Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of a&o Düsseldorf Hauptbahnhof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Corneliusstr. 9, Karlstadt, 40215 Düsseldorf, Germany

#159 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1553 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and clean, with helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit difficult to find on foot and in the rain.

    The bed was very comfortable, and it was great to discover some books to read in the lounge/reception area to keep me busy on a rainy afternoon. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Clean and cozy room with astonishing whole-wall windows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, I think nothing was wrong with the hotel or the certain room. It is not far from train station and easy to find. Receptionist was nice. We checked in on Sunday, so we could not find an open shop, but we could buy some beverages and sanwitches on reception. Room was pretty clean, there were no issues with bathroom, wi-fi was fair. Windows are just as large as they seem on photo, so one can fall in love in them. Moreover, it is very cheap variant to stay few nights in Dusseldorf.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby area could have been prettier.

    We enjoyed the location and the size of our room. The toilet was separated from the bathroom, which was also very convenient. The check out process was easy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Clean, comfortable premise for a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charging for bed sheets without being previously informed felt a bit like robbery. One day we would be charged for the key to open the door, as it won't be included in the price of the room :)

    Clean, comfortable premise for a hostel. Good location, very well connected to the rest of the city. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.0
    Location was central to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was like a prison cell Noisy at night from party in another room Car park was expensive 12 euro a night, very narrow entrance

    Location was central to town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Highly recommend brilliant understanding staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy on weekends with big groups of drunk lads which put our children off of playing in games area but can’t be helped wen it’s an open bar to public also

    The hospitality was fantastic the staff all went out of there way to make us as comfortable as possible and went above and beyond helping our family in a crisis, we had our passports stolen and had nowhere to stay and they gave us a roof over our head for the night and helped every way possible including advice and keeping our luggage safe all day while we went to police and British consulate. Fantastic team

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.0
    Room is bigger than normal hostel in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not fair to ask the bad sheet fee when you've booked online, especially when you are price sensitive. Of course i am price sensitive, or I will book 4-star or 5-star hotel instead. Besides, my room is quite near the inside bar and other lobby, it is noisy after 12 in the midnight. It is not good for sleeping. Not recommend anymore.

    Room is bigger than normal hostel in the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    If I have the chance to visit Dusseldorf again, a&o would be my first choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The provided liquid soap in the bathroom was not particularly ergonomic.

    Good location, kind and helpful staff, reasonable size room, hairdryer in the bathroom, two lifts, strong wi-fi signal. The breakfast was more than worthy for the price. The lobby area is great, and there is a lot to be done during rainy days.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    Normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean as I expected. The structure is a bit old, it's just a place to sleep in my opinion. The one in Frankfurt was better.

    Close to the center and the main station. Very big and cheap.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Helpful and friendly staff, in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fans could have been provided, as it was over 30 degrees Celsius during our stay and the room was extremely hot.

    Helpful and friendly staff, in an excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Location, cleanliness, there's a little bar on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot in the room - travelled at the height of summer, couldn't open the window enough to gain the benefits of the cooler night air.

    Location, cleanliness, there's a little bar on site.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location, more like a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything like linen, towel cost extra. there is the best breakfast for 7 Euro if you want to spend that, but coffee or tea also cost extra in the bar lounge and is not cheap. Should be free.

    Good location, more like a hotel. was lucky to be in a room with comfortable seats, chairs, tables and 2 toilets and 1 shower room with 2 showers. Showers closed properly, standard operation without flooding floor also due to extra towel mat. Reading nook in big classy bar lounge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location but over priced for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Besides no Air Con, the hostel is quite expensive and charges for everything, including bed sheets! (This is the first time I had to pay for bed sheets and pillow cover). There was no free water dispenser, no tea, no coffee, no food. And no one at reception in morning to call me a taxi (no taxi stand near hostel), even though the hostel is open 24 hours/day. I was running late and finally had to walk all the way to train station (15 minutes) to get a taxi to the airport. This was my first stay in dusseldorf so perhaps this is typical, but it's not typical in other cities I've staid at.

    Large hostel located about 15 walk from main train station (about 15 drive from airport). Room was large but there was no fan or air conditioner so room was extremely hot at night even with Windows open. Bathrooms were clean and ensuite. Large lockers, but have to bring own lock.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure it was mentioned that you need to pay extra for the bedsheets and towels

    It was a really nice place, amazingly friendly staff, comfy bed and great facilities. They were showing the world cup in the bar area which was great! I was grateful that I could leave my bag in the storage room for a day when I arrived before the check in was available (arrived at 10, check in at 3pm)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    DUSSELDORF trip
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very hot but to be fair it was a very hot few days that we stayed there.And as we had to have the windows open the road outside was very noisy

    Clean tidy helpful members of staff and close to the station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    The guy in the reception sold us three bottles of cold water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guy in the reception sold us three bottles of cold water the evening-night we arrived (2.50 € per bottle, pricey for a hostel...) and told us to take them back there to get back 50 cents deposit. The next morning there was a different person in the reception who did not accept our bottles and said we did not buy them because they sell a different brand (what?) and she was quite unpleasant and a bit rude to us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice place to just crush for the night, awesome staff though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - My room was way too hot - Had to pay 5 euros for pillowcases and bed sheets because they weren't included in the price (Warning!) Did not mention that I would have to pay 5 euros for pillowcases and bed sheets.

    - Location - Awesome staff - Close by restaurants and supermarket - Wifi was very fast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Cheap and cheerful, good for a stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building/decor is a bit outdated, breakfast overpriced, and the ventilation in the bathroom (in single room) was really noisy which kept me up at night.

    Convenient location (approx. 15-minute walk from Düsseldorf HBF - also felt safe walking there alone at night as it is a busy, well-lit area), clean and comfortable, good for a stopover.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    2.9
    Do not come here i repeat do not come
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that there was rule to sleep or keep silence after 22:00 till 6:00. There was some idiots making noise in the room and i went to staff. First they said security guard will come and resolve the problem. And at the 00:00 i went again then receptionist said it is friday so we can not do this and then i asked them to change the room and they again charge me double for this. They took advantage from my weakness. They shouldn’t write rules when they didn’t follow this :( This is shame and I strongly don’t recommend this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    It was a good hotel with specious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 6-bed room was in basement which had no windows there.

    It was a good hotel with specious rooms. Location is also good which is 10m distance to Hauptbahnhof by walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Great value, for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing with 5 males meant the bathroom was dirty, the room smelled horrid with them burping and farting all night. My bed had someone’s towel dumped on it and the light wouldn’t switch off.

    Great value for money, friendly staff, luggage store room, ground floor option, 24hour reception and bar area 👍. It was an emergency night so only stayed 5 hours overnight between train arrival and flight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Okayish
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was travelling alone and I was placed in a bed with two men which was pretty embarrassing at first. That's the only bad thing. I would have preferred to be placed in a room with a family or mixed.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    A good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The bathroom smelled awful. - The TV screen is barely visible (too small)

    - The hotel is just a min. from the nearest Bus stop "Luiesienstr." - The check-out is really fast, you just put your room cards in a box - Spacious room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.8
    Ok to sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The common spaces are very "hostel". And the smell of tabacco at the entrance is not nice and doesn't give a good image.

    The room was clean and Ok to sleep. Warm athmosphere as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Hairs clogging showerdrain, rooms too hot, not enough power...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs clogging showerdrain, rooms too hot, not enough power outlets, especially for top bunks, no one cleaned anything in the 3 days I was there and the bathroom realky needed cleaning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Very functional and clean hotel. Busy with groups staying at the hotel. Would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have benefited from a fridge and a safe. Plenty of room for both in the room. My Sister had a room facing the main road and it was not as quiet as my room. My brother had an issue with a member of the bar staff who was rude and slightly aggressive over not giving the correct change. Then made a further comment to my brother when he went back to the bar. Most of the staff were nice though.

    It was clean and functional. Had a room facing the back it was quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.9
    Good quality stay for a low price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could be more soundproof as we could here the neighbors.

    Clean room with huge windows. Lots of natural light. Good heating system which needs to be turn on as preferred. The shower is small but there were no problems with the water drain (as it happened in several other places). There is a tram station in front of the hotel. The is a supermarket is at 5 min walk. Central Station is about 10 min walk. The personnel is nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    Perfect sunset and a very good heating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The maid doesn't know English at all. It wasn't possible to communicate with her so we stayed without her services at the end...

    Perfect sunset and a very good heating!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.5
    Great price for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walking distance from the Hbf

    In relation to the price I had to pay (less than 50 euro's, breakfast included) it was a great deal. I only slept in my hotel room and took a quick shower, the breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    It was a great place to stay for a couple of days. The staff were wonderful ñ.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room wasn’t great but due to the location being great that didn’t matter so much.

    I happened to get food poisoning from a restaurant and the staff were excellent in getting me another blanket, asking if I wanted tea and even if I needed help putting the cover on the bed. It made me smile while not feeling great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    Good for young ppl.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast is always the same, every day.

    Hotel is almost in the center of the city. Rooms are small but clean. Walls are a bit thin but thankfully our neighbor was quite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.0
    Bad to traveler except GERMAN!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn't have hospitality to the Asian and the room details wasn't clear enough as well that I didn't sure I live in a whole male room(I'm a female),just know that it is a mix room maybe.that's quite embarrassing for only a solo traveler who is an opposite sex.

    Clean bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.1
    Good relation cost/benefit
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleannless of the hotel is below expected and below level that I saw few years ago. Especially I was unsatisfied with cleannless of the towels.

    Locataion of this AO is excellent. City center! Good relation cost/benefit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.1
    Overall a decent stay, location means a lot.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Thin walls and doors, gets very loud from hall and other rooms some nights. Poor breakfast choice.

    Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Free wifi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    4.2
    too bad i did not choose another ....unhappy with the description in booking com which i found misle
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a combination of hotel and hostel is only possible if everyone respects the other unfortunately young clients of hostel is unacceptable .no manager available to comment young gilrsinnearly 20s in reception -sell items form mini market-serve beers and coffee unable to really be an authority despite effort. Price for breakfast no match for it and cleaning your own table for 100 euro per night is stupid...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.1
    Would stay here again, but not more than a few nights unless a couple of good English TV channels
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The rooms were clean, but we felt the housekeeping staff needed some training or motivation. We stayed for 11 nights for Boot Messe show and the biggest single change this hotel can make is to have more than just 1 English speaking channel. Bloomberg business channel needs to go and perhaps a real WORLD news channel like Al Jazeera, and at least 1 English speaking movie channel or English speaking National Geographic! It can't be that hard and we would have rated the hotel higher with this very small change.

    This hotel is good value for money and positioned well to get around just about anywhere. The breakfast for 7 Euro was reasonable and fresh, but a Cappuccino machine would have been a bonus. Staff were very helpful and the hotel has a nice relaxed friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.2
    Good hand soap, body&chair soap.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, old, smelly carpets, no changing of bed linen or towels in 10 days, cleaning the room only twice in 10 days, bad sound isolation, bad elevators, etc. Do not stay unless you absolutely have to.

    Good hand soap, body&chair soap.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Gucci wan time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner, bed sheets could have been prior to us staying. Paying for a service whereby bedsheets are not done is rough as toast

    Value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.1
    Clean room, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel hosted a group of teenagers who were very noisy until late at night. Corridor and elevators were old required renovation.

    The room was clean and large. Staff helped to print the flights tickets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.8
    Location is great and reasonable prices.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2nd floor was particularly noisy and it was almost impossible to have a good sleep. Be careful with school tours accommodating in the facility as they go wild at night. Apparently its not management concern to keep silence.

    Location is great and reasonable prices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.0
    Close enough to the U bahn station, and the Altstadt.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunatelly the room at the first days was rather cold- due to the fact that my visit was in January was not pleasant at all. Poor WiFi, almost no connection. And last but not least, although the room was more or less clean- under the bed there was a dirty party.

    Close enough to the U bahn station, and the Altstadt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    Located in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was too expensive. Check out is at 10 in the morning which is pretty inconvenient.

    Located in the city centre. Good value for money. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is very far from the central station. A staff was a little rude somehow with regards to the coffee. Free towel, soap, shampoo! It's easy to get into the room. Toilet and bath was excellent.

    Very spacious room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    Amazing city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusseldorf is an amazing residential city of Germany. The river front skyscrapers and vibrant bakeries make the city a wonderful place to stay. Everybody smiles at you and are very accepting. Everybody minds their own business.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    ok
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating was just just....could be warmer in the room. Ventilation in the bathroom was too noisy.

    Extremely fast check in, friendly staff. It's more a hotel for young travellers I guess with young staff, cafe and bar on the ground floor... Room is correct, clean and confortable bed. For the price is was very correct. I got a room on the last floor which i can only recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.3
    !!! Additional pay for linen!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Additional pay for linen. It should be noted on the website. I feel uncomfortable to be charged additional fee without advanced information.

    Room is very big.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    1) The staff was helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was too hot for me inside.

    1) The staff was helpful and polite. 2) The property is located close to the central station and not far from the historical center of Duesseldorf.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfy, clean, safe, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed for one night. Just there to check out the Christmas markets. Check-in was easy and the staff (24 hours reception and food-drink) were very hospitable. Really a comfortable vibe. Place was clean, shower and WC were in the dorm room, not down the hall which was a nice touch. Rooms were nice and warm (this is December). Floors (my pet peeve) also nice and clean, even under the bunks. Location is good, by a Ubahn and an Aldi not too far away. 35 minute walk to the glass museum if you are so inclined.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.1
    The price for the 2 nights wasn't very low but it was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had already payed on booking. But the staff was going to make me pay again! Then I explained that I already payed, they checked better and they saw that I was right... but That's unforgivable, someone else could really pay twice!

    The price for the 2 nights wasn't very low but it was the cheapest I found in dusseldorf. Matress with rubber cover guaratee (I guess) no bedbugs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    it 's a valuable hotel/hostel and clean, it has good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small tv, without security box in room, be very cold room

    it 's a valuable hotel/hostel and clean, it has good facilities such as snack bar24, automatic money machine, snocker,... . strength wifi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is not comfatable at all, speqcially if yr room was located on the main street, u hardly could be able to sleep, the noise of cars in the street last long over the night... There was a very loud voice of music coming throw the room beside me. No phones inside room!!! Which mean i have to go downstairs to go to thrreciption, when i need anything!!

    Location Very clean place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.4
    There was a lot of noise in the hotel and on the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a lot of noise in the hotel and on the street. And the name of the hotel sounds like it's really close to the hauptbahnhof, but actually it is a 20 minutes walk from there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.1
    Good variant for one-night staying, cheapest and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no double bed, there are two mattresses in fact and it is no comfortable. All facilities are old but functioning.

    Good variant for one-night staying, cheapest and good located.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    Only stayed there for a night, all right stay, but I'm not sure I'd stay for a long period of time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hostel is not that close to the main station as you'd think, looking at the name.( still about 2 km away) It's bigger than most hostels I'm used to visiting, not really giving it a cozy atmosphere, which I'd look for when staying longer. Didn't have breakfast there, because I feel 7euro is expensive for breakfast, when you can get it elsewhere for 5 euro on the go.

    My 6 bed mixed dormroom was very spacious; big plus compared to what I've seen compared to other hostels in the world! The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    GREAT LOCATION & GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY FOR ECONOMIC STAY
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    PREFER IF DORM ROOMS ARE PROVIDED WITH AN INDIVIDUAL LIGHT ON EACH BED SO OTHERS ARE NOT DISTURBED

    VERY FRIENDLY STAFF.GUIDED TO NEARBY CITY SIGHTSEEING ATTRACTIONS POST MEDICA 2017 DAYS.AWESOME BREAKFAST & LOVED THE FOOD SERVED.GREAT BAR LOUNGE & GOOD READING PLACE TOO.LIKED THE OVERALL AMBIENCE.WILL BE STAYING AGAIN NEXT YEAR DURING MEDICA 2017 & WILL MAKE BOOKINGS SOON.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    Hostel is located in a walking distance from the Altstadt,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not homelike at all. Will not suit for choosy tourists.

    Hostel is located in a walking distance from the Altstadt, not far from the railway station. Room for 6 persons is very spacious! Clean shower and WC.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.8
    Good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No separate room for women and men. A guest is so impolite. He set alarm at 6 am and kept that until 8. It is a nightmare. Another guest is so stinky.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    this is a good place with good rates to stay in the middle of the city, with nice restaurants around
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast selection was ok, but didn't change from day to day

    we stayed at the private twin rooms, and though this is partially a hostel, it didn't feel like a place for backpackers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.3
    Clean tidy but not good value
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a hostel style room with bunk beds and noisy and uncomfortable- perhaps my fault for not really checking the details before booking. Left it late to book as needed room for medica exhibition - could have stayed somewhere a lot nicer for less if I had widened search

    Staff were nice and helpful Room was super clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Good location, free wifi, accomodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I emailed them around 3-4x via booking.com to ask directions how to go to the hotel but didn't get any reply. don't like bunk beds.

    We arrived early and requested for an early check-in and the receptionist gave us our room early, about 10min walk from the S underground station, restaurants downstairs are near by, good wifi internet connection, reception is 24hrs. About 10 min walk going to the famous shopping street Konigsalle.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    The staff was very helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable. I’ve never seen a mattres as thin as this one. There was a man at breakfast who kept talking to himself which was a bit creepy

    The staff was very helpfull. Location, location, location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    4.2
    There's a weird guy in the sharing room who is either...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a weird guy in the sharing room who is either talking to himself all the time or on the phone in the middle of night... we called the reception, he came and found out that the guy speaks French and he can't. So he said he is gonna to find a person who can translate. But in the end he didn't come back at all.... The whole night was so annoying..... we couldn't really sleep. I'm a girl in a sharing room only with all guys and there's a crazy guy. How scaring it is! I would never come again....also, the shower even have no locker and only glasses which you can see through, I think no girl would want to take a shower inside... even thought the door outside you can lock, but I also had to consider if other people want to use shower or sink and so on....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.0
    Not enough staff to cope.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough staff on front desk meant that people had a long wait to check in. Very basic accommodation for the price, but I did stay at a busy time.

    Room was clean & tidy if rather basic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable, good attention and a great price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although the room is cleaned every day, it could be cleaned better.

    Very comfortable, good attention and a great price. A perfect place to meet new travelers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it was fine...but for 110.00...I think some type of breakfast should have been provided

    Staff was good, but not resourceful...unable to help with locating rental for car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Good location and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room are very simple but clean and you have everything you need they provide very nice breakfast, lot of choices hotel is located close to train staion Staff is super helpful and friendly. They gave us some tip what to visit and where to go. We really enjoyed our stay and if we ever go back to Dusseldorf we will for sure book this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Decent place to stay. Great for a short budget trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the beds are not positioned near power sockets, if that's important for you.

    Nice, convenient place to stay. The WiFi is good and fast, and the lounge is nice and spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff, reasonably priced with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it.

    Staff were excellent and price was reasonable. There were 11 of us travelling to Düsseldorf for the football (at Dortmund) and the pubs. Location was excellent for both Altstadt and the HBF.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.8
    It's a low-budget place and great for that, but not located near main train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is called "A&O Hauptbahnhof", but it's not even close to the Hauptbahnhof (18min walk. 10 min or 14 Euro ride with a cab). I had meetings to attend in Cologne and this pretty much killed my plans b/c it was too far away from the main train station in Duesseldorf. I stay in hotels 2-3 nights a week for business all over Germany and this naming of the hotel is just wrong. It's conference season and I know every hotel is doubling prices, but this hotel should at least be honest and tell people that it's not even close to Hauptbahnhof. Plenty of other conference attendees and guests of this place were disappointed as well. Esp. giving the high price for a hostel/hotel.

    Easy to check-out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    It was very inexpensive.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central city location meant for street and traffic noise. The room was very basic in terms of facilities, fairy small and rather cramped and airless. It's inexpensive and the price reflects the standard provided.

    It was very inexpensive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    The room and the bathroom were clean;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists were really rude. When I came, they spent several minutes deciding who's going to check me in. Every question was met with weird irritation and annoyment. I dont know what happened to those ladies before I arrived but the man, that was repairing smth in the hall, was way more friendly and helpfull. Moreover, although the room overall was clean, the matress on the bed had very disguisting spots and stains on it. Bed sheets are not included in the price. Windows of several rooms look out to the inner yard, so if you are as "lucky" as me, you are going to listen to the songs of your overdrunk neighbours all night long... So, making the story short - not going to stay there or in any of the A&O hostels again

    The room and the bathroom were clean; wi-fi worked pretty well

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.1
    overall enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No common kitchen,no hot water machine,Not close to supermarket, no social networking event,no free access of the public washroom after check out.charged bedliner

    the hairdryer ,the good quality of toliet paper ,clean washroom , sitting space and table,free loackers

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    The bed was comfortable, breakfast was nice, the bar prices...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was so hot in the room, even with the windows open, and curtains closed it needs some ceiling fans or something for the hot weather.

    The bed was comfortable, breakfast was nice, the bar prices were reasonable in line with the surrounding bars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They tried to charge me for the bed sheets, but at the end gave them to me for free

    The room and bathroom were good, and I got one all to myself. The staff was very nice and the area in the reception is inviting and confortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Big, affordable hostel very close to the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    By mistake, they didn't give me a sheet for the bed, that you are suppose to make by yourself

    Very Central Hostel, close to the Central Station and the river.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse a&o Düsseldorf Hauptbahnhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: