Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of a&o Dresden Hauptbahnhof 2 stars

Strehlener Str. 10, Südvorstadt, 01069 Dresden, Germany

#101 of 106 hotels in Dresden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1926 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    extremely hot room, you can't fully open the window on the ground floor. What's even worse is that they set up a few tables and benches directly under the window. People WILL be talking laughing and shouting until 2 o'clock in the evening.

    nice location, very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bunk beds the rubber cover on mattress got very hot/sticky.

    Excellent Breakfast. Sky Bar really nice. Sadly closed for private party on Saturday. Toilet and shower separate...plenty of space in room of 4.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests were noisy all night. Rooms were not soundproof.

    Near the main station. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast buffet was fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the room was a bit overpriced for this kind of simple hotel with almost no amenities and no breakfast included

    The room was comfortable for a family of 4, but it was not big

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit far from the city center but still walk-able, noting much in the neighbourhood, and they charge too much for the bottled water

    spacious rooms with ensuite bathroom and shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound isolation. It is possible to hear for a room everything happening on the corridor.

    Great location. Main train station and city center easily reachable by foot. Sky bar on the top floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow or blankets with stains (looked like bloodstains) should probably be replaced

    Friendly staff. Maybe its better to have registered the price that includes the 3.5 euros for sheets and city tax, rather than disclosing no information about it on the hostel information, because even with the extra charges the place is quite decent and cheap compared to other places in the town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedsheets are charged extra.

    Great location within 5-minute walk from the main train station. It's not a flawless clean place, but nonetheless clean enough. Recommended for budget tourists.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the mattress was horrible, felt like you sleep in a one big hole. Also the sheets were with holes... - the noise isolation in rooms is very bad, actually there is no isolation... Every time someone was speaking in the hallway, I could hear every single word. Also the doors are not closing smoothly, but with a huge smash sound, what really disturbs if you are trying to sleep... I was unlucky to be on the same floor with high-school kids, so it was the worse night Ive had. -I stayed in single room and it was quite expensive for what Ive got. I definitely do not recommend this place as a hotel.

    The stuff was very nice and helpful, no complaints about that. Also everything was clean - the room and the shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets cost an extra €3.50! Hostel is far from the city center. They don’t have bed numbers, it is confusing to go into a room where all the beds still have used sheets on them and figure out which one is empty.

    Great view from rooftop, close to main station. Really nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    City center is 20 minutes by foot, but there is public transportation really close.

    The place is big, nice and clean, we got a private room for 4 people, and it was quite comfortable. Personal was always nice. Parking space just in front of the building, close to main train station. Good breakfast. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sheets is too expensive, and the location is not near by main attractions, it has too less sockets in room, and locker too small.

    The room is clean, the location is near by train station, the clerk is kind, and bathroom also is clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was further from city center than expected, staff were okay but could not recommend to others where to go in the city.

    Close to the main station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6 Bed Room - Hostel
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed linen is not included in the price that's not mentioned anywhere in the hostel info on booking.com, so we had unexpected expenses. There are not too many power sockets. It's a good idea to have electrical splitter to have possibility to charge your gadgets.

    hostel located close to the historical center of the city. There is available free public parking aside the building. Reception works 24/7 - that's good if you arrive late.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am well over 50 and found the foam bed, adequate enough. Older tourists may find the bed too basic, breakfast too noisy, and not city centre enough, and may prefer coffee in room etc.

    when the only failing is a very basic bed, this was an exceptional value place. I cannot rate the hostel side, but my room up on floor 5 was : clean, large enough for a case and me; also very warm (it snowed and was almost zero during my stay); the shower/WC was clean and excellent. Avoid first rush at breakfast as yes the school-age groups are evident, but they are also visitors to Dresden so be cheerful. Good range of basic food for 7 E. Location is 400 m from Hauptbahnhof, a short walk to station and city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen cost 7 euros per bed! And it was indicated neither in my booking nor on the property's website, so it was quite an unpleasant surprise...

    The hostel is quite clean and comfortable. The bed was good. The staff is polite and helpful. The location is not bad, 10 min walk from the train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For my needs nothing that needs improvement. Just go and stay.

    If you travel by train and you find a hotel located 500 meters from Main Station you got it perfectly. Friendly staff, very clean rooms. Free of charge luggage store. The breakfest rich and tasty (eat what you can) Strongly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you can't call what they offer to sleep in a bed. Otherwise you hear anything if someone talks inside the room, outside the room or at the reception... Never Again!

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was insects in the bed, and the insects came out in the middle of the night. It distrubed our sleep and we asked for the staff to solve it, then he suggested with changing the sheets but still the insects there. Luckily, we checked out very early in the morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My main complaint- there is no kitchen! So no way you can cook anything yourself. The only thing - you can get hot water from the reception... Regarding location - it is far from old town and any action, a real DDR feeling place. And not so close to the railway station as you might think because of the name.

    Reception is always open and the friendly staff helps you any time: you can have your beer or coffee whenever you like, and get advice on transport options etc. Rooms are quite big so space is not a problem. Also the toilet and shower are right in your room. A nice touch - in front of the building there is a real piece of Berlin Wall!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sheets were dirty/had stains but at least the cover linen were clean.

    Just a short walk away from central station, friendly staff and a rooftop bar at the top floor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm a person that I prefer when the hostels have a open kitchen or a place that we can at least boil some water for a tee or warm food at the microwave. Also the common lounge area is not so comfortable. And they should tell at the web site that the price don't include bed linen and we need to pay it a part or bring. This was so bad for me.

    The location is really good specially if you go by train or bus. Because is very close to the train station. The staffs are very friendly and the hostel is very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More toilets on the floor would be nice, also more sockets in the room (3 are not enough for 6 people with phones and laptops), 5 euro for bed linen

    friendly staff, good location (near main train station, bus and city centre) rooms are big enough, bathroom in rooms, beds are okay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very strange felling in the room, terrible bed with big holes in it, terrible pillow, dirty bathroom with dry pee stains on the toilet seat. Even the walls of the room were dirty :( The hotel smells like cigarette smoke and bleach even though smoking is prohibited in the facility and there is no sign that any cleaning activity took place in the building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You will be given the bed sheets when you checked in and need to do the bed by yourself (mentioned in the properties policy).

    The staffs are really friendly and helpful. Not too far from the Hauptbahnhof, walking about 10 minutes or less and clearly spotted. There is a bus stop nearby. I stay in 6-bed dorm, the room is big enough and comfortable. There are lockers but you have to have your own padlock. You can ask for a hair dryer but need deposit 10 Euro. Lift can be used for upper floors.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hope there will be seperate female rooms and male rooms, cause the first night there was a man who kept snoring the whole night, but the good thing was i was too tired to be woken up..

    Ca.600m away from hbf, good location! And there is a supermarket nearby, the staff is responsible

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone of us got charged for the bedsheets & towels and had to pay the city tax. Didn't have this problem when staying in a hostel in Berlin. Also, booked for 7 people but ended up being put in seperate rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit too small and narrow. In addition, the cleaning service definitely not the best - only rubbish bin was taken out, although toilet and floor was not cleaned in the period of 4 days, which surely is not OK at all. In terms of price, I think it was OK taking into consideration we stayed there during Christmas as all other places were more expensive.

    Location was close to the main train/bus station, 10 mins walk. Tram stop was on the opposite street, reachable within few mins. Beautiful park in the neighborhood, to reach city center (marketplace) takes approx 20 mins on foot, or 10 mins by tram. Staff was pretty helpful, provided city maps, tips. There is a bar on the top floor which was great to have during Christmas, when everything was closed. Pizza not the best quality of course, but this you can expect, it is not a restaurant. Last but not least - good, strong Wi-Fi connection!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lack of variety at breakfast. Furthermore Saturday and Sunday breakfast started at 7.00am. We had to leave for competition at 7.15am. We asked for but were not given the possibility of having breakfast at 6.30am.

    Closeness to train station and tram. Easy to travel to and from.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard for me to get good sleep with several other people in the room. Too little space in the 6-person room

    Very cool and helpful staff, convenient location, newly furnished

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one outlet near one of the bunk beds. Theee others in the room near a table. Not safe if you want to charge items overnight. The light above my bed had the wires disconnected from the wall and no lightbulb. No sign or cover to say being replaced soon. The rate was very expensive for what was provided.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the ground floor. So.... the cigarette smoke from the outside came into my room through windows. I had to inhale involuntary smoke. As a non smoker, it was quite hard to stay there.

    Good location from the central station of Dresden by 5 mins walking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows were oriented to Aldi, not towards the city center :-))))

    I did not have breakfast. The hotel position on the map is excellent, as well as the price. There was not anything else to need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some guests were noisy late at night which echoed down the corridors more because of the hard floor along with hard walls and ceiling. It would not stop me using the hotel again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 6 Bed Room - Hostel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not honest about its cost and added extra expenses for sheets as well as an earlier check out than advertised even though we arrived late in the evening.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no kitchen. You cant make your coffee. Price is not included sheet money. If you want to stay this hostel you have to pay more 4 euros BE CAREFUL. Beds are not comfortable. There is a lot of noise coming from the beds. I stayed in 6 bed rooms and there is not good wifi connection. I dont like this hostel.

    In front of the reception wifi connection is very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is one man which few hair, in the morning when I arrive take the money without ask me, and the sheets should pay 3.5 euros are never show on the website or the email. And that guy which is so bad just take the money from me without ask me. And he just don’t want to help people, always made difficulty to the customer, he even said:” you can get out from here to find other hotel.” I never see so bad staff in all hotels/hostel around the world. That makes me unforgettable and I wanna everyone knows that. And other staffs are really nice when I later back to ask help. The sharing shower room are too small.

    The place close to the train station and main bus station. Convenient. Many interesting people live in that hostel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    there`s no kitchen for the hostel residents, so you can`t make your own meals

    The place is quite close to the main railway station, as far as the city center is in 3 tram stops. The staff is very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful, my room was clean and tidy, the lobby/bar area had a friendly atmosphere and the location was excellent for what I needed, not far from train station but far enough from the hustle and bustle. If ever in Dresden again, I would certainly look to stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing about the place that I did not like.

    The location was ideal. Great price for being so close to downtown. Had no issues with the place. Next time in Dresden, will stay here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont like the idea of paying extra for your linen. It should be included in your payment

    Nice location: quite, near main station and supermarket! The staffs are incredibly kind and the bed is comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wad not resourceful due to the following reasons: 1) the lamp in the bathroom was broken. they did not send anyone right away to fix the problem and they only changed the room because we wanted to see the manager. 2) the pillow cases and bed sheets were only partially covered. They told me for a 4-bed room they do it just for two beds!!!!! 3) they charged us the Kurtaxe which was not stated anywhere in the booking.com. We had stayed at the property a few months back. no one at the time charged us for that!!!

    The only thing that led to our selection was location of this hotel. I had my defence at TU Dreaden and I did not want to waste my time in the teaffic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    There was nothing basically wrong with the hotel although it is also a hostel. I assumed that there would be some form of segregation but I found my single room wedged between two 4-bed dorms full of noisy teenagers. They did go quiet after 11pm but the hotel was nowhere near as luxurious as the one I had just come from. In fairness the staff were excellent although there was a bit of confusion and alterations made to my booking when I arrived. It's a ten minute walk from the main station and there is a car park I believe. Breakfast was good and well organised (you get a token when you check in) and overall I would score this property 7/10. I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay as I think there are better places to stay in the same price bracket.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room/window was on the first level close to the entrance. right under the window are tables where visitors hang out at night, drinking beer, very loudly. the room/window is also facing a loud street and behind you will see and clearly hear the rail tracks, which are used through out the night. so that was a very very loud stay!! also the entrance light (auto detection) will flash the room brightly, when people arrive at night. and there are many. there is also plenty of light from the ongoing traffic. unfortunately one of the worst stays i had, in particular regarding the price i paid - about EUR 30 for a shared 6-Bed-Room.

    shared room with own bath room. clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very noisy, lots of young undisciplined people making noise till the wee hours......not a hotel but a hostel that offers private rooms at hotel prices!!

    Close to Railway station and town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    OK-ish comfort. I had a strong feeling the building was some sort of hospital before. It is not bad, but a "hotel" feeling is just not there. I was traveling with my parents (both over 55), although it says to be a hotel/hostel, the hostel vibe is strong. Better for group of young friends. I had to make my own bed and the mattress was "public-hospital-like" (plastic blue cover) If you are backpacking, go for it.

    Clean. Friendly staff. Quiet for a hostel/hotel. Elevator. Separated rooms for toilet and shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    booked a hotel-room instead of hostel bed. At he charged price, other (nearby) hotels, that I have also stayed at, leave a higher quality / more refined impression.

    Location and the "Sky Bar" on the top floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fee for sheets etc was a bit much given it not a cheap hostel!

    The 7€ all you could eat breakfast was good and being in walking distance of the train station was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not informed of public transport just around the corner at Gret-Palucca Strabe, by Staff, although I did ask, nor by TIO,or on booking.com map. This meant I walked at 11pm from Haup bahnhof to A & O, it was not safe. I found this tram by accident and then my stay became a happy one, and I came and went with ease. But I am very disgusted at the lack of consideration, as good near public transport is key to a pleasant stay

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need pay for the bedsheet so its better if you bring your own sleeping bag

    Pretty close to the Dresden Hbf and ths city centre. The price is really great for a pretty basic hostel which located near the attraction in Dresden. It just need 10 minutes of walking to the old town and there's a lot of store near the hostel especially in the station area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a hotel. It is a hostel with a lot of problems. They sell the property as non-smoking but in the rooms people smokes so badly thet the smoke invaded our room in several evenings. When we complained to the reception the only answer we got is they were not prepared for such thing and cannot do anything to manage the situation. Even though we asked for parking, they managed to find a spot only for 2 out of the 4 nights we were checked in there. AVOID breakfast. It is disgusting. That is all I can say about it. You can choose the "Marche" in the Hauptbahnhoff (train station) at 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel. When you will check-in, make sure tou have an empty hand, they will give you from the reception towels ans sheets. Once in the room, you have to make your bed. :( Should I continue??

    There is nothing I can mention here, unfortunately.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6 Bed Room - Hostel
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not place in hostel underground parking. In the street near hostel you can park only until 18:00. After that time is forbidden - you can get penalty!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't pay the amount of money we have expected but 20 euro more per person,due to tax charges that we weren't informed before our arrival in the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot, no fans in the flat. After asking they brought just one but we needed a second (it was a two bedroom flat). Not close to the subways but could walk to one in 15 minutes.

    Nice, simple accommodation that was comfortable for us. I expected to hear some street noise based on past reviews, but it was quiet during our five night stay. Having washer was important. Convenient spot, not too far away from fun areas and great food. They arranged late check-in, which was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a number of people drinking and talking loudly right outside my window until late in the night, and two or three of my roommates continued to talk even after the drunks settled down, in spite of protests from another roommate who asked everyone to please be quiet so she could sleep. I wasn't staying long so I didn't bother trying to communicate with these people, but combine that with the nearby railroad tracks and a hot night when the windows had to be open to get ventilation, and well, good luck getting any sleep. I didn't get much, and I wouldn't stay here again. Oh yeah, you can get water and stuff at the bar downstairs, but it'll cost you about 2.50 for a 0.5 liter bottle.

    The doors have electronic locks with a key card. There is a common bathroom on the first floor, primarily to serve the bar, I suppose, and each room has one shower and one toilet to share among the roommates (6 in my room).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed one night on the ground floor. 1 August to 2 August. Room 105. When I left and arrived at Munich I found my laptop iPad and camera are all missing. I put them in my suitcase. And they were gone. I don't have a local SIM card and cannot contact the hostel. If you see my review. Could you check the CCTV on the day from 2pm to 8pm probably. My surname is Wang. You could contact me by e-mail.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing that slightly disturbs is an outdoor place with umbrellas and benches, looks like small cafe. People sit there almost all nights and talk very loud. All the rest is excellent.

    The stuff is excellent, friendly, smiley, very informative, service is very good, rooms are clean, walking distance to the Central Railroad station. Good value for money. Breakfast is fantstic. Beds are comfotable and big, linen is super clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wos noisy guests otside the building in the lounge area. From the first floor you could hear everything even with a closed windows. Wierd guest in our room. Clean, but does not worth that money anyway - 26 euro is a little bit overprised for the 6-bed mixed dorm with strange guests.

    Clean room with ensiut showers. You can use a locker if you bring your lock with.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really sweat dripping off me HOT! Had to have the windows shut as people on benches were drinking all night right under our windows. Management should move them to the other corner of the car park!

    Good wifi. Close to train and bus station. Supermarket at the back. Asian restaurant across the road is really good. 20min walk into the old city. Room was large and had lockers

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a twin room at this "hotel". This is not a hotel, maybe a simple accommodation for young people, youth hostel " Jugendherberge"! They don't have regular housekeeping. They left our tiny room without cleaning the second day, despite asking for it. I went to the reception complaining, the young lady there just smiled and just put on my hand the whole set of bed sheets and towels. I had to change everything myself with my colleague. By the way, that tiny room was not quite cheap. With less money I could have booked a room in a 3* hotel in the center of the city ( Prag street). No amenities, no cafee, no tea, no cups, no ketlle in the room. I had to pay 10€ deposit for an old dirty electric water heater. But ... Dresden is a beautiful city, we came only to sleep at the hostel.

    Staff are helpful. Location is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noice is kind of loud from the corridor, even if you have your door closed.

    They actually gave me a single room instead of a six bed room which I booked, and it turned out to be very nice, clean, and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it's near the train station, noises cannot be avoided unless windows are closed. But remember, closed windows means that the room will be warm in a few minutes. So, it depends on what you want. By the way, when I stayed, I had this really rude bunk mate and he told me not to sit on the bed and make noise (it was the bed, not me) at 9:00 AM. Yes, you read it right. Freaking 9:00 AM. I was like okay, freak! It was the morning. What did you expect? And I was not the only one making sounds. Almost everyone there was ready to check out. Hopefully, you guys won't have experiences like mine!

    The location's really good, within 10 minutes walking distance from the train station. Got a bus stop right in front.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hostel is quite a far walk from the old and new town, although not too bad a walk from the Hbf.

    Everything except the location. Very clean, friendly, all the necessary amenities, etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) The toilet smelled the moment we checked-in. 2) The rooms are not sound proofed. We could hear guests walking and slamming the door in the middle of the night. There was a man who knocked his door for minutes before someone opened it for him and it was 3am !!!!!! 3) Honestly for the price, the room was too small. We checked out the next morning and moved into a nearby hotel. 4) Been to several A&O hotels but this one really dissapointed us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the third day we found bed bugs, not many of them, but still enough for a dozen bites on armes and feet, blooded sheets and spoiled mood. Luckily it was our last day! Location is not directly at the central station, as for many a&o hotels, but you need to walk approx. 10 min (15 with the luggage)

    Friendly staff, good breakfast (although nothing hot except for coffee and boiled eggs). Tasty Chinese food and aldi supermarket very close to the hotel. Fast wi-fi in the room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mix up with price between Booking.com & hostel, which was awkward for us & the staff. Small shower room

    Room was good for our group of 4. Close to the city centre. Nice Sky Bar at the top of the building

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Feels like an abandoned mental asylum, the place gave me the creeps. Normal sized humans don't fit in showers...

    Price was great, right next to central station, great for in and out if your on a road trip

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to walk to the central train station or further for foods, about 10 to 20 mins walking. No many options if you arrived late after 21:00.

    Quiet environment. Friendly and helpful staffs. Comfy and large 6 beds dorm room with ensuite toilet and shower room (separated). Free storage of luggage. Bed sheets, linen and towel included in the room price.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I stayed at a single room on the 7th floor, right beneath the table of the table tennis of the sky-bar. It was always very noisy every evening because there were people playing table tennis until around 0 am.

    There is a bus stop in front of the hotel, so it is convenient to go to other places in cold weather.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bunk beds for the children in the family room have no rail, so it can be difficult to use for some children who tend to move a lot during their sleep.

    Great value for families.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I booked a single room. The equipment (new) was o.k. also the bed was comfortable enough, the price was very sympatic. The location near the railway station, bus station in the vicinity of hotel, in the vicinity large aldi shop.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely loud due to school trips and drunk teenagers running around on the corridors and slamming the doors all night. Breakfast very disappointing with little choice.

    Stuff helpful and responsive, ironing possible when requested.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of electricity sockets. Available one was far away from bed, so I couldn't charge my phone as my alarm early morning would wake up whole room.

    For me important was location near main train station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a just like a uni hall of residence so it may be full of kids and students, which wont suit some older travellers.

    Great location if you want access to public transport. Well equipped rooms and great value. Has a secure car park, although you pay extra. Staff were brilliant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were super friendly and helpful. One of the best hostel rooms I've ever stayed in. It's en suite toilet and shower were fantastic and location couldn't have been better. Top marks.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse a&o Dresden Hauptbahnhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: