Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alexander This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Rheinstrasse 72, Mitte, 65185 Wiesbaden, Germany

#29 of 48 hotels in Wiesbaden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 559 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic when our flight home was cancelled. They extended out stay beyond check out time and held our rooms in case we needed another night - all without charge. They could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit dusty. The shower wasn't water proof completely so when I took a shower the bathroom was a bit wet. But still I would recommend it.

    Very good bed. Slept wonderful. It was quite since we slept with an open window.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room had 2 hot water radiators, one of which didn't heat. Once the room got warm, that was certainly sufficient, but I wasn't told and it took a long time for it to get warm.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff who spoke excellent English. The rooms were cleaned quickly and at a convenient morning time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe there could be more grocery options (sausages for example) during breakfast, but the price would be higher, naturally. Anyway, one can get your stomach full easily!

    Location is of the hotel perfect. Friendly staff helped me with train connections. Breakfast was delicious every morning for a new day!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds in my room were sort of saggy, not super comfortable. Sort of like sleeping in grandma's guest bed or an older bed and breakfast. I think my sisters room had new mattresses though and they were way more comfortable. Overall, it was clean and cute with great staff, so honestly can't complain too much and I'd stay there again.

    Made to order cappuccino and lovely staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was good.

    Our stay was just perfect, clean rooms, excellent breakfast, natural orange juice and the best cafe con leche. I would stay here for my upcoming trips to Germany.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have absolutely nothing bad to say.

    Very pleasant and very accommodating. They were very quick to respond to our needs when asked even when they were very busy. It was the perfect place for us to stay at when in Wiesbaden, Germany.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator needs updating - thought we'd get stuck a couple of times?!

    Quiet hotel, amazing breakfast, good location to walk around downtown Wiesbaden, friendly staff and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You're awaken with all the corridor because of the sound...

    Not the very very best location in Wiesbaden but not far from the center (5+ minutes walks) and of the train station (15-20min walk), but it makes possible the fair rates compare to other hotels! Personnel is helpful, nive and polite, and breakfast is really correct for the price. Bedrooms are furnished with style.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We missed a fridge in the room to put cheese we brought from France :) but the receptionist was very helpful and put it in the fridge of the hotel. The bathroom was very small but clean.

    The location is great, stuff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really good and pretty diverse. Our room was small but charming and clean. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very small rooms, very small bathroom. thin walls, you can hear when people are walking in the next room, because floor is creaking.

    location. near old town. train station 1,3 km. clean. elevator( only to the second floor) from second to third floor- stairs. Breakfast is simple, every day the same. It is good to stay in this hotel for one or two nights.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was difficult. The hotel is on a busy street and there's no easy way to pull over and drop bags. We had to scour the neighborhood for on-street parking, then wheel our bags three blocks back to the hotel entrance.

    Staff was very helpful and accommodating on check-in.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit expensive and not quite varied.

    I liked how quiet and homely the hotel was. The staff were always polite and the hotel itself was spotless.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small & not very modern/updated. Water from shower leaked onto floor & sink was very small. The front desk/reception area closes @ 8pm, so if you have a late flight be prepared to obtain your keys from a dropbox.

    The breakfast was great & staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was comfortable and once adjusted the heating was nice and toasty, but the small en suite bathroom (actually a shower) did not appear to have any independent heating and so was quite chilly in the morning. A radiator or, given the space, a heated towel rail that could have been left on overnight would have been welcome. The shower door also leaks like a sieve - time for an update?

    Hotel Alexander is a small simple hotel close to the centre of Wiesbaden. We selected it mainly due to its location, which is walkable both from the station (around 15 mins) and the town centre (5 mins to the main shopping street and perhaps 10 mins to both the Kaiser Friedrich Therme spa baths and the Christmas Market, the twin objectives of our visit). However, it is also comfortable, pleasantly decorated and offers a reasonably priced breakfast option. The front desk isn't open in the evening (after 20:00) and there is no bar/restaurant so late arrivals have to pick up their key from a secure electronic box outside, but this was not an issue for us. We were able to store our luggage for the morning when we left, which was helpful, and the staff were friendly. I have stayed here before and we would certainly stay here again as it offers convenience, reasonable comfort and good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater (heitzung) was too noisy it sounded like an old washing mashine.

    We travelled with a Dog and still we got a nice room! (Some hotels give you the worst room they have when you bring your dog, THIS WAS NOT THE CASE)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is very nice, quiet and comfortable hotel whit great location – near to the train station and to the center of the city. Clean and cozy rooms. Polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, central and easy to reach. Excellent buffet, in a nice relaxiing modern ambiente.Super friendly staff, beautiful room. Simply excellent. My first choice for every stay in Wiesbaden.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host gave me great tip for a nice dinner place. He explained the parking location and ticket procedure clearly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was spotlessly clean, and offered reasonably priced basic facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, extremely nice owner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location Hotel Personal Hotel cleaning

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bus # 6

    Best staff ever and classy hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was perfect, the staff is extremely friendly and patient :) location is realy good as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very unfriendly and rude recepetion man

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the old carpet which was a bit musty. Otherwise, AMAZING hotel for price and location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    They can provide dinner as well.

    Calm place. Good staffs and great welcome giving. Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was extremely uncomfortable, room and furniture seem pretty old, no air-conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Air conditioned so no slept, too noisy

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is slow and limited to 1 device for one set of password

    Location is extremely close to central station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect.

    The hotel itself is lovely and the rooms are charming. warm and inviting.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wifi in my room in the 3. Floor

    The location and the breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very friendly, hotel is very clean and modern. Bedroom was perfect. Comfortable and spacious, warm and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No minibar

    Good design, nice place and breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs on ceiling. Room needed an update.

    Breakfast was very good and also good value for money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two rooms with single bed but got two wing king beds instead.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice place to stop over for a few nights

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame for the AC (not Available with plus 30 degrees) otherwise great!

    Location and the wonderful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very helpful with pet. Allowed in room at no extra cost. Breakfast was excellent value and quality at under 5 euro.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi to slow.

    Great localisation, very nice personel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge, no hot water kettle in the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was slow , No facilities after 7pm Reception closed at 7pm and after that only a vending machine in back yard.

    The room was very clean and reception and breakfast staff were very friendly and efficient. Good location near city center easy walk to the main square.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Group

    Hotel Alexander is a short walk from the main pedestrian area. Staff were very kind, breakfast was good. Rooms are big enough and beds are comfortable. Wifi was OK too.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattresses rather hard for us seniors!!!

    Pleasant environment and good service, clean and tidy, nice and tasty breakfast and its location close to the city center. Further, close by covered parking at a very affordable daily rate.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking card for 24h is convenient and is almost no cost for longer car park. Rooms are personalized and not standard decorated, gives a cosy & homy feeling.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They do not have parking. It was impossible to find a place near to ask where to park. Then, you need to go to the parking of the commercial center at the other side of the big street and carry the suitcases and bags to the hotel. After hours driving and with traffic jams due to work roads we were already exhausted. Also the fact that reception closes at 8pm. We needed to ask for directions and get a map of the city but there was no one...

    Location

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My favourite hotel in Wiesbaden. Localization is great, staff is superhelpful and very nice, the room was very comfortable, breakfasts were very good and I really had a great time there :)

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was a bit noisy (busy street) - comes with central location I guess. What was an issue for me: I need rooms to be completely dark to sleep well, but I could not darken the room fully. And the street is lighted all night, so my room was simply not dark enough to sleep well.

    Very centrally located, nice and clean rooms - liked the appearance of the room. Staff is friendly and efficient. Fresh, natural orange juice and good coffee for breakfast. Very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Couple

    There is no change in the breakfast every day the same

    I like the hotel because it is closed to everything Beter to make reduced price to encourage the pepole

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    An extra pillow and towel would have been nice.

    Comfortable beds, delicious breakfast, old fashioned charm.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beds to short

    Nice place

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The pillows. Too flat and soft.

    bed was comfy.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very bad pillows, bad isolation (noise)

    clean and well-situated

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking/ expensive not worth the money

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was so dark. There were just a few small lights. There in not parking place in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was somewhat noisy, thin walls

    Good location, close to parkinggarage Luisenplatz.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's nothing not to like in this hotel.

    Loved the room! Perfect location, polite and helpful staff, delicious breakfast. Hope to return soon!

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A great breakfast! Near the train station and the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Couple

    Kind of dismal decor, tiny bathroom, shower leaked on floor, noisy at night.

    Friendly staff, good location.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Clean and good value of money

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There's no air conditioned in the room, something needed during the hottest week ever around 40oC outside

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    none

    very friendly and helpful staff. A pleasant two night stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed 3 nights, only 1 small bottle of water given. Should be more clean in details (mirrors; lockers etc)

    Location, building is historical

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffee/ tea making facilities in the room (detail)

    Clean Non-standard interior in rooms Very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything excellent

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff Great location Simple neat, clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excelent breakfast Great shower

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse Hotel Alexander traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: