Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alexander This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Tempelstraße 6, Deutz, 50679 Cologne, Germany

#13 of 42 B&Bs and Inns in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 148 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Messe Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no black spots . just a bit too expensive ( 165 euro / single room is too much for that hotel ) but this is due to Messezeit.

    great position for visitors to Koeln Messe. very quiet .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in a decent location, very friendly staff and very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was genuinely nothing I could complain about. I know Cologne well enough so the location wasn't really an issue. It could possibly be the only real problem, however, but the tram stop is nearby and if you're good to walk then the city centre is maximum 15/20 minutes away.

    The hotel is in a quick and easy location for access to the city centre, just over the Rhein. It's a good hotel with very friendly staff. In addition to this, the room was fantastic. I would highly recommend stopping here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner & staff fantasic never met a owner so welcoming and friendy.good engish spoken ,rooms gorgeous,bed linen & towels pure white.kettle,coffee & tea & bottled water in rooms.breakfast amazing buffet if not inclunded well worth the extra .great locality .look forward to my next visit .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice but maybe not in midsummer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's probably not a concern for most of the year, but the lack of air conditioning was a rather big drawback for July.

    Great location, nice, big, rooms. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have loved some air con

    All was perfect, people and services were awesome. The room and bathroom were nice, with all the things we could need. I recommend this place!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Welcoming and comfortable small independent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room was too small to cope with the number of guests.

    Room was more spacious than expected, modern and well appointed. Shower was great, large stall and water plentiful. Good choice at breakfast - best muesli in Cologne and perfect boiled eggs. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good nearby shopping. Good access to Cologne Messe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    It met and exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you rent a vehicle then there is some difficulty finding parking.

    The room was very clean and comfortable. The housekeeping staff was very attentive. The Breakfast area was well set up and comfortable. The location to the train and tram service was excellent. I would certainly stay at this location again. It is close to everything. The security of the establishment gives you a strong sense of security. They also provide free WiFi service. For those with slight difficulty with stairs, there is an elevator.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay. Convenient location close to the river (but opposite side to the Cathedral).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    needed coffee packets - didn't refresh after first day and we only had one to begin with. would have liked to have had some creamers and also tea selections other than fruity ones

    Beds were comfy and bathrooms very nice. Local brauhaus recommendation was excellent - Brauhaus Ohne Namen

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    All in all we were very pleased with our choice of Hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our tariff did not include breakfast however it is available at extra cost of €8. We tried it on the first morning but frankly in our opinion there is much better value to be had in the bakeries and cafes on Deutzer Freiheit. However in general we were delighted with the hotel and would not hesitate to recommend.

    All in all we were very pleased with our choice of Hotel Alexander. It is located in the residential Deutz district, so a short walk across the Deutzer Brücke bridge will take you to the city centre where the cathedral and shopping streets are located. Access from the airport is easy enough by taking the S-Bahn to Köln Messe Deutz station, then an eight minute walk to the hotel. Our check in was a model of German efficiency. Our room was very spacious with one large comfortable armchair. There would have been plenty of space for a second armchair but it wasn't to be! The bathroom was modern and spotless with a powerful shower. It would have been nice to have some soap in addition to the little bottles of shower gel provided, but luckily we had some soap with us. The beds were comfortable and our room overlooked the church across the road and a lovely garden where red squirrels were scurrying about. Don't worry about the church bells as they ring first at 8am and even then they are quite muted! WiFi was free and fast although frequent logins were required.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Served it's purpose but wouldn't book again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom door doesn't close, can be easily fixed but the staff didn't seem to be bothered to do so. Also there was a humidity machine in the bathroom as the shower leaks a lot of water, not very professional.

    Decent sized room with a very nice shower. Location semi-close to the city centre. Walking to The Dom is about 20 minutes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Will stay at the Alexander again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very odd procedure for signing into the WIFI. The instructions are written (in German and in English) and seemed to be aimed at people using a laptop rather than a smart phone or tablet.

    The Alexander is a small hotel off the Deutzer Freiheit. It is within walking distance of the Koln Messe/Deutz train station, and is located on a quiet, narrow street. Great location for walking into downtown Cologne. The room I had (#11) was quite spacious and very clean. It was equipped with two single beds, 4 large windows and looked out onto a charming garden. There is a small fridge in the room and a kettle for making coffee or tea. The bathroom has modern fixtures and the shower had great water pressure! The staff were attentive and friendly. I will definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location for the fair visitors, clean and very nice hospitality
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NA

    Great location for peoples that are going to the fair (6-7 minutes walk) and about 15 minutes walk from the station to the airport train. The room is big and very clean They wait for us till midnight for check-in The train is about 3 minutes walk and 2 station from the center of Cologne The hotel employees are very kind

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location, nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi was available only in one corner of the room.

    very small hotel but rooms were ok. Quiet area but well located, close to the tram station and train station. And...they had 10 power plugs in my room! :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.1
    Decent, clean, and pretty good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first arrived, we weren't sure how to get in because you need a key. We buzzed, but no one came. So we had to call and the man working seemed a little unorganized. From the outside of the place, we were really unsure of weather it was going to be a really junky hotel, but inside was very decent and we had a beautiful garden view.

    It wasn't a fancy hotel, by any means, but it was spacious and clean and the bathroom was much bigger than most in Europe. The location was decent, about a 10-15 minute walk over the bridge to the train station and cathedral. I would normally have never paid as much for such a hotel, but the location was better than most without having to pay way more.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    4.6
    Only the girl in situation staff , she can't speak...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In booking.com website said alexandaer hotel but it was pansion. It is so expensive for pansion

    Only the girl in situation staff , she can't speak English well but she is so kind

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit expensive for the service, but when there's a trade fair in Germany the rule seems to be doubling (or more) the prices, so not so bad at the end. The wifi hotspot lets you connect only one device.

    It's a small old hotel managed by one person at time. The staff was very nice and the room was clean. Not far from Koln Messe/Deutz station and a nice walk from Koln center.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice, small and quiet hotel which is recently renovated. Walking distance from the fair and old town. Comfortabe beds. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.1
    Quiet area and very close from the Messe,
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Quiet area and very close from the Messe,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location and clean facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was at the top floor so it was a little warm. I had to open the windows to freshen it up.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Great Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The type of hotel very warm and friendly, it is not as a regular hotel chain

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Super place to stay in Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rate - but perhaps because there was big function in tow.

    Staff - super friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Staff friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly and helpful! Personalized service! They spoke English which was a must for us. Nice breakfast buffet and really nice area to eat in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    10
    Everything was great and the staff were excellent...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great and the staff were excellent,comfortable and stylish hotel, very good breakfast. thank you Hotel Alexander!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    6.7
    Very expensive hotel in good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price and cleanness

    Location and staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    8.3
    They had an steam iron which worked extremely well - iron...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The only thing that I would suggest is to place non slip mat in the shower- was fine for me, but an older person would easily slip and fall.

    They had an steam iron which worked extremely well - iron clothes for business meetings- always a problem in a lot of hotels

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.5
    the north room was cold even when it was hot out side, and...
    • Group

    The damn church across the street made it so, that it would be hard to sleep past 08:00.

    the north room was cold even when it was hot out side, and plenty of room with no noise around.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.2
    Great location, between the old town and the Lanxess Arena.
    • Solo traveller

    None. It was absolutely positiv.

    Great location, between the old town and the Lanxess Arena. Quiet neighborhood with little shops, cafes. Comfortable bed, clean room. Kind guy at the recepcion. It's a small hotel-pansion, if you like such a thing, choose it. Next year I will be back for sure.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    4.2
    It was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Upon arrival, the man at the reception was extremely cold and rather unfriendly. He lectured me on the non-smoking policy of the hotel (I don't even smoke), and presented me the bill to pay as pre-requisite to even starting the conversation.

    It was clean. This is the only good comment I can do.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    7.9
    Very clean rooms, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bad pillows

    Very clean rooms, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.2
    Nice and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cumbersome internet connection (different login for each device, re-logging required)

    Nice and helpful staff. Cosy room

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.9
    Close to transport and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Close to transport and shops

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    7.1
    Close to transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smell of smoke in the corridor.

    Close to transport. Helpful staff. Quiet, big room. Lovely outlook from our room in the back. Good neighborhood.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    - nice, clean rooms
    • Group

    - nice, clean rooms - close to the centre of city - very nice and willing staff

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: