Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ALCATRAZ Hotel am Japanischen Garten

Morlauterer Straße 1, 67657 Kaiserslautern, Germany

#10 of 19 hotels in Kaiserslautern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 904 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    The concept is totally cool and I liked the intrigue of...
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concept is totally cool and I liked the intrigue of sleeping in an old cell, a gentrified old cell. That was the closest I ever want to get to jail/prison.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    highly recommend enjoyed our stay would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff was so friendly and helpful nothing seemed to much from them to help you with check in was easy The breakfast was lovely all looked fresh, the room we stayed in was great not to big right size for us

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    I can recomend it
    • Group
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good, but it took a little long to get fresh coffee. (was on the table)

    Very cool location. I was in a cell - so don´t expect comfort, bute the bed was cozy. Just five minutes to the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.0
    Was clean and good location with free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think i would rsther stay in the original ALCATRAZ. We had the worse night sleep ever. Feng Shea wise it sucks. The greeting from reception could have been better. A warden form Alcatraz would have greeted us better. The breakfast was also not up to German standards. At least we did not get bread and water. Will not return.

    Was clean and good location with free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Every thing was perfect ,staff were helpful , room was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was perfect ,staff were helpful , room was very clean and comfy , only the bed was little bit small for 2 with baby ..but for one night is perfect ..decoration was unique and breakfast was ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    If you want a themed experience this is the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cell Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower on the room.

    If you want a themed experience this is the place. Alcatraz is a retired jail and you will be sleeping on a cell, We truly enjoyed ot Centrally located a few steps from nice restaurants and bars in Ktown. Very knowledgeable and friendly staff can recommend authentic restaurants To have a local meal. Full breakfast with a nice variety of items for all preferences included egg, fruits, breads, cold cuts, juice, water and more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location, basic accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me, it would be better if there was WiFi in the room, but I knew that before I booked the property.

    The location and price are great, especially for a basic hotel like the Alcatraz. The staff is friendly, the breakfast has a variety of options and it is nice there is a bar in the lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay for location and price. I would definitely recommend to all traveling.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 21 nights

    The wifi didn't reach all the rooms so I had to leave the room for service. The breakfast was the same everyday but it was good food. The one time i came back in the middle of the night the door was locked to the hotel and I couldn't get in to the hotel. I only had to wait 40 minutes but I didn't know this would be an issue.

    I just want to give a big thanks to the staff at Alcatraz because they were very friendly and helpful. The food was good. The price for location and level of comfort exceeded my expectations. I would recommend it to my friends as a great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    1 good night in prison.
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seriously for the price and the experience there was nothing not to like.

    It was a differnt experience in a old prison to sleep over for a night. As for the price €49, You cant beat that with a breakfast buffet included. The room was small and has a sink, toilet a chair small table and small television. The shower was a extra for other guests as well. Everything was clean. The receptionist was very nice. The breakfast buffet was very good. I felt for the experience rolm and breakfast was worth it. The bed was also prison frame but the mattress did its job well. Free parking as well. If i return for another night i would stay at the alcatraz hotel again. I would also like to thank the alcatraz team for a different and pleasent stay i Kaiserslautern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are a bit hard and there was wifi available only in the lobby.

    Very friendly staff. Good breakfast choices. Nearly perfect location to walk to all of downtown Kaiserslautern. Good sized free parking lot. Great water pressure in the shower. This is a quirky but very reasonably priced hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the beds could have been a bit more comfortable.

    -breakfast included - location is close to the city center - clean facilities - the staff is very friendly - interesting theme

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.3
    The cell room is real a cell.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wan in cell room. I do not recommand these rooms. Because they have not bath and they are realy like a cell. So if you want to be in a real cell, yes this a choice, but if you want a comfortable room, I do not think this could be a great choice. For one night maybe O.K. if you like.

    The cell room is real a cell. The breakfast was good. Elevator and cleanness is also good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    Good choice if you've always wanted to spend the night in an old prison.
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi in the rooms. The door looks were bizarre, and it was difficult to know if the room was locked when I was leaving. It was impossible to know if the room was locked when I was inside.

    The decor and the architecture were unique. The prison bars in the lobby are also a cute touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Interesting concept!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only detractor was that the WiFi is only in the lobby. However, you can sit on the couches and work and use your room just for relaxing.

    Interesting concept! The location is perfect if you are visiting Kaiserslautern. The hotel is clean, breakfast was normal and there is a bar for a nightcap.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    All in all, I can’t complain! I would stay there for sure again.
    • Family with young children
    • Cell Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Matratze of the bunk bed was not so comfortable, but I guess for just 1 or 2 nights it’s fine and you get what you pay for 😉

    Outstanding customer service, very helpful and friendly staff. Plenty and delicious Breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.7
    Unique and clean but maybe not (very well) suited for business customers.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Cell Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am pretty sure I booked a comfort room but got a small room. It being 1AM I did not want to go down and contest that anymore. - The heating pipes in the walls were very noisy in my room. I think I got unlucky but that really kept me awake. A deal breaker for me as all I need is a good night sleep and a shower from a hotel. - My small room did not have a shower. Traveling for business this kind of annoyed me since there is only one shower per hallway. Ended up showering two stories up. If you are on a budget and have time I am sure this is a workable solution. Myself, I felt rather foolish sneaking around semi-dressed knowing there were business partners around.

    Good price/ quality. Clean rooms. Unique concept.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    One night in jail - you can feel it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking spots are quite limited inside the prison walls.

    Staying in Jail for one night. Based on this, the comfort is like in a Jail. No bathroom, only a sink and a free standing toilet in a very small jail cell. This you have to know and it is what it is. The former prison was nicely converted into a hotel. Breakfast was great. Location is ideal to get into downtime K'town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cell Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place to stay. The hotel has a different atmosphere as it was built in an old prison. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was very good. Would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.8
    I would stay in case there is no other options
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Common bathroom issue was told, but there is even no cabins for shower.. Very small pillows, definitely not comfortable.. Foods for breakfast are not or lately refreshed..

    Nice location, good concept..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Interesting experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You really feel trapped - you cannot see outside or open the window. The air not fresh. For one night it's ok, I would not stay longer.

    Interesting experience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Its a converted jail to hotel so expectations were low to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a converted jail to hotel so expectations were low to which were pleasantly exceeded. While it was a small jail cell of a room with a metal bed it was spacious enough to have a table and tv and couldve easily stayed with a partner comfortably. Breakfast was included, internet was good but only accesible from lobby and rooms on 1st floor, good parking, good area but a few minutes drive to shopping and K in Lautern. Would definitely stay again!! :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Saved me in my moment of need....wasn't my first stay and it won't be my last either.
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and pillows could have been firmer but that is down to personal choice.

    The bed was uncomfortable but this might have part of the "previous prison cell" experience. Hotel is very well maintained and offers an authentic experience to the single toilet and washbasin in the prison cell room. Cleanliness -excellent. The breakfast was surprisingly excellent too and offered a lot more than some standard hotel chains. Nothing to fault apart from the bed. I prefer a firm bed but thats just me.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Convenient location: a nice quiet area close to downtown.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi works only on reception. In element rooms, there isn't much space for closes - just two hangers and no wardrobe. For summer period it's OK, but in winter it might be a problem, especially for women.

    Convenient location: a nice quiet area close to downtown. Breakfast is good. The price for considerably lower than of all the other hotel offers in the town - so this option was great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Great place for funny photos of your friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to put anything in the bathroom, think the shelf was missing under the sink.

    We stayed her as a novelty location which it was. The young girl on reception was great and very helpful finding our convict some striped pyjamas to pose in. Great fun for our group of friends we laughed a lot. The car park was great. The rdtaurant was closed so we walked into town which was very close. The double rooms are small but clean. Quite eerie knowing youre sleeping in a cell once housing criminals. Hard working friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Close downtown
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never knew when Japanese Restaurant was open. Had to walk by the smokers to get thru the entrance of the hotel. Only free wifi in restaurant and lobby, not available in guest rooms.

    Close downtown

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    Original place to be experienced !
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been a bit better, fruits would have been great. But it was also ok. The selection of breads was nice and fresh. The scrambled eggs were good too.

    We stayed one night in a double room at the Alcatraz and were very pleased to find a nice, clean room, and a modern bathroom. The beds were fine too, although one of the two was quite noisy. The staff was very accommodating. We enjoyed the in-house Japanese restaurant, of excellent quality (I believe it has now closed for an undetermined period).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.1
    Banged Up.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if the staff could wear prison guard uniforms !

    The cell I stayed in was spoilt a little by the hotel paraphanalia ie brochures on desk and the television. But apart from that you really do know that you are in a prison cell. The fact that the window is so small and like 2 metres above the bed makes you appreciate what it would be like for an inmate. A very interesting and worthwhile experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    8.3
    A bit disappointed
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not the most comfortable, But most importantly the WIFI did not work in my room. One of my main reasons for selecting this hotel was so that I could finish some of my work with privacy. I don't like having to use common areas to gain internet access.

    The breakfast was great the decor was very unique and stylish!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    Unique place , worth the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no internet reception in the room (i stayed in 3rd floor, however was warned ahead of time by the administrator)

    Unique place/design/architecture, friendly staff, good breakfast, value for money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reminds me of my boarding school days, lol

    Great place to stay, the only place I have ‘paid to be locked up’ for the night :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Nothing to complain about. It was perfect.

    The variety of food at breakfast was great. The staff was fantastic. Cleanliness was second to none.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable prison experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness and a good use of space.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.4
    The history
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant. Towels were ridiculous.

    The history

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    It s something special, everything was clean, friendly staff...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Shower in the room

    It s something special, everything was clean, friendly staff and most of all very uncomplicated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Good location and Clean comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv chanells all in German

    Clean and hotel them is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful stay. Helpful staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise echoes easily in the halls and rooms.

    The bed was beyond comfy. Staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.2
    Could have been much better!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi did not work at all. Bathrooms are shared and not clean. Water logging in Bathroom.

    Good staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff was exceptionally friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cell Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    The staff was exceptionally friendly. Rooms and facilities were quite clean. Nice Japanese Garden and Restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    It was an interesting “experience hotel.” It was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cell Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, interesting history, neat experience, VERY clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Cool place to stay but not alone haha
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if the Wi-Fi extended throughout the building (in rooms) instead of just being in the lobby area.

    Theme is pretty cool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Super clean, super breakfast, free parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    free wifi only in public area

    Super clean, super breakfast, free parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cell Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold

    Clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    4th time staying, always good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    WiFi not available in rooms but that is not a big deal Good coffee at breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    No complaints nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i personally would have liked a full English breakfast

    Nice clean Hotel great staff lent me a phone charger when i had forgot mine

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    brilliant experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed lije a cloud

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Location, beautiful property
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat small room

    Location, beautiful property

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    No complaints, very unique and fun venue
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    interesting concept.
    • Couple
    • Cell Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    interesting concept. clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Optimal for a short stay in Kaiserslautern
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No WIFI in the rooms

    Rich breakfast buffet and good matrasses

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Location was perfect for walking in to the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cell Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location was perfect for walking in to the town centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Good bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good bar!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful Unique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit warm. Maybe Air Conditioning.

    Friendly and Helpful Staff, Very Clean, Great Location, Good Price, Value for Money, Unique Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Very good location, friendly, helpful staff very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, friendly, helpful staff very good breakfast. Close to all amenities in the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    It was ok.
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi only available in the lobby, communal showers.

    Bed was comfortable, within walking distance of town center, not noisy, very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Really interesting room and with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room.

    Really interesting room and with good facilities. The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.1
    very simple hotel, fullfills the purpose
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI does not work in the room only in breakfastroom

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay in Kaiserslautern
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't connect to wifi in my room

    Nice location, easy walk to downtown. Nice breakfast buffet. Free parking. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.5
    Interesting Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little bit to hard for my taste

    Interesting location, gives a good impression of being in prison. Good breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    6.3
    good for jobless time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet facilities

    Privacy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.6
    Good breakfast, everything clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cell Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi-fi in the room

    Good breakfast, everything clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.9
    nice stay at Alcatraz hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cell Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i didn't liked the toilets inside the room

    good bed ! nice location , nice people .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.3
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was with the impression there is free Internet in the rooms. Wrong! Only in the lobby.

    Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.8
    We booked the Comfort double room and it was quite roomy and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked the Comfort double room and it was quite roomy and very clean. There was a large variety of different foods for breakfast even though the coffee was a bit cool. We got another thermos right away when we asked. The place was easy to find and centrally located.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    9.2
    The hotel was within walking distance to all of downtown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When I arrived, I wasn't expecting to not have a shower in my room. It's because it was a single room. Either it didn't state that on their website or I overlooked it. It wasn't too big of a deal....just a surprise when I got there. Also, no internet in the room. You have to go to the lobby to get wifi.

    The hotel was within walking distance to all of downtown Kaiserslautern, so that was a definite plus. The idea of having an old jail cell for a room was actually pretty cool. I would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    7.9
    Clean and uncluttered (spartan!
    • Solo traveller

    The Wifi only seemed to work in the communal areas (given the original purpose of the building, this might be difficult to change!)

    Clean and uncluttered (spartan!) room

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    5.4
    I get that you want to invoke the feeling of sleeping in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I get that you want to invoke the feeling of sleeping in a prison, but the wooden plank underneath the matress is a really bad choice for people with back problems... There were also issues with the heating – either freezing cold or searing hot.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    4.6
    The staff was nice and it was close to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The gave me and my girl a bunkbed, the toilet is at the foot of the bed/no walls, room was as big as a closet.for $70 a night i was severly disappointed and will not return

    The staff was nice and it was close to downtown.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    9.2
    Proximity to downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just one pillow provided was a bit uncomfortable Just one each shampoo and conditioner packet ( should have been small bottles)

    Proximity to downtown Friendly staff, helpful and accommodating Uniqueness of property Towel warmer in bathroom Value for money Breakfast buffet was good

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    6.3
    The value was decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It had a smell like a farm animal. Was kinda cool and awkward to have a the toilet in the same room as the bed.

    The value was decent. Very unique setup similar to a prison. Interesting to say the least.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    7.9
    The food at the restaurant, as well as at breakfast, was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet is only available in the lobby. It allowed for no privacy when I would webcam with my kids. The hotel was advertised as having Wi-Fi in the rooms.

    The food at the restaurant, as well as at breakfast, was very good. The staff were pleasant and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    When i first booked a single studio room, i thought it has...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    When i first booked a single studio room, i thought it has bathroom within the room. As a lady, i never use a share bathroom. The night shift staff was extremely helpful and friendly. He consulted his boss for me to upgrade the room for me with a great price!

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Stayed in a double cell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stayed in a double cell. Felt about as close to staying in a real prison cell as I'm comfortable with. That's not a bad thing because it was a unique experience! Breakfast was great too.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.9
    The breakfast was great, the staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The shower was flooded (with cold water) essentially permanently. While that was clean water, it was really cold, so made for a bit of an annoyance.

    The breakfast was great, the staff friendly. The room very silent and the bed comfortable. The Asian restaurant is a must-visit.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    9.6
    Walking distance to city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi doesn't work in rooms Need more wall hooks to hang clothes A wall shelf for storage would be nice for small items/undergarments

    Walking distance to city center Comfortable bed Great breakfast Quiet room

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ALCATRAZ Hotel am Japanischen Garten traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: