Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Palac U Kocku This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Jilska 9, Prague, 110 00, Czech Republic

#170 of 612 hotels in Prague

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2637 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Comfort and quiet in the centre of Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed on the fifth floor and were in the only room on that floor so it was extremely quiet and peaceful. The air conditioning was brilliant and very much needed after a day of walking around the city. Location was in the middle of the city centre and there were shops opposite the hotel for when we needed drinks or snacks. The perfect accommodation for a couple.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    A perfect place to stay in old town area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is perfect. My room was spacious with very high ceilings. It is the biggest room I have ever stayed at a hotel. I loved everything (furniture, air conditioning, bathroom, etc.) about the room. The breakfast was quite satisfactory. I really enjoyed my stay at Palac U Kocku. I will definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    Location was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was excellent! Walking distance everywhere. Breakfast was simple but plentiful and they catered to my non-dairy needs - thank you! Beds were surprisingly comfortable. I slept so well during my 5 day stay. Excellent and highly recommended

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Enjoyed it very much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had requested a ground floor room and they put me on the third floor and there is no lift! There is a very dangerous bottom step that they do have marked with yellow hazard tape but I was coming in at night and the stairs were in complete darkness and I didn’t see the step and took a bad fall. Lighting is tricky in the hallways as they have automatic sensors that don’t always come on when you need them. My only other complaint was that they had a bath tub with a hand shower with no place to hang the shower head so the only option was a bath. But those were small things and overall I was very happy there .

    I spent a lot of time researching hotels before deciding on Palac U Kocku. I selected it primarily for the location and it was perfect for me! The hotel is dead center in the middle of Old Town. Walk out the door to shops and restaurants. Turn the corner and you are at the Astronomical Clock and Old Town Square which is gorgeous and something is always going on. A short walk to the Charles Bridge and many other sights. I am an older woman and was traveling on my own and the many sidewalk cafes were perfect for dining alone. The staff was very pleasant and helpful to me, especially Osty. The room was not fancy but bed very comfortable and bathroom very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.9
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1) On arrival found out that that the room was extremely small, much smaller than the photos had pictured. Asked to change the room and got a much bigger one next day, so it turned out okay finally. But keep in mind that all rooms in the hotel are absolutely different. 2) Very very noisy. The noise comes from the street, because the hotel is situated right in the heart of Prague with crowds of people 24H a day. Hard to sleep.

    A very spacious comfortable room, beautifully designed in an old-fashioned style. A good restaurant, plenty of shops, restaurants, museums & sightseeing around. An awesome Apple museum is right near. Sex machines museum is also very close:)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Location, cleaning and comfort conditions was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, cleaning and comfort conditions was very good. Room was spacious and large. Personal are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is enought. Everthing was great, thank u for all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    8.3
    An enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A good central location for exploring, good front desk service- housekeeping left our door unlocked once, good breakfast, very large room, beds a bit stiff, quiet room. We enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.2
    Location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was amazing. Walking distance from points of interest. Nice breakfast. Helpful staff. The pub was cool. A bit noisy in the night but that’s a perk of the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location! Hard bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed. Hardest bed out of about 20 places in Europe this trip. Also carpet had an odd bleach mark I first thought was dirty but it's apparently a bleached streak.

    Great location! That couldn't be beat. Nicely situated above a nice bar and restaurant. Breakfast was ok, with good coffee. Staff was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.6
    Loved this Cat house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was tiny.

    Magical position in old Prague. Walking distance to all places of interest. Discounts at the bars and restaurants in the building were great too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed staying there with two kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no WiFi in single room. Breakfast was the same all days we stayed at the hotel. At night it was little bit noisy, but actually it was not much problem. There was no elevator in one part of the hotel.

    Location is perfect, staff is helpful. I loved the room with nice colors and furniture, WiFi was good in family room. Breakfast was delicious. There was a chair for baby in the cafe we had a breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.2
    Dream location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As expected pretty noisy at night on weekends

    Great location in centre of Old Town. Beautiful facilities with a great restaurant/ pub at the bottom. We booked the King room which blew our mind size wise. Easily the largest hotel room you’ll ever see. Great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect stay in heart of old town Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have darker curtains on windows to block the light better in the morning.

    We loved that our family of 5 ( kids 14, 13 and 11) could all stay together in one large apartment right on top of old town. Perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.2
    Was sorry to leave your beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The elevator was so slow in coming that most times we just walked down the stairs

    Your staff was wonderful, smiley, extra helpful and is the big plus for your hotel Plus the loaction was superb. The breakfast was an excellent way to start the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    7.1
    Ok location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only 1 mirror (in bathroom), only 1 chair, no aircond. or ventilation in bathroom, only 3 hangers for clothes, tv channels local, breakfast: not marked dairy free/ gluteinfree products, too much perfumed toilets, no lift to room

    Location ok, breakfast: vegetables and fruits properly stored, coffee/tea making facility in room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    The rooms are clean and the staff is absolutely friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are clean and the staff is absolutely friendly and helpful. Great idea with the parking service - another Hotel (1st republic), but the transfer-costs are fixed with €10 / direction. Recommendation from my side

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very disappointing hotel, especially for that price. I got a room on 7th floor; an attic-like room. Because of that attic roof, you couldn't really stand straight in the shower, not even mentioning washing your hair. The hairdryer was barely working, and the toilet was behind the door, positioned in a way, you couldn't sit straight on it. The breakfast was very poor as well.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.9
    Right in the middle of everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel does not have a lobby , the area you pass through for elevators is used by a very popular cafe-bar and can get noisey for early dinner hours, The extra towels, bottles etc used by the restaurant are always stocked somewhere seen by everybody no care spent to make place look tidier . The overall furnishing could have been better. Our room was small , to my understanding there are many bigger rooms, but I have asked for a quite room so you cant have both I guess. Our shower cabin was too tiny and had no place to put toileteries. The overall cleaniness was not satisfactory,especilly in the common aeras like the stairs, and in our room windows space between two window panels were dirty and dusty more care should be spent to this details . Sometimes the wait for the elevator seems a bit long

    Perfect location for those who wants to be right in the middle of everything, good breakfast , front desk fullfilled all our requests with a smiling face, very nice restaurant had one of the best rib and had a super house beer, The water pressure at the showers is very good Overall I had a very plesant stay I would recommend everybody who are not looking for a lobby to sit in and does not care for the size of the room (not every room is small as ours)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.2
    This review is on behalf of my daughter who's flight was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This review is on behalf of my daughter who's flight was canceled. We helped her book this room because it was right in the heart of Old Town and close to transit back to the airport for an early morning flight. She was pretty frazzled when she arrived but was so glad to be greeted by someone who offered to help her figure out the transit and even packed her a breakfast to go as she had to leave in the wee hours. She says that the staff went out of their way to be hospitable and she was deeply appreciative after a difficult day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.9
    Great - will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sofa in the room was made up into a bed we didn’t need. Would have been nice to have it as a sofa for somewhere comfortable to sit.

    Lovely room with comfy bed & everything you need for an enjoyable stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable weekend, lots to see and do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walk up the three flights to the room, we were told there was no lift in the hotel. This was not true there is a lift but not in the area of our rooms. Could not change the rooms hotel full up.

    We chose the hotel at it was very central and easy to walk to the Charles Bridge and the Old Town Market. Churches, Museums all tourist attractions were nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    9.2
    Very clean, great location, helpful staff(only when asked)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When i first arrived, noone helped me with my luggage. I had to lug it up till the 6th storey up the stairs. I thought there was no elevator because before I checked in, I received an answer via Booking.com that all single rooms have no elevators. But later i found out there was!! I also saw another lady who arrived and noone helped her with any luggage, she had to ask them to help.

    Very clean, great location, helpful staff(only when asked)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Excellent value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was actually nothing that caused frustration. A minor issue was a noisy floor in the room but to me that was acceptable considering the age of the building and the rating of the hotel.

    I liked location, friendliness and responsiveness of the staff, size of the room, cleanliness, breakfast quality, value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.9
    Location very good, short walking distance to main downtown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our section of the hotel did not have an elevator (we were not aware of this). This did not bother us, but it could cost difficulty for some guests.

    Location very good, short walking distance to main downtown attractions. Staff friendly. Morning breakfast buffet very good. Early evening somehow noisy, but after 11 pm it got quiet. Room was bigger than expected and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    Second visit at a nice hotel with fine service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At one point you pay the prize for living right in the center of everything: There is a lot of noise from - most likely drunk - people in the streets right outside all evening and night as well in the tourist season. But this is not to blame the hotel - it is your own choise whether you priority living close to everything or prefer silence.

    Hotel with nice interior, nice atmosphere and kind staff and situated right in the center of the old town. The "Fat Cat" café at the hotel offers a fine selection of 8 home made Czech beers; a nice facility at warm, summer days if you like quality beer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's no mirror in the room, only small and dimly lit one in the bathroom.

    Excellent location. Very clean. Young and attentive staff. Modern bathroom. Very spacious room. Excellent breakfast. Will definitely stay here next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    8.8
    great location, friendly staff and good burgers downstairs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOISY people in corridor at 1am !

    good value for the price paid. I booked late and got a single room in the roof area. Bathroom was good and very large - single bed was ok as well. An annoying thing was no desk light. I was trying to work in the evening and the central room light wasnt bright enough to light up my keyboard due to shadow. A small desk light would have been good in room 29 !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.3
    Very good location, next to Staromestske Namesti, 5 min.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location, next to Staromestske Namesti, 5 min. by walk to the Charles Bridge. Good breakfast. 15 minutes walk to the nearest comfortable underground car park (under Rudolfinum).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.2
    Three star rating with a five star feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind!

    The hotel was in a restored Baroque "palace": the room was palatial, with double glazed windows to isolate you from the noise in the lanes below. Located in the heart of old Prague, surrounded by other boutique hotels and eateries, constant foot traffic, but few cars (cobbled stoned roads were too narrow), it was the perfect location for us. There was a more than adequate buffet breakfast in the restaurant that later in the day/night became a popular beer and burger joint - The Fat Cat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.6
    exceeded our expectations. will surely recommend to all our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very week water pressure in the shower

    excellent location just by the old city square. very good and varied breakfast. clean and quiet. very nice building. helpfull staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location. Fat Cat restaurant at the hotel did good food. Breakfast was plentiful. Massive double room. Friendly staff and 60 second walk to Old Town Square. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location. Excellent staff. It's clean, comfortable and safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room faced the front of the building and was a little noisy at night.

    Excellent location. The included breakfast was much more than I expected. The staff was very professional, courteous and helpful. The room was clean, and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    10
    This hotel definetely more than 3 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    This hotel definetely more than 3 star. Staff.Room.Location.Breakfast .WI-FI. Early check in. Tnx a lot for everybody! Will back in summer to your hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.3
    Very good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It 's situated in the middle of the town with a lot of tourists. During the night, there was a lot of noise and sleeping was difficult.

    Very good hotel. Situated in the middle of the town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Requested twin rooms (this was a working trip) when we booked 3 months earlier, but got no information that this was a problem until we arrived. Not great service.

    Great location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.5
    Overall nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room did not have good air conditioning, we had to open the window for some air.

    Nice beds and breakfest, loved the location, nice staff and loved the fact that they had their own restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    10
    Best place for a stay in Prague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought the bed was stiff, but it could be our taste. I do not rate it in my preview because the hotel was fantastic (pure 10), but i just note it in case other customers think so too, maybe you could do something about it

    The location is unbelievable. You are exactly at the center of everything by the time you walk out the door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator! That really spoiled the impression. 3rd floor, 2 heavy suitcases (luckily the receptionist helped us). Bathroom is quite big, but there are no curtains - ocean of water on the floor each time. Wifi wasn’t the best

    Excellent location, very good breakfast. Bed is ok, size of the room. Heating (air conditioner is also available).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations, thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe menus for the restaurant in the room but that is just me being picky

    To hear people give this a negative rating is silly, it's modern inside and very clean and quiet at night, the staff were very pleasant even in the restaurant and the reception were more than helpful Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    9.6
    perfect location, value for money, free wifi and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved staying at this hotel due to it's perfect location, huge room (#18), friendly staff and good breakfast. ONLY minus was the room temperature- it was bitter cold in Prague during our stay and the old heating system couldn't heat the room, I was cold even with 2 blankets during the night. The staff gave us a small heater but the room was so big it didn't help. Other than that- perfect stay and highly recommended!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a room for four people, and it was nice, clean and spacious! Even though it was facing the street, it was very quiet! We had a good time here!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.6
    Clean and quiet in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet was quite spotty in my room, and the speed was very slow when I was able to connect.

    The hotel room was clean and quiet. There was a water kettle and a cute bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    10
    Second time in Prague-second time in this hotel and if i...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Second time in Prague-second time in this hotel and if i ever go back again i will stay there!its one of my favorite hotels to stay among the 50cities i have been!u will love it!i highly recommend it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    10
    Great hotel beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room seemed small even though we had a deluxe. But you spend little time in it anyway as you are out exploring.

    The location is absolutely perfect. The rooms were spotlessly clean and breakfast was nice. Try the dinner in the fat cat restaurant you won’t be disappointed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    10
    Authentic and generous
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Good location. Very clean. Confortable. Extremely nice staff, very helpful. Delicious breakfast. Easy access to the main historical areas and to public transportation. Client's satisfaction is their priority

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    10
    Met all of our expectations. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was wonderful, much to choose from both hot and cold. We looked forward to it every morning. The room was big and spacious. The location was excellent, we were there for four nights and would definitely go back. The staff were very nice and helpful. We left very early in the morning and the staff had packed us a very nice breakfast to go. Nice touch!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    9.2
    Great place to use as a base to explore Prague.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did tick double bed but my room had 2 singles. Not really an issue as it was still very comfortable.

    Centrally located in Prague and only about 5 minutes walk to the nearest underground. Getting too and from the airport was a piece of cake - 32Kr (About £1.20) each way. Take bus 119 from airport to Nasdrazi Veleslavin, change to underground line A and get off at Staromestska. Reverse on the way back. Staff very friendly and can speak english very well. Some good advice on places to eat and drink etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    7.5
    Great value due to great location and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was not friendly. No fridge. A little noisy due to partying outside. But it is a plus is you in Prague to party.

    The location can not be beat. Spacious. Breakfast was great. Pretty good value overall.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    4.2
    We left three days early and went Airbnb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was uncomfortable, room cramped and unlike web photographs. Manager accused my new wife of lying when she left an unfavourable but accurate review on Tripadvisor. We did get a refund when we checked out early, but as we were on our honeymoon, it still left a bad taste.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.2
    Nice and friendly staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As located in the centre, a little bit noisy but acceptable . takes time to wait for the only lift .

    Nice and friendly staff . Room is big enough and quite clean . Just located in the centre, most of the attractions are within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    8.3
    Great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely noisy at night, until early morning. This was the new year celebrations so likely to be the worst time of the year for noise. Room was too hot at night and staff said they have no way to lower the temperature in a room as it's a central system without local adjustment possible. I asked to switch on the A/C units (x2 in the room) but was told it was not allowed by management's decision and was told to open the windows. With the noise outside, this was defo not an option.

    Such a central location in the heart of the old town. Ground floor in not part of the hotel but you can walk through as you wish. It's a trendy pub / brewery called "the fat cat". They serve good beer and great food and you get 10% discount if you stay at the hotel, just tell the waitress when she does you bill!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    9.6
    Great restaurant on site!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Street facing rooms are very loud even on the 6th floor- noise from people out partying lasted until about 5am every night we were there

    Great restaurant on site! Breakfast was very good every day and the location is PHENOMENAL! It is less than 10 minutes to walk to the Astronomical Clock.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    7.9
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The double bed was small and uncomfortable.

    Excellent location, breakfast was good, especially the sweets and the coffee. Clean room. Very good wifi-signal

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    10
    Great place in the heart of old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Another mirror would have been nice - only one in bathroom.

    Excellent location. Comfortable, spacious, updated rooms. Friendly staff. Large, pleasant area for eating breakfast. Great spread of food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    10
    The room was enormous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was enormous. The hotel is right in the center of the old town so its located in the most touristy area, that means a lot of noise and a lot of activity. That being said, again, because of its location, everything is reachable and everything is available. The staff was great and the bar/restaurant in the first floor is very good and comes in handy if you dont want to walk that much to grab something to eat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    8.8
    Great location. Comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bit noisy late on (we were given a room right by the bar).

    Breakfast was varied and really good. Bar was great in evenings. Great location. Staff were really helpful in booking taxis and directing us around the city. Rooms were comfortable and shower was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    10
    We had a brilliant time and will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was tiny. You could barely turn around in it, but a small price given how great everything else was.

    The breakfast was vast and excellent. Rooms were comfortable. The proximity to all of Prague’s key sites was fantastic. We were able to walk everywhere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However, we were very disappointed and will not return because of the following. On the first night, we could not sleep because the room was so warm. We walked downstairs to ask the receptionist how to adjust the heat. We were told, "We cannot adjust the heat." So we went upstairs and opened the windows for some cooler air. You're in the middle of everything so music was thumping, tourists were yelling. It's not a lot of fun to lie in bed trying to fall asleep, knowing you have to get up the next morning for work. At around 2am, I went downstairs to ask again about the heat. I was told they could not adjust it. I asked for a different room away from the street. I was told they could not do that. Bottom line? We slept for about four hours that night and I had to work the next day. It greatly impacted our experience in Prague. The manager later told me via email that you can actually adjust the heat. Because of the hotel's error, we missed out on sleep. And that's what I pay the hotel for. It's a simple contract. I pay you for a safe place to stay and a good night's sleep. You keep your end of the bargain, I pay you. You don't, then I shouldn't have to pay. There were a couple other concerns so before posting this, I emailed the manager of the hotel. I wanted to give the hotel an opportunity to address these concerns. I asked for a refund of one of our two night's simply because the hotel made an error that caused us to lose sleep. I was hoping the manager would respond appropriately and say, "Yes, that was our mistake and to show our concern, we will refund the first night." Then I would have been able to write in my review how well management handled the situation. I was wanting to be positive.

    I try to provide well-balanced reviews for other tourists because I rely on TripAdvisor for booking hotels during the 10 weeks per year I travel to Europe. Our stay at Palac U Kocku was very disappointing and I won't stay there again primarily because of the way management handled the situation. But first the positive. The location is outstanding. You're right in the very heart of Prague and its energy. You can walk everywhere from here. There is a fun, good restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel, which is very convenient. The breakfast is outstanding with lots of options. Our room was spacious with an updated bathroom. We were greeted kindly upon entering. Those are all good things.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    8.3
    A great location in a beautiful part of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds have thin mattresses and we didn't end up feeling rested. If you are okay with thin or harder mattresses then this shouldn't matter to you.

    The location is amazing, right on the main pedestrian route between the Charles Bridge and the Old Town Square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    10
    Will look for the availability of this hotel, next time I visit to Prague
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...

    Everything.. The staff at the reception was a very gentleman. The breakfast was exceptionally good for me with a lot of choices. The room and the bathroom were very spacious and clean. It is located in the centre and very close to the famous bridge in Prague. The metro/bus stops were within 5-10 mins of walking distances.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    9.2
    Loved my stay here!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Other comments say there is alot of noise from the pub downstairs but its not from the pub it closes at 11:00. Its from the hotel accross the street. Having a fan helped reduce the noise.

    The staff was amazing. They were extremely friendly and nice they made me feel welcomed. The rooms are big and comfy. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    7.5
    Great location, poor shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    anyone over 5foot wont be able to stand in the shower and also all the good places to eat aren't in the city center (tourist traps) - but this is the trade off for being close to the city

    location was great to old town and new town + all major attractions/sites, we were allowed to check in early and staff were great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, it was all good

    There was nothing to dislike location breakfast facilities were first class we have stayed in several hotels in the city and this is the best

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were a bit too soft. Unfortunately we had to climb 2 flights of stairs with our suitcases. I have 4x 60+ elderly and it was a struggle for them to carry their suitcase up. And down.

    Very spacious and lots of room. Very close to old town. Excellent customer service. Bonus breakfast included

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic stay in Prague!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Really nice breakfast, friendly staff at the reception, clean and big room with very comfortable beds. And the location of the hotel is the best! A very good price for what you get. Really recommend this hotel!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    7.9
    Good and price worthy option
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift. I had to drag the suitcases to the 2nd floor The guy at the checkin counter was very unhelpful & rude(The lady at checkout was friendly)

    The bed was comforatble The room was modern/clean Location: Excellent Restaurant: The fat/cat brewery is very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    8.8
    Nice, with really minor remarks - dont hesitate to stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff at the reception desk was polite, but a bit confused. Guy at the breakfast on a first day was rude - when I asked him whether there will be more scrambled eggs soon, cause they were gone, he first had to check if I am telling the truth and then to tell me that they are coming. If you want taxi transportation ask reception clerk for a taxi and not hotel shuttle - they charged us 290 crowns for a ride worth 110 crowns in normal taxi.

    Absolutely perfect location - you are100m from Old-town square and 200m from Charles' bridge. clean room, decent breakfast, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast buffet was most similar to what you would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast buffet was most similar to what you would expect from a basic hotel - scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, baked beans, assortment of bread, jam, fruit, etc. Also the bar downstairs had pretty good food. Location was amazing, few minutes walk from the astronomical tower. Good for two females travelling by themselves.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place. Recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two tiny things to mention. 1) The internet offered by the hotel was slow and impossible to browse. But the restaurant together with the hotel also offers free internet which works from the room as well, and is stable and fast. 2) I had to leave at 5AM for my flight and hot water wasn't working at the time. Although I'm sure they'd have responded and fixed it quickly if I had made the call, I just did not have time.

    Wonderful place. Wonderful and helpful people at the reception and at the restaurant. The people are just so nice. Can't recommend this place enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    9.6
    Location, style and area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard to find street parking in the area as the hotel has no parking. Also there was a stron cleaning smell in the room when we got there.

    Location, style and area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.1
    I was staying in the third floor and there was no elevator.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was staying in the third floor and there was no elevator. Given the high cost per night I paid for the room, this is not acceptable. Secondly, despite the fact that the location is very good, during the night there was a lot of noise and I couldn't sleep at all. If the cost for accommodation was lower I would not have any issues about my accommodation, but when you pay a lot of money your expectations are high as well. In summary, the 'value for money' factor I believe is very low.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    8.8
    Overall, a good experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell of cheap detergent. I had to open several windows all evening, and during the night the smell came back. Also, the street was noisy until late, and sound insulation was poor.

    Room was huuuge, with sparse furniture. When I first entered, I thought that they had given me by mistake the key to the ballet room. Then, I saw the bed a the far end... There were no less than six huge windows. Modern bathroom with good shower. Good wi-fi signal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    4.2
    Not that great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were given a room on the top floor and there is no lift. The floors are not marked properly so we just had to find our was as the checkin staff did not offer any assistance. The room lock had a proplem as the key would get stuck in it and would not come out easily. The shower did not have a curtain and nor was their a glass cover so after the shower the whole floor was wet. Also no mirrors in the room. Plus this one was overpriced for what it is

    The location and it was clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel in the centre of the town with included breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Mirror needed in the room. Shower was too small for comfortable use.

    Very well located, only 5 mins walk to the Clock. Kettle with tea and coffee in the room, a nice touch. Plenty of room to hang and store clothes. Safe (no extra charge) in the wardrobe to store valuables. Comfortable large bed. 24 hour reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    10
    Overall perfect location, perfect service and perfect rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is kind of poor, but theirs a lot of restaurants near by because of the good location.

    Front desk workers were very help full and nice with explaning about the attraction on Prague and the room was lovely. Definitely coming back.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Palac U Kocku Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: