's not a party hostel. I stayed in a suite that had 2 rooms with 4 bunkbeds each sharing 4 bathrooms: 2 with just toilet and sink, 1 full bathroom, and 1 with sink and shower. There was never a cleanliness issue or issue waiting to use one of the bathrooms. The location is amazing, really close to everything in walking distance and not in the middle of old town with all of the tourists. There are several nice neighborhoods close by that are good for food and exploring.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Great hostel - definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved that the 6 bed female dorm had all single beds and no bunks!! We had our own kitchen with all utensils and our bathroom was very very clean! The hostel is about 20mins away from Old Town Square, which is great and there's trams, buses and Metro's about a 4min walk away. There was also breakfast which you could purchase, hot or cold - for hot was 200CK which was a bit steep, but delicious! The wifi was also fantastic! And happy hour beers - 0.5L for 1euro!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful stuff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and helpful stuff. Very safe place and great location! Very nice free pancakes on one of the evenings! Loved everything about my stay there

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.8
    One of the best hostel I stayed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The female dorm is like an apartment with kitchen and toilet. Each bed has their own power plug and lamp. The explanation on the website is really useful and help me find the hostel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice, stylish hostel just outside city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the doors need a bit of oiling as they creaked terribly if anyone opened them. My room was quite spacious but hooks for each bed area were awkwardly placed.

    The hostel was very clean and I stayed in one of the female only rooms (with attached kitchen and bathroom). It was a very spacious room, the beds were comfortable and under each bed was a large roll-out cabinet that could be locked.The morning buffet was standard with a good selection of breads, cereals, yogurts coffee and juices. Overall, the hostel has a very stylish and modern feel and fairly friendly by Czech standards. It's also in an excellent location; not directly in the city center but an easy 20 minute walk or 10 minute tram ride away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    100% recommend staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The lights in the hall and bathroom were turned on by a movement sensor. This meant at night when going to the toilet, or coming back in that the whole place would be lit up. This wouldn't have affected the bedroom, had the door to it not had a glass window that let the light from the hall in. It would be better to have the choice to turn the light in the hall off at night. Or have the sensor set to be on for a shorter amount of time. Or have a blind for the window. The door to the bedroom also makes a lot of creaking noises, which added to the disturbed sleep. In the bathroom, the extractor fan was also activated by movement. The fan is very loud and would wake people up when others went to the bathroom. We had to try and remember each time to pull the bathroom door closed- which is quite stiff.

    The staff at Sophie's Hostel were really friendly, kind and helpful. The Hostel itself was clean, stylish and better than many hotels that I have stayed in. The location was perfect a 10-20 minute walk away from the Old Town and near to supermarkets, bars and fast food places. There is a subway stop just up the road, and a supermarket (Albert) just down the road by Charles Square. Sophie's Hostel has a really nice, relaxed atmosphere. I travelled alone and stayed in the 5 bedroom girls dorm. The facilities of this dorm are very good! The kitchen is well equipt, the wifi is good enough to watch videos from and the shower runs consistent hot water. The bed is very comfortable. There are two power outlets by each bed, two pegs and a little shelf. The under the bed storage was big enough for me to fit my small suitcase in. However, watch out for it rolling further out and catching your toes! I met many like minded, interesting and friendly girls here. It was really nice to come back and have people there to talk to. I would 100% recommend Sophie's Hostel for anyone thinking to travel to Prague. It was an amazing first experience of travelling solo. I felt very safe and happy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff, old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location slightly quiet but only 1 stop away from muzuem.

    Staff are friendly n helpful. Bathroom is very clean. Luggage storage room with locker, this is the first I saw and always feel it should be the way.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Must stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    So big room, nice facilities, Actually it's first time for me to use a hostel. But all my friends told me that they are experiencing the best hostel ever. It's unfortunate that I have to leave this nice hostel now. I recommend here very much.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.6
    Hotel level of service and comfort for hostel price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2C's bedroom door doesn't close quite completely, so if someone's using the hair dryer in the bathroom, it can disturb people sleeping.

    I was in a 5-bed female dorm and had a lovely stay. Didn't expect it to be more like a suite with own kitchen and toilet. Room was spacious. The brunch buffet is very good value for money. And the staff is very friendly and helpful. It has a really good vibe and seems to attract nice, chill, very outgoing (but not rowdy) travelers.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.8
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noisy squeaky doors in the 5 beds apartment. We don't have to wake up or disturb someones else sleep every time we need to go to the bathroom or go out or come in etc... Applying some sort of oil on the doors hinge usually fixes this problem.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. It's clean. 3 mn walk from the metro station. 4 mn walk from tramway station. Location is close to everything you need. It's a hostel for all tastes.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast was good and convenient, although it did cost €8.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had no curtain or anything so the entire bathroom got wet, which was annoying if you had to go to the bathroom and someone had showered in the previous 2 hours.

    Breakfast was good and convenient, although it did cost €8.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.8
    great, efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights

    certain staff could've known more about their local tourist happenings? xmas markets, coffee shops etc.? But that's me being wayyyyy too picky/specific.

    great bunk beds, clean and simple

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    10
    One of the few hostels in Europe I would make an effort to return to.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight hiccup with extending - was informed no vacancy when there was. Was also informed would have to change rooms but pleasantly surprised to find I didn't have to.

    Great location - inbetween station and main part of town. Extremely clean. Friendly staff. Great facilities. Single beds. Kitchen for dorm room! Quiet. Comfortable beds. Warm. Own light and PowerPoint.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Staffs are really very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The height of bunk's lower bed is low so it's not very comfort to sit in the lower bed.

    Staffs are really very nice! The room is clean and it's convenient to use bathroom even for living in a 12-beds room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.1
    Sophie's Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was large with four single beds in an open space which meant privacy was minimal. I think bunks with curtains would have been better. Some of the other people in the room were very loud and obnoxious.

    The staff were friendly and the breakfast was lovely. Close to trams and, trains and buses.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Excellent for group travelers
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some mattresses are a little thin and you can feel a bit the stick of the base,not too much, you sleep really well.

    the room was really comfortable, big and we all fit perfectly (we were 10), the kitchen also really good, and the bathrooms and showers are so clean and good looking, the breakfast there is the best, is buffet and totally worth it.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: