Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abalon Hotel ideal This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Zimmermannstr. 7-9, Stuttgart-Mitte, 70182 Stuttgart, Germany

#29 of 113 hotels in Stuttgart

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1014 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Spotlessly clean. Very interesting designs. Highly efficient. Very responsive and helpful staff. They took extra steps in providing with tea / kettle etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff, great location close to several train stations and within walking distance to the main station. Very good area with lots of great restaurants, bars and shops. The hotel itself is fantastic, spacious rooms, nicely furnished, comfortable bed and bedding, great shower. They offer free water and juices, a real nice treat! Staff is always ready to help, we really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location to visit the old town centre. A bit of a peculiar building, build on a steep slope between two streets. The official entrance and reception (on foot) is on the third floor from higher street, the car entrance is in the basement, the ground floor, of the lower street. The corridors on the three available floors are in the open, under a glass skylight to protect from the rain, but outside your room door is the open air. People to smoke on the corridors as they are in the open, but I think this is unacceptable and no ashtrays should be made available there. Smoke wafts through the bathroom window when open. Otherwise the hotel is nice and modern: concrete floors and stairs, simple and colourful decoration and fittings. Breakfast on the 3rd floor is rich and with lots of choices. The room is rather large, but the bed is a narrow one for 2 people (barely 160 cm), and very, very soft. There is a large desk, a reasonable flat screen TV and complementary bottles of drinking water every day. The bathroom is tiny. There is a make-up/shaving mirror, Kleenex and shampoo, but the shower has an old-fashioned curtain instead of glass panels. The shower itself however is very good, with a pleasurable high pression and lots of hot water, heated by the sun! The reception service was very friendly, and we were given many hints and tips of where to go in Stuttgart. I can recommend the hotel if you are not looking for luxury but a clean and practical hotel very near the old town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite far from U-bahn and S-Bahn stations. You can feel the distance if you carry luggage. In other case it is not a problem.

    Very nicely created hotel space. I like the idea of hotel floors directly above the parking place, with reception on the top floor. Unusual but still comfortable place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sofas (sofa-beds?) in the room weren't comfortable for sitting on.

    Friendly staff; spotlessly clean; spare pillows and towels in room; complimentary water and juice each day; free Wi-Fi; large-screen TV; small fridge in room; plenty of sockets; plenty of hangers; good choice at breakfast; close to the town centre and public transport; good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike really.

    The check in was very easy. The parking is in their own garage and very secure. It was within the perfect walking distance for the Christmas Market and restaurants. We stayed here at the beginning of our two week long trip after flying into Stuttgart and at the end before flying out. Clean, great breakfast included and it accommodated our family of four perfectly. If we fly into Stuttgart on our next trip we will definitely stay here. Great hotel and the staff is very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was very clean, clean bed, new towels every day. i would only recommend to clean the floor every day (but that's my impression :)) as a woman (maybe also as a man) i would not walk alone by night - but again- this is my feeling. everyone is different. - and has nothing to do with the Abalon!! i felt very safe at the Abalon!

    staff is very friendly and tries to help with everything; made sure both our cards/keys worked, showed us the room and explained how to get in and out the fastest ways.. it is a 10-15 min. walk from the city center (and all the stores!! yeey!!) Best restaurants around: 1. Restaurant Weber (Best Burger seriously!!) <-- just go there already!! and try the house lemonade 2. Sophie's Brauhaus (local Food) try it :) 3. Abacco's (Steak) - only for steak-eaters!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful, the room was more than big enough for our family of four and it was impeccably clean. The breakfast was also really good and there was quite a bit of variety. Very close to the Christmas Market! I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that it had a "motel" feel with lots of external hallways, which made things colder than they needed to be. I also didn't like the linoleum on the floor or the translucent bathroom and shower - some things are better left to the imagination.

    Location is great. Right downtown Stuttgart. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Check-in and check out was simple. Breakfast was decent - typical German fare. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived late and left early the next day, I can'y really comment but I did not see anything to complain about.

    I stayed a night. The room was really big and clean in a quiet place. The hotel is close to the city center and the public transportation. The staff was welcoming and really friendly. The breakfast was good and as standard as what I usually getin this part of Germany.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds weren't terribly comfortable but it was no matter.

    Lovely staff, excellent value for money and breakfast included. It wasn't terribly far from the Rathaus and only a few stops from the train station via tram. I would certainly book this property again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is a bit off the beaten track but within walking distance of the U-bahn.

    The room was very large and cosy with a big walk-in wardrobe and was very well furnished. A good breakfast selection. Free mineral water and juice drinks in the room every day. Friendly helpful staff who speak good English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    By the day we arrived, we were assigned the room on ground floor. There was under renovation and we could smell the paint fumes.

    The restaurant that we had breakfast was nice and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Parking was limited and very tight to manoeuvre a car into. Limited / no street parking

    Unusual design and layout but nevertheless enjoyable to stay in. Very helpful and friendly staff - enjoyed the fact that we were just 5 mins walk from the main centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Cleaning ladies making a lot of noise in the corridor since early in the morning, not possible to have some rest. - Not a lot of options for the breakfast: very basic - Internet signal very weak: especially in the night

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning here so we used our travel fan we bought for such places which made the room more comfortable. THE doona are always too hot so we had to take it out of the cover. A flat sheet would be more appreciated.

    We liked the standard of cleanliness and how friendly all the staff were. The room was spacious which was great. There was a good choice of food for breakfast and everything was fresh.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the height of summer it's tricky to get the room cool.

    Nice staff, bright and airy room - unusually big for a single (could easily have fitted a double bed). Great buffet breakfast and again light airy modern breakfast room with roof garden

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent. There was a welcome drink in the room. Washroom was clean. Beds were comfortable. There was a sitting area outside the room but there was no privacy in other room if the curtains are away. the hotel is actually on an inclined road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows on the beds were not great, would have been better to have two.

    We appreciated the large family room (room 010) and found the property to be nice and quiet. They provided a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was good. There were complimentary drinks in the room. The room was spacious but there was no view from the room as the hotel is located in the residential area on the slope because tall flats all around it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real cons. A bathroom could be a bit bigger. We got nice view from a window, but not all of the rooms have it I think. Apart from that really nothing I could think of.

    A perfect hotel, with great ambiente (somewhat mediterranean), relatively close to the centre, comfortable big room, very helpful and friendly staff, a breakfast also totally fine. We stayed there with our 2year old daughter, got a baby bed for her, and an access to a microwave to heat her baby food :-) If we visit Stuttgart again, we are totally staying in the same hotel :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were few drunk people knocking at door at night. Hotel chief supposedly came midnight to pacify, rather appreciate him for that. Shower was small and the layout was funny.

    Nice helping staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, just about 5min walking distance from the cafe and small restaurants area. Central square is about 10min walking distance. Perfect German breakfast, big choice of different food types. Very kind staff, specially Sena in breakfast cafe. Cozy and clean room. Great ratio of money and value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, didn't have a proper bathroom, was noisy by day and night (you hear other clients and staff chatting in the corridor or in their rooms), the double bed was too small and very hard, there was also construction work in the hotel...

    The room was clean and breakfast was good. The price is also very reasonable. The best thing about the hotel is that it is possible to check in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking in the hotel was really scary :) During our stay there were some repairs in the room next to ours, but that didn't give us much trouble.

    The room with a terrace was really nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all staff members speak English - but they make an effort to help :)

    Great location: 10 minutes walk from city center and Stuttgart's Christmas Market. Big room and very attentive staff, not to mention the free beverages each day.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting to the entrance is a bit of an uphill trek so if arriving with large bags can be difficult

    My room was huge and I had plenty of room to move around and adjust packing. Interesting, modern style. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are too soft. A simple electric kettle in the room will be nice. Bathroom is so small, but clean.

    Nice breakfast. Parking is easy and safe.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located outside the historic center. With a short walk through dark and desolate night streets smelling of pee and past a casino and multiple bars one can locate many restaurants. The bathroom could be called creatively cramped.

    The hotel is easily accessed by car. It is but a short walk to the historic center and multiple restaurants and shops and the subway system. The main train station is 15 min walk away past many cultural institutions. The hotel is clean and convenient and offers a decent breakfast. The staff are friendly. The family room easily accommodates a family of four. I would call this a practical hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Don't clean your room when you have pets, parking garage is TERRIBLE. You will leave with dings/dents to your car. Difficult to get a correct bill at the end of our stay due to error on the part of the hotel (single person charged for first 10 days and they tried to put it on out second bill which our company would balk at).

    Great location, large rooms, 4 free drinks (2 water, 2 juice) a day, nice big breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no AC There insects There is no kettle

    Location is good From the hotel to the center 5min walking There is a supermarket near the hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking is REALLY tight. It's one of the ones where you park your car on a ramp and it can be raised/lowered depending on how many people need to park. 6 inches bigger and the spaces would be better.

    Room is very large for Stuttgart. They give you four free beverages a day which is nice (2 waters, 2 juices). No extra cost for pets, but they don't clean your room if the pets are loose. Breakfast is very robust and served late (until 11am). Location is great, walking distance to downtown.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WC and shower - under glass.. No privacy!!! We had a room where the shower exists the living area... And when u sit in it you can seethe other in shower .. No good coffee on breakfast.

    Great location, big rooms, good staff, clean room, comfy beds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    24 / 7 reception service would have been great as I needed to leave early in the morning before reception opened and hence had to pay in advance which was duly done by very nice staff.

    The proximity to City center coupled with the quietness of sub urban area

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms could use a refurbishment. The price per night is expensive, but considering the location there aren't any better choices.

    The hotel is very well placed, a short walk away from the city center. The roof-top garden is amazing, and the breakfast is really delicious. There is very good selection of gourmet food to choose from.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They do provide free internet (choose Lan1) but forget to mention it in the ´"Guide for guests" but rather state that one has to pay 2€ for 30min usage. All in all wi-fi was available and fast but telling this to the guests in advance would save them time and hassle.

    Good breakfast. Helpful staff. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast room was great, friendly staff and excellent location. Absolutely recommendable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of the way! Not central at all!

    It was very, very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great, near city centre and they provide a parking spave for a car. Will come back definetly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is very small

    The breakfast is delicious! The bed is comfy and the room is very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fresh and clean rooms, rooms seems to be recently built or refurbished, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, location, staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, staff, location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location, a 10 minute walk to the center of town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Superior
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would have preferred more vegetables and cheeses with less fat

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No connecting rooms available.

    Location and value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very helpful. The room is big

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was perfect and staff was friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is tiny and slippery.

    The bed was good and room big and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very quality breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very stiff

    The location is great. Old town close by, the hotel has its underground parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All was nice and good. For this price unxpectedly good room and service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the city centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    location wasn't perfectly central, but was still walkable.

    Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast was especially good too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    much better than we had expected, large family room. Easy location. Staff very welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only trouble was the unbelievably bad internet connection

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing i didn't like.

    Very Nice place modern style rooms, very clean with covered secured parking and in good location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom compartment

    The spacious room, silent during the night, very good breakfast, staff very helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room with balcony. Good location!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic breakfast. Location 5 mins to centre. Parking great as we had a large car. Staff really helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely friendly. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very good, close to central

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable place with quiet rooms and megafriendly staff. Near foodstore and some cafe. Walking distance till Schlossplatz - 15 min.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi connection had problems. In the evening, it took several attempts over 10-15 minutes to be able to connect. Being right above the basement parking, there were noises from cars parking in the metal elevators, from time to time.

    Good breakfast, staff very friendly, good location, good value for money overall. Spacious bottom level room with a nice outside terrace (to an interior courtyard) that could be nice to use in the summer.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Access to the hotel could be clearer/ simplified for a late check in . I was having difficulty accessing the front door and gain access when another couple arrived and , on showing them you booking forms etc they understood the difficulty ; I gained access to my key with no difficulty , understanding now the the way the code was written (X 5 meant 55555 ) ...etc This was my only difficulty and recommendation . The late check out was much appreciated Regards G

    A good room , clean and spacious

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was ridiculously small and very old-fashioned, with a rather grim looking plastic shower curtain. The bodywash/shampoo fell off the wall the first time the shower was used. The towels were not that great either.

    Staff were very friendly. The bedroom itself was a good size and the outside terrace would have been lovely if we were there in the summer. The breakfast was fine but nothing special.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old fixtures and fittings in the rooms Extremely small bathroom, and a bit smelly. Old elevator

    5mins walk from city centre Breakfast was good Nice staff at reception

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very early check out on 11 a.m. was not very convenient. But if you want to have tee or coffee in the evening, you have to go out to find the place.

    Room was very nice, quite big.Close to center. Excellent breackfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bath, just a shower, the difference between a double-room and a single room is just the bed-sizes. Common spaces of the hotel, i.e. stairs and passages are a bit cold in mid-season and probably winter, since it's not a solid building, rather a not sealed glass cage.

    Close to the city center, complimentary soft drinks replenished daily. Parking.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to dislike.

    Very central, really spacious room, well equipped. Staff were super friendly and keen to help. Nice breakfast with option to sit on the terrace! Overall, great hotel to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was small and rather dark having only 2 small spot lights.

    Interesting hotel whereby all floors are underneath the reception area. Location is at a reasonable walking distance (10-15 min) to the city centre passing through a nice dining/drinking area down the street. Parking available under the hotel (unsure about the cost as for the motorbike it was free). Good WiFi everywhere. Good and pleasant breakfast area. Our room was spacious. Quiet area as windows give access to the inside of the quartier. Easy access to the parking with internal elevator. Staff was nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Don't follow the directions given by Booking.com to reach the hotel if you are carrying luggage, as there is a long flight of staircase down in order to reach the hotel which is not stated in the directions! The room given to us has a translucent window in the bathroom which can be seen from the outside corridor!

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Is located 5 stops with Ubahn from the central train station, but if you want to avoid steps with huge suitcases for example, must get off the subway at Olga street not at Dobbelstrasse, as the google map shows. It would be great to include this in the description of the hotel.

    Nice place to stay, city in walking distance, breakfast OK, but coffee is poor, as everywhere in Germany :) Wifi signal should be stronger at the ground level. Ants in the bathroom, many of them. Small shower cabin.

There are also 48 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Abalon Hotel ideal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: