Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of a&o Hamburg Hammer Kirche This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hammer Landstr. 170, 20537 Hamburg, Germany

#313 of 340 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 326 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.3
    It was not very nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was shouting at us for opening a door by mistake.room was tiny with the smallest tv .no tea or coffee facilities in the room .

    The location was good close to twon central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    I have booked the hotel and got an email from the system...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have booked the hotel and got an email from the system that I could book a breakfast. Then I added the breakfast. But the hotel told me I've booked two rooms, one with and the other without breakfast. Then they realized it is the mistake between booking.com and the hotel. Maybe Booking.com should double check the ordering process.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.6
    Never live in this hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another receptionist probably from Turkey?(A young white lady): speak very loud; service is very bad; she should be fired , service is very bad

    A receptionist from Egypt is perfect service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    3.3
    Biggest rip-off of my life
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being on a business trip I had to book a hotel on really short notice. As the whole of Hamburg seemed to be completely booked out, I and a colleague had to pick this hotel. The guy at the reception warned that we had the last rooms in the hotel and they weren’t the nicest. Well, that was the understatement of the year. I got a smelly, grimy underground room, just a couple of square meters in size. I have seen nicer broom closets. The bathroom was tiny without ventilation, sitting on the toilet I had to put my feet in the shower and the wash basin was too small to shave in. There was no parking available, so we had to drive around fifteen minutes to find a spot several hundreds of meters away. The whole night people came in making a hell of a noise, which was clearly audible through the walls and doors. And that at the ridiculous price of 164.20 Euro, breakfast not included. Avoid at all costs. And about my fellow reviewers: If they give this dump more than four points, they are probably living in a cardboard box.

    The one and only positive thing about this place is that it is located between two metro stations where you can catch a train directly into the city center. But the area itself is less than attractive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.1
    A stay near a train station for easy access to Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could have a bigger lift.

    We liked the easy access from Hamburg train station. It had a blue lift in the car park which took us down to the local train service. We got off at the station called Hammer Kirche and we easily found this hotel. It was an A&O Hotel not as lovely as the one we had stayed in Berlin.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast price was way too high for the products we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast price was way too high for the products we received. Lidl shop nearby provided much better value for money. And one can get tea or coffee from the bar at the reception.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    2.5
    I don't recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is in a basement in front of the window a wall like a view and the lady from reception was not so kindly the treat was offul I am not recommend it price=quality =low

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Cheap, Simple and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On weekdays trains don't run after 22:00 and there is not much night life around the area of the hotel.

    Good location, 1 or 2 trains into the centre. Nice staff. Good curtains and shutters on the windows in the room. Cheap, simple and a good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.9
    good starf, the reception explained me the way to airport in detail
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the WLAN is really bad

    the hotel is near the Metro Station, and it is easy to take the subway to the hotel. There is a super market by the hotel, and only about 20 M behind the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    5.4
    Nothing special, but Ok for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing interesting in the local area. One of those places where you just need an affordable bed, but need to go into town for sights etc.

    Easy to get to city center with the train. Breakfast was good value for the money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.3
    An unbeatable value for a price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge, no tea kettle

    An unbeatable value for a given price, free public on-street parking, groceries store in 20 meters, excellent wifi, quiet room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    5.8
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were roaches in the apt and the some of the staff were very short and aburpt when asking for assistance but there was one guys that was very helpful and we really appreciated him.

    Location was great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.7
    Room was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To much noise from road

    Room was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    It was convenient, clean and what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was convenient, clean and what we needed. The staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    This is a costefective choice
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a costefective choice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.4
    Lidl around the corner and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very outdated and not so clean

    Lidl around the corner and convenient location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.0
    Parking on the street is a pain, the family rooms are small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking on the street is a pain, the family rooms are small

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    2.5
    Nothing the hotel is super bad and rooms are small
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper facilities, rooms are so small

    Nothing the hotel is super bad and rooms are small Only location is close to underground

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    3.3
    Not a Hotel... this is a Hostal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is more a hostel than a hotel. At £124 per night, absolutely unacceptable standard!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    7.9
    It is very near to two supermarkets and easy to access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We booked as a group of 4 ppl but they did bed making for only two. They made us to do the rest :( :( :(

    It is very near to two supermarkets and easy to access to the city center. Safe neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    3.8
    It was possible to get rooms, later we found out why
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Turned out to be freightfull for the children, bunkbed was placed towards windows with no safety on the rear, and our five year old felt down hurting it self seriously on the radiator

    It was possible to get rooms, later we found out why

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    7.1
    The TV in the room has many free programs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleanliness could be better.

    The TV in the room has many free programs.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    5.0
    I had a bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a bed

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    4.2
    personel was Nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is very Dirty Toalet nit clean and not Nice smell

    personel was Nice and helpful

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    7.0
    breakfasst
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no response to my complaint of no bed made and no clean towels

    breakfasst

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    5.4
    Staf is rood.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Staf is rood.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    7.9
    Didn't make sense that they wrote that they had parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Didn't make sense that they wrote that they had parking but you had note it when ordering, which wasn't mentioned. Only had 4 parking places.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse a&o Hamburg Hammer Kirche traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: