Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Charles 4 stars

Josefska 1, Prague, 118 00, Czech Republic

#198 of 612 hotels in Prague

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1876 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a very noisy building (from in & outside of the hotel you hear everything in the room). Also breakfast is rather too basic for a 4 star hotel and if you don’t eat at first hour, you may not even get much (variety)!

    The location is great; rooms are beautiful & authentic and staff are super kind!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast, spacious rooms and very clean. Will recommend this hotel to everyone. Prague is a beautiful city and peaceful during the week, will always remember Prague. Don't go on a weekend its a nightmare. Groups of men and women on stag and hen doo's from different countries (carnage, and slightly embarrassing)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would like safety chain on the room dooors. Old style locks with one ley and everytime we had to lock us in. Withna small child , I would have felt better to ahve safety chain on the door. Also more convenient. Dont have to keep on locking the door eachtime we are in.

    Right next to Charles Bridge. Absolutly great location. Good breakfast. I liked the old style of the hotel which gives it an atmospheric feel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was excellent. Very close to Charles bridge and walkable distance from most other attractions. Reception was friendly and helpful. Room was spacious , though toilet was a little cramped. Minibar was well stocked. Breakfast was standard European with good variety.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the rooms are really big, the lobby and the dining hall were a bit small and could get crowded when there are many guests. But I would always prefer to have big comfortable rooms than the rest of the hotel facilities anyway so personally this is not an issue. The elevator though is really quite cramped and old, maybe there is a way to improve it. It was also not very easy to find the hotel from outside as the Uber taxis (which brought us to the hotel and which picked us up when we were going back home) do not pick up and drop off by the hotel entrance but at the back area of the hotel. And the sign was small -- although I think this is part of the charm :) The positives definitely outweigh any minor issues which are really just areas for improvement. We had a great experience in Prague and the hotel played a huge part in that, so thank you from our family :)

    It was very well located, right at the other end of the Charles Bridge and very close to shops and restaurants. The tram stop and also the pick up point for the hop on hop off tour bus is just behind the hotel and very convenient. There is a massage place across, a nice bakeshop selling chimney cakes which my kids go to everyday, nice restaurants ranging from budget to fancy, convenience stores, ice cream shops and souvenir shops...and while it could get crowded in the main street leading to Charles Bridge, the hotel was tucked in a more quiet alley yet still very near the main street (maybe just a couple of minutes walk). The hotel room is big, for the price that we paid, we were pleasantly surprised at how big and comfortable the room was for my husband, myself and our 3 kids (a teenager and two smaller kids). It was also clean, and although it looked dated (it's part of the old world charm theme actually), it was clean, the bed linens were fresh and we had more than enough clean towels for all of us everyday. Breakfast was also more than enough. Nothing fancy, but it is a good enough selection. The staff was also friendly and helpful. Check in and check out process was fast and simple, and the staff also helped us with directions around during our stay. It is one of the nicest family friendly hotels we have stayed in all of our travels. I have actually already recommended it to friends because I was really happy with our stay. And because it was quite warm in Prague during our visit, the air conditioning of the room was very comfortable and worked well. The interiors of our room were also very nice, especially the painted ceiling, really lovely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Direct under the hotel is there a night bar. Too noisy to sleep until 2:00 ! The Windows is not standard with double glass, but only one layer of glass.

    good location, only 150m to Charles Bridge. Also near the city centre and the Castle, needs no traffic tools.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    GREAT PLACE! Close to all the sites, excellent breakfast, comfortable bed and pillow, and good shower; so you are refreshed and ready to see all the sites and enjoy the day. I loved my visit to Prague.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great little historic hotel; close to everything and right at the base of the Charles bridge and just a walk to the castle (all uphill). Very comfortable bed, spacious rooms and great breakfast with various breads and pastries, hot meat, cold meet, cereal, yogurt, coffee fruit, eggs....you name it. Could we have gotten a better breakfast somewhere else? Not in that area. The rooms are clean, with king sized beds, lots of hot water and a kick-butt a/c! We heard a little noise from the street during the night, but that was to be expected because of the heavy touristy location. The staff was terrific and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. If you want modern and "americanized" then stay at the Hilton in New Town. If you want romantic or family oriented, historic, fun and charming, then stay at The Charles!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    LOCATION, friendliness, cleanliness, guidance for questions -- all was great! The location is AMAZING, just at the Littleside end of the Charles Bridge and within easy walking distance to a tram station. The breakfast was adequate and the rooms beautiful. We 3 grown-up siblings and partners brought my 75-year-old father to the city of his birth -- after a little communication about that fact, the hotel went out of their way to greet him like a king! He and my mom had the largest, most beautiful room (suite with a bedroom and a separate sitting room, large enough to seat the 9 of us at night for social gatherings) and on the table, a bottle of champagne plus a box of chocolates was waiting for him. My husband and myself had the smallest of all the rooms we had booked (4) and even that room was amazingly spacious! My younger brother was traveling with a small child -- they got another suite with the cutest little side room into which the extra bed had been placed (my little nephew LOVED having his own little child-sized room). We had an amazing time in Prague, and that was, to a large degree, owed to the hotel's many positive points.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved all of it...no bad features.

    Matress comfortable and bedding very nice. Wonderful position, couple of minutes to Charles Bridge, supermarkets, bank facilities and fabulous restaurants. Easy walk to all main attractions, except perhaps the Castle. I walked up butit was a very steep climb. Great to have a lift and breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with window to an narrow inner court. Breakfast in the basement, no day light in the morning. poor breakfast and very poor coffee quality.

    Room + bathroom were clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was elevator did not go to top floor where we stayed. Staff delivered our luggage and it was no problem. Only one small elevator.

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to say.

    The breakfast buffet was sumptuous with many options to satisfy American as well as European tastes. The bed was very comfortable and the room, with air conditioning, was quiet and spacious. I'e been many times and I continue to go back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wifi is poor, very slow and is not available in the restaurant. Breakfast is kind of basic. In my single room, I had two narrow beds which were uncomfortable to sleep. The hotel tried to charge me for a wine from minibar though I only got water.

    The location of the hotel is just great. You walk for 20 seconds and you are on the Charles Bridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast had a good selection of items, but the quality of the items was very, very poor.

    the location is very good, it wasn't very comfortable, the pictures made it look better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. :)

    Location can’t be beat. Right be Charles Bridge, short walk to the palace and gardens, close to all tourist sights, and the best goulash in town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanness - we left little bits in strategic places to test if it would be cleaned, it remained in the same place during our 4 day stay. The spoon used to steer the coffee was also never changed. Not well maintained - Shower head was broken and the water would go everywhere, Shower door did not close properly and the bathroom floor got soaked and could be quite dangerous. Some of the sockets in the room seemed to have a circuit problem, as soon as we plugged something it would work for a second and stop. Staff - On out last day, we forgot a certificate (document) in the room. We came back to collect out luggage and get the document and the old man at reception just said that was nothing he could do and the cleaners must have thrown it away!!!! And he was very rude only interested in the payment for a little can of nuts that he demanded to be done in cash. I was startled.... Firstly they should not have thrown the document away without contacting us and also knowing we are coming back to the hotel to collect our luggage!!!! Also, the old man at reception could at least had been polite! He was horrible!!!!!

    Location - Very well located on the best side of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I had requested a silent room and according to the receptionist that has been booked for us, someone at the reception put us into the room facing the busy street from The Charles Bridge. 😤

    Very kind staff, spaceous and tidy room...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Bedroom was comfy but unfortunately we had a herd of elephants staying in the room above who were on a sponsored walk round the room, so quite noisy. Location is absolutely fantastic. Breakfast adequate and served in the cellar so quite quirky.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It more that met expectations

    Centrally located, next to the Charles Bridge. Very friendly service, the front desk did everything possible to ensure we have a great stay. Rooms large and very clean. A great experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room itself was nothing special, but clean and comfortable.

    Location is great. One block from Charles bridge but on a side street so not too noisy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Basement bar/restaurant has an offbeat vibe and a great beer selection. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I would improve on is the breakfast. It was adequate but I personally found it bland. That being said, there were always guests at breakfast eating their fill. Usually a good sign.

    Our room was on the top floor in what was originally an attic space. This added extra charm to the room while affording a very quiet space in which to sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby...despite comments breakfast wasn't good, poor selection of hot food, coffee machine broke, watery juice. Our room 103 was tired and on first floor, so alot of noise from Blueline bar. Toilet didn't flush properly. Shower arrangement was redicukoys

    It's location...2minutes from Charles bridge...2m from metro to castlr

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiators didn’t turn off in our room when it was quite warm and the hair dryer was not very powerful. They were the only things!

    The staff were fantastic and helped us with transport when our flight was delayed. They always greeted us every time we walked past. The breakfast had a lovely selection of pastries, as well as continental and yogurts. The bedroom was gorgeous with the high beam ceilings and it was in an ideal location. The cleaning staff were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed everything.

    We loved the location, the room was beautiful, the staff was fantastic and honest... they even returned a trivial article we left behind! Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great nothing to point out as negative aspect, the location is great and flexible

    Most of all its central location, the rich breakfast, the large room and the clean bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was nice and comfortable but poorly insulated from the noise on the busy streets below.

    Traditional breakfast every morning was good. Excellent location to do everything in Prague.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Choosing breakfast at breakfast could be better. By parking was a statement that there was no need for a reservation, then the parking was full and the car had to park very far from the hotel for higher fees.

    The room is really big and bright. The location of the hotel is very central and close to all points of interest in the center of Prague.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is not a family hotell !!! Sure is you are a couple ore single it's fine but for a family of four this is danger zone . 1 ) stroller dos not fit in the old elevator 2) toalett dos not have a loke so fun taking a dump having your kids play whit the door 2 and 3 years old 3 ) no shower handle on the wall basically you are supposed to hold it whit one hand and shower 4) the a.c. dos not work just blows same air temperature 5) the lose marmor stone in the shelf are nice but not so nice if they fall over your kids foot 6) front door to the room difficult to lock thin old wooden door . 7) noize rooms the thin front door you can everybody coming and going 8)cold room well when the a.c. dos not work how are you going to hear up the room 9)The entrance there is no hooks ore anything to hang up your cloths jacket after being outside in rainy Prag Wear are you suposed to hang your jacket? 10) the wooden roof sealing well it's nice but old my soon got rashes on his body and iching had to take antihistamines 11) extra bed for a 3 year old cost 40 euros a night so basically cheaper to buy a bed in ikea for 50 euros 12) the water in the shower well sometimes it's cold hot and burning hot basically if the neighbours use the water our water temperature got up ore down .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No easy parking around. The bathroom a bit too small and the shower a bit clogged.

    Staff at the reception was friendly and helpful. The bedroom was large and cozy, the bed comfortable, the hotel had simple and nice bohemian decoration. The location of the hotel is central, just 50 m from Charles Bridge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Advance notice that street parking could be secured would have been valuable information at the point of booking - learning on arrival that it was full was not The hotel states help can be provided throughout your stay - however, we weren't able to et extra bedding for our children after housekeeping had gone home - the request was made at 1900hrs, so not very late Breakfast wasn't too enjoyable - for the price of the hotel, take breakfast outside

    Most of the staff were helpful The room was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was incredibly hot with no way of turning the heating down. Great to be cosy and warm but had to put the air con on in order to sleep!

    Excellent location, great view from the room. Delicious breakfast. Staff were friendly, check in and out very efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing I have to say is that the shower wasn’t great. After 3 minutes the water was up to my ankles in a stand up stall. I had to be extra quick and it was annoying.

    The location of this place CANNOT be beat. It’s literally one minute from the bridge on a small side street that is less packed than the main one leading off the bridge. There is a bar next door and close to lots of restaurants/bars. The only time I took an Uber was to/from the train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel ,fantastic location,excellent breakfast ,very friendly and help staff.Cant wait to stay again .Highly recommend to family and friends x

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy in the corridors and from neighbouring rooms. Even though our room faced onto the Main Street it wasn't that noisy. More noise came from within the hotel.

    Beds really comfy. Pillows were excellent. Best nights sleep when staying away. Room and bathroom clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location! Very good breakfast with both hot and cold options, fresh fruits and vegetables and fresh breads. Comfortable room. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small lift but this wasn't an inconvenience. Rooms are heated by AC and can be noisy but again not a set back.

    Location-2 min from Charles bridge, staff always smiling and really speaking foreign languages. Heard them speaking in German, French and English very well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent and quiet location in a beautiful area of town - handy to local transport. The room was gorgeous with lovely detailing on the ceiling and very comfortable bed! Breakfast was delicious too and the staff were friendly and helpful. We would absolutely stay here again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a corner executive room with lovely views but could have been better heated, although it was particularly cold outside!

    Great breakfast selection & Fabulous big rooms with amazing quirky beamed ceilings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we slept ok there is a good bit of street noise in the room, however that is to be expected in such a central location. Curtains in the bedroom let in a lot of light and mattresses could probably do with being replaced - they are still comfortable but starting to sink.

    Hotel is in a fantastic location just 1 minute from the Charles Bridge. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby and a short walk to Prague Castle. Old Town Square is in easy walking distance too. The rooms are kind of slightly older fashioned but they fit in with the building, they are also very spacious and bathroom was well equipped. We were given a voucher for a complimentary drink in the quirky basement bar on arrival which was a lovely touch. All the staff we encountered were very helpful. Despite minor street noise we would definitely consider this hotel again if we returned to Prague!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing friendly staff you cannot get a better location and room 201 was great ! Value of money old school hotel and perfect if you want city centre locations within seconds walk form your hotel .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creamer powder in the room itself for early morning coffee. I would have preferred real milk or cream. This also wasn’t replaced when I had used it on the first day. I

    Lovely coffee in the restaurant Rooms with character Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room got very dry at night but we didn't really try to play with the radiator

    This hotel is very lovely inside with beautifully high ceilings and spacious standard doubles. It is right next to the Charles bridge on the castle side, for us this was perfect. Shopping was less diverse this side but the price was cheaper for the same things and it's a nice walk to the castle. Lovely staff at the hotel and in Prague in general. Tasty food from the bar diagonal opposite, went back twice. Pulled pork with cabbage and dumplings so good! Pilsner beer was the best! And use an app called Taxify to get to and from the airport, so cheap and reliable, ours was 237 in Czech money, other taxis and the hotel will rip you off. We tried public transport first trip and it worked out the same price for 2 although it took an hour, a bus and a train and 10 mins walking on cobbled streets with suitcases, tax was 20 mins and lovely guy. Weird that they give you 2 single bed covers but maybes that's how the Czechs do it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in general.

    Staff was fantastic, warm-welcoming and very helping. We were allowed to check-in early though it was dependent on room availability. Location was great as well, close to public transport, city centre and Charles Bridge. You cant find any better location than this.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to be able to hang shower head on wall, rather than having to hold it.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Large comfortable room. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could do with a referb, finish looks tired (furniture dented and chipped, curtains hanging off). No shower screen on the bath so water went everywhere when I washed my hair

    The beds were very comfortable. The hotel is in an excellent position, right at the end of the Charles Bridge. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good selection of food at breakfast. Extremely clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing was hot breakfast was not hot! No other complaints at all !

    Style of room -had a lot of character. Very clean with comfortable bed. Hotel situated very conveniently near Charles Bridge with lots of nice restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything

    Is not the first time I stayed in this hotel. I come almost every year because I am satisfied. the staff in reception is very friendly and helpful and makes me feel like in my home. The hotel is situated near Charles bridge, just 5 minutes from metro station. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast vey good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of kettle a little awkward - minor detail but cannot find any other fault.

    Beautiful hotel with an amazing location. Staff very friendly and can not recommend this hotel enough. We will definitely return! Spotlessly clean and recently refurbished bathroom. We stayed at the top of the hotel so the views were amazing. Can get a little noisy but the hotel is in a central location so to be expected.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel, with a really good, professional and kind staff. Our stay was excellent. Free coffee/tee in the rooms. Great pick up service from the airport: good price, clean, really polite. All the staff working in the Hotel is very kind and helpfull. We will come back. Everything was clean and beautifull.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar downstairs had friendly staff and the food was amazing however it closed at 9pm even though it said open until 11am. Not really a problem as the bar blue light next door was fab and stayed open until 3am

    Location was amazing. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was kept clean and warm and the bed was so comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is wonderful! The staff was really nice with us! The rooms were big enough and the bathroom was perfect. The location can't get any better. We'd love to come back!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy location - a lot of street noise that went on until after 3am. Allocated to a standard room despite booking a deluxe one. We only realised on the last day when it was too late to change - and to give them their due, the staff did accept the mistake and refund some money.

    Comfortable bed, characterful hotel, friendly staff. Convenient location, good for walking everywhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise from the street was audible even up in the attic room. As the hotel is located on a main pedestrian route, we were woken up by drunk people in the street around 1/2am even on week nights. Most of the rooms faced the other street, so it may not be an issue in them.

    Lovely room with great character, incredibly comfy bed and a great location. Everywhere we wanted to see was walkable from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very loud on the street outside because of the pub.

    Really good location on the castle side, very near Charles Bridge and many restaurants. The staff were helpful and the rooms are really nice. Love this hotel. It has all the things you need and everything is very well presented. They have a really good breakfast service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were in room 303 which overlooks a pub/club. very noisy with revelers standing outside for cigarette. this went on till 5am. no sleep that night!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping missed a pair of socks left behind a bathroom door by the previous guest. 😝 Bathroom was tight, and the "shower" was merely a hand-held sprayer. Sadly, the on site restaurant was closed during our stay. Lastly, the walls (and ceilings?) were thin. We'd like to extend our congratulations to the happy couple - the VERY happy couple - who occupied the honeymoon suite...

    The room was spacious and had character, with a possibly original painted ceiling. Great location for walking to either Prague Castle or across the Charles Bridge into the old town. Many restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It would be easy to find 'something' at any hotel that you didn't like, but naming all those little things would not really help other travelers learn about the property, i.e., actually my door knob was a bit loose. That said, there are rooms that face the street going on to the Charles Bridge which means one can hear post-cocktail visitors to the city laughing and carrying-on as they walk by. Its the city after all and to be expected. Ask for a room facing a different direction before making your reservation if you think this would be bothersome, it just was not a big deal for our stay. I can't really point to anything worth mentioning that would be considered something I did not like.

    All the staff made the stay a very nice place to come back to after a long day of roaming around the wonderful city of Prague. I would place this property at the top of the list because of the location, the nice staff, good breakfast, great internet, nice bar, the simple yet very clean and nice rooms and the price. It's one those hotels that you just end up saying that you would go back to with subsequent visits to Prague.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location for exploring old Prague. We walked for miles and caught trams from 100 meters away. We found the bar and restaurant downstairs really great when we just couldn't go out again. A number of previous reviewers have mentioned the street noise. Mostly people leaving nearby bars and clubs. It is annoying, but fluctuates depending on the night and the crowd. Worth putting up with some disturbance for the positives it offers

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the hotel was far too dim in both the public areas and guest rooms. It gave the overall impression of dinginess, especially on a bleak day. While the low level of light could be tolerated in the bedrooms and living space the poor light in the bathroom made dressing and applying makeup somewhat haphazard. Breakfast was of a very ordinary standard and served in the cellar. The cellar, of course, had no natural light, but here too the dim lighting, low ceiling and dark painted walls were oppressive. The girls waiting the tables worked very hard but their efficiency was hindered by their limited English and having too many guests to manage. Management needs to pay more attention to details such as ensuring coffee cups are neither cracked nor chipped. I encountered three in a row.

    The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spacious. The mini bar and small fridge in the room were useful and the provision of a kettle and tea and coffee was appreciated. The management left a bottle of champagne in our room on New Year’s Eve. This was an unexpected and appreciated gesture.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street onto the Charles Bridge is quite busy and walking into the old town during the day involved negotiating every tour group in town.

    Quaint hotel. Small rooms aimed at a historical feel. Top floor rooms made us feel claustrophobic due to the low wooden beams but staff were happy to move us. Close to good restaurants with good prices. Breakfast was a good spread as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last reservation in Prague, we love this city, it gave us a very good impression.. the reception is good and nice, answered the question of going to airport..the situation is good and breakfast is good.. a good experience and thanks a lot

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot breakfast options could have been fresher.

    The staff are undoubtedly the property's biggest asset. Genuine people who go out of their way to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel positions itself as a part of Prestige Hotels Group. This is not even remotely corresponding to the criteria of the hotel belonging to this Group.Charles Hotel is very basic and has a feeling of diy ( do it yourself) decorations, obsolete furniture of the pre Second World War and turn of the 20th century badly restored pieces. some chairs were broken. Bad insulation in the ceiling/floor, so you hear every movement if the people above you. Everything looks very provincial, no taste and design.Only amazing location saves the situation. Definitely has nothing to do with the Prestige Group. Needs a lot of update.Restaurant in the basement could cause an attack of depression with its dark green walls and red ceiling that are acceptable for night bar but not good for the start of the day. Food is very basic. False advertising unless Prestige is attributed for the location and staff.

    only location and friendly staff.The price exactly corresponds to the 3 star hotel, but not to the great discount of the Prestige group Hotel..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff in breakfast room were a little rude/cold, not all the plug sockets work in the room, due to period building and busy street there can be a lot of street noise, communication between staff led to a few issues but everything was sorted. Again due to the building you can hear the people walking above you. But to be expected in an older building so definitely bearable!

    The staff on reception were all extremely helpful and friendly - provided lots of recommendations and booked everything for me stress-free. Beautiful building and rooms. Location was right on top of the Charles Bridge so you can get to everything from there. Beautiful location. Decent wifi. Great facilities. Wonderful hotel - would recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little noisy from people on the street in the early hours and hotel cleaners in the morning.

    Large comfortable room with lots of character.. Excellent location. Very friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit noisy street especially after midnight when people goes out for a smoke from the restaurants and bars. The owner needs to invest in double glazing windows to reduce the noise.

    The staff were great and helpful especially Samir and Peter. Central Location, comfortable beds , spacious room and nice breakfast..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The variety of the food at breakfasts can be a little bit better. Fresh croissants were very tasty though

    The location is great, rooms are very warm and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Bathroom was too small. Not many plug points in the room and the only table in the room was way too small.

    The Location was great and the Staff very friendly, cordial and helpful. The room that we stayed in was pretty big and good for us travelling with a kid. The Breakfast spread was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bath was not easy to step into - rather high sides - and a bit slippery.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Spacious room. Settee and chairs for relaxing. Kettle etc. Easy-to-use security safe. Location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very friendly. The room was spacious and kept very clean. The location was excellent, the Charles Bridge was barely a two minute walk away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms too warm. buffet breakfast, choice not great. no milk with complimentary teas and coffee. no lock on bathroom door,didn't close properly.

    great location near Charles bridge. friendly staff. clean and well decorated. perfect hotel for short break.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing would be great. We could hear the activities in the street clearly!

    There were 3 of us. We booked a double room with extra bed and was upgraded to a junior suite. The junior suite consists of bedroom and lounge so it was spacious for the 3 of us. The bed and sofa bed were very comfortable. The bathroom was new and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The excellent room. So spacious and comfortable and very clean. The helpful staff. The wonderful breakfast. The fact that the Charles was situated close to the Charles Bridge and the trams. A most enjoyable visit. We highly recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only down side was the view from the window was a strange enclosed rooftop. Whilst i did not care about no view as we intended to me out most of the time, we had no idea what the weather was like. Also, it would have been nice to see a smile from the man on reception. No hello on arrival or goodbye on leaving.... man of very few words. :(

    The room was huge and lovely and warm. Bed very comfy and the show was a fab power shower. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Charles traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: