Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel zum Adler This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Lindenallee 2 / Saalburgstraße 160, 61350 Bad Homburg vor der Höhe, Germany

#23 of 24 hotels in Bad Homburg vor der Höhe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 359 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Paid WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    Very bad service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We checked in at 2 Pm and left immediately to visit friends. Came back just before 8 PM hoping to see World Cup-game Germany-Sweden on the TV. Turned out we didn't have any channels at all. On the TV it just said that nothing was installed and we couldn't find a solution. We also discovered that there were no bulbs in the bedside lamps. On Saturdays, the reception close at 7 PM but there are some telephone-numbers that you can call. I called the first number and explained the problem. The reply was just "The reception is closed and I can't help you". So with no TV I went to a nearby grocery store where I could buy two bulbs, for 8 Euro in total, so at least we could read in the evening. On Sunday morning I went to the reception and explained the problem. The receptionist came to the apartment but couldn't do anything with the TV. She said she would call the boss. I also asked for reimbursement for the bulbs. When we came back in the evening the TV still didn't work. When we checked out on Monday morning the same woman that tried to help us on Sunday worked. She said that they hadn't fixed the TV because the boss doesn't work on Sundays (she talked in German so I could have missed something in the explanation) and when it came to the bulbs they were not going to reimburse since they have plenty of spare bulbs at the hotel. We were not happy with the service and the attitude! If you book an apartment, be aware of the cleaning fee of 10 Euro/person which adds quite a lot to the total price, especially if you have a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    3.3
    Supersoft beds, small toilet, cold non smiling staff but ok for quick stop and a short rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non smiling staff, night staff did not forward info about our breakfast to morning staff... Price was higher than advertised on booking.com

    Near autobahn, staff came to open after normal hours, (but did not confirm this before by email)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.8
    The bed was alright.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a 3 bedroom, which was confirmed. They did not have one available actually. Asked the 3 of us to wait in a twin bedroom until the additional bed arrives. The twin bedroom was tiny and we wondered how the third bed would fit. After 30 min the guy arrived and said one of us had to move to a single room. The staff was not friendly, not particularly welcoming. The twin room was at the top floor which was baking hot due to summer, so could not sleep well. Breakfast was overpriced so did not opt for it. Room wasn't prepared well. Towels were missing, which were provided only after asking. Bathroom was missing soap, shampoo etc. The staircase was dusty and not clean. The free parking was narrow and tight and limited to just 5 cars, out of which one place was used by the guy at the reception to park his own car. Wouldn't recommend to anyone unless left with no choice.

    The bed was alright. Free parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    Cosy comfortable place well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was 3 flights up .Check out was very early at 10 and not possible to wait in hotel.

    bed was excellent ,,,,the boiled eggs at breakfast was a lovely treat ,Very close to supermarket and town is walking distance .Nice to wake up to a chorus of birdsong

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    6.3
    Good location, nice stuff, some rennovation needed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was satisfied with my room, but my colleague who is taller and had the same kind of room as mine (at the highest floor) had almost no place to straighten up ;) so if you are taller than 1,7m choose the room on the lower floor. Also, I had no place for plug in in the bathroom. The hair dryer was there, but how can I use my streightener/curling iron without a place to plug it in? And the mirror was in the bathroom... The ramp for shower was broken so I had to keep the handshower in one hand all the time what made the time of the shower much longer (especially because there was no shelve for cosmetics so in one hand the handshower and in second shampoo...). Last thing, someone forgot to clean a part of my room - the shelve next to the working desk. I had a plastic part of box after a salad, with mayonnaise on it.

    Personel was helpful, location was good, nice restaurant very close to the hotel, shops located nearly. Perhaps all the problems I had with my room will not appear if I get a room located on the other floor - I could see that lower floors were just being rennovated but mine not.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    2.9
    POOR HOTEL
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Location is far from Train Station - Not convenient - No Service by Hotel - No good Cleaning - Very Poor Hotel - Price is very high and does not match the value of the hotel

    I like nothing in the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    5.0
    The worst hotel experience in my life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to advertise everywhere in CAPITAL letters that after 9p.m. there is going to be NO member of any of the staff!! It was the worst hotel experience in my life.

    We came at 11p.m. The hotel was open,.but NOONE was at the reception or anywhere at the hotel. So we waited and walked around and then left and had to sleep in the car.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.3
    Great access to the Taunus area and plenty of green!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed that wifi access and breakfast cost additional fees--Part of the reason I booked there was because I thought they were included in the price. Also, noisy neighbors meant I had to sleep with ear plugs.

    The bed was comfortable and the bedding was lovely. The fellow at reception was extremely friendly and made me feel very welcome. I did appreciate that there was a convenient place to park my vehicle.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    5.8
    I wouldn't go back here.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is really dated. We had to walk up two flights of stairs (no elevator), room was small, shower room tiny, breakfast room small. This hotel is more like a boarding house than a hotel.

    The young man at the reception was very friendly, helpful and spoke good English. There's a small Italian restaurant nearby which is excellent. The Laternenfest (3-5 sep) in Bad Homburg was fun. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    7.1
    one night stand
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actual location is different than it is in Google map. Lack of information on arrival: concierge was off duty and no written notice left for us. I had to call and speak with a person with limited English. Wi-Fi didn't work properly.

    Location is convenient

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    4.6
    Problematic...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wanna a free hotel ? - hotel Adler is for you. We arrived and there was nobody on the reception. All 3 phones were not answering. No paper sign or any evidence that we were welcomed was left for us. There were several open rooms left, still not cleaned from previous stayers. Only with help of Booking.com were we able to make the receptionist call us. Internet for 2 EUR was as well terrible. Actually was not possible to use it at all because of frequent disconnects.

    Croissants were present

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is not free

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    4.2
    No towels,dirty room
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels,dirty room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    Some noise from the road and the neighbours within the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise from the road and the neighbours within the hotel. The walls must be thin.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    4.6
    Hotel is under construction
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What can I say - the hole Hotel was under construction - perhaps in the future it will be better - but ...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    6.7
    Somebody tried to come in my room at 3:00am & woke me up
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Somebody tried to come in my room at 3:00am & woke me up

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    6.3
    A ton of outlets in the room--no taking turns to charge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Their listing with Booking claimed--in its first sentence-- "this hotel offers rich breakfast buffets, bright rooms, and a bowling alley." Nope. No bowling alley. At all. My 8-year-old was disappointed, since we'd highlighted that feature en route. The hotel's response? "Sorry for the misunderstanding." Um, this wasn't a misunderstanding; this was misrepresentation (which he blamed on booking.com, saying they're the ones who write the descriptions and he has no control--I'd have to call them). Also, Not a rich breakfast buffet. Not even close. (I'm posting a picture of the entire buffet. It should be noted that it was a cheap breakfast cost and I was fine with it, but calling it "rich" just added to the misrepresentation I feel the hotel committed.) Oh--and no one was there for check-in. Their hours said 1500. We were there a little before. He showed up around 1525. He was t there during posted checkout hours, either. We just left the key on a shelf by the office door.

    A ton of outlets in the room--no taking turns to charge devices.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    8.3
    Despite the hot weather and number of stairs, the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked access to the internet, however this wasn't offered on booking in (we were 30 minutes late due to traffic delays). It would appear that the receptionist was waiting for us and then went, giving not opportunity to ask later.

    Despite the hot weather and number of stairs, the room was very nice. A fan would have been nice, but it is accepted that this weather is not the norm here as it is in Australia!

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    4.2
    One room only
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    The reaktion of the maneger at Telefon. To. Say my opinion about the room the reaktionärer was very Bad heute say werden are 2 Stern hotel not five Star

    One room only

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    7.5
    Good breakfast for 6 euro
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Basic room, but good enough.

    Good breakfast for 6 euro

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    9.2
    Nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice location. Easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    5.8
    Wi-fi connection quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV Reception services

    Wi-fi connection quality

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    6.3
    Only German TV channels, there could be at least news...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only German TV channels, there could be at least news channels in English. Only 1h wi-fi for free.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    9.6
    Nice old style Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice old style Hotel. No Hotel bar, but nice restaurants (like Pizzeria) close by. Small , but good breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    8.8
    Excellent Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent Staff

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Browse Hotel zum Adler traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: