Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grandhotel Zvon 4 stars

Nám. Přemysla Otakara II. 90/28, České Budějovice, 370 01, Czech Republic

#7 of 29 hotels in České Budějovice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2367 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    My room is enough wide to feel relaxing and happy to me...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room is located at 1 st floor back side of the buiding,so in the morning noises coming through the windows, I guess upper rooms are for the family so late at night they make noises.

    My room is enough wide to feel relaxing and happy to me bathtab equipped.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel in Ceske Bud
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one lift - was also very slow . Inadequate provision for hundreds of guests. Breakfast room rather noisy & crowded.

    Huge room , double bed , air conditioning (which was really needed) Nice cooked breakfast. 10-15 mins from station. Great location in centre of town looking out onto main square. Mini-bar/fridge was useful . No traffic noise ! Would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.5
    Spacious & quiet room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious & quiet room with very comfy bed. Nicely equipped bathroom. All the historical spots, shops, cafes & restaurants are in the surrendings of the hotel which is very convenient for travellers with short visit. Very nice buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    3.8
    Worse Soviet-style hotel since my times in the Soviet Union
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t even a table to sit for breakfast, which was so bad I had to eat a breakfast bar. The garage was blocked by a marathon on the square but hotel didn’t bother to advise us, although we had reserved a parking space. So we had to drag out suitcases for several blocs. All in all, a Soviet style place, pompous and lacking any charm. The only good thing is location, which is probably why they can afford to be so bad.

    This was one of the worst places we have stayed, and the most expensive of all hotels we stayed outside the capitals. It seems to cater to bus people so it doesn’t care about individual travelers like us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The location of the hotel is excellent---right on the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel is excellent---right on the main square in Ceske Budejovice. The single room which I had booked turned out to be a suite of rooms which were very quiet at night. The hotel has an excellent restaurant which I can 100% recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    If you look only for Room that's ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1-Breakfast is not good 2- Staff must be trained for at least good customer service, 3- Seems like the Hotel doesnt give any good level of customer support due to the fact that they have very busy program with the Asian people so Hotel is always fully booked and if one or two guests left the Hotel unhappy, no problem for them.

    Rooms are confortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was extremely good, but we would have appreciated tea and coffee-making facilities in the room.

    The room was large and extremely comfortable. We had an excellent view of the main square and the famous Town Hall. There was a bath, not just a shower. Breakfast was included and extremely good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay at marvellous location. Highly recommended for those who expect esthetic impressions :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath tube made floor wet every time. Shower cabin would solve the problem

    Location!!!, large room, clean, comfortable. fine breakfast, garage (new experience included)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a challenge to figure out when breakfast was served. Clean towels every single day would have been nice instead of using the spare one and hoping the next morning they would bring you fresh ones even though in the end it worked out fine

    Good clean rooms, nice restaurant with local prepared food. Bed was comfortable. Easy acces and a friendly night employee who was always opening the doors for me at the most uncommon hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Priorities of employees is need to be guests pleasure not wory. Thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They extra charge cleaning of the room in ampunt of 10 eur. Rooms was not clean enought, carpet was dirty from shoes, walls are full of spiders

    Location and size of room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Very pleasant apart from the stalker, more security needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a man who has obviously marked tourists who was hanging around. Hotel staff were not interested when I told them bt it seems upon further investigation he has been doing this for a few days.

    The hotel is situated in the middle of the main square and surrounded by shops and eating houses. It is easy to get toCeske Krumlove by bus. Hairdressers and massage parlours, nail bars are available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Clean, perfect location in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms didn't have a cosy feel like in photos. But I would say it was absolutly OK for the reduced price the hotel was offering that time.

    Clean, perfect location in the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Despite the cold weather it was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only a few liflets about the programmes. The town hall was not open. Only for groups and you have to book the tour in advance. the town shoul make the high season longer with cultural programmes. I liked the local museum.

    Location is very good. Cultiral, helpfull service, reception desk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    2.5
    Don't go there anymore, worst hotel I experienced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very unflexible and cheating. I will go to the city again, but will never book again with this hotel; Its the 1st time experienced so much unflexibility; This is nearly criminal and should be forbidden.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    3 nights in České Budějovice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast could be better

    Everything. All round excellence from the staff, the breakfast (except the coffee), cleanliness, WI-FI and facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Worth the money. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress is a bit too soft and squeaky. At mid-night you can hear the people talking in the square and other noise like washing machine working. So overall we could not sleep properly.

    Location is good. You can look at the main square through the windows. The room is quite big and with sofa. Bathroom is clean and spacious. Breakfast was very good and coffee was excellent. Overall a nice stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.8
    It is not 4* hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not 4* hotel. There is no lift to the room. Walls in rooms are dirty. No mineral water in rooms. However, staff in reception is nice and professional. Rooms are dispersed in several buildings conected in strange and difficult way, and far away from the reception - we did not feel safe. In fact, it is probably connection of several "hotels" of different level of service. Four years ago we slept in another room which was much more comortable and fullfill conditions of 4* hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice location, just in the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no free slippers and when we asked for it is not possible to get. Better to make pre reservation for a table in restaurant, located on the first flor.

    Nice location, just in the center. Parking places near the hotel but you have to be lucky to find a place and should use only coins to pay for it. Very comfortable mattress.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay, but not everything went smoothly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was comfortable, but no view of the square. The accessories in the bathroom were provided only for 1 person. Later upon request added. The reception lady should be more friendly (improvement needed). It is a shame that the service and premises do not live up to the expectations. The hotel has great location. Only some steps of improvement are necessary and hotel can be Grand.

    Great location, directly on the old town square. The location of this hotel is its biggest plus point. The buffet breakfast in the first-floor restaurant with a excellent view over the square was good. The restaurant in the first-floor is really nice (historical premises). The room was spacious. The price of the hotel was reasonable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rude and unfriendly staff at reception. We pay for a specific family room, for which Booking also offers a picture.They wanted to ride of us with statement that they no longer have this rooms. It was realy necessary to have a serious argument that they give us a room which we paid.

    location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Location was great the Delux rooms were great good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserved a Delux room but was assigned a Superior room which was not what we reserved .Delux room cost more it took booking .com to resolve the situation.

    Location was great the Delux rooms were great good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.8
    Right on the old town square
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not on the level of the hotel 2 out of 5. Should be absolutely improved. Wi-Fi connection. Always a problem .Extremely slow Wi-Fi

    Spotless clean Comfortable Stylish Right on the old town square Best location in town Very good price for rooms. Helpful reception staff Walking distance to main attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.2
    - Very big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Very big room - Good parking garage with quite many places (entry behing the hotel), suitable for normal sized cars - Good breakfast with fast service - Great location, in the city centre but still quiet rooms - Great value for money (atleast off season when the prices are down)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Excellent, I hope to come again and stay in the same hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of anything.

    There were no croissants. Pity. But otherwise the breakfast was excellent! Very nice and large rooms. Good service done. Pleasant receptionists.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    For one night it was okay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room on the top floor had only ceiling windows, so there was no view. The television kept coming on automatically every time the card was put in the power slot. A 250 ml bottle of water in the room cost €2.50. The gourmet restaurant was very expensive. The staff were somewhat cold and unfriendly.

    The hotel building was very old and historic, but was well preserved and maintained. The room was clean and well soundproofed. The breakfast buffet was basically ok, but no more.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    Best location in Budejovice, direct on the main square,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best location in Budejovice, direct on the main square, great restaurant with traditional Czech cuisine, the rooms are very spacious, clean and quiet, the parking cost 18 € per day, but is an experience, your car is lifted to the roof

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    It’s a historic hotel located extremely well location, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room deco a little bit simple and breakfast not have many choices

    It’s a historic hotel located extremely well location, staff are so friendly and kind

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Dispenses the charm of the 1990s
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very basic. Cigarette smoke smell in bathroom. Weatherboard and doorstop loose. No free short-stay parking possibility in front of hotel for check-in and check-out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is better to book the parking place.

    Amazing suit for a very good price. We were surprised. Huge bedroom, huge bathroom. Everything clean and cozy. Professional staff. Very good restaurant. Silent and safe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Poor value for money, even at the Booking.com 'discounted' rates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not allocated the room I had booked. Booked an apartment and on arrival was given a room with no kitchen. Complained and was re-allocated a room with a kitchen. Kitchen contained ZERO equipment - no kettle, no cups, no plates, no cutlery, no nothing. Complained again and was told that the hotel did not provide this. !?! Very Soviet approach to customer service.

    Recently redecorated and very clean room but ...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant hotel, very classy, excellent location, incredible value. PERFECT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely NOTHING was wrong !! Pity we were only scheduled to stay here for one night...

    The Grand Hotel Zvon was simply brilliant. Clearly this hotel has a long and great history dating back to the days of the "Grand Tour". With fresh modern decoration, very large rooms, smart bathrooms... Everything felt right, smart, effortless and classy. Maybe we booked out of season (September), but the price was astoundingly cheap! We cannot recommend this hotel enough, the best we had on our tour. This was our first time in the Czech Republic and we were a little concerned about language, no problem! Excellent English was spoken by the staff. Located on the main square, in the middle of the historic heart of Ceske Budejovice, I cannot see how the hotel could be better. We were touring on a road trip, so booked parking. The car parking was entirely secure, attended and located on upper floors, which accessed via a car lift.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Good tourist class in superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    PS to previous review. The hotel charged our credit card not in Czech crowns, as they should, but in our local currency. A dirty trick that some hotels and restaurants try, in order to increase their earning. Cost us about 10% extra.

    See previous review. Good tourist class hotel with superb location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Lovely accommodation in a lovely city with much to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred parking independently than the parking being lifted with an elevator off the ground. Yet, my car was accesible whenever needed.

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice comfortable and quiet rooms but extremely expensive parking and unfriendly (old fashioned) staf
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is very expensive and lady who helped me at reception desk was very unfriendly she could have fit excellent in past communist time

    Comfortable and quiet rooms with big bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    The fact that hotel is in the middle of the historic center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioner in the room did not work at all. The parking was problematic and expensive.

    The fact that hotel is in the middle of the historic center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Thus is my third Visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thus is my third Visit. I got all my wishes like having the room facing the square . The personal of the hotel is attentive and of high quality ( Reception, restaurant etc. ) Thank you sol

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in the center on the beautiful square. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean and very comfy! we liked there everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    High class, comfortable old style hotel perfectly renovated in wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furnitures in the room were new but not properly matching the old style of the Hotel. But that was just in some (not all) suites, like ours.

    Very fascinating building, just fronting the wonderful main square of the old city. Very high comfort level, spacious room, nice breakfast .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Good as Headquarters for Day Trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee.

    Location on the gorgeous square with view of the beautiful city hall. Very nice large room with a king and a single comfortable bed. Good bathroom. OK even during the heat wave. Breakfast OK but nothing special. Parking by elevator on the roof for about 18 Euro a night. Good as headquarters for day trips in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    The Check-In Procedure took nearly 30min because we were a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Check-In Procedure took nearly 30min because we were a Group of eight and everybody paid the room already upfront but only one Service desk was open.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay in a classic Grand Hotel in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a bit old-fashioned, especially our bathroom was stylish but dated. Two separate beds are the standard (more a business hotel I guess), even though I could book a double when making the reservation. Official list prices for the rooms are unreasonably high (~250 euro/night), but plenty of 'special offers' to bring that down.

    Great location and a beautiful exterior, it deserves the 'Grand Hotel' accolade. Rooms were large and clean and have a nice 'historic' feeling. Breakfast offered plenty of choice for a few nights' stay. We got a good price deal through Booking.com, compared to the official list prices

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    The location and how clean the hotel is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception and breakfast. Lady at reception was really slack and moody. Meant to be front of house not a great impression.

    The location and how clean the hotel is.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    The hotel looked over the main square and was like stepping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looked over the main square and was like stepping back in time. All the staff spoke English and were extremely helpful, there was a good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    great location, good experience overall with some flaws
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - no password protection for the Internet - the staff speaks only basic English - bad coffee at breakfast

    - excellent location in the main square of the town - ideal place if you spend a few days in Ceske Budejovice as a tourist. - The buildings (it spreads on three buildings, maybe more) are old but well maintained. We had a last floor room, it was spacious, with basic equipment, nothing important was missing. - Internet is free of charge, worked well - Parking is located in the back side of the block, on the roof, cars are raised with an elevator - a little odd but worked perfectly. - OK breakfast (excepting the coffee)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel IF you get rooms in the nicer section
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are several sections of the hotel - all served by separate elevator banks. My initial room was on the second floor of a wing that had no air conditioning, no rugs on the floors, and very sparse furnishings. When you opened the windows to allow in a breeze, you heard heavy traffic and pedestrian noises. I was seriously considering finding another hotel. However, when I asked the front desk for a better room, they very nicely obliged by putting me in a lovely quiet section in the front of the hotel. My room had a great view of the plaza, beautiful linens on the bed, nice furnishings, plush carpet and central air conditioning. I was not charged any additional money for this switch either. So just be sure you know what you're getting when you book your stay.

    Walking into this old hotel lobby is like stepping back in time to the 1950's. It is a lovely old building with several restaurants and services right on site and it is located in the heart of the historic town square of Cesky Budejovice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    An excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable and the decor was really lovely. It was lovely to find such character in an hotel. There was plenty of storage space and clothes hangers. The windows could open and there was air conditioning too which was good. Best of all was the location and the sound of the church bells. The hotel and my room was clean and fresh and was lovely to return to after a day out. The bathroom was very nice too with a decent bath to soak in. Good lighting, including bedside reading lights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.3
    Probably the best in town but that's it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard was below expectation. Fine for an inexpensive 3* but thats it. Noisy aircon runs at the same time as floor heating (not possible to turn off). Cleanness was ok but with room for improvement.

    Very well situated in the town center

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    2.9
    Two star maximum is our rating , long way to three stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrogant front desk and breakfest personnel . No cleenex , poor quality of towels size of for babes . Wor out bed . Dangerously slippery shower , not cleaned . Poor internet connection. Table night does not match the chair , no place for legs ... Bathroom door hit the towel storage , difficult acces ( see the photos. This rating comes from global traveler and Hilton Honnors Diamond member last 12 years and Millionaire miles frequent flier with Air Canada .

    nothing , only quietness

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.7
    Location is good, but not worth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - everything for breakfast was dried out: bacon, eggs, even pastry products. - the room looked poorly, the beds looked like they weren't done by a trained maid, but by someone who extended some sheets; like me. - furniture was poor quality, definitely not worth the original price booking was showing before applying discounts (13000 czk).. not even half of it.. - on their website the full price of a double room is 100 Eur, which approximates to 2600 czk. On booking it shows 13000 czk, which is ~500 Eur. Discounted 80+% it gets to 100 Eur. A bit tricky I'd say. And not worth the price. - no bathrobe or shoes to wear in the room and bathroom (we asked at the reception, they don't have those in the hotel) - the room size was ridiculously big, but empty. TV was 10m away, on a wall. - rooms are not soundproof. We could hear the person in the next room walking, coughing, etc. No soundproofing in the regular rooms. - this is maximum a 3* hotel. They might have 4* rooms, but they don't give them if you pay the "discounted" price from booking.

    - location is great, right in the old town square.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.8
    Very nice stay. We visited the historic town Ceske Krumlov. 20km.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the beautiful bathroom was leaking a lot of water on the floor.very Nice

    We had a Very large room on the topfloor. View on the beautiful square.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.3
    great location / bad wi-fi
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wi-fi coverage not the best, but luckly they had LAN cable in the room, which was great

    Great Location, quite cheap if you book with atleast 1 wk in advance, good food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    6.3
    GOOD..only.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast...very very limited...comparing other 4 star hotels I would even say POOR

    not so clean if You look in detail... I am expecting much more from the 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast lacked fresh fruit. On both mornings, there were a little bit of fruit salad (orange, apple & kiwi) left in a bowl when we arrived for breakfast. The quality of the meats and others were good though.

    SUPER location in the heart of the old town square, old picturesque hotel dating back to the 1500's and the old character has been beautifully retained. One feels a bit like Bohemian royalty staying in the 1500's grandeur :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    The Best in Budejovice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of some toileteries.

    This is the best hotel in Ceske Budejovice..It's centrally located..My room was big and had a magnificient view on the main square..Check in was fast and Pavlina was very helpful and smiling all the time..the breakfast was so good and diversified..Highly recommend!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    10
    Absolutely wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this occasion, we were happy with every aspect of our stay. We couldn't fault the hotel or the staff!

    Rooms were huge and very beautifully decorated. It was much more than I expected considering how reasonable the price per night was. The bathroom was wonderful with a huge bath and shower along with heated flooring! To top it off, the breakfast everyday had a vast range to choose from and the staff were friendly, helpful and extremely welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Forgotten passports delivered, unique room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Second time here. Wanted to come back. Spacious rooms. Spotless! We forgot our passports to room-safe and on our train trip to Prague the reception called us back and organized the passports to be collected from the airport. That was quite expensive of course, but they did the job! Interesting hotel and very good restaurants with it. We stayed in junior-suite and only outside the building we realized that we were placed to the tower of the building! Very unique!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.2
    The old lady is still vital!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking places. Not getting one could be problematic.

    The parking lift was a hoot! Reception was very good. Everyone was helpful and friendly. Large rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    5.4
    Great location but staff terrible
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like staff! Everybody so rude! Especially older woman at reception. She was talkin to me like i was her son or some family member! Receptionist shout never talk to customer like that! I am not a 10 years old boy! Staff in hotels bar was even worst! No smile at all. When i have asked for food recommendations, answer was I wouldn't eat here!!!! WTF???!!! Food was absolutely disgusting! Gulas soup was rotten, beef soup even worse. Hotel is nice but people dont eat in there!!

    Room was nice size with a view of the main square. Housekeeper was very friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    Best Value Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel, especially with this reasonable price, all of us like this hotel, and slept very well. Even the Wi-Fi is so good. And the breakfast all taste very delicious. The guy works for car parking is so kind and very nice person, also work hard.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.9
    Very dirty carpets in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ✗ Very dirty carpets in the room (full of dust) ✗ No heating in corridor (it was terribly cold) ✗ Poor breakfast ✗ The design of the hotel is strange. The building and the hotel is old but rooms are in mixed style (partially modern, partially old-school) ✗ WiFi upload (~1 Mbps)

    ✓ WiFi download (~10-25 Mbps) ✓ The best location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    The place to stay in Budejovice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had an incredible experience here. Nothing to object.

    Great location. Walking distance from the train station, most restaurants and Budvar, but you need a bus to the last if you can´t walk for more than 20 minutes. Our room was big, nice, spacious and so was the bathroom. Winter was very cold and we could stay at the place comfortably if we just didn´t feel like going out. Breakfast was decent, but for my experience it was not the best quality in the hotel. Price was very fair and I highly recommend Zvon. Cesky Krumlov is a great town, but I consider it a great option to stay in Ceske since they are very close to each other.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    9.6
    The location on the square was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was OK. A bit disappointed in the freshness of the bakery items. The restaurant in the lobby was all smoking. A bit of a shock, but the food was great. Parking is underground in a lift - our vehicle didn't fit - had to get up early to feed the meter.

    The location on the square was beautiful. The staff were friendly, but definite language barriers for English speakers. Our family roomed worked well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    Nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was given two single beds pushed together, when one double would have been nicer. However this was minor issue. Lift became too busy in the morning for breakfast making it hard to get downstairs.

    Beautiful building in good location. Rooms was comfortable, clean and perfect for the requests made when booking the rooms. Room service was good and enjoyed the cheese platter. Good quality buffet breakfast served with a variety of foods. Fresh juice served and nice coffee.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.3
    Not bad, just I expected more for the price/stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our family had 3 rooms, they booked for us 3 different places in the hotel, even different floors. Queen/King size beds are made of 2 small, separate beds. No heating in the corridors, stairs, lifts, only in the rooms. Quite good breakfast--for a 3star standard. No good coffee (espresso).

    Location. Private parking. Rooms are like new.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    6.7
    Quite nice stay - Parking should be a hotel's compliment!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Parking should believe be a compliment from the hotel - the reception and halls were smelly - there is NO luggage storage. The luggage are just kept next to the reception or left with the concierge (the room is quite stuffy and it does not feel secure - The cleaning lady did not come to the room during our stay - Double bed had two separated mattresses - The building is complicated to access to some rooms.

    - The location was great!! - Good breakfast - The room was nice but was not as the hotel's pictures.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Quality Hotel, Can't go wrong here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only point I could possibly say is that it would of been nicer to have a room that looked out on to the Square.

    Hotel location was great and easy to find. Right on the square where there was a Christmas market, lots going on selling drinks,sausage,sweets,toys and other Christmas stuff. Also an ice rink. The hotel room was huge and very comfortable, the parking was very cool. They have a car lift. On arrival we were directed to the rear of the hotel and drive straight into a huge lift. The car went up and opened out into a large car park inside the hotel. Staff here were very helpfull breakfast in the morning was very nice, lots to choose from on the menu. Deffo stay here again. Quality Hotel. Also special Thank you to the car park porter, he helped us and did not hurry us when we were with the children and baggage.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.6
    Superior Double Suite was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior Double Suite was excellent. Spacious and heated tiles made it homely and comfortable. We also got room service one day- quality food and great value for money. Convenient location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    Everything was simple wonderful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was simple wonderful. Very clean , very confortable. I would like to especially commend the cleaning lady . Really fantastic hotel . Thank you

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.1
    A Comfortable Hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could be a lot more extrovert and aggressive like in the hospitality industry. Since the reception is kind of hidden, a hospitality desk should be st up at the entrance to greet guests and guide them to the reception desk.

    Tha location and grandeur of the Hotel. Being a tradional property adds value.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was likely 'loft' at top floor. Personally I don't dislike this atomosphere. However, some wooden beams in the room block us and actually we hit our head on the diagonal beam in the dark.

    Breakfast was good. Parking garage inside of builiding was very reliable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.8
    Great breakfast, poor lighting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The light fixtures were really strange. I think they were trying to put a modern twist in the room, but they weren't at all practical. There was no reading lamp in the sitting area, just a tall column of light, that lit everything up, so that when my husband wanted to read early in the morning without waking me up, he moved the desk chair near the bathroom, and read there. :-( The lamps on the bedside tables weren't any better, and their ceramic bases had an uncovered screw in them which was scratching up the bedside table something fierce.

    We appreciated the roominess and sitting area of our Deluxe Double Room. Our friend's Superior Single Room was small and cozy. The view from the deluxe room was toward the square. Breakfast was really nice, with lots of choices, including fresh fruit, eggs and bacon. They had gluten free bread available for my husband, in fact, they gave him an entire package on both days. We had a wonderful meal in the bar-restaurant. Really great food at a moderate price.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.1
    Rate of Hotel is very good, unfortunatelly, cleanless caused that our sutisfaction wasn't completly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, we had found that bathroom was not cleaned at all (we asked personal to clean up, twice . .therefore still not cleaned in total. This shouldn't be happened in such hotel. We shared this with personnel of hotel.

    Room and Service was very good; expected for such Hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.8
    The hotel offers lots of services the interiors and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the waiters for the breakfast should welcome the guests at least with a Dobre Rano (good morning) and ideally smiling.

    The hotel offers lots of services the interiors and the rooms are very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    7.9
    Excellent location on the main square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I queried that the room I had been allocated did not match the one I booked the initial response from the receptionist was quite aggressive. They did find me another room but I was left feeling bad for asking for the room type I had booked! I suspect this is down to a mismatch between the room types on booking.com and the hotel's own system

    Excellent location on the main square. Secure rooftop car park.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    Stay in GRAND HOTEL ZVON
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    great location, underground garages awesome. extremely friendly staff. they upgraded us room and we were more than satisfied. thanks to Mrs. Jitka and definitely go back.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grandhotel Zvon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: