Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Müller

Alpseestraße 16, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Germany

#3 of 8 hotels in Hohenschwangau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1049 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.3
    The Hotel staff help me pick up the ticket early in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel staff help me pick up the ticket early in the morning. The location is superb, it is in front of the palaces, no need to travel from anywhere to the site.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, perfect location, friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We had late afternoon booking for the Castle so the location was perfect. Rooms are pretty, clean and comfortable. We were travelling with my parents and they gave us connecting room through our little balcony. We had dinner at the restaurant, which was very nice too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    The staff were exceptional with organizing tickets to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow and bed in the room were comfy but could have used another pillow at night. The shower was a bit tricky to maneuver in if you were up in age but the water was fine.

    The staff were exceptional with organizing tickets to the two castles and also with arraigning the horse carriage ride so we did not have to wait in line for it. My stay couldn’t have been better!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear the peole on the room next door.

    Perfect location, great room with view, living room and big bathroom. Great staff! Very helpful and happy to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    A great place to stay if you are visiting the castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room only had net curtains so we felt uncomfortable with the lights on as we thought people could see into the room. The Pillows were too soft and insubstantial to support our heads properly. The rest of the bed was fabulous. The room was bordering on small. It was fine dfor us and very comfortable, but it was surprisingly compact. The restaurant was expensive

    Reception staff were Excellent Food was very tasty, Mattress and Quilt were excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Amazing place, great view, great food, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com didn't pay our hotel for our room so we were charged twice, but once we let the hotel know they refunded us immediately!

    This hotel has a great location and the breakfast and service are impeccable! Our view was incredible. We just wished we had two nights here!! We found this place on a You Tube video, what a find!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Stunning views of the Neuschweinstein Castle just from the hotel window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor of the room was a bit out of date, there was no kettle in the room.

    Absolutely wonderful location of the hotel, great parking space, wonderful views of the castle. I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Thie view form the balcony is unforgetable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Such a nice welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of construction nearby. A little loud in the morning

    Such a nice welcome. The room was large and had a wonderful bathroom. They gave us a curtesy upgrade without us even asking. We did not have to go the the ticket center to pick up our reserved castle tickets. The hotel picks the tickets us for you, waiting at the front desk!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice, clean hotel with good food and very good location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have ordered double bed but there was 2 beds together instead. It would be nice if hotel have at least top mattress to cover bed for couple.

    Very nice, clean hotel with good food and very good location and view to the castles.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Great locatiin, wonderful staff, verry good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all the staff verry verry kind and helpful. They manage to get for us the ticket for the both castles at the wish hour and direct at the hotel. Also the breakfast was verry good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Quaint and clean hotel located between castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Very quaint and clean hotel with modern updates. Conveniently located between the castles. Staff helpful and accommodating (picked-up reserved castle tickets). Free breakfast was very good. No A/C but a fan was provided. Large rooms with comfortable beds. Enjoyable stay and would recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    In the Shadow of Neuschwanstein
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were rather dated and the bed could be a bit more comfortable. This would not stop us from staying here, again, however.

    The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We showed up pretty early and they set us up with parking and baggage storage while we explored the trails around Neuschwanstein Castle, When we returned we were promptly checked in and shown to our room. There's not much available in the immediate area; especially after all of the tourists leave around 5pm. There are plenty of trails around the nearby lake and up the mountain near the castle. The view of the castle from the hotel was definitely a highlight. The hotel has a good restaurant and there are a couple of locally-owned places within 1 km. Breakfast was also good and check out was a breeze. We were onto our next stop in no-time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    VIP experience in Hohenschwangau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, location, cleanliness. Very professional establishment in every regard. Staff arranged castle tickets which is a HUGE bonus if you havent reserved tickets beforehand.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous location for visiting Neuschwanstein!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room could have been cleaner...there were some scraps of paper and a bobby-pin left in our room when we arrived. The double doors are a bit confusing (there's an old-timey outer door, that I spent a few seconds trying to put the key in before realizing that the door wasn't locked, opening the outer door, and finding an inner door with a more modern key set).

    This is an absolutely super location for doing Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles. I wish we had known in advance that the property will obtain tickets for guests (instead we showed up at 8am to the ticket booth to ensure we were able to visit Neuschwanstein). The town has a very resort town feel. Oddly it tends to completely empty out in late afternoon...by nightfall it felt like there were only a handful of people left in the village of Hohenschwangau. The breakfast provided this hotel was by far the best breakfast we experienced on our trip. We also had a great little balcony that made for good people watching (and some very interesting people to watch).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in perfect location!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner is a little pricey, but good. The pillows were quite uncomfortable in my opinion, but I am just used to smaller, more firm pillows.

    This was our 2nd time staying at this hotel and we would definitely stay again! It is clean, comfortable, and has a great feel. The location is perfect to explore the area! Pet friendly! I loved that a fan was provided in the room!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Done it! But won't do it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we had a lovely room with a balcony, it was spoilt by the huge building site going on right outside. By the looks of it, this will be going on for another couple of years I should estimate. We ate in the hotel's restaurant because everywhere else in the town had closed at 6 pm when all the mad coach parties disappear. There was no entertainment whatsoever and the restaurant just had us and another couple eating. No atmosphere.

    That it was right by the Castles.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    It's very good location & close to Neuschwanstein...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's very good location & close to Neuschwanstein & Hohenschwangau. There is also a lake with good view. The hotel provided us with the hot water for instant noddle as per our requests. Very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    The perfect way to visit such a magical place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is all about location with this hotel. Its right at the spot.to go up to the castle. However, it is also such a cute lovely hotel. My mom and I had connecting balconies laden with flowers that overlooked the majestic mountains. There was one of the restaurants that had a view of the castle. It was a short walk to the lake. Thw breakfast had such an amazing variety as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    The staff in the Hotel are fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in the Hotel are fab. Graham at the desk booked us tickets for the Castle for the next morning so we didnt have to worry about a Thing. The room itself was nice and had lovely added extras such as water, Little chocolate etc. The Food in the Restaurant is delicious we had a lovely meal for our last night before heading home and enjoyed a lovely bottle of wine from their great selection. breakfast was lovely and was nice to see scrambed eggs and Bacon on the buffet as a brit! haha. Would recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay at such a beautiful hotel with a view of the castles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we had to leave this beautiful hotel !!

    We loved this hotel, very beautiful and very comfortable with friendly english speaking staff. Very conveniently located at the bottom of the mountain of both Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles. The staff also got us our tickets, which we picked up at the front desk, for visiting the castles at the time we requested. Parking is so convenient on the property of the hotel. Breakfast is also complete, included, and very delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Fairy tale castles in a Fairy tale setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better pillows on the beds would have been good. But I cannot complain about the comfort.

    Everything was amazing. The style of the building with its secret passage to my room, the service, the friendly staff. The location was breathtaking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    The terrace and view from the room were to die for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace and view from the room were to die for!!!! We arrived late and the lady at the front desk was still very nice and super helpful, she even arranged castle tickets for us. The superior room was a splurge and sooooo worth it!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Awesome location, very nice hotel and restaurant and close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was o.k. good choices, but flies kind of ruined it.

    We liked the location, the atmosphere, the gift shop and the restaurant for our dinner. The menu choice is very nice. I had a delicious glass of wine. My husband had the King Ludwig beer, which was really good. The beds are comfortable, but no air conditioning, just a fan. The location is awesome for going to the Neuschwanstein castle and the rest. They are very accommodating. Overall a great experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    We really enjoyed our stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    I loved the location. If you are planning to visit the castle early in the morning, you cannot beat their location. It is right next to the ticket center for the castle. If you've reserved tickets to the castle, let them know when you are checking in and they will pick it up for you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Delightul experience in a magnificent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, there is a lot of new construction close to the hotel which kind of ruined the views but of course not the hotel's fault. The room price was high for the time of year. I suspect others (most seemed to be in tour groups) paid far less.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff whose assistance in obtaining reservations and tickets for the castles was most appreciated and saved loads of precious time which would otherwise have been spent in a queue. Dining in the hotel's restaurant was excellent, friendly staff and good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    The location is absolutely incredible, just walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses could have been a bit firmer. They were a bit too soft. The parking could be a bit generous, considering all other guests that were not able to properly park their cars only on one spot.

    The location is absolutely incredible, just walking distance to both castles. Close to the bus and horse stops. The breakfast was nice and varied enough (several types of coffee specialties, pastry, eggs and bacon, fruits etc). Nice touch with the toiletries (toothbrush and paste, razor etc). The rooms have a vintage style, they are clean and quiet. We would have appreciated a place to have a drink, the restaurant closes at 20:00 and there's no bar to have a night cap. The entire village is very quite and seems like everybody is going to bed quite early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Good choice, amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found a prescription pill under a curtain, fortunately before our toddler did. This could have ended poorly.

    Front desk picks up your reserved castle tour tickets. Do not underestimate the value of this, as the lines are terrible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb!! I love this place. Very close to both of scholsses. Nice view in the evening. Breakfast was great. Value for money you paid! *** All of staffs were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    I was nicely impressed with the organisation of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was nicely impressed with the organisation of the hotel. They picked up the tickets for the castles, so we didn’t have to queue to pick them! Best location to visit the castles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.0
    Location if you have a baby with you and must stay close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs spotted on shower ... not one but three ... grrr ... No question: How was your stay at check out so that your feedback is taken into consideration. Bed sides dangerous for feet, you bump into it constantly, that hurts. Breakfast very poor quality, very disappointing. Even coffee is brought to you in a pot. Mainly packaged stuff of poor quality. Attendants at breakfast not the nicest, looking at you and repeat their question: Room number? Lol we expected better guest treatment and quality of breakfast for that price of over 100 eur. At check in when the lady say an infant with us she just said: Ou she needs to sleep with you in bed. How welcoming! No prob we had a baby cot with us.

    Location if you have a baby with you and must stay close to the castle. But no value at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff was very nice, the restaurant has amazing price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were somewhat small and not as beautiful as the site suggests.

    The staff was very nice, the restaurant has amazing price for the food, and the location is pretty much as good as it gets to visit the nearby castles

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous location, the hotel can get your pre-booked tickets...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms aren’t sound proof in the old section (not a major complaint)

    Fabulous location, the hotel can get your pre-booked tickets for you, parking is free (even on the day you check out)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Checkin and checkout were smooth and personnel very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checkin and checkout were smooth and personnel very kind. This is the best location if you wish to visit the famous Bavarian Castles. Buffet breakfast was ok. We did not try the restaurant, as we preferred to visit the local brauhaus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    My wife & I enjoyed this property immensely!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower configuration is not my favorite, but a small concession to have made there

    This Hotel Muller is literally at the base of both of the castles. Agreeably, the best locale in towns if you're touring them... & both are a must see! Their restaurant was exceedingly great! They have a great many wine selections to choose from at reasonable prices. We shared an '09 bottle of Frederic Franc Blanc (nine yrs. aged), absolutely amazing! Sooo good. 🍷 Their Staff were all very friendly & helpful ... especially Maria @ the Front Desk, a true gem!! We had a balcony room, so that was very nice. The complimentary breakfast buffet is all very fresh ... great hot items + assorted pastries & all quite tasty with endless selections ( oh btw, the barista-made cappuccino was included ... a very nice & delicious touch! ).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Great stay near the castles Hohenschwangau & Neuschwanstein
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative impressions! The only thing, was the fact that we had tween beds and we would have liked a matrimonial double bed. We also did not go back to the reception to ask if its possible to have the room changed as it was just one night stay, so it was not a big deal.

    The hotel is very well placed for visits to the castles. We had the view on the Hohenschwangau castle which is just in 200 m walk uphill behind the hotel. In front of the hotel there is the carriage stop and the bus stop which connects the castles and the villages around.The reception employees were speaking also English and were very helpful with picking up the tickets to the castles Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau from the ticket center near their property. There is a strict procedure and reservation process, on time, ahead, in order to visit these 2 castles (https://en.schwangau.de/welcome/). Everything went very smooth with their help but also because we got long before informed about the rules of visiting the 2 castles & the Bavarian Kings museum which is 100 m from the hotel as well. We arrived Saturday afternoon, had a smooth check -in, a very nice walk down to the lake - 200 m and enjoyed the evening driving to Fussen, another very nice village in a few km from Schwangau. Free parking places for the guests are also a nice to have in this intensively touristic village. With the help of the hotel, we could start our visit to the Bavarian Kings museum at 9.30, after a nice breakfast, smooth check-ut, than visited the Hohenschwangau at 11.30 and at 13.00 the Neuschwanstein. We needed to be very time efficient due to the rest of the trip and the team of the hotel as well as our sty with them helped us to be on time. I would recommend to give it some extra time so that you can enjoy the nature around which is fabulous !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location. Right next to the ticket office but you don’t need to go if you already have a reservation to visit the castles. Staff will pick your tickets up for you in the morning of your visit and bill your room. Large room with terrace. Charming, (not modern) comfortable and very clean. Beautiful view. Parking right at hotel. Nice restaurant with traditional dishes and good local beer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Charming stay with a fairy tale view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel Mueller is absolutely delightful!! From the location, to the staff to the resturants everything was delightful!! We enjoyed a corner suite with access to the terrace and a view of the castle!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    My stay was very good - staff, food, service!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only disappointment was the room did not the a "double bed" as requested in the booking. The bed was 2 single mattresses pushed together. I ended up sleeping basically on one of single mattresses. A double bed should be one double size mattress. Darker curtains on the windows. At night, the room was not dark for sleeping light.

    My stay was very good - staff, food, service! The small bathroom amenities were good. The access to the large terrace was nice, with a view to the castle. Breakfast was included - basic but sufficient to start your day. Breakfast staff friendly. Check in / check out was quick. I'll be back to this hotel. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was amazing and the hotel was great! I would highly recommend the hotel. We had breakfast and then hiked up to Neuschwanstein Castle. We were the first ones there and got to take some great photos before the crowds arrived. Definitely give yourself some time to explore Fussen. Such a cute town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    - Location is fantastic, next to the ticket center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Location is fantastic, next to the ticket center. - The hotel has a ticket pick up service. Your tickets will be ready for you in the morning at the reception. - Room was very clean and comfortable. I got the one with the Hohenschwangau view. - Breakfast is good, lots of variety

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive. Out of hotel is quite crowded and noisy street.

    Very friendly and polite staff. Big, clean, quiet and comfortable room. The Hohenschwangau Castle view of our room is great. Just walk out from the hotel to get the amazing view of Neuschwanstein Castle. The ticketing center, horse carriage and bus station are just few steps away from this hotel. Very convenient for us to get up to the castles.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, at the foot of the path to the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the middle of a SWARM of international tourists while the castle is open for tours. The street is a madhouse, driving is difficult and there is a definite themepark feel.

    Excellent location, at the foot of the path to the castle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Very nice stay, if you don't mind the prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold parquet flooring (our personal preference is carpeted floor) No mini bar in deluxe suite Regular prices are very high (I saved money by booking through Booking com, so I got the room a bit cheaper, than the price I was told by the staff on the phone)

    Amazing location View from the room Very nice staff Deluxe suite was luxurious Very good breakfast Very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    An extraordinary hotel at the base of an extraordinary castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower configuration is a little strange, and takes some getting used to. The first time we used it, we had a huge mess of water to clean up because there’s not a proper way to close the door and ensure water doesn’t get everywhere.

    We had booked two rooms, but were upgraded to a suite, which was absolutely beautiful. We had an incredible view of the castle from our windows. The beds were incredibly comfortable. Everything was really spectacular.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was very good but a little expensive. They are building a new hotel nearby and they started construction at 6am. But not the hotels fault.

    Excellent location, great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and old world quality at good prices for seeing the castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice old world chalet feel at the base of the castles! Nice rooms though not modern. Great breakfast, which was included. Right in the center of things, though immediate surroundings are a bit crowded (cars and coaches). If it's snowy when you are there this could be a bit challenging. We found it advantageous/convenient to buy Neuschwanstein castle tour tickets from hotel front desk! Very nice stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My favorite type of hotel - an excellent refurbishment of an old building, meaning you get the best of both worlds: modern comfort with the charm of an old building. Room very comfortable, excellent location for the two castles.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Staff was super helpful, we came earlier and wanted just to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was super helpful, we came earlier and wanted just to leave the car on the parking but we were told that our room is ready and we can check in! Also we were suggested to get tickets for the castle tour in case we didnt get them in advance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    The property was ideally located for visiting both castles,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were 9 of us in a family group travelling together and some of the rooms were a little small to accomodate 2 adults and a child. The booking process was complicated requiring several adjustments before we were sure that Hotel Muller understood our room requirements.

    The property was ideally located for visiting both castles, the hotel staff very helpful and friendly and the food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Excellent for visiting the castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor things: 1. It would be nice to have a kettle in the room. 2. Ventilation in the bathroom makes a lot of noise when the light is on.

    1. Perfect location for visiting the castles, right in the center of the small village of Hohenscheangau. We came from Munich by train to Fussen and then by bus, the hotel is very close to the bus station. 2. Helpful staff - they bought the tickets to the castles for us (for no extra charge), so that we didn't have to stand the line in the morning (and there were quiet many people waiting outside the ticket center already at 8 am!). Thanks to them, we saved our time and energy and had the castles tour at very convenient hours. The reception staff also printed an online ticket for us (we bought a Bayern ticket online and needed to print it out). 3. Good breakfast including a variety of fruits. 4. Nice spacious rooms, with view of the Hohenschwangau castle.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    Hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too many steps from carpark to hotel, causing difficulties in moving luggages. There was a better route : via basement where no stairs and accessable via lift; but was blocked by hotel. Pity.

    Double door to prevent noise from corridor. Double wash hand basin. Location is between two castles and carriages to those castles were on the doorfront.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    Good breakfast and wonderful views of castle, very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evenings are pretty boring, nearest restorants in the hotel or in Fussen.

    Good breakfast and wonderful views of castle, very nice hotel interior in Alpine style. I think its fine for summer, not so for winter

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    All good, helpful staff, great view of Castle from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been bigger, had some trouble with shower. Taxis a bit expensive- Hope some day they will come up with a cheaper and easier way to get there from Füssen...

    All good, helpful staff, great view of Castle from restaurant, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    Short but sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are hardly any parking spots at the hotel parking lot, so we had to park a little ways away. They have you put a card in your car but I got a ticket on my car to pay for parking anyway. That did not make me happy at all.

    The breakfast was a nice surprise with eggs and bacon. The orange juice was good too! The pressure in the shower was great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location to Neuschwanstein castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean, but the bathroom could do with a modern upgrade. And we could smell breakfast wafting into our hotel room in the morning. Nice for some, but not for us.

    Breakfast was included and had a good variety. The breakfast room had an amazing view of the castle. Reception will take care of getting your tickets so you don't have to waste time in the line. Parking is included. Our room had a balcony which was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Very romantic and ideal setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are the worst pile of lumps in the world. They are enormous square pillows filled with random lumps of foam. No kettle and tea and coffee.

    The location is fantastic and the superior rooms look out towards the castle and you can watch the horses and carriages climb up the hill.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Amazing location and views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location and views! Views of the mountains from our balcony were amazing. Can see castle from the restaurant- make a booking to ensure you have a window seat as they fill up quickly!!!! Staff very helpful with booking tickets to go to both castles- effortless!! We loved this hotel and would return in the future!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Big room with a balcony;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi is provided separately for each device for 24h - next day you need now one for every device :(

    Big room with a balcony; Fruits and wine for guests for free; Great view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.1
    Location, location, location : the ticket office is right...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Drink bar at the restaurant is not like we could expected - and there was also something unwelcoming about the service ... which sat at odds with the excellent service we received from reception desk.

    Location, location, location : the ticket office is right next to it; the bus station is approximately 5-mins walk; you can see the old castle from the window. Parking is available as well. Convenience: instead of standing in the hell long line waiting for a ticket, they can reserve the tickets for you one night in advance. Room was clean and nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Overall the experience in this hotel was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had problems and I had to hold it during my bath the whole time. I did not like that. The guy who served me dinner did not care, did not communicate and was always taking forever to help me and my mom. Neither me or my mom enjoyed much the dinner.

    Overall the experience in this hotel was good. Great location facing the castle, it’s clean, they have water in the room, is relatively quiet and the personnel at the reception was helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    The staff at the desk and in the dining room is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed pillows are horrible. Although the room was basically clean, the condition of the bathroom is undesirable. The door is falling apart and the grouting in the tub is moldy. The facilities in the room are not maintained.

    The staff at the desk and in the dining room is wonderful. The breakfast is well done with a nice variety. The bed mattresses were comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Hotel Muller is in the middle of all the main attractions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Muller is in the middle of all the main attractions and you can reach both castles and the main looking points walking. The outdoor area for breakfast has a superb view of one of the castles and as it was snowing was very pretty to see the snow over the road and the castle in the middle of all this winter wonderland. Breakfast itself was very complete and with good quality items.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    A very nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice place - right in front of the Castle visitor office. Fantastic as you must not care about our parking ! (sometimes you must walk over 1km only from your car to the visitor center).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Good place for a relaxing and romantic get-away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a dinner at the restaurant of the hotel. Everything ok, but a bit expensive. Also, it would be great if the hotel could offer the option of classical European pillows, for foreigners who are less used to sleep on Bavarian-style pillows.

    hotel parking available free of charge. Staff very helpful, especially for booking and delivering the castle tickets. The breakfast was very good. Room was ok. Excellent location to visit Neuschwanstein castle, as well as for a 2h walk around the lake.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff of night shift was very friendly and helpful, (and pretty!) Room was spacious and tidy;and the view from the room was amazing. We really enjoyed the stay there and definitely would go back again !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    I enjoyed the whole experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel was wonderful in connection with applying their pet policy to my special situation!!! In addition, they took a lot of time to provide me with efficient directions for the destinations I had after I left the hotel. My journey following Schwangau was complex, so I really appreciated the directions and advice which they gave me. Finally, the breakfast buffet was excellent! If I am in Schwangau again, I will stay at Hotel Müller!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shop assistant outside the hotel,when we are trying to buy something quite rude and not helpful

    Need xtra pillow please,overall im satisfied.Thanks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Amazing, gorgeous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude restaurant and kitchen staff. Wifi lost. No vegan options. No communication from staff regarding castle tour we booked (where to go and when), no info regarding parking, etc. Very loud neighbours until 5am.

    Fantastic, friendly reception staff. Beautiful room and stunning views.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Really good place to stay if you’re visiting the famous castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner at restaurant was pretty ordinary - mains were sub standard and there was also something unwelcoming about the service ... which sat at odds with the excellent service we received from reception desk.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Spacious room in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband and I were given Room 12 which was extremely spacious for a European hotel. The bathroom was also very large. The room was clean and shower was hot. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. Hotel breakfast was a buffet with lots of options and a beautiful view of Neuschwanstein from the dining room. We were allowed to keep our car parked in the lot after we checked out for the rest of the day, which was super helpful. I would absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Good location, few minutes from the lake and the Hohenschwangau castle, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the mattress was a little bit old, maybe the renovations of the bathroom were not quite perfect. Definitely the soap dispenser was in a wrong location.

    We loved it. The staff and the atmosphere inside the hotel definitely made our stay pleasant. I definitely recommend it. Be careful to not miss the bacon and the eggs in the morning, they are in a different corner :) Enjoy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Great location for visiting the castles, good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi was somewhat weak in my room and they give you a password that you have to renew every 24 hours.

    Great location for visiting the castles, good breakfast, large, clean, modern room with a balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful rooms and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More than half of the single-device internet codes they gave us didn't work. They really need to figure that system out.

    Everything was high quality! The staff booked tours for both of the castles for us as soon as we arrived. Our room had an amazing view of Neuschwanstein, and Hohenschwangau was basically in the hotel's backyard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    The view from the restaurant is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stated that I was on a honeymoon trip with my husband, and yet we received twin beds, that were pushed together and kept moving during the night.

    The view from the restaurant is superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were exceptionally helpful, courteous and cheerful. The atmosphere was friendly, food excellent - both dinner and breakfast. What better way to enjoy a stay in Hohenschwangau than dining with a view of Neuschwanstein!!! Magical!!

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: