Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alex Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Greifswalder Str. 3, 10405 Berlin, Germany

Review score

Based on 1311 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Liked it very much, perfect for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect - 15 mins walking to Alexanderplatz, bus/tram stops just across the street. The single room was on the groundfloor, looking at the back yard. It was very clean and quiet. Toiletries were provided. The breakfast was fresh and tasty, and went beyond 11h. I can only recommend this place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Restaurants and supermarket were near to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Might not be ideal if you are rushing for an early morning train at Berlin HBF.

    Restaurants and supermarket were near to the hotel. Friendly staff. Has breakfast. Bed was comfortable. Will definitely recommend it to family and friends!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything!! Fantastic staff, great breakfast, nice location and clean fresh feeling room. We arrived in Berlin about 5.45 am by bus and were pretty tired. We went directly to the hotel to drop our bags off as pre arranged. The hotel receptionist kindly offered us free breakfast before we ventured off to wander about even though we wouldn't be checking in till 2pm that afternoon. We really appreciated that generosity as it made us feel much better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The weather.

    The location was perfect, easy access to all transport as well as walking distance to most things which interested me. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Good for a cheap short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard as rocks towels dried outside. I was on the first floor and had to have the window open so it was as though I was in the back courtyard with people walking around.

    Nice staff, breakfast included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location, cool and clean room in the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very misleading info about the drinks machine, on check/in staff said it was available 24hrs, another said only till 8pm, information book in the room said till 11pm, internet said 24 hours, no kettle or drinks in rooms so really is needed 24 hours! Disappointed with this!!!

    Good location, cool and clean room in the hotel! Good selection at breakfast. Young lad from kitchen very helpful and friendly!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location, staff is very friendly, kind and helpful,good breakfast till 12 pm, good internet location. There are bars and restaurants nearby. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom and TV were a bit too small. Sound insulation is not always optimal between the interior walls. But not disturbing to sleep.

    Friendly staff, easy check-In and Out, Hotel open 24h/24, clean and sober, breakfast from 7:00 to 12:00 (sweet and salty). Tram direct next to the entrance, but we only need 30mn by foot from Alexanderplatz. Also near the restaurants and bars of Prenzlauer Berg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    Basic but nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been a bit more helpful. Location was a bit in the middle of no where, bit of a walk to get to bars/restaurants.

    Great breakfast. Good size room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Good, but curtains should be handled or dark shades added.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not sleep well because I could not darken the rooms. Room had two large windows which is nice but only thin curtains. Due to strong light outside room all night long, the room was full of light when you want it dark.

    Breakfast was good. Rooms clean and quiet. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Hotel for a budget price was excellent and the stay was enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the hotel was great. Tram stop was outside the front door. Breakfast choice was excellent. Shower was good, Beds good Lighting for reading etc. was superb. [this is often not the case in other hotels] bonus points. We had an early start on our last day so breakfast at 6.30 was a bonus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Love this small, friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is good at Alex Hotel.

    Everything you would want. Rooms with bathroom, TV, free wifi Buffet breakfast til 1200. Everything you could want for breakfast. 24 hour staff. Easy coming and going day and night. I’ve haven’t got my own photos of Alex Hotel but the ones they show are true.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Good location - Incompetent staff
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the temperature was hard to handle. it was either too cold or super hot and dry from the heating. but to be fair - i was there when it was extraordinarily cold outside. - i only give a relatively bad review because of the people that work there. they are friendly but incredibly unhelpful. couldn't tell me where the next supermarket was for example. he told me to search for one on my phone. even though i put the red sign on my door the cleaning lady just walked in to my room. two times.

    - good location next to park - not loud or busy in the evening

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    A nice little hotel with very friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A sink with a split and a shower with a whistling hole is not something one expects in a room for more than 50 euros.

    The room, including its view from the window, was not an impersonal hotel room in a 'nomatterwhatevercity', but almost a typical Berlin room in an apartment, which I liked a lot. I felt safe and comfortable here. The range of time for breakfast (from 7 till noon) is very convenient, and a possibility to have a free cup of hot chocolate when one is back to the hotel in the evening is also very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Awesome location, 15 minutes by walk to Alexander platz.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Improve carpet cleaning, the rest of the room cleaning was ok (bathroom included)!

    Awesome location, 15 minutes by walk to Alexander platz. Highlights: full breakfast offered!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.7
    Good location close to the Alexanderplatz;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overall level of the comfort was a little bit lower than my expectations, but I'm still glad about my stay at Alex Hotel.

    Good location close to the Alexanderplatz; late night check-in available; ability to regulate heating both in the living room and bathroom; pretty good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Budget, friendly, easy going, nice breakfast, quiet (room 13), lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small things but the rugs in the room (no 13) where a bit worn and became dusty as the days went by. The bathroom could use a few more shelves, a better shower curtain and a new mixer for the shower.

    Great value for money, nice breakfast, friendly staff, quiet, transport and great restaurant mere meters outside the hotel. Also very close to the nice restaurants in Prenzlauer Berg. We had a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers did not always funtion well

    Great breakfast Comfortable beds and clean rooms Metro stops in front of hotel Nice undiscovered neighborhood Close to Alexanderplatz

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    Location is good, 15min from Alexandrplatz on foot or 5min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit poor, but till noon. Very small bathroom. Stuff tried to enter my room when I was inside in the morning (9 and 10 a.m. two days in a row).

    Location is good, 15min from Alexandrplatz on foot or 5min by tram. The room was clean and not very small.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Great value for your money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In this price/quality ratio the hotel is unbeatable. The staff is very nice, the breakfast is great, coffee and cakes (or biscuits) are available for free throughout the day, the wifi is excellent, the hotel is right in front of the tram (line M4, which takes you directly to or from nearby Alexanderplatz). I asked for a room in the back, which was a bit smaller, but very quiet. I will definitely return here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast a little on the boring side.

    Good location. Small, but nice room. Quiet. Tram right outside the hotel. Free coffee. The hotel has single rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Decent location, staff and facilities were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a lot of noise from rooms above (outside of hotels control) which impacted on our stay. The breakfast was continental which wasn't to our taste but others at hotel seemed to enjoy it.

    Decent location, staff and facilities were good. Staff were very helpful when asked about the public transport around Berlin. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.3
    Great WI-Fi and breakfasts if you are ok to live with beetles
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    2 HUGE BEETLES rights in the room, one of which was in the towel and the second one in the corner of the room :(

    - Best breakfasts I've ever tried in hostels/hotels - Best WI-FI I've ever used in hostels/hotels - Hot tap water and customizable heating - Hair dryer in the room - In front of tram station - 15 min walk to Alexanderplatz

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Good location of the hotel, with public transport, shops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very cold

    Good location of the hotel, with public transport, shops and a park nearby. It is also within walking distance to Velodrom. Very nice staff. The room was clean and cosy, with comfortable bed. There was also a free bottle of water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking a room at the hotel was a last minute decision for us, around 11 in the evening. The response was fast and the night shift staff accommodated us. The room was very nice, with warm colors. If I need a place to stay in Berlin in the future, I would chose it again. The hotel is located within walking distance from Berlin Alexanderplatz. Compared to the other expensive hotels that are in the same area, Alex hotel is a good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Good value , good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good helpful staff , laid back atmosphere and nice selection of breakfast. Good area to stay in with good local restaurants and an easy walk to Alexanderplatz

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    We had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfast included. Staff very pleasant and client oriented. Easy access to public transportation. Lots of restaurants in Prenzlauer Berg at reasonable prices. Attractive area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.3
    Not great, just OK.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Male Staff had big attitude on day one and was busy with his friends, who were visiting using wifi and facilities rather than taking care of paying customers. I found the customer service there pretty low level.

    Location and space was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    The location suited us superbly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prospective guests should be alerted: All rooms are one level up, with no lift. It was not a problem for us. If the hotel is to be redone, a slightly larger bathroom would be a good idea.

    The location suited us superbly. Even the tram stop right in front of the hotel did not disturb us as there were double windows keeping the sound out. Excellent towels. Good beds. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Great price& Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -breakfast could be better. -shower is small and there is no cabinet, only a curtain exist.

    + good price +great location easy transportation +silent rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Great Hotel and great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast and nice quiet rooms Wifi was great. M4 tram stops right in front of the hotel and shops are nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Rich and beautifully prepared breakfast, good tip with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and dark room on the ground floor and even smaller bathroom Waited too much for check-in, as they trained the new receptionist exactly when the check-in was more crowded

    Rich and beautifully prepared breakfast, good tip with the 200 bus Pretty far from the center itself but easily accesible

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    The location was great with a tramway line right in front of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was too narrow and the sink was small.

    The location was great with a tramway line right in front of the hotel and a laundromat down the street. The neighborhood was good with restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is perfect. Easy to arrive from Schonenfeld airport and to go to Alexander Platz. Put more vary things for breakfast. All days was the same, and you get bored...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too bright in the room during the night

    Very nice staff, always ready to help. Good breakfast included in the price and good location. Definitely good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Peaceful sleeping place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is on the east side of Berlin - if you want walking in the city centre, it is not really the comfortable location. The bathroom is small

    Breakfast was really good and tasty. For the sleeping apartment is okay: comfortable and clean bed. Not so far is the Berlin Wall. Near the hotel is any buses station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Great room - very spacious, big bathroom, comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room - very spacious, big bathroom, comfy bed Quiet - room was facing inside courtyard not street so it was quiet Friendly staff who gave us great info on where to go, which bus to catch etc. Breakfast was provided which saved us having to go and find somewhere to get breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Great room & location, non-existent WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WiFi in the room--only in the hotel lobby. I don't know if there was something wrong during my stay or whether this is always the case. Maybe their modem isn't strong enough? Guests must go through a courtyard behind the hotel and re-enter through another building to reach their rooms. The distance factor may affect signal strength--but I'm no tech wizard. Either way, the listing indicates "WiFi in Room" but that wasn't true in my case. This made it very difficult to plan activities, map and research locations and communicate with people in the area. I only had a USA phone with no service in Berlin.

    Location is terrific and easily accessible via public transportation. There was a nice café nearby, as well as nightlife and dining (and a laundromat!) all within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location, very close to city center and tram stop is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was no air conditioner in the room, actually it was not a problem because June was not so hot month and street was so quiet that we could sleep in open windows

    Great location, very close to city center and tram stop is nearby. Quite place to stay few nights

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent ratio price /quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellrnt . Clean room and bathroom . Quiet room in the bavk. Wide choice of food at breakfast. Staff professional and some of them very friendky .

    Located next to 2 bus lines which take you to the most important touristic sites .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Awesome !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is only 2 tram station away from Alexanderplatz so you can even walk in 15 min. The room was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very good as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    Easy to navigate to other parts of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was loud. Many of the guests coming in during the middle of the night seemed to have little regard for other guests.

    Wifi worked well. The breakfast was a good start for the day. I arrived very early in the pouring rain and they allowed for an early check-in. Easy access to tram.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay over nights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more info about ingredients used the dessert and stuff for allergig people ;D otherwise no complaining at all!

    Price and quality were excellent, breakfast was good enough to manage long to the afternoon. The room was also nice and cool, and there were also a big park "at the backyard" and couple of nice restaurants too. We have recommenended this hotel to many berlin visitors already.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Staying in the East
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi ride from airport was very fast and jarring. Cabbie charged me double than what hotel said should have. So maybe you should advise guests price/cost ahead of time (of cab cost from airport) before calling a cab.

    I liked the firm mattress!! Hard to find one for me at times. View with the trees. Quiet. Help getting taxi. Honesty with answers to questions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    3.3
    Staff was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small and Basic Room, old carpet. Bed: matraces too soft, Sheets smelled like smoke. Bathroom: tiny, very tiny No Elevator, Switch for the Lights Not fixed. In total very Basic and tiny, top expensive, Not good value for Money. Breakfast: we didn't try as there was Not much to offer.

    Staff was okay. 10 min Walk to Alex.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    Staff was REALLY nice, the whereabouts are very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains could be a bit thicker.

    Staff was REALLY nice, the whereabouts are very close to Alexanderplatz and there's a minimarket just round the corner. The room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant, relaxed place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a fridge in the room and a bigger bathroom.

    In nice accessable area next to tram stop. Friendly, efficient staff, calm relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    A nice hotel to see Berlin and work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not a bad thing but maybe breakfast could differ a little from day to day. Everything else is fine for me.

    Very cool staff. Good room, breakfast, and 24-hour free coffee for guests. Good location: it is ok to travel both to Mitte, and Buch. Thanks again to staff, all are great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.3
    Tee/coffee all along the day/night, at the reception...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tee/coffee all along the day/night, at the reception, very good breakfast reception opened 24h Tram in front of the hotel hot shower, quiet Perfect. I recommand

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    To truly experince East Berlin stay at the Alex Hotel within easy distance of the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior of the hotel. The standard shown in the picture did not quite match up to the high standard Picture on the web site but the interiors and the Bed room did. After a traumatic experince with my wallet stolen I was worried until I walk inside. Every thing was peaceful.

    Having stayed in a five star hotel and because my passport was stolen together with my money, on the train travelling back home. I was amazed that in the room was a large free bottle of drinking water and a brilliant and large selection of cold and hot food available for breakfast at no additional charge . Which was not the case in the other Hotel. All the staff here at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. The Turkish restrurant next door the food was excel leaning too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice place close to cool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is ok but not very good. The staff was very helpfull when we need anything, but it could be nice if they smile a bit more, but I guess this is german people.

    The place is very good for value and service. It is true that it is not very close to Alexander Platz, but just 10 min away from another nice and cool area to explore...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    A good place to stay in Center Berline
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was probably renovated recently, so it smelled a bit the paintings or something similar.

    The front desk staff is very very helpful and kind. We really appreciated his help during our stay. The breakfast is of good value of money. The free coffee is also very considerate, especially after a long walk in a cold and winding afternoon. Wifi works pretty well either in the room or in the lobby. Very good connection to move around in the city for our stay over a long weekend. We'd recommend Alex Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    6.3
    The room was relatively cozy.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed at the room 8 at the ground floor. There was a loud noise coming from somewhere near (sort of as if someone was running a washing/drying machine or a loud refrigerator or AC). It was almost non-stop and this was a serious issue during the night. I had to switch room in the middle of the night prior to an important event.

    The room was relatively cozy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    The room was very quiet and had access to a little back-side...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived, the room was really cold. It took some time to warm up after I switched on the heating.

    The room was very quiet and had access to a little back-side garden. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    5.4
    Do not promise what you cant keep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I found out that I could stay an extra day after I had made a reservation for just friday till sunday, I made one more reservation from thursday to friday. When I arrived thursday evening, I afsked the reception If they could make sure that I could stay in the same room. No problem she said. But When I came back friday afternoon after sightseeing , they had touched and moved all my things to another room! They had fingered my clothes,toiletries and my computer. This distiurbed me alot. That was what I wanted to avoid by asking on arrivel. And the breakfast was very plain. Not at all what was described on booking.com.

    The price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    The stay was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay was very comfortable. We only stayed overnight. The breakfast in the morning was sumptuous and they had a wide spread on offer. The staff were very friendly. Overall an excellent place if u plan to stay in Berlin.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    3.8
    save your money and travel futher - e.g. to Prague
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room too small, too loud = no insulation, too dark and cold the breakfast dairy food too old, no fresh fruits, ugly cooked eggs!!!

    the tram stop in front of the hotel private shower and WC orange juice at breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably,the worst hotel I ever stay..the receptionist was very rude and refused to give us the WiFi key.also the bathroom was dirty and if you make the mistake to open the window,you will be face to face with the garbages..

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.9
    Very good loco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow is not comfort, need better pillow.

    Very good location, very close tram, not far to alexandplataz centre city. Staff are friendly and always smile.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.3
    very friendly staff, tram stops in front of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a room on the street side. Could hear the traffic with windows closed. I guess in summer if you like to sleep windows open, that's gonna be very loud then.

    Staff is very friendly, it already felt like home, when we entered in the lobby. Chilled vibe, relaxed, uncomplicated. We arrived 4 hours earlier than expected but they were happy to give us an other room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    8.8
    Central, with easy access to transport, helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor point, but it was confusing whether there should be a free bottle of water in the room every day.

    Central, with easy access to transport, helpful multi-lingual staff, quiet rooms, free coffee in the foyer (until 10pm)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    8.3
    Cheap but great place to stay at
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff was exceptional and all very kind and helpful. I forgot to bring the adaptor to charge my laptop and they lend me one. Distant 10 min by foot from Alexanderplatz so it was very convenient for me. And the free hot beverages is such a lovely treat, especially when I stayed in Berlin, when it was snowing! Breakfast is good and satisfying.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.3
    The tram stops directly outside the hotel giving very quick...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The tram stops directly outside the hotel giving very quick access to Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt. The staff were all helpful -and the price was extremely good!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.9
    Perfect little hotel for a few nights in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is quite noisy. You can hear everything that your neighbor(s) are doing - especially in the bathroom. Every time a faucet is opened, you can hear it.

    This is a cozy little hotel. The place is reasonably well located and very clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Strongly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great!!!

    Fantastic staff, great room, confortable bed, plentiful breakfast (until 12 as well!!!), fast internet, very central location. And not expensive!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    It's a little jem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little jem! The tram right outside is perfect for quickly getting to Alexanderplatz. The staff were very helpful and The breakfast was amazing. We weren't expecting such a wide variety.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.6
    Great hot chocolate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little cold in the room but we were accommodated with extra blankets. Thank you :)

    Great hot chocolate!! Available 24/7. And the tram station is basically in front of the hotel! :+1:

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    2.5
    A good hostel, a bad hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and services offered in booking page, did not meet the reality. The relation price - benefit it's not good. In winter the cold of the rooms is an issue.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    Very comfortable bed and room layout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was a bit further out than I'd expected. Good public transport nearby, but not really near Prenzlauer berg, as I'd thought it would be. Not near any interesting shops , cafes etc . I'd thought there'd be a vibrant neighbourhood precinct nearby...wasn't like that.

    Very comfortable bed and room layout. Light and airy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    6.7
    Great location, minimal comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were hard and it was extremely cold in the rooms. I have a cold right now because of it.

    Great location. Nothing special. Staff was super friendly though.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice place to stay, well-located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good comfort. Quiet room by the inner courtyard. Staff friendly and efficient. Good location next to tram and bus stops (the bus 200 was especially convenient)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Great, affordable spot to launch your Berlin adventures from!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were simple but very clean. Beds were comfortable and everything was sufficient. Wifi was free and quick. Excellent location - only 10 minute walk from Alexanderplatz.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    Central, yet quite stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a bit small, probably squeezed in when turning the apartment house into a hotel (great indicator was the stucco cut off by the walls).

    The location is great! Close to Alexanderplatz and the Volkspark around the corner. You can easily walk to Prenzlauer Berg and still stay in a quiter area of Berlin. For some nights, a good, affordable accomodation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    6.7
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location.. On the map it looks pretty close to Alexander platz..and also the name Alexmakesit seem really close but actually it's quite far..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    The rooms were cozy and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were cozy and comfortable. The location was excellent. Walking distance to Alexanderplatz or you could take the M4 located right across the street. The staff were pleasant and helpful, especially Klaus!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alex Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: