Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rheingarten This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Königstrasse 78, Homberg, 47198 Duisburg, Germany

#11 of 33 hotels in Duisburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 579 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.5
    good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the village nearby (walking distance) doesn´t offer a whole lot distraction, and is not particularly picturesque

    Good location if you like peace and quiet, nice view over the river (in riverside rooms);

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent! Super clean and cozy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find a spot available to park the car (but probably due to our arrival after midnight).

    Very clean and comfortable room, completely renewed with a cozy decoration. Nice balcony with great view over the river. The bathroom of the room was super clean. Very nice from the hotel the fact that offer in the room a small bottle of water and some little Haribo gummies :) We booked this hotel for a night sleep before to drive to France and it was a very good surprise. The breakfast was also good. I completely recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Air-condition in the rooms. After several days it would seem maid service just cleaned over the top of things not getting into details. You have to get there early if you want a parking on site.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    Very clean and modern , very good breakfast, lots of variety.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside doesn’t do the hotel justice, needs painting. A very high step of at least a foot and half into the shower, no good for the disabled.

    Very clean and modern , very good breakfast, lots of variety. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Warning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male receptionist told me I could pay the bill in the morning. I explained that I had already paid & showed him the paperwork. He said that he would have to speak to his manager in the morning & then said i could pay in the morning if I had not already paid. I again showed him the print out of my payment confirmation but he said he could do nothing until he spoke to his manager. Having already paid for our stay it put lots of pressure on my wife & I & we expected to have a confrontation in the morning. This was horrible & spoilt our enjoyment of what was a lovely Hotel

    I liked the river view & the free parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.5
    Great location, nice room and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a couple of tiny maintenance issues but not enough to cause too much irritation.

    Great location on the river and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The included breakfast was varied and high quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, right on the river with nice views of the boats...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything particularly wrong with the hotel, nice staff great location.

    Great hotel, right on the river with nice views of the boats going up and down. Nice bar area, great rooms- sadly I had the city view :( . Can imagine the river views from the hotel are spectacular. Pleasant hotel. Thank you! There is a nice biergarten just up the road from the hotel- if you want to escape the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was - as many have said - a little on the light side, compared to other offerings by similar establishments in Germany. This said, I had plenty of choice and lacked nothing. Not aware of parking arrangements beyond a small (<10 cars?) car park outside reception, where I found a spot on both visits. Future guests may want to check if proximity to their vehicle is an issue of importance to them.

    Very friendly and hospitable reception staff - really made me feel welcome. The view from both rooms was spectacular (had two recent stays). Great to find a tray with a selection of teas and coffees in the room. Good selection of self-service teas and coffees at breakfast. What surprised me, is that the hotel currently occupies 3 floors in this building - it's therefore much smaller and much more personable than I'd expected. Believe more floors will be added soon (see comment on car parking).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable, good breakfast very friendly helpful staff. Would recommend to anyone.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not something negative really, but be aware the hotels car park only has 8 spaces. We were always fortunate to have a space as the hotel didn't seem to be very busy but alternative parking is available on the street.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a good selection for the buffet breakfast but there was never a huge amount put out at once. Instead there was always sufficient for the number of people in the restaurant and they attended to it constantly toenusre it was topped up. I prefer this arrangement to hotels who fill it up at 7am and you are eating food that has been sitting out for 2 hours if you do not eat until 9am. Rooms were comfortable, additional items like a razor were supplied on request at reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Welcoming hotel. Busy river provides a constant source of interest.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closes at 10pm.

    Great view of river traffic. I stay here regularly now and look forward to breakfast on the Riverside terrace. The staff are very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel with great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds, specious room, great breakfast with amazing view outside, very good and professional service. Did not have to pay extra for kids under 5 which is beneficial. Would recommend to everyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    6.3
    Too expensive for what you get...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant serves very bad food, The steak had no taste, patatos and beans only taste salt. Rooms are renovated but not the best; door didnt close proporly. Rating +8 i dont get.... You get much better hotels for this price

    Breakfast was OK , nice view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location with nice view on the river for a good money value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking places

    Great location with excellent view on the river. Room with Balcony so that man could enjoy the river view.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was charged twice for the room. After 1.5 months I didn't solve the problem.

    Excellent breakfast, nice room, nice view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Good value.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh air when you enter the room for the first time.

    Good value, clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    3.8
    River
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far and not known hotel

    River

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Good staying
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was Good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Quality place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First class facilities, comfortable beds, views through 2 balconies, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Yes!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.4
    the room was fantastic and modern, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was fantastic and modern, friendly staff. Recommended

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    rooms are big and very Clean, vy of Rhein
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet ring wast loose, hair dryer was not working

    rooms are big and very Clean, vy of Rhein

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money. Super breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Quiet stay in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace of the room on the Rhine. The breakfast at the sunrise on the terrace of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    2.9
    Nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, service, atmosphere, comfort and cleanliness were all lacking! Don’t stay here!!

    Nothing!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Good for an overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of knowledge of staff

    Very spacious room and good location. Close to a really good beer garden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is next to the river Rhine. Everything was clean and the rooms were a very good size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Hotel with nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was warm, needed to have balcony door open all the time.

    Clean and helpful staff. Beautiful view of the river.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice breakfast in the dining room overlooking the river.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with a harder pillow

    Nice breakfast in the dining room overlooking the river.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    the breakfast could have been better
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the breakfast could have been better only 1bacon left at 7.30 the croissants was not baked enough and very little meat at the breakfast table

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    The Wi-Fi is quite slow in the hall
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi is quite slow in the hall

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Very Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing was dine

    Very Clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    3.3
    under refreshing : Noise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    under refreshing : Noise not received what ordered at evening meal

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Hardly recommend!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very kind, cheerful and communicative. I appreciated them for prepared breakfast bag. It was a pleasure of staying.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    good hotel
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable and good beds. Quiet room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.1
    Hotel with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location.

    Balcony with great view on the Rhine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    5.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1) Price in booking.com is the worst. The normal weekend and holiday rate in the hotel including breakfast is Euro 99 2) The soy milk on the morning of 6 May was soured and I had it before I informed them. I felt very uncomfortable in the whole day.

    location

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    7.1
    A very comfortable hotel, and decent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We required 2 twin rooms for our party of 4. The pictures on the site clearly show twin beds with separate quilts. However, after reserving the 2 rooms we were informed on arrival that the rooms they had left were doubles only and the pictures shown were for guide purposes. We had no choice but to purchase an extra 2 rooms as we were tired and it was late. The following day on our forward journey, one of our party informed me that the room he had occupied contained twin beds! Not happy!

    A very comfortable hotel, and decent food. The room overlooked the Rhine with a very good balcony view. Could not fault. However......

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    There was everything, that belongs to German 4 stars hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was everything, that belongs to German 4 stars hotel. I liked the view from the balcony the most - Ruhr and Rhein meeting point with the passing boats.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    5.4
    The 2 receptionsits were very nice - professional but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building itself; the neighbourhood; the room is small and stuffy.

    The 2 receptionsits were very nice - professional but welcoming; the breakfast; the free water and the tea/coffee in the room; the free wifi and parking.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.3
    Architecture, free parking, outlook over the river, bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Long way from entertainment, city centre etc but this would not matter if you want a quiet retreat (as we did) to share each other's company.

    Architecture, free parking, outlook over the river, bed, breakfast, general atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    5.8
    Price in booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Price in booking.com is the worst. The normal weekend and holiday rate in the hotel including breakfast is Euro 99.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    Room with balcony overlooking the River
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room with balcony overlooking the River

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    8.8
    small water 2.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    small water 2.50€

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    9.2
    Excellent discounted price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom needs some updating and could use newer towels

    Excellent discounted price

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    8.8
    Friendly personnel and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly personnel and excellent service. Nice view across the Rhine.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    8.3
    Service, great food, friendly staff, good views - second...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not a lot.

    Service, great food, friendly staff, good views - second stay here. Would book it again.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    10
    Location, nice personnel, nice restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, nice personnel, nice restaurant

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    9.2
    Views of river traffic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed slightly hard Shower needed updating

    Views of river traffic Friendly staff Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    9.2
    Nice room wit a great view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No comments

    Nice room wit a great view Good restaurant Friendly staff

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Hotel Rheingarten traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: