Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Akazienhof Hotel & Brauhaus

Akazienweg 2, Grengel, 51147 Cologne, Germany

#17 of 42 B&Bs and Inns in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 467 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    High standard room and bathroom - kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really except no tea making facilities in the room - but this is pretty normal in Germany - a little tough on us Brits !!

    Beautiful room and bathroom. Window with quiet outlook. I had to leave too early for breakfast but they provided me with a thoughtful packed lunch. The walk to the airport was fine and took about 20 minutes.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no elevator. I stayed here to be close to the airport but handling my luggage up the stairs was difficult.

    The staff was very helpful. Helped with luggage storage that was too heavy for me, gave me a packed breakfast since I left early in the morning. I had a room to myself and it was nicely furnished.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    A great value hotel with fab staff and close proximity to the airport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is a little small - but functional. I could not find the wifi code on any documentation in the room. The complimentary shampoo/shower gel was poor.

    Bed was comfy, room a good size, lovely full length opening windows to a gorgeous day. Good range of fresh food for breakfast, good coffee. Very good value for money. Had dinner there as well..... staff were great and the food was excellent, again, great value for money. The hotel booked me an early taxi - which came before time - and cost 7EUR to the airport in 5 minutes. Amazing!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Great staff really appreciative.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff really appreciative. Need an overnight stay at the airport definitely the place to go. Breakfast is provided & the pub offers dinner and beer. Easy walk to and from the airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.0
    It was a very good hotel for the money.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good except one has to be a good sleeper while planes could be heard just outside your window. But we actually had to choose it for its location so that we had to bear.

    Friendly and helpful staff and cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was ok, the rooms were clean.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the upper floors the temperature was warm and the air was stuffy. It was much better when the windows were opened, however then the noise from the street and the airport was waking us up every couple of minutes.

    The breakfast was ok, the rooms were clean. Airport is very close.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    Good if you're looking for cheaper accommodation near the airport for one night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sticky floor in the whole room, so my favourite walking barefooted not pleasant, also toilet seat sticky. Rooms facing the main road, room door opening slightly awkward.

    Standard breakfast offer, pleasant, off-the-beaten track location, easy reach to airport by bus/on foot. Could easily have a beer with the local people, cosy atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.5
    Very convenient place to stay after a very late flight arrival or for a very early flight.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived after midnight, but my late check-in was arranged very well. Hotel can even be reached by foot from the airport, short distance (OK if not too much luggage) and safe road for pedestrians is available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed the overnight visit albeit our stay was short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs elevator! We do not do well with stairs and luggage Restaurant closed too soon for our later arrival and dinner enjoyment

    The room was more than expected

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    3.8
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found staff a little rude. Window was stuck open and when asked staff to have it resolved nothing happened. Very noisy late at night and early in morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    absolutely brilliant with exceptionall staff.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at the property after midnight which is when reception is closed and the staff were sleeping but they still came over and let us in AND showed us to our room. Thankyou for all your help hotel,I would definitely come again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant hotel near the Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to be negative about.

    Had a lovely stay at this hotel. The room was big and comfortable. Room was clean and tidy and was cleaned daily. Have no complaints. Eat in the hotel restaurant, does some amazing food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.8
    The restaurant attached to the hotel is decent and clearly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked the hotel staff to order me a taxi for a very early morning flight, and the taxi never came. I had to walk to the airport at 5 in the morning through dark, deserted streets. There was absolutely no one around a the hotel to help me.

    The restaurant attached to the hotel is decent and clearly popular with locals.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Marvellous multilingual service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was great , friendly and helpful. Cosy room with a excellent bed . The restaurant provide a tasty local food and the quality price it’s also good. Just 7€ a cab from hotel to airport in 5 minutes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.5
    Well worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a late flight in from London and needed a cab. The driver was angry that he had waited in que for 3 hours for a 7€ fare. When we arrived our experience was nothing like the cab ride. Sasha the bartender greeted us (in English) and we got a good chuckle about the cab driver. He showed us to our room. Because of the location we were a little apprehensive but once inside we felt right at home. We went back down to the bar and were treated to a fine assortment of local beer. Breakfast in the morning was typical German fare. Bread cheese and meats. The waitress brought us a platter of scrambled eggs at no extra charge. They were very helpful regarding public transportation to the city center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Excellent location and good value food and drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly owners who were helpful when booking a taxi for an early flight. The food and drink was good and reasonably priced. Excellent location with petrol station and close to airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, it's a shame that there is reluctant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is not marked and is equal to the bar. The staff will shape that you can not see even when you go out of the backpack downstairs after the restaurant. It was a problem to speak English.

    Spacious room and bedroom. Bus stop 161 right opposite the hotel, and only 3 stops from the airport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.3
    value for money, i have stayed for ~57 eur single room with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it actually much further from airport - takes 25-30 min on foot they need modern bed(not metal one) in room and new ironing desk

    value for money, i have stayed for ~57 eur single room with breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Lots to see & do in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very helpful and friendly staff; convenient location for Airport; Nice bar; very nice Breakfast; comfortable Hotel and good value for money considering location so close to Cologne.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    10
    Great value at Köln/Bonn Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient to the Köln/Bonn Airport. I enjoyed every aspect. The staff was courteous and efficient. The room was immaculate. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Handy stay for the beautiful Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The tidiness of the room and the bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Stayed here to before my early morning flight from Cologne airport, a 5-minute taxi ride away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud noise from the planes.

    Great restaurant. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Good room and decent breakfastonly a very short bus ride or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't see the brewery!

    Good room and decent breakfastonly a very short bus ride or 15 mins walk to the airport. Enjoyed our short stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Parking not great, due to lack of consideration of other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not great, due to lack of consideration of other customers ; WiFi password not provided.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Nice, clean and spacious room, a good bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, clean and spacious room, a good bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    15 min walk from airport and staff very helpful with our...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    15 min walk from airport and staff very helpful with our Early arrival.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Old fashioned charm and great food
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned. Great food. Great service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Gold value but not so well connected to airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not well connected to Airport at night

    Staff extremely kind and available

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    Ok place, very nice staff but quite noisy.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. A lot of noise from other rooms

    Nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    High room rate due to "Anuga" exhibition -...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    High room rate due to "Anuga" exhibition - although pretty distant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Peaceful place, friendly staff, good food.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Peaceful place, friendly staff, good food. My recommendation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    nice place for its money, good dinner place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice place for its money, good dinner place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was amazing...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    6.7
    Good location, free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was erratic.

    Good location, free parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.1
    Alright.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning lady cleaned room before check out, and requested not to use the bed anymore. Surfaces were dusty.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.8
    Inexpensive Medica Hotel - and yes it's in Colgne!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't check in until late so only had time for a couple of beers

    Comfortable spacious well equipped rooms above a bar selling great beer

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.1
    Yes! breakfast good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Yes! breakfast good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Gret food in the pub bellow the rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gret food in the pub bellow the rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    9.6
    Excellent value stop-over on way back from Austria to UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Just one minor glitch - difficult to connect to WiFi in bar area.

    Excellent value stop-over on way back from Austria to UK. Great food and drink in attached bar. Lovely quiet room with extra beds set up as requested. Friendly staff and very generous breakfast set us up for the day. Many thanks!

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    6.7
    Good big double for single occupancy, and good bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not really a hotel, really just bedrooms over a pub. Drop keys off in box for departure. Three floors of very steep steps and no elevator.( thirty six to my second floor room) a guy heloed with by big bag in arrival, but not for departure. Bed was very low to the floor, and with soft mattress , getting up was difficult.. Was advised on arrival that the brew pub and restaurant were closed for private carnival party. This had been reason to book here...given directions to a nice place a good teb minute walk down quiet residential road.

    Good big double for single occupancy, and good bathroom. All super clean.easy public bus ride to airport, though not best frequency.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    8.3
    Closeness to main transport routes, this was a stop off on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In a very built up area, across from airport. Ideal for us, but perhaps not ideal if you were wishing to use as a scenic base for a visit to Cologne.

    Closeness to main transport routes, this was a stop off on the way home. Lovely restaurant, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.2
    Right next to Cologne airport, great location for getting to...
    • Group

    If checking in after 5pm, make sure to go directly to bar to check in.

    Right next to Cologne airport, great location for getting to your flight on time.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    This hotel has clean, comfortable rooms and they serve a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel has clean, comfortable rooms and they serve a nice breakfast. The hotel is in walking distance to the airport, or else you can take a bus which passes 2 times per hour.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    10
    I was really tired after a long time flight.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was really tired after a long time flight. The room was tidy and clean and the bed was very comfortable, which helped me rest a lot. Breakfast was fresh and delicous. It is also close to the airport. Transportation is convenient. Thanks a lot for the nice accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    5.8
    Really clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Atmosphere

    Really clean

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    9.6
    good breakfast, nice room, very late check-in possible, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    good breakfast, nice room, very late check-in possible, nice staff, good communication, 1.5km (2 min. by car) from the airport, free parking

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    8.8
    Very welcoming staff, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very welcoming staff, comfortable room. Great mixing with the locals.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.2
    breakfast, very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast, very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Comfortable, convenient location, good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception was a bit haphazard but everything picked up from then on.

    Comfortable, convenient location, good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    6.3
    Near to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is no air condition so on hot days it's not comfortable. You can hear the cars going on the street. The food is poor.

    Near to the airport

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.3
    Clean, friendly and included a good quality Buffett breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Clean, friendly and included a good quality Buffett breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    9.6
    Super food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super food. Good beer. Great atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    8.8
    Good Location and Very helpful Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast not a big deal though !!

    Good Location and Very helpful Staff

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    3.8
    Nothing was good.
    • Family with older children

    Many places which I visit were much better. Feel sorry for future guests.

    Nothing was good.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    8.8
    It´s a very quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It´s a very quiet place

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: