Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Zamek Zabreh This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

U Zamku 42/1, Ostrava, 700 30, Czech Republic

#4 of 45 hotels in Ostrava

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 541 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, friendly staff and fabulous food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Historic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we stayed in this time did not have a shower just hand held in a bath. Not a major issue, just a minor inconvenience.

    Lovely hotel, friendly staff and fabulous food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    9.2
    Super comfy bed and superb beer- restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super comfy bed and superb beer- restaurant! Please improve your breakfast, we have stayed there for several times and breakfast has been same all these years.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    7.9
    It was interesting to stay in a hotel decorated in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was old and needed replacing.

    It was interesting to stay in a hotel decorated in Renaissance style, with original furniture. Room was spacious, with a large bathroom. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Have to stay again!
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps the ability to make a cup of tea in the bedroom.

    Great breakfast served by very friendly staff. The beer has to be tasted to be believed, arrive early if you want to have a tipple in the sun soaked courtyard - it fills up very quickly. From previous visits, the food is always excellent with some excellent Czech dishes. And the staff speak English - I know because I taught some of them five years ago and they still work for the hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderfully atmospheric room, great food and beer, welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hunter room lacked easy chairs, although there was a table and chairs. Beside light only for one occupant. These are minor quibbles given its uniqueness

    Wonderfully atmospheric room, great food and beer, welcoming staff, good service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    9.6
    A perfext little gem in Ostarva.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Historic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The historic room is amazing, great bed and bath. Initially I thought the food was expensive but the portions were big and it was great. Staff were very efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    8.3
    Good place for relaxing during your trip in Ostrava
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Notwithstanding presence of the really good restaurant with its brewery, refrigerator for keeping drinks cooled would also be welcome in the room.

    Nice hotel with historical feeling, nice personnel and good restaurant surrounded by trees. Good parking for guests traveling by car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the only problem for me was the stairs to the attic, specially with the suitcase. Book rooms in lower parts of the hotel.

    Good value for your money, nice old chalet but with all the new facilities. You could also do spa with beer and vine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place, beautifully restored.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely place, beautifully restored. The staff are exceptionally friendly. Restaurant offers excellent food at good value. I chose an attic room this time, which is a little bit small. Next time i will go for a historic room. These are truly exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    10
    Beer shampoo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small window in the room (a bit claustrophobic).

    Beer shampoo. Quiet. Safe location. Historical building. Clean. Friendly staff. Great restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    7.1
    Location and rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not my first stay in Zabreh - and so far I liked. This time was first time in summer - unfortunately no air condition only fan - so if you are sensitive please be aware of it. This time for me it was really bad as my iPhone was stolen from the restaurant - staff helped me in searching for this but no cctv and my lost

    Location and rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    8.3
    Small castle with great beer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not suitable for those who does not enjoy staying in historical buildings (that is me!, but it was not that bad as in other castles). I was part of a group to stay here.

    Stylish hotel, real small castle with historic atmosphere. Rooms with wooden floor, old fashioned style furniture, but with everything one need - wardrobe, small table, good bathroom, very nice soap which you could buy at the reception (beer cosmetics). There is very nice restaurant downstairs to sit there especially during summer time on the terrace. It is worth to try local specialities, and especially beer produced at the property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    10
    Historical beauty with perfect service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Historic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, hard to find any... :)

    Everything was fine - as usual :) The historical atmosphere of the place is really unique, you will surely remember it ! And I was lucky enough to be there on Tuesday, the day of the week when there is live swing jazz music in the courtyard ... I really enjoyed it - of course next to a glass of locally brewed beer (well, the second one was with honey, don't miss it...)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    9.6
    We loved the stay! We are well traveled and we can recognise ***** accommodation. The Zamecek is one
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is more as an idea for the owner then some sort of unsotisfaction! We missed maybe the fridge and safe box in the room. All rooms are very beautiful and comfortable, just would be nice to have a bit more space for our stuff in the room and bathroom as well. And one more thing I would appreciate if matrices would be as double instead the two separated for the double bed. But I believe that this hotel has a lot of good things to offer to their guests anyhow! We were well sotisfied and will be back for sure again!

    We liked how the owner cleverly build the accommodation. Has been thinking of the details at every "bits and bobs". Great ideas! Amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    8.8
    We had an amazing time . Definitely recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would personally appreciate bathrobe in the room and little fridge would be nice.

    We loved the food and beer! Staff was attentive and professional.The bed was extremely comfy. We also went to the beer spa and we really enjoyed everything. We are definitely coming back:)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2016

    10
    Time travel to the medievals in Ostrava.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Historic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had some issues with lighting the fire in the camin... I should have asked for staff help.

    Everything was perfect, the room was fantastic, the surrounding really medieval. The staff wass very friendly and helpful. Do not miss the locally brewed beer!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.1
    Perfect breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sound isolation virtually nonexistent. Strong chemical smell in the room. Some noise from the wedding party

    Perfect breakfast. Nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place, nice room and the personal is very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice place, nice room and the personal is very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    5.8
    Admirable restaurant in the courtyard!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is located in the residential area - no sightseeing around.

    Admirable restaurant in the courtyard! Parking Overall spirit of the property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    A great place to stay in Ostrava
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Zamek was very charming, not a cookie cutter. The staff was wonderful and so helpful. The restaurant and breakfast were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.9
    Good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not my first stay but as always good enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    10
    Great place, own beer made in place, great restaurant,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place, own beer made in place, great restaurant, helful personnel, very nice rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    8.8
    Amazing experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb personnel, historical castle, great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    10
    Very lovely for honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No glass for wine

    African room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    9.2
    Definitely worth a shot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather unique decor of renaissance castle and excellent restaurant with its own microbrewery.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    8.8
    The restaurant is amasing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant is amasing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    10
    Excellent.. A+++++++++++
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No Fridge in the Room.

    The staff were amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    10
    Beautiful property to enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Historic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Its historical beauty

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast exceptional

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    10
    Clean room, good Internet access and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean room, good Internet access and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous place and extremely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous place and extremely friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2017

    7.5
    Very nice and big rooms with old furniture and fantastic...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Historic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and big rooms with old furniture and fantastic athmosphere. delicous beer from the own brewery

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2017

    10
    Very friendly personel, they offered me to park my car...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Very friendly personel, they offered me to park my car inside behind a gate to protect it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2016

    10
    great hotel with amazing restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    weak wifi (caused by strong walls)

    restaurant was amazing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2016

    10
    Really nice place, very friendly staff, anaizing food, beer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really nice place, very friendly staff, anaizing food, beer spa-the best thing i ever tried.. i can only recommend this place :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2016

    9.2
    Great place in Ostrava, close to city centre yet in a very quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Very helpful and attentive staff - Style and atmosphere - Facilities - Breakfast - Beer from local brewery

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2016

    9.6
    Very nice place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Very friendly employees. Nice room. Nice breakfast. And an excellent beer on the terrace.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2016

    7.5
    A place for beer fans
    • Family with older children
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice if restaurant would close a bit later, let's say 11 or even 12 pm

    Authentic and friendly ambient

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2016

    10
    Room was very clean, comfortable bed, good restaurant in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No airconditioning in the room.

    Room was very clean, comfortable bed, good restaurant in the castle.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    10
    Shall I prepare your bath with beer or wine?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic beer baths with great massage. Hotel very tastefully decorated with attention to details. Spacious comfortable rooms. Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2016

    9.6
    Fantastisch gut
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice Ambiente , perfect location,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    9.6
    cossy, small hotel with good decor and attention to detail. Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very good breakfast, good coffee, very clean and good quality shampoo

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2016

    9.2
    no aircondition in my room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no aircondition in my room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2016

    10
    Out of the city center, away from tension
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No refrigerator

    It felt nice living in a sort of castle resort. The rooms are furnished in that way and are functional.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2016

    10
    The apartment was fabulous, restaurant is highly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The apartment was fabulous, restaurant is highly recommendable and also beer spa is very nice experience. I consider the hotel one of the best in the Czech Rep.

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    10
    Very very tasty breakfast, very comfortable rooms (clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    prepare well the directions or navi to get easily to hotel

    Very very tasty breakfast, very comfortable rooms (clean, warm, everything like-new, beer bath gel in bathroom), perfect restaurant in the hotel with fresh and tasty meals and own-made good Czech beer

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2016

    7.9
    The best about the whole stay is the restaurant, real...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was disappointing, we were told it is served till 11, but at 9:30 there were only leftovers. Nobody would come to check, whether there is silverware available or clean the dirty dishes from the table. There is no elevator, if you choose attic rooms.

    The best about the whole stay is the restaurant, real gourmet experience! Cozy rustical rooms, own beer cosmetics available, good wifi. Liked the checkout time at noon.

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2015

    8.8
    The hotel itself was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    It's not fair of me to say the location is poor as I don't really know the area but I found it quite hard work to get to and from the hotel.

    The hotel itself was great. Great rooms, great staff, great food and really good beer! Would recommend to stay there if asked. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2015

    8.8
    I was a very special feeling to sleep there since a former...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I would appreciate if they had a fridge or something similar in the rooms so you can store food or drinks to keep it cold. I also missed a wine opener.

    I was a very special feeling to sleep there since a former castle was built there in the 16th century, although a modernization took place 1975. The resturant have outstanding food and most of the staff spoke understandable English at the the hotel and in the resturant.

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2015

    9.6
    Friendly hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lot of stairs, no elevator Staff of the hotel restaurant could be more responsive

    Friendly hotel staff Breakfast Pets allowed Location (chateau & brewery) in a quiet area Free parking

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2015

    10
    Very stylish place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very stylish place. Very well equipped. Very cordial and professional staff. A great place to stopover in the travel. Very good restaurant and pub in the castle.

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2016

    9.6
    Hotel is connected with great restaurant with private...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Hotel is connected with great restaurant with private brewery. Beer is really first class

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2016

    9.2
    Very nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice room. Friendly atmosphere, excellent food.

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2015

    10
    Different experience from other hotels
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Small range of breakfast

    Different experience from other hotels

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2015

    7.1
    climat of the hotel but in some places of hotel creapy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    climat of the hotel but in some places of hotel creapy.

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    9.6
    Great, huge and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Loud music late into the night because of a wedding in the same building.

    Great, huge and clean room. Super bathroom with tub and shower.

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2015

    8.8
    Good food and beer and a very friendly and helpful staff!
    • Group

    Good food and beer and a very friendly and helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2015

    10
    Lovely place, dark beer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I couldń´t find bread for breakfest, but finally I did not miss it

    Lovely place, dark beer

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2015

    7.9
    Very beautiful place to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one negative is that the place doesn't have air condition and summer in Czech Republic could be really hot.

    Very beautiful place to stay in.

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2015

    8.3
    Atypical place, which makes good impresion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was quite slow. There is nothing around you can see, just blocks.

    Atypical place, which makes good impresion. Nice old interior. Good food.

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2015

    10
    tasty breakfast, very clean, close to highway, good beer...
    • Family with older children

    extra bed for child was extremly uncomfortable

    tasty breakfast, very clean, close to highway, good beer made in the castle

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Zamek Zabreh Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: