Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Zatkuv dum 3 stars

Krajinska 41, České Budějovice, 370 01, Czech Republic

#20 of 29 hotels in České Budějovice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 289 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception closes at 10:00 pm to reopen at 7:00 (or 8:00) am. In between there is no way to contact them in case of an emergency; and we had an emergency. Breakfast was basic, coffee - horrible, undrinkable. On May 1st both reception and breakfast room opened at 8:00 without pre-warning, thus messing up our travel schedule.

    Clean spacious room as one would expect. Excellent location in historic part of town. On-site parking at fair price. A plus for the excellent meat dishes prepared by their restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    extra fee for cleaning the apartments was 70 Euro(!) - so the cost on booking is not exactly the whole prise - besides the owner told to us that we have to clean the kitchen and throw out the trash can; a little bit loud till 1 am.

    great location in heart of the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was noisy and we were kept awake by noise from the restaurant and bar below which went on until the early hours. Breakfast was limited and the room cramped, it felt a little like and afterthought and not a particularly welcoming place to eat. We were not told that parking was 4 Euros per night, although it was a private area gated overnight, ideal for our motorcycle security

    Friendly welcoming staff on arrival and departure

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small parking lot in the inner yard - there is space for ca. 7-8 cars. The interior of the rooms is a bit outdated and requires an upgrade. The beds were very uncomfortable to sleep in. It was quite hot in the rooms despite the weather being around a moderate 22-24C. Can't imagine what it's like with the temps over 30C as the supplied fans didn't help much. We slept with the windows open and there were some people outside making noise on the street at night which woke us up.

    I liked the size of the family room and the bathroom, they were really spacious. The stuff was very nice and friendly. It's an old historical building that has been converted to a hotel and it's in the very center of Ceske Budejovice ca. 200m from the main square.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely spacious room on the top floor, ideal for families with children. In hot weather, there is most likely very hot, but in cool weather - great. Helpful staff, nice Italian restaurant nearby. The old centre is very close, the hotel is convenient to reach from the train or bus station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I recommend this hotel to travellers who want to stay in a quiet hotel in the centre of Ceske Budejovice. The staff are really helpful. They helped us in anything we wanted. For example, when we arrived, we didn't find a hairdryer in the room. We asked for one and the receptionist was kind to get us one within an hour. They wrote a note about the bus timetable and the taxi telephone number, too. The nearest bus stop is about 5 minutes on foot and the bus takes you to the railway station and the bus station. (The name of the stop is "Nadrazi". It is the final stop, and for a return trip, you have to go to the same bus stop! We were looking for a bus stop opposite this one, but it occurred that the bus goes in a circle and you have to go to the same stop. It's actually a trolleybus. I'm writing this, because we had some difficulties in finding the stop, and my advice might help other travellers.) The hotel has its own pizzeria, so when we were too tired to go out after a long day we just sat there and asked for a pizza. It was delcious. The service was quick. And imagine: the walls are 60 cm thick! So it's pleasantly cool inside, even in hot weather. Although we travelled in July, we had to use a blanket, and it was a nice experice to get back to the hotel every day and escape from the heat! We had a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not ready, the lady walked in at the same time AS it was suposed to be ready and instead of being smiling and humble, she was checking Facebook & smoking. The breakfast it self could be much better.....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are allocated between flats of other local people, so you are sharing space with locals. Including their pets and kids. Rooms needs restoration. Bathroom is not like on presented pictures (It is worse).

    Nothing find

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The choice for breakfast could be better. The coffee is not very tasty, poor selection of teas, no real orange/or other fruit juice. From warm buffet only scrambled eggs available.

    The hotel is in a very good location. Very good value for money. Clean rooms, WiFi available and working properly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water at the shower did not flow well into the drainage since the hall was not at the lowest point.

    the room was very large. we arrived at 23:30 and they were still there for us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. We got more than we paid. Thanks :)

    Our triple room was actually small flat with 2 rooms (just w/o kitchen). Perfect location at the beginnig of pedestrian zone, easy to find by car, easy parking. Breakfast was in the same building in Pizzeria. Very nice waiter, always asked if would like scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be a little bit better but isn't bad as it is.

    Location of the hotel is very good, situated in a nice pedestrian street near the Old Town Square. Just across the hotel you find a supermarket. Rooms are quite basic however very comfortable and good for a short stay. Private parking in the yard of the hotel. WiFi worked properly. Overall quite pleased.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At breakfast, it was rather confusing whether the advertised "eggs with onions" were included or not, because they were not offered to me or a few other people. I had to go out of my way to ask for them, at which point they were however promptly prepared. But this is just a small detail.

    The room was clean, spacious, and quiet. The shower was clean with powerful water pressure. Receptionist staff was very friendly. Hotel location was convenient to the main square.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms with a double bed in each for two pairs, we asked the rooms to be one near the another. The receptionist did not speak English at all! She gave us the keys, each room was in a different entrance of the building. We told her we wanted rooms to be one near the other, and she showed with signs that currently there is no such option. Our room entrance was behind the building, it was dark and smelly place, right next to the back entrance of the pizzeria. The room was on the second floor near the stairs. All the smells from the pizzeria went up into the room. Inside were two single beds. We went back to the receptionist and showed her the picture we ordered a double bed. She gave us another room key and it was room next to the other couple (remind you-before there was no room next to them!) There were also two single beds. But we already given up on it. We woke up at 4 night because a stranger opened the door to our room with a key and went inside!!! He realized we woke up and went outside, locked the door. In the morning the second couple told the same thing happened to them! When we asked one of the workers what it was- she answered that maybe they checked which rooms ware available... WTF ?? At 4 am? It was an invasion of privacy!!! Additionally, the towels were torn, very old furniture. A small parking lot and hard to find the entrance to the hotel by car.

    Nothing!!!

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are bit cold.

    The location of the hotel is very very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, room very basic, heating was extremely hot, not enough bed sheets, no pillow, difficult to communicate with staff after 8 pm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY symbolic breakfast

    I got what i paid for

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather old, car park right next to two of the apartments

    Dedicated staff, location quite convenient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking area is small.

    The staff was super friendly and accommodating. They even sent us an email ahead of time to verify the rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dim light in the room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for 2 nigths/3 Days and the room was not clean at all during this time. Breakfast was horrible.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smoking in corridors Street noise from the "zahradka" Difficult access

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. No smoking area in the interior courtyard.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic breakfast,very hard bed,room too warm-no air conditioning

    Cental location,clean,spacious room,nice staff,parking,fair ratio quality/price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    weak foreign languages

    location, parking

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift First floor rooms open into parking area Must exit hotel to cross parking area to breakfast room in restaurant

    Quiet location and walk to bus and train stations

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The refrigerator sometimes was noisy.

    The location of the hotel is nice. It just takes a few minutes to the square. There are also several mini-markets and restaurants around the area. A cosy and lovely hotel.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Gid barking in neighbouring building all the time.

    Great location, great breakfast,great accommodations in the price range. Is you are a Hilton hotel kind of person you need to look for a Hilton.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The quite difficult stairs to climb till the 3rd floor. The convenient parking is in the courtyard but it is very small and it is quite difficult to park a large car.

    The kindness of the personnel. The location, less than 5 min walking from the main square. The charming side of the hotel located in a Middle-Age house. .

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tetris-like parking Twin beds instead of double Styleless interior

    Parking in private yard Large room

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: