Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Ackselhaus & Blue Home This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Belforter Straße 21, 10405 Berlin, Germany

#5 of 107 B&Bs and inns in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 167 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    6.7
    Pity about the bathroom as the property has a lot going for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom in my room was awful - it was unusable because of the foul smell

    The location is great and the property is comfortable and a good experience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Love this boutique hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A request, not a complaint! Would have been great if there had been fresh squeezed juice available at breakfast.

    Love this boutique hotel. Tasteful and quirky with friendly, charming service and a beautiful garden. Best fruit salad ever at breakfast. I stayed in an African themed room, which was cosy and comfortable to work from all afternoon. It also had an incredible bathtub in its own room, complete with chandelier and with a lovely selection of bubblebaths to choose from ... presented in cut glass decanters.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    8.8
    Great location and vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Manager ( or perhaps owner?) walks around but doesn’t engage with people staying - I know it’s Berlin but he should learn how to do ‘friendly’ - speak to the guests, hold doors open for them when they have heavy bags etc. it’s lonely traveling alone and would have been nice if he was friendly - other staff were fine.

    Loved the room which also had a kitchenette in it, girl in the breakfast room was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is served on the ground floor in our Club Med bar. It isn't - Club Med is down the road!

    Very comfortable. The room (11) was beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    6.7
    somebody walks on your head and the floor and bed makes queeks with smallest move room - MOVIE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hi, unfortunately I have bad news regarding review. The welcoming stuff is kind. And the room is nice decorated but for sleeping there in a room Movie was a nightmare - the worst - the ceilings/ floor construction has been made nicely from optics but abound sound isolation nobody thought . Unfortunately all the night somebody walked on our heads and, felt like, next to - you could hear all the moves. Plus the floors are making terrible noises when you walk. We were not able to get to the rest room without waking each other up. Plus the baby didn't sleep neither because of the noise which was going on till 2 am in the night - no parties but just walking which was way to loud. I have been living in Berlin and I know what's normal but this is far beyond. And bed - that made noise everytime you move or turn around. So we didn't sleep although that was the goal of previous night to get good sleep because of forecasting travels. I wouldn't never suggest somebody sleep there is the point is really being there and sleeping, living. And I want to share that with the world that somebody else doesn't end up in this room. Maybe other rooms don't have this issue but that's unfair to call this as sleeping place because thHi, unfortunately I have bad news regarding review. The welcoming stuff is kind. And the room is nice decorated but for sleeping there in a room Movie was a nightmare - the worst - the ceilings/ floor construction has been made nicely from optics but abound sound isolation nobody thought . Unfortunately all the night somebody walked on our heads and, felt like, next to - you could hear all the moves. Plus the floors are making terrible noises when you walk. We were not able to get to the rest room without waking each other up. Plus the baby didn't sleep neither because of the noise which was going on till 2 am in the night - no parties but just walking which was way to loud.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    10
    Lovely guest house. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was okay...no hot foods.

    One of the best guest houses we’ve ever stayed. Loved the decor of the room. Room was spacious; large bathroom with rain shower. Quiet neighborhood. Great to walk around and explore the many restaurants and shops. There is a grocery store right on the corner as well as the tram.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    9.6
    A Designer Boutique Hotel in Fabulous Berlin Neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No shower cap individual toiletries but all good - we came prepared

    I loved the decor - our room was BEACH - cool shiplack walls with peaked beamed ceiling w decorative touches every spot - bathroom sink housed in Germany country antique workbench w two lovely sinks - shower was fabulous and IT in room made available your cell phone playlist w speakers in both room and large area bathroom - one of my favorite spots ever - we loved the back outdoor brick patio w tent covering from rain w more antiques, big potted plants trees and ultra private in glamorous way - Neighborhood had several small and perfect restaurants - a local brewery house too w great friendly staff serving Bavarian tapas - some WWII history in the neighborhood too as we came across several stumbling stones each telling powerful story of individuals lost to the horrific camps and died - public trans steps away and the staff super professional and friendly = PERFECT

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    10
    Beatiful rooms on a quiet street close to several restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent service and spotlessly clean rooms. The interior design is astonishing and rooms have plenty of space. Very easy access to public transportation (metro line U2 brings you close to many sights easily).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    10
    Delightful, charming, romantic boutique hotel. Wonderful property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to go home!

    Absolutely delightful property in a very good location. This is a wonderful small boutique hotel with individually appointed rooms that were very nicely furnished and decorated. We stayed in the "Picasso" room and found it charming. The staff were very helpful and friendly - much appreciated. We would definitely recommend for couples for a comfortable and romantic stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    9.6
    Loved the inhouse area for tea/coffee and that you could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was not comfortable in the Indonesian room.

    Loved the inhouse area for tea/coffee and that you could take champagne in the foyer on the honor system! Loved the art and feel of the place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    10
    Perfect location, large and stylish comfy rooms all for a great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The House has a snow great directly underneath the key hole - in Vermont, they are set back far enough not to lose your keys if you drop them - a little apprehensive every time I had to unlock the door

    Perfect location, large and stylish comfy rooms all for a great value - although I did not have my children with me, the location and amenities are also perfect for families, close to transportation and in a really safe and hip neighborhood with plenty of food and entertainment options.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    7.5
    A cute boutique with a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was quite expensive for what it was. 15 euro per person for an average European breakfast buffet. There are better and cheaper places for breakfast in the neighborhood. There was construction/renovations going on in our building during our stay.

    A cute boutique with a central location. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2017

    9.2
    More a home from home than a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great room, very spacious and comfortable. Loved the personal touches and the bathroom was fabulous. Breakfast was delicious, loved the breakfast room, an oasis of tranquillity!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2016

    8.3
    Calm, spacious retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have liked a kettle in my room to make tea.

    Elegant, spacious room and soft pillows. I felt comfortable and safe in he beautiful Prenzlauer district.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    7.5
    Nice, spacey room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lot of noise in the early morning, because of unloading stock for nearby supermarket or perhaps als building works. As from 6.00 hrs. one could hardly sleep!

    Nice, spacey room; good beds; historical building!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2016

    9.6
    Nice location, big clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great part of town, nice big room, friendly staff. Gread location to go for a night out - close to the best places yet quiet, and the breakfast in nearby restaurants was terrific (try Cafe Anna Blume).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    I’m considering moving in — a real treat.”
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Charming place in the best neighborhood. A gem!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely room, Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    10
    A charming theme-hotel with very tastefully decorated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A charming theme-hotel with very tastefully decorated apartments and rooms, great bed, wonderful backyard, and a good shower. I loved the place!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, quiet room, beautiful garden, friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double bed had separate mattresses with a considerable gap

    Great location, quiet room, beautiful garden, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful decorations and huge bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building under construction.

    Beautiful decorations and huge bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    8.3
    Nice comfy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two single beds instead of a double. No safe in the room.

    Nice comfy hotel. Big room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    8.8
    It would be good to have a better bathroom set (Shampoos etc.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be good to have a better bathroom set (Shampoos etc.) as well as a kettle and coffee/tea in the rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, in a fabulous neighbourhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel, in a fabulous neighbourhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Charming eclectic boutique hotel. Lovely quiet location. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    9.2
    Glamorous home we all want
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was gorgeous

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2016

    10
    The location was excellent and the staff were superb and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unique property

    The location was excellent and the staff were superb and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2016

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful rooms. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2016

    10
    Spacious, Attractively Designed "Beach Room" with Very Friendly Service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The design of our "Beach Room" was absolutely stunning, enormous, livable and cozy!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful cosy place with great furniture.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Internet connection worked only for a part of my devices. New log-in every few minutes. This really needs to be fixed! But it was the only negative point.

    Beautiful cosy place with great furniture. If you're fed up with ordinary hotels, that hotel gives you a different feeling. Spacious room with very comfortable couch, huge bathroom with window and entry with cupboard. Tasty breakfast in a quiet Sunday-morning room for reading newspapers. Friendly and helpful staff, great neighborhood with many restaurants.

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2016

    10
    Amazing character and such a luxury compared to big chain...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sorry to say only thing that lets it down is the tiny thin hard towels and bathrobes. Everything else is so well thought out and luxurious.. Right down too bath oil and toiletries.

    Amazing character and such a luxury compared to big chain hotels. Had a look at other rooms and all amazing! Fabulous location.

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2016

    10
    We are very picky and have seen a lot of Hotel in this world...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The blanckets were a bit small

    We are very picky and have seen a lot of Hotel in this world already.. But ackselhaus and blue home is really special!!! We loved every detail of this wonderful boutique hotel. For new years they placed a bottle of champage in our fridge and where very nice and helpful in every detail. We had the strandhaus which is so beautiful! Every thing is very clean but not steril. We will come back For sure!

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2015

    10
    I did not know what to expect when I booked this room and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I did not know what to expect when I booked this room and when I got to the hotel, from the outside it was just like every other building in East Berlin. But as soon as I walked in I felt like I was transported to a different time and world. The beauty of this hotel is unbelievable. Each room is individually decorated. The architecture in each room as like art. I could not stop looking up at the celling. I must see. I stayed in the Blue House room 301. I will be coming back to this place. The lady that worked in the evenings was amazing. All their staff were, and they always did everything with a smile on their face.

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2015

    8.3
    Great location on Prenzlauer berg, in a very nice alley.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Great location on Prenzlauer berg, in a very nice alley. Just a few stops up the tram way from Alexander Platz. Kitchenette equipped to prepare coffee and tea, and cook a small meal. Very nice terasse, unfortunately closed when I was there in November.

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2015

    10
    The staff were super friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The staff were super friendly and helpfull. The room was super big and super comfortable and the place had this charm about it. The area was nice n quite but had loads of great restaurants and only 3 stops on tram or 10min walk to Alexander platz. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to family and friends

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some English tv channels would have been good for when the wife was getting ready to go out!

    Beautiful room. Large and stylish. Excellent overall- we'll be back.

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2016

    3.3
    Style of room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Style of room

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2016

    10
    My favorite place to stay in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My favorite place to stay in Berlin.

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2016

    7.5
    Room was comfortable, very spacious and fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    maid service was sporadic and not on a schedule which suited me

    Room was comfortable, very spacious and fun.

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2016

    9.6
    Amazing room interior, the kindest staff you will ever...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing!

    Amazing room interior, the kindest staff you will ever encounter, location in a walk distance form the center.

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2016

    9.6
    Very comfortable luxurious room in a great spot close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very comfortable luxurious room in a great spot close to bars, restaurants, shops, transport - and the bath is stunning!

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful place, great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Beautiful place, great breakfast

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2015

    10
    Staff were perfect balance of discreet yet attentive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Staff were perfect balance of discreet yet attentive

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2015

    10
    The building, oh, and the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building, oh, and the room!!. For the first time ever I did not feel like being in a hotel!

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the beginning the price and the content of the booking (breakfast) was not clear.

    Great location. Nice interieur.

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2015

    10
    Stylish, friendly, individual and really comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Stylish, friendly, individual and really comfortable. A great hotel.

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2015

    10
    Stayed in the Picasso room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Stayed in the Picasso room. Amazing room, very spacious. Interesting.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Ackselhaus & Blue Home Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: