Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aktiv Hotel Schweiger This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Ländeweg 2, 87629 Füssen, Germany

#29 of 42 hotels in Füssen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 533 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As usual in Germany no tea making facility in the room. Tables for breakfast were pre allocated - we didn't know thus and were made to move - we hadn't spotted the little card with our name on it on the table we should have used.

    Perfect location just 10 min walk from Altstadt, but also at the start of a lovely walk along the valley of the senses - and there's a delightful little family run cafe by the lake nearby. Our room had a little balcony overlooking the garden. Breakfast was good and the parking in the hotel carpark was free (not always the case in Germany) We were delighted that the hotel had reserved us tickets fir a tour of Neuschwanstein. Thus made our visit there very smooth.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the mattress on the main bed (we had a family room) were awful... considering it’s a health hotel, you’d think the beds were comfortable enough to get a good nights sleep. Also, would’ve been nice if the restaurant offered a few options for younger kids (toddlers) on the menu for dinner.

    Location was very convenient for Füssen old town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room interiors seemed a bit dated and could use some refreshing or modernization. The built-in clock radio seemed antiquated and unusable.

    The hotel and common areas were very clean and nicely styled. The included breakfast was delicious and had lots of variety. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in walking distance to the main town center along a beautiful river walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really

    Hotel was easy to find and in a lovely quiet area of town however only a 10 minute stroll along the river to the Town of Fussen. Room was a reasonable size however there was a strong odour from the drains in the bathroom which kept coming back - my partner is a builder and this seems to be a common fault overseas with their sewer systems so not something I would blame hotel for - we improvised and overcame it. Staff were friendly. We ate in restaurant once and food was of a good quality and reasonably priced. Overall a very enjoyable stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a 20 minute walk into town for shopping, restaurants, etc.

    Staff was excellent, went to extra effort to serve one of us a meal in the afternoon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff we met were helpful and friendly. When we were given our room someone had used it after it had been prepared. We informed the receptionist and she checked and confirmed this. Within 5 mins we were relocated with an upgrade, reducing the stress after our long drive there. Well done.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -the smell of the hotel (rooms and especially the hallways) -rooms tired and the carpeting throughout hotel gives off a stink and heat that is very uncomfortable. -staff were not very friendly; fake smiles

    -the location and price -balcony with lovely view -big room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This little hotel has an excellent breakfast and offers dinners . It has a spa on site . It's location for walks along the river and /or walks into town is remarkable and pretty . We got lost trying to find the hotel the first time , plus we arrived in an unexpected snow storm , but after that we had no difficulty and it was so worth it . We would choose this hotel and its location over and over again . The staff was very helpful , especially Judith .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no socket for my phone next to the bed, and Wi-Fi was awful, but I do think that's the consequence of the area, not the hotel problem. Couldn't find coffee at breakfast, unfortunately, I think it was served in separate kettles, but wasn't marked in any way.

    I loved that it was next to a park, where you can enjoy beautiful views of the mountains. I mean, just right net to it. Parking was spacious and we had no problem checking in early with no extra fees- thank you very much! Staff was amazing, yes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely loved every bit of this hotel, very friendly staff from receptionist to maids, good restaurant with yummy breakfast, good bar, and other facilities. Clean and comfortable. Feels like home. It's also within a waking distance to the centre with restaurants and bars. Quiet and beautiful surroundings. Rooms was clean and quiet, with a beautiful view. Wifi in the room was fast enough, and stable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no public transportation to the hotel from the train station. It would be a pleasant walk in normal time. But fairly difficult if the weather sucks. as the hotel locates in a uphill and you need to climb.

    Breakfast is fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -rooms needs little inovate, look like too old

    -excellent breakfast -fussen town, nice walking area -river behind a hotel across hill -quiet place -clean room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite of the booking for two adults and one child they report that the child was not indeed present in the booking.com documentation they received. The payment was only accepted cash or EC card, credit cards were not accepted. We could not stay the second booked night and we got a reduction of 20% only.

    Staff courtesy, room and surround cleanliness, reach breakfast choice. Beautiful surrounding.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Meals overpriced. Did not replace bottled water or personal items - shampoos, soaps, etc in room Indoor parking times uncertain

    Quiet neighborhood. One way narrow and blind traffic access is risky.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was trying to get to the castles with a tour agency and they were not of much help; I got to another hotel in the city and they explained me very well what was needed. Also, I asked for a cab at 730 and it arrived at 803 and I missed a train, even when it was not their fault, I would had expect any workaround understanding my itinerary was affected. Wifi only works in common areas, it was in the hotel comments I just did not see it (fyi)

    Good breakfast, location very good. It's a little away from Fusse (1km) comparted to the most of other hotels but easy to walk it, and the trail next to the river is awesome. It has a very nice park close by to chill out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel's fantastic marketing material and promotion on Spa and massages service were little met with unattended calls to the Spa centre out of all my total stays of 5 days. Further enquiry to the hotel reception was to be told that the only availability to book a time falls on the day and exact latest time for my check-out at 11am. The experience of staying in Aktiv Hotel Schweiger didn't get any better when at first day, house-keeping so brilliantly decided to mend with my soft-toy (initially sits comfortably on the bed) by placing it on top of one of the incandescent wall lamp. I returned back to my hotel room and thought the soft-toy had gone missing, all the while, the furry fabric of my soft-toy burned while sitting along on the hot burning incandescent 40 watts lamp. Some creativity of house-keeping that had gone seriously far, I guess. Oh, and if one's thinking of slipping that cup of tea or coffee while relaxing in the peace of the hotel, while surfing the TV channels (which by the way are all in German, fat hopes about chancing upon international channels in English, quite except for Southpark at 11pm, they are probably too vulgar to be translated), one can forget about that, because the hotel has a NO kettle in room policy. For some strange reason. Yes I understand its a 3-star, but still, no kettle, really?? The pillows in Germany are squarish and uncannily flat. I requested at the reception for additional pillows and was asked to follow the receptionist to collect my own pillow, which if this isn't enough of sloppy service already, the receptionist couldn't find any single spare pillow in the storage and could only offer a small humble couch pillow at its best instead. I seems to remember reading in the hotel guide that additional pillows and blankets can be requested at reception, only to be met with unparallel service. My hand are tired from these typing now. Well if you have to stay in this hotel, good luck and enjoy!!

    Friendly and helpful staffs at dining.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are slightly different from the ones depicted no fridge in the rooms WiFi is only available in common areas

    the breakfast was very good rooms are quiet location is within walking distance from the city centre private parking staff was kind and accomodating

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite a walk from the town if you are carrying luggage, but in a beautiful location once you get there.

    Beautiful place. Very comfortable and quiet. Amazing healthy tasty breakfast with tables inside or in the garden.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is not in the city center and is not easy to find, but in a beautiful place.

    The staff is very kind and attentive. The hotel is very pleasant and quite; it is locate in a beautiful place. The room is nice. The breakfast is really very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far away from the downtown (1.5km). Wifi was only available on the lobby and it had time limit(5 hours for 1 night). You should turn off it when you're not using it.

    Very large single room. Very nice staff. Enjoyed included breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Veeeeeery slow wifi, only in the reception area. No refrigerator in the room.

    Very good hotel in the outskirts of Fussen. Only 10 minutes walk away from the city. Very quiet surroundings With no thru-traffic. Large and comfortable rooms With balcony. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, very basic, small bathroom, small balcony, bad chairs on the balcony. Staff not very friendly. For this price we would expect something better!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi in the room is not working well, you should stay in the hall to take the signal in a proper way.

    The breakfast and dinner are very good. The position is good to reach the Bavarian castles but always by car.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's already predefined with the card on the table where you will seat on breakfast. A little akward to sit with strangers together when other tables are vacant. By the way, the strangers appeared to be a good company.

    Nice place, cozy and clean. Very calm hotel. Breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    10 minutes from the railway station,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was excellent. Full breakfast was included with the stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ridiculous small TV, maybe 14'' or so

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. It had a calm quiet atmosphere as it was connected to a clinic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Wifi is a bit slow and dificult to connect.

    - The breakfast at the hotel is great. - Easy parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!!!@

    Everything !!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one of the few hotels in the area that accepts late check-in!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice breakfast. Attentive staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The map of the hotel location on its website is very unclear for a new comer to Fussen.

    The breakfast and the room view are wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was very slow and was not in the rooms.

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wifi in the room. it's a pity they don't have bathtub in the room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is a mirror hanging just opposite the bed a little bit weird.

    The room and the bathroom is a little old, but mostly comfortable. And the lady at breakfast is very kind.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderful staff. Front desk was exceptionally helpful and the restaurant was exceptional. Location was fantastic, 10 minute walk into town along the river. Very clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wanted get wifi password without asking. I couldn't use wifi one night because I didn't know that.

    Location is ausome. There are waterfall near there. It's nice and calm.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They only had wifi in the Lobby, so we found that a little disappointing, but not that big of a deal.

    The hotel was very clean and comfortable and had lots of amenities. We especially appreciated fresh fruit and bottled water in the hotel room. The breakfast was amazing and the restaurant was very accommodating to our 6 small children.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Half board was not worth the money, the first night two items on the menu were sold out and we ended up with a ham salad as main (£24 a head!!) Lots of nice restaurants in town that were better value.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Diner is quite expensive.

    Good hotel in general. We stayed overnight traveling from the Netherlands to Italy. Favorable location to avoid traffic jam in the direction of the Fernpass by leaving the hotel directly after breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was quite far to walk from the train station. The bar fridge didn't work. The bathroom was very small.

    The place is pretty quiet and breakfast was nice. It's not too far from the Old Town.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi only available in the lobby.

    Secure underground garage parking for motorcycle at no extra charge. clean and comfortable room. good breakfast selection.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accommodating staff. We enjoyed a gourmet dinner in the charming restaurant. We loved the location and were able to park our car and walk into the village of Fussen. We biked on the bike paths beside the river. We would certainly highly recommend this hotel. A highlight of our vacation!

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I only stayed one night, and not so important about sauna. Better I needed some other fun in the hotel.

    It should be spent with long days, and expect for sauna or others. Staffs are nice people.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pleasant walk along river to the picturesque and interesting town of Fussen.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    not so much to order from the menu if you are coming with the kids.

    very quiet location

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifi not available in room

    Free indoor garage

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Was hot summer days. Need fans in room since no a/c.

    Great breakfast and great location. Beautiful walk to town center of Fussein.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent dinner and service

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reservation for individual group of the breakfast table is very considerate.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Close to Schwangau and Füssen. The breakfast is really good!!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It could be tricky to find without Sat Nav!

    A nice clean Hotel, friendly staff and a good location for seeing Fussen and the Castles.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice place with beautiful lakes and paths friendly staff, great breakfast, wonderful bread.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Couple

    Dinner take à long time

    Staff ok

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice and quiet location. Only a few minutes walk to Füßen 'Altstadt'. Standard rooms are fairly big and have a nice balcony.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    The peace and quiet, excellent surroundings for relaxing

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A bigger pillow would be nice.

    Very helpful staff, excellent English, a pleasant home atmosphere, good breakfast. Free parking in the garage.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - Wifi didn't work on the room, only on the loby - The bathroom was VERY small

    - Amazing location - Nice bed and sheets - Good breakfast

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: