Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alleehaus

Marienstr. 7, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany

#3 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Freiburg im Breisgau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 630 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was a bit old and very worn (i.e. sagged in the middle) so it was a bit like sleeping in a hammock...

    Breakfast was amazing! Great choice and everything fresh and tasty Lovely staff, check in/out was fast and easy Great location very close to the centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    House with character transformed in a hotel. My room had two high windows. Very near from the center but very quite as well. Nice breakfast. I will come back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner made up my room (and left my window open) at 8:30am while I was at breakfast (and my belongings were still all over the room). That's TOO early - should wait till guest leaves for the morning. Would like water boiler with tea/coffee in the room, as there's no cafe in the hotel. I didn't realize (my error) that it was a shared bathroom.

    Very clean and tidy hotel, decorated simply but with care. Ability to park safely within property even though it's in town. Rooms well heated and ventilated. Breakfast is a good spread and breakfast room is pleasant to sit in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old building which has been beautifully converted into a small hotel. In a perfect location just a stone's throw away from the pedestrian area of the city.it also provided a lovely, varied breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing that comes to mind

    Friendly staff, breakfast at an early enough time to allow me to get to the conference I was attending Close enough to the centre of the old town, so that walking was easy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights

    For someone used to UK B & B's, which the Alleehouse is (it is not a hotel as you only get breakfasts) The main disappointment was the lack of drink making facilities in the room. Something even the most basic B & B in the UK have.

    Breakfast was typical German cold meats/fish/cheese and various breads, cereals and fruit all excellent quality. The property is 5 minutes walk from the city centre on a quiet street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room in the accommodation behind the property was a bit 50's hostel, clean and spacious enough but a bit dated and plain. I think the bedrooms in the main building were much better. The feather pillow might be some peoples' dream, but it squished flat and did not enable a good night's sleep as I spent most of the night trying to plump it up. The bed was comfy though. Lots of little fruit flies hovering around the breakfast were a bit off putting but I guess could not be helped. I've stayed in a lot worse.

    Nice, helpful lady behind the desk lent me an adaptor for the sockets when I brought the wrong one, which was nice of her. Clean accommodation generally, quite close to town. Great vegan restaurant within 10 minutes walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't good value for money - very expensive. Decor quite dated.

    Location was good (although we came by train and it was 15-20 min walk to station rather than 10 mins) Good breakfast Big room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was very spacious in the main building and the breakfasts were very good, and the service was friendly and excellent. The second time at this hotel as it it quite close to the town - an ideal location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not think they offered a good value for money, 136,03€ for a double room with breakfast for 2, although the parking place was included, I found it a little expensive. The room furniture was old but without style. Probably the reason for the high price was the high demand for accomodation.

    The most important for us was the excellent location, because we could go to the old city and visit the interesting places by walking in a very short time. The Staff was very friendly and brekfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very minor issue finding the key slot for the garage door. Took a picture for future guests.

    The staff was very nice and provided awesome recommendations for dinner and sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was housed in the annex which is less attractive than the main building, but also cheaper.

    excellent location, friendly and efficient staff, good internet, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift? As older travelers with luggage, it could have been mentioned somewhere, so if you're unable to manage stairs, it's not a surprise. Or did I miss that bit somewhere in the write up?

    What a great location, lovely reception, great breakfast (though the woman at breakfast was a bit hassled, she made a soft boiled egg for my husband without a problem), and the room had a mini bar fridge where we threw in a bottle of white wine to chill on an unusually hot and sunny day. We were lucky enough to have bagged a family unit as there was a lot of space and the toilet was a separate space from the shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared bathroom

    Located just 5 minutes walk from down town with restaurants, beer garden and shops, parking available free of charge. Room furniture is simple but clean and functional. Breakfast is served in a nice breakfast room, buffet is limited in choice but good in quality and a kind staff. Decent, pleasant other guests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. I didn't know the room I booked had a steep set of stairs, next time I'll book a room in the main house.

    Such a lovely comfortable room, with a great bed. Super clean bathroom and fresh towels. Breakfast was excellent and the staff super helpful. I'll definitely return again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't so keen on being in the Annex where one shares a toilet and shower, but maybe it was quieter than the house (I appreciate quiet). I'm also not sure that the price was appropriate but maybe everything in Freiburg is expensive, even in an Annex. I stayed inside the Alt Stadt of Rothenburg ob der Tauber at Christmas for about 25€ less, in a much cuter room that had its own washroom. I also stayed in Freiberg in a much cuter room (with washroom) for a similar price. The breakfasts were similar in all three places (maybe better in Rothenburg).

    It was super quite for street noise, and I had a good sleep. The staff was really great, the breakfast and breakfast room were very nice. I liked the location a lot because it was a very pleasant walk into the old town with all the Christmas decorations up, and it was also very proximal to the walk up the hillside into the woods. The room was clean and fairly large.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single rooms are not in the main hotel building, there is a court yard in between.

    Hi the staff were very friendly, polite and helpful, especially considering my German is non existent. I was staying at the hotel whilst visiting my son at the university. You could not hope for a better location, just minutes from the centre. Thanks

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good. Nothing

    Great location short 5 minute walk to old town. Lovely tree lined street. Close to modern art gallery, great room light airy and spacious, fresh delicious breakfast, friendly helpful staff. Would definitely stay again. Easy access to public transport to Black Forrest and bharnhof

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the management could do better with parking situation; we had to wait unnecessarily while they had to contact another guest parking in front of us, and our departure was delayed by them giving the other guest preference. Not much, but each guest should be treated equally.

    The breakfast was unusually full and enjoyable, served efficiently and with pleasure.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The day was extremely hot and there was no Equipment to cool the air, but I guess this weather is so rare that it was note forseen.

    The personnel was extremely nice, helfull and spoke French. The breakfast buffet is exceptional for an hotel in this category

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No emergency exits.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, room comfortable, very well stocked mini bar. English spoken,(but not needed). Very close to city centre, short 5 min walk. excellent parking facilities.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Comfortable beds. nice big shower. very clean. close to centre of the old town & local brewery that does really excellent beer.. friendly staff they speak French and English.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell on the corridor

    Value for money and location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic, quite noisy at times

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, friendly staff, rich breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, comfortable room and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - would be great if there were some warm varieties.

    Staff was very friendly and positive. The location was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing wash room

    Through Booking.com

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price is far too high for this kind of room.

    Location is good. Staff is very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is very near to the old town, very easy to get everywhere. the breakfast is exellent and staffs also very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very old TV in the room

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Location was excellent, far from the crowd but walking distance to everything!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it all!

    Breakfast was delicious! The staff were wonderful! The location was superlative.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff went above and beyond to make my stay a great one.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location. I was very late (personal was out already), but found all instructions where to park car, how to receive key, etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly staff. Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good breakfast, clean room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi slowed down significantly past 11 at night.

    Breakfast had a large selection of food, rooms were very tidy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was superfriendly, .. good breakfast!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrible creaking floors...

    The receptionist was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was good. Room spacious and clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi not working in the room

    Stylish hotel, in nice neighbourghood Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location in the old town, great breakfast, only about a ten minute walk from the station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    NO

    breakfast buffet is realy nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is rubbish! Only take a banana. The room is old wooden, it makes big noise if you walking on it in the night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no airconditioning and you are close to quite a busy road....

    very good location and excellent breakfast options. Staff were very helfpul

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady behind the counter was very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast with a good selection.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking spot Easy walk to city attractions

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delicious breakfast buffet, very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location short walk to the old town large comfortable room and garage parking for my motorcycle. Nice staff great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely large room. Excellent breakfast - wide choice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    See above

    The quaint hotel was close to our daughters dorm room, and located around the corner from all the activity of the village. It was big enough for our cousins and friends to gather. Breakfast was wonderful. We loved every moment of our stay, and will be back again on our next trip to Freiburg! Thank you for everything!

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although I did not get a single room within the hotel ,I was given a double room in the annex to the hotel building which was ample, warm, clean and very quiet- no road noise . Breakfast staff were all friendly and helpful .Great choice of fresh Breakfast cereal, fruit yogurt hams and cheese and fish. Ample pots of tea. Fresh fruit to take away .

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had stayed in two similarly priced hotels recently that were so much nicer. Alleehaus had no English speaking staff. The breakfast was OK but not so good as others we've had. And the linens were worn. The sheets had pills so they felt scratchy and the towels were thin. Might not have noticed so much had we not just experienced two such better places.

    The location, by far the best feature.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It wasn't bad, but the latest check in was 8:30-9pm, and we didn't know that beforehand.

    5-10 min walk from all central locations, in a nice quiet area. Nice space and bathroom. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the room is a little cold .

    the room is very good,clean and feels like at home. and the location is quiet . after 8pm there is no staff in The hotel,but the hotel prepair an envelope to tell you how to get a code to get the key .

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very delicious and healthy breakfast with eggs, salmon, cheese, mozarella, different bread and buns, cakes, fruits, cereals, ... Great service too with helpful tips.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathroom is a bit small.

    Stylish and spacious room. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    So close to the old city. Has a charming old-world atmosphere. Staff very friendly. Breakfast very good.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendlier staff would be nice. Better internet connection as well.

    Great location, ok breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    2 minuts walking distance to the old town

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff is friendly. like the christmas decoration. food is good

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Charming place. Nice breakfast. Nice room. Friendly front desk lady! Very helpful 😀

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, modest but clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff, very good breakfast, rooms are big and comfortable. Excellent location which is very close to the old town.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffee machine in room.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location was excellent, quiet but central

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    lots of character, high ceilings, friendly staff, 5 min walk from city centre

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    zu teuer für kleines Zimmer über den Garagen im Nebengebäude, hellhörig

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great Breakfast. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything just perfect; free wifi worked very well; comfortable bed; very good breakfast

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Browse Alleehaus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: