Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Abendstern This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Stuttgarter Platz 8, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 10627 Berlin, Germany

#482 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2552 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel - excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, but sufficient for me. Furniture looked quite new. Bed was firm, perfect for my taste. Slept very well. It was very clean everywhere. Good WiFi. Breakfast was basic but good, but juice was warm... Location is good, close to the metro and train station. Some restaurants and bars in the area. Over all, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location, spacious room, nice and clean with friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite hot, and on the first floor there was a lot of light coming in from the sign and noise from outside.

    Great location, spacious room, nice and clean with friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    Near metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator, u have to take 10 stair steps before u get in, its hard if u have big luggages & children, the hotel is old & little bit dirty esp on the stairs, no AIRCON!!! Very POOR internet connection!!!

    Near metro station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasantly surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel, it is in a very busy area and near train and metro station. Our room was quiet, which is what we requested. Quite old fashioned but very clean. Breakfast was included in the price which we thought was quite unusual. Normally breakfast is extra. It was a buffet breakfast with good choice. Reception staff could maybe have been more welcoming etc but possibly they did not speak much English. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.4
    Very good transport to city center and Tegel airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The requested double bed was actually two single beds, that were constantly sliding apart on slippery floor.

    Very good transport to city center and Tegel airport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Old building but renovated room with modernish and very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Old building but renovated room with modernish and very good en suite bathroom. Floating timber floor and new windows. Much better than some other older places that have crappy old carpets. Didn't try the breakfast. I would stay again. There is a lift too. No AC but room was on North side and 3 big windows to open so not too bad. May have been a lot hotter on the south side.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was bad as in served moldy bread. No air conditioning, very hot room. Has to go up 1 flight of stairs to get to the elevator and go down 1 flight of stars to go to the room. Elevator stop in between floors. Not good if you have a very heavy bag.

    Early check in was available with no extra charge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    Ok, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was located on a street that was not kid friendly. Parking through the hotel's garage was expensive. The breakfast had a lot of cheap and unhealthy options and very few healthy options. Our room was on the fourth floor with no air conditioning and it was very hot. Street noise was loud all night.

    The beds were comfortable. The hotel had reserved parking spaces in a garage located near the hotel. It was located near the train station and had a 24 hour front desk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    The position was great, just across the street from the S...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately the lift is not very handy, you have to take a full flight of steep steps before reaching it and it will only stop in between floors. Completely unsuitable for people with reduced mobility. The wi-fi did not work with my mobile phone.

    The position was great, just across the street from the S station and the U station. Buffet breakfast was very abundant and served quite long hours every morning. 24h reception is a good plus as well. Luggage storage service also came very handy for me on the last day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great various breakfast, comfy beds, cleaning lady was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you're travelling in the summer and you're used to sleep with the window opened you're going to hear a lot of noise from the train sation if yuor room is facing it.

    Great various breakfast, comfy beds, cleaning lady was making the bed every day and changing towels if you wanted, we had a lovely balcony and the train only 100 metres away...amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Basic hotel with inconveniences
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I specifically booked this hotel for the elevator but it was impossible to use the elevator to get to my room without using stairs. The shower door was not working well and the breakfast was very basic.

    Great location and cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    stayed july6, temp 30C . no air conditioning. room was clean though, & breakfast is ok .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 1 day i accidentally booked this hotel tried to cancel it but they were so inconsiderate. got no choice but stayed. it says in the other website climate control air contioning but its false advertisement. went down to borrow electric fan but she pretended she couldnt understand. 2 fans in the office were available but would not even let us borrow or rent just for a night. noisy area. see photo of their so called air con.

    near train station about 4min. walk. clean hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    It is nothing special but clean and comfortable at a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is nothing special but clean and comfortable at a very good location. All airports and train stations are easily accesable, city centre is 15 minutes away. I liked staying here. The breakfast was cheap and diverse enough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One couldn't connect to wifi with Google Chrome and needed another browser. Since I didn't have it, I had no internet which was not very convenient. The building is old, although the room was spacious, with high sealing, big window and a lot of light.

    Very good location, very close to a shopping street with shops and food places. Only 2 minute walking to the bus station through which goes a bus to Tegel airoport (around 20 min drive without traffic). Polite stuff, many of them were Russian speaking. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is close to a shopping center and the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV in our room did not work. The noise from the train station will keep you up at night.

    The hotel is close to a shopping center and the train station. Parking is available at the shopping center for 12 Euro a day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Adequate experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the hallway smelt of raw carcasses ,my wife had to cover her face as she took her baggage in The lift is one floor up neither use or purpose. Request a room to the rear we were on the front and it was noisy.

    Bed were fine. Decent shower. Good location. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Well updated, safe property close to train station and things to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator starts half a floor up so you must take your luggage up half a floor to utilize it. Really a good news story: Our hot water went out and water went out, but was repaired without us alerting the hotel staff in around 20 minutes.

    Secure location for my four children and I to stay and play nearby. The access to get out and about was great as the train station is located directly across from the hotel. Noise level was low during our three day stay and the room was extremely comfortable by room temperature. Much better than other locations we stayed at during our trip in June.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Location is good for travel into center, price OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to hand your keys into reception when going out, on our check in, 1 member of our party were given the keys to an already occupied room, if they can do it to someone else room they can do it to yours!!!!! Keep hold of your keys.

    First staff member was hard to talk to at check in but after a while everything was ok, use of the underground secure parking was a bonus. Close to the S-Bahn for travel into the center. Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Underated for price, value and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No fridge in the room and our room could have used a minor bit of modernising, however it was excellent value.

    Fantastic location and value for money with the breakfast included. Local shops and restaurants close by in walking distance. This place undersells itself on here, glad I booked it! Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    The room I stayed in was hot but it was in good Location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit hot It was very humid so don’t expect Aircon

    The room I stayed in was hot but it was in good Location easy to find public transport handy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel for good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs to lift but it wasn't a big problem for us.

    Everything was perfect. We were at room 104. Three of us. Two adults and teenager. The room was large, very comfort. Breakfast was really delicious. If we come to visit Berlin again we will for sure come again to this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value budget hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing to criticise.

    Comfortable and equipped with all that is necessary for a short stay. Friendly and helpful reception staff. Very adequate breakfast. Excellent location for S-Bahn, U-bahn and bus to and from Tegel. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice experience in all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have a lift to all floors.

    Nice hotel, clean environment, good location with access to many stores, helpful staff but for the stairs. There's no lift to some floors. You have to climb all the way. Overall, nice hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Staffs (particularly at reception) were not that friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staffs (particularly at reception) were not that friendly. At welcome, no information was given on use of WIFI and breakfast place. Separate username and passwords were needed to use WIFI on each device (phone/tablet/laptop) and the passwords could be used for max. 72 hours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Located very conveniently near Berlin Charlottenburg...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While checking out, had a receptionist that did not speak English. Was okay for me since I understand basic German but might be a problem if you don't.

    Located very conveniently near Berlin Charlottenburg S-bahn/Regional train station. Private rooms at good price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff, central location, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was smaller than I expected, breakfast was poor, the area is a bit unsafe. I saw some whores just opposite street.

    Friendly staff, central location, clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel. Rude staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room wasn't quite as pictured. There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room. The staff at the hotel were rude. They did not speak to us when we said hello, good morning, etc. When we arrived at the hotel, the lady on reception did not even acknowledge us. I found the staff to be very uninviting and cold.

    The breakfast was good. There was a lot of variety. The location of the hotel was ideal - only a 15 minute train journey to the centre of Berlin. The hotel and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Value for money, great for very short stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a little broken underneath, room was kind of old looking and tired. Window was over looking a neighborhood and was lacking privacy in the bathroom during daytime. outside the room window were stood construction levels for workers to climb on the outside of the building and I was afraid someone might show up there all of a sudden. Nobody did, though. Perhaps the room I got was one of the cheaper ones, so, I don't know...

    Nice breakfast, Great location next to train and shops and cafes, though a little too dodgy at night. Value for money excellent, though. That's the main thing here. Also Nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Next to train station, good prices
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the hallway it smells like mold and the personnel was rude. Also, the personnel does not speak English at an acceptable level

    Next to train station, good prices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Basic & Functional
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff could smile and greet guests. Even minor changes in the daily breakfast could make it less monotonous.

    This property meets the basic requirements. But do not expect anyone or anything to go beyond their call of duty to do anything for you. I asked for a room with a Balcony that was provided on the 2nd night. This was the highlight of my stay. The biggest advantage is the location of the Train station and many Pubs / restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    The Abendstern is a comfortable no frills hotel in a convenient location and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have no adverse comment to make.

    The room was comfortable, warm, quiet with plenty of hot water in the bathroom. Breakfast was fine with good coffee and varied cold buffet. Located very close to an overground and underground train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great breakfast. Ideal for a few days in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like that the hotel could have done anything about...well...maybe coffee in the room would be nice, as it’s not ideal having to carry flimsy plastic cups from reception to the fourth floor.

    Excellent location - especially if arriving late, as it’s immediately across from the train station. Plentiful breakfast and although the staff have limited English, there were no communication problems. The only black spot was noisy neighbours during the night, but the hotel can’t be held responsible for idiotic guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As i had i big baggage and as the elevator was not on the ground floor, it was very inconveniant for me. There are 10 stairs before access the elevator

    Hotel is situated near the Sban station, so iy is very easy to access any district of the city and airport as well. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good. I recommend this hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.7
    Adequate for a quick one night stop over
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, the bed very small and not very comfortable.

    Location was good, Wi-Fi worked well and the front desk is open 24 hours. The breakfast was more than enough, especially considering the reasonable price of 5 Euro.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.8
    Effective with a short scare.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff didn't seem to speak either English or German. In the morning when I left the room around 7am the staff had left reception, locking me in the hotel (you must leave through reception and the had left apparently without notice). I had a few scary moments before I realized he must be upstairs where breakfast is served.

    It was located perfectly next to the bus stop to the airport!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Very good place for holiday, but we hope it will change to minimize the use of plastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    As we all know about plastic issues ( how it's hard to recycle it, how long it takes to dissapear it from earth, how much of plastic is stayin in our drinking water, how much of energy, fuel, water it takes to recycle used plastic) and how it's important today to minimalize use of plastic, I would appreciate if hotel would take to consideration use of a bigger quantities of butter, jam, margarine, cream cheeses, honey, chocolate, mayonnaise, ketchup and mustard instead of using that "one time" small boxes, which gives in the end a lot of waste which is not even recycle. We were at the breakfast place throwing everything to one bin. It was also same in our room. I saw cleaning personel throwing everything from rooms to one bag. It would be much better if we all take care of recycling rubbish and make a little effort to hold paper, cans and glass, compost and general seperated. And people who were cleaning would keep seperating them as well.

    We had room with a balcony and view on Berlin Charlottenbourg station. We strongly recommend you that room because it has windows on the south and from early morning up until around 16:00 / 17:00 we could follow the wandering sun in our room, and since our days in Berlin were very cold but sunny, it was really wonderful to have so much of energy and light in the room. Besides in general everything was fine, room very clear and breakfast was varied. Personel was very kind and helpful. Thank you so much for that good time!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    The rooms are modern looking and fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors to the rooms are quite thin, so noise from the hallway is heard well in to the room, witch can be annoying if you are a light sleeper.

    The rooms are modern looking and fresh. Bathrooms also okay. There is even an elevator witch is nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    24/7 hours open - we didn't have to be back at a special time Good beds, perfect location Perfect for visitors who want to spend all day seeing Berlin and need a place to stay for the night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.4
    Did not enjoy it. Got flu from the cold room in the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very cold in the nights, at least if you are staying in this hotel on February. Breakfast level is low. Only toasts and sausages, nothing else. Room did not look as it is captured in the photos published by the hotel on booking.com.

    Great location for public transport. 4 S-bahn line and 1 U-bahn line stations near the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.1
    Well located and with a good price
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Really noisy place, probably due to the construction structure. Bathroom too small.

    Close to U-bahn, S-bahn and Bus Stop. Many stores and restaurants around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    I would stay here again given the opportunity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water ran out at 11.00pm on one occasion, minor issue. Others had complained about the entrance to the lift being halfway up a staircase, but I guess this was because the lift was added to the exterior wall of this building that originally did not have lifts.

    Large family room, newly refurbished, with comfortable beds. S-Bahn train station just 5 minutes walk on the other side of the road junction. Free wifi for each of us four in the family. Restaurants in neighbourhood.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    6.7
    We had 2 twin beds instead of 1 double bed as we requested...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had 2 twin beds instead of 1 double bed as we requested in our reservation and moreover, the two beds were always moving apart from one another whenever we tried to sit in the middle after were arranged near each other, which is quite unpleasant for a couple. After 12 AM, there was no hot water. Cleaning only involved rearranging sheets and towels, not changing them.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    Comfy, excellent breakfast, nearby tram and Ubahn station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom was very clean. Room was warm. We arrived a little bit earlyer than chekc in, but we got a room anyway. Breakfast was excelent, with lot of choices. Train station and U bahn station is just across the street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    3.8
    It was easy to get to from both airports
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked here mainly for the price and because I knew we wouldn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. Thank god! We were told to tell the hotel when we are coming so I did and they said it wouldn't be a problem. On arrival we found out its 24h reception so I don't know why they need to know when we are arriving. Over 3 nights we saw 6 different staff. None of whom know how to smile or greet guests. I see a lot of people had issues with wifi but ours was fine (fourth floor). You are given a receipt with a unique password and you need one receipt per device. Which is a little bit of a faff. The room was better than I expected. It was clean and large but smelt musty all the time. The hotels corridors themselves are really creepy though. I cant be the only one who thinks this because I could here people running (LOL!). The lights are motion activated but they activate once you've walked past them, there's so many nooks and krannies and alcoves with creaky floorboards. Breakfast was basic, with miserable staff but did the job. If the staff were nicer and had a rapport with customers then I might give a better review. When we checked out we gave the key and she said ok. No questions about our stay, no thank you, no do you need a taxi. Nothing. It is really close to Charlottenburg station but not worth being so far from everything to save on the money.

    It was easy to get to from both airports

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.8
    Staff is a disappointment. Try alternatives in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff. They have coffee at the Reception area, but no tea.

    Everything was ok until the last day. I approached a kitchen staff (a Russian lady) letting her know that I would be leaving at 7 am (breakfast starts at 8 am) and I would like to take a sandwich with me before I leave. She said no problem. The next day, at 7 am she told me that she does not have anything for me (!). How difficult it was to quickly put together a sandwich??? Very disappointed and will never be back. Location is good and easy accessible from Tegel Airport but there are plenty other hotels in the area, I would choose another one next time I am in Berlin.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.9
    Very clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website said toiletries were included but there was only soap!

    Very clean rooms. Varied breakfast easy access to transport as it's right by the station. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    The neighborhood is quiet although full of shops and 2 malls...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood is quiet although full of shops and 2 malls, it takes about 10 mins to get to city centre by using the s-bahn or even the bus, and the hotel is really good situated, with bus stops 5 mins away and the s-bahn just across the road. Staff was great, really helpful and accomodating, the rooms are sizeable enough and the breakfast offers a good selection each morning. It's good value for the prices they ask. Definitaly recommend, and definitely coming back when next in Berlin.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    Great for a short break. No frills but clean and tidy ina great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower takes 4 mins to get hot ! Not fully accessible as lift stops on landings between floors

    Location great, right by S and U bahn stations. No complaints at this price. Would I stay again? Yes, at this price. Wifi worked fine, TV a bit grainy but at least BBC and CNN news keeps you in touch. A pleasurable stay overall

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    will return to this hotel and can highly reccomend it for tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some slight noise early mornings but not an issue

    location was spot on ,oppositye the train station and s bahn, only 200 yards to the u bahn, off licence literally 10 yards from hotel, shopping centre 250 yards away, bus 109 to and from the airport costs euro2.8 and both bus stops 1 minute walking distance, plenty of bars and takeaways to choose from, 5 stops from the city of berlin,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Would recommend this hotel for a Berlin stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast staff not as friendly towards guests as they could have been but they kept the food topped up and tables were cleared promptly.

    Great night’s sleep mainly due to comfy bed. Reception staff were welcoming. It was really handy having an S Bahn and U Bahn both only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.4
    breakfast is really good / location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    receptionist is not friendly

    the heater on the room was working on the 1st night and the morning it did not work... I thougth the hotel managemnt turned all heaters off bcz of DAY time and evening, when I come back to hotel, I told the receptioinst and she was telling me like : "you must have been tell earlier and I cant help you, " it was freezing like 1C outside and she was very OK for me to stay in a room like this... at the end ,after discussing for 10mins, she accepted to give me a 10cm x10cm heater with electricty ... apart from this, everything was OK

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    2.9
    Horror
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that my IPad was stolen from the room which was left unlocked by the cleaning ladies , the fact that the manager didn't want to talk about this at all, you can hear everything through the walls, the corridors smell, the internet is very slow, the elevator is between the flors....

    Position near the train station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Definitely reccommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good unlike we expected. The location is excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. We expected much less for the price, so this was a very nice surprise! 😊 👍

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Great location, close to the train station and some great...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound isolation isn't there due to the fact that it's an old building, woke up several times because of people talking loudly on the hall or the other rooms nearby.

    Great location, close to the train station and some great places to visit, nice and polite hotel staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lady (one russian woman) from Reception was very arrogant and not nice.

    Location is very good. Quiet at night. Transportation and shopping just 1 minute walk distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.1
    Great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway and the breakfast area were cold. The wi/fi doesn’t work for two phones at the same time

    Very easy to find, very close to Ubahn and Sbahn. Lots of shops nearby and restaurants, good for shopping. Quiet area.Good breakfast with good selection to choose from.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.8
    Well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are a bit thin. Could hear the water running and extractor fan from other rooms which was very loud indeed. Could also hear other guests. Otherwise the rooms at the back of the hotel are free of noise from the street.

    Located very near the S-bahn and the underground station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    3.8
    Terrible, never again would I stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude, room terrible, on one occasion there wasn’t any water in my room. The hotel was clearly damp, the smell confirmed this. Scaoffolding outside my room/bathroom window - no blind in the bathroom.

    There was nothing to like, if I would have been staying longer I would have moved accommodation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Perfectly located hotel in case you need just budget B&B
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Misc noise in the room: steps from the corridor via the door, people talks from the inner court during the night via the opened window, seldom sharp noise from the fan motor from the adjacent room. The furniture in the room is pretty simple and old.

    The hotel is perfectly located just 1-3 min walk from S-Bahn and U-Bahn, then 15-20 min to the city center. Buffet breakfast in German style is very good, provided you do not need porridge, croissants or variety of meals.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    Not great for older people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Since one of my party of three has problems on stairs and another is very elderly, I asked specifically for a lift and was told there was one, and my friends would have no problem. The lift did not go to every floor, and though the worse affected guest was given a room on a floor near the breakfast room, he still had to struggle with about 12 stairs to reach the lift (and return), while, the other gent had two such staircases on each journey. Also when staff informed me (adamantly) that Berlin boat trips finished at 3pm that day, and I would waste our time going to find out, I cancelled the arrangement, only to pass the per, , when it was too late, and discover that boat times are not restricted until after the end of October. We could have gone on that ride!. This had a spoiling impact on a short trip for two people who can not walk far, and for whom the visit had been carefully planned. Also we could not get the Wifi working on devices,, and the computer "available" in the reception kept "sticking" and was almost useless. There was also a smell of smoke in the foyer, and noisy corridors on Friday and Saturday nights, I would recommend for younger folk, but not for the old or faint hearted.

    The room was small but clean and adequately furnished. Close to transport links.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    A pleasant hotel with helpful staff and central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs could do with a new carpet, but I fully understand the reason for the red, very hard wearing carpet currently in use The breakfast was adequate but might be improved by a greater variety of options available. Equally, at the room rate charged it would be no great hardship to eat breakfast in a coffee shop if one got up too late or didn’t fancy what was on offer

    The Hotel was comfortable, relatively central and very good for public transport. I have now stayed at this hotel on 6 or 7 occasions and have always had very good service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Good basic choice close to U-bahn and S-bahn, local shopping dining and drinking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fruit juice and milk were not cold and often not replenished quickly enough at breakfast.

    We had a free balcony! Great value for money. Room very well cleaned daily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    4.2
    It's a very small hotel, The room is too small.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a very small hotel, The room is too small. I think this is not a good room for big guy. You will barely fit into the bathroom. There are stairs before you reaching the lift. So make sure you carry small luggage and you got a man to help you. Man, I don't like this hotel...expensive and not really worth of my money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.6
    It was not what I expected really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services not done, room was left dirty, and the bed was not made I had to do it myself, and worse to know that the cleaners saw me going out, which meant they can now go in to do daily services, I was devastated, Tea and coffee was always cold and there was no alternative such as providing the kettle in the room or something of the sort.

    Comfortable bed and accessibility

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Cheap & Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist upon check-in wasn't friendly.

    Immediately outside Charlottenburg Station. Extremely comfortable beds. Clean bathrooms with great hot pressured shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money - Centrally situated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors of the hotel look a bit old and the bathroom, tough clean and functioning without flaws, was a bit outdated. Moreover, the elevator is not perfectly set up - it starts only from the first floor and does not stop at every floor so that you have always to carry your luggage over some stairs.

    The hotel is perfectly and centrally situated in the nice and prominent district of Berlin-Charlottenburg. The relatively important train and metropolitan train (German: S-Bahn) station "Berlin-Charlottenburg", where all the main lines of the regional trains and the metropolitan trains are going, is just vis-à-vis the hotel. Moreover, you have several prominent bus stations directly in front of the hotel and nearby as well as parking lots (however, often occupied and with costs) and the underground station (German: U-Bahn) U 7 "Wilmersdorfer Straße". The so called "City West", the famous and high-class Kurfürstendamm and the shopping street Wilmersdorfer Straße can be reached by walking. All other destinations of the city and its surroundings are easily and quickly accessible from the aforementioned stations that are all situated in the central and cheapest AB zone of the Berlin public transportation network. The hotel has a very solid quality, meaning it is clean, has a great value for money, offer a wonderful continental breakfast which complies with the average expectations for hotels in Germany and the equipment of the hotel is OK. The WiFi worked perfectly and it was a plus that I could stay in the room until noon the next morning. The staff is very helpful, well organized and professional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    My stay wasn't badbecause it was only one night before I took my flight earluy the following morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs, the shower area the corridor could be more tidy by removing the ladder and baby cot. The TV was not straightforward to switch, also facility for three way adaptor to charge mobile phone., and if rooms can have kettle and coffee facility.

    The first thing that attract me was the location. The stairs to the lift and from the lift put my family off. However the lift was new experience. There are lots of shops within and around the area which made it interesting to walk around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    3.8
    Miserable staff, bland and outdated furniture and fittings and very small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booking.com and Abendstern enabling me to cancel within 10 minutes of making the booking. The staff were miserable and would not speak to guests unless spoken to directly. The carpets and decor is from the 1960's and in desperate need of updating.

    Booking.com & Abendstern hotel are con merchants and prevented me from being able to cancel my booking. I will never use Booking.com again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice small hotel near the underground and urban train.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nice small hotel near the underground and urban train. Very hospitable personnel speaking English, German and Russian. 15 minutes by urban train to the "eastern" city center, 15 minutes walk to Charlottenburg Palace by pedestrian street full of small shops and 30 minutes by urban train to Potsdam.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    It's a cheap hotel, well located and confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a cheap hotel, well located and confortable. Ideal for one person that wants a room to sleep and visit the city, also, the hotel is a familiar place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Elevator starts from 1st floor.

    Excellent breakfast! Very good location next to S-Bahn station and a few steps from U-Bahn. Big spacious room. Everything was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.0
    Close to a good metro station and on a bus route to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only provided one out of the two mornings and was left in the hallway in boxes. Staff is not the nicest or most helpful.

    Close to a good metro station and on a bus route to the airport

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Statisfactory value for the price, didn't expect much and also didn't get much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was kind of rude, not did they smile or even greet customers! At breakfast, the staff ladies also rolled eyes... It seemed it was more important to chat with each other. It would also be nice if rooms had fridges.

    The location was good, train station is very near. Our room was relatively neat and comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location, public transport a dream. Just don't expect friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not one single staff member was friendly. They were dismissive and blunt. The breakfast was too basic and not great for vegetarians / vegans.

    The room was adequate and clean. Great price and location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Top budget choice for rail to airport overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed at multiple hotels near S-Charlottenburg and this one will be a primary choice in the future; the price/quality ratio is tops. Reliable, competent, helpful staff at front desk; great transit point between airport bus and S-Bahn/rail; room very clean and pleasant with tall ceilings, and facing a courtyard that was nicely quiet at all times; old-school feel to the hotel (be aware that there is an elevator, but you still have to go up a half flight of stairs to get to/from); clearly a well-kept, well-managed unit that, to me, is better than some other nearby budget places due to such factors as less noise, better availability at front desk, rooms more ship-shape - - just plain solid overall.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Abendstern traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: