Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alpenhof Garnihotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Ehrwalderstraße 7, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany

Review score

Based on 392 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    The apartment was quite large, well furnitured and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The car must be parked along the street, which was not a problem; nevertheless a private parking would have been better.

    The apartment was quite large, well furnitured and very clean. A private garden was also available. The WiFi worked properly. The apartment was also very quite, despite the adjoining street.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Situated in a beautiful neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far away from the train station (if you don’t drive here) Will be nice to have fresh fruit during breakfast (only found a half-rotten apple in the basket)

    Situated in a beautiful neighborhood. Cozy, home-like atmosphere. Quiet during night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    FeWo apartment 3 at St Martinstr. 62
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at a FeWo apartment. Nice place, but it was on two levels connected by a narrow spiral staircase. Not suitable for young children, or seniors with mobility issues.

    15-20 minute walk to many restaurants and shops. Laundry in house basement.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, great breakfast, comfortable room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle to warm up water for tea at the room and no front desk service to ask for warm water!

    Great location, great breakfast, comfortable room and amazing view of the alps!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Soundproofing of the room door could be better.

    Nice and clean room. Very helpful staff. Breakfast - small selection, but good quality and fair, considering the price. All in all - very good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Nice place located at a home in a nice neighborhood in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to add

    Nice place located at a home in a nice neighborhood in garmisch. We arrived late so the key waited for us in a safe outside so be sure to notify if you arrive after check in hours. Room not very big but nice and comfortable, tiny bathroom but just enough. breakfast was good and the staff was kind. walking distance to the center of garmisch but you shoud have a car or use public transports to get to main attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Liked the accommodation, fairly convenient if you are prepared to walk a little. Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nobody there to greet us when we checked in on the first day (at about 4:00 pm, so not that late). We had several questions which could only be answered the next day.

    Room was comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Quiet, Mountain town getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We travelled in the middle of summer when it was very warm. They do not offer fans for the rooms, but we just emailed and asked in advance, when they said no, we brought our own fan for the room and it was cool enough at night. We like to have coffee in our room before going to breakfast. There is no hot water pot or coffee machine in the room, so bring your own! Wish we could have stayed longer!

    This is very close to the Ice hall for those traveling with skaters and coming here for training or competitions. Only a mile by car or you can walk or ride a bike! We had a wonderful balcony and the beds were super comfy! The bathroom has been remodeled and the shower is a nice size for bigger people that need a little extra room! The breakfast is a perfect German selection and is served until 10am! The staff was wonderful and multi-langual which made it easy for making our accommodations. Very quiet and beautiful mountain scenery all around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    The staff was friendly and the location was peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the breads, meat and cheese were plentiful for breakfast, I would have had enjoyed a choice of an egg rather than just hard boiled.

    This bed and breakfast was in a lovely neighborhood and was an easy 10 minute walk to town. The room was spacious with a nice deck.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel near downtown.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are small but efficient- not much they can do about that. My only suggestion would be to add a fan to the room. Even sleeping with the patio door open we were very warm (though the outside temp was very hot too) at night.

    Very nice and clean room with a good sized patio and beautiful view. Good staff. Comfortable bed, decent breakfast and good staff. Location was an easy and pretty 10 min walk to the city center. Only a few designated parking spots but street parking was easy and free. We felt very safe at the hotel and even walking there late at night from downtown. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Great place for a weekend retreat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beni welcomed us very warmly when we arrived. He was very helpful and answered all of our questions. Our room was on the top floor and we enjoyed our balcony view. Our room was very pretty and clean. The breakfast was nice too. Loved everything!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    The charm of Garmisch in one room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection was very poor in the rooms!

    It was so cozy and felt like home to us! The furniture was typically from the region which added to the charm of the hotel. The breakfast was delicious and healthy with fresh products from the region . The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Great place to stay for a weekend ski trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicely decorated, warm comfy rooms. Good location only a short walk to the Hausgerg Gondola. Friendly, accomodating hosts. Good buffet breakfast. Great for a short ski break.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    8.0
    Relaxing feel with winter and summer sports not far away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the ultra picky types would find faults, here, we all know them when reading the reviews!

    Cosy breakfast room with a warm atmosphere. All laid out nicely with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Really nice B&B style Bavarian stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really good breakfast, traditional Bavarian

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    Nice quiet spot, delivered exactly what it promised

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Family Vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was slow.

    Location, breakfast, hospitality. Family place. B&B feel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was great and the front desk lady was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was great and the front desk lady was outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with internet

    Staff were great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    We arrived at 1630 hours and never met the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at 1630 hours and never met the staff. We had to leave early to catch a flight so we did not eat breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Very nice little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows had no support

    Very nice little hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Bavarian Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay in a very clean and cozy Bavarian hotel. Room had a balcony facing the mountains!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a walking hike to the train station.

    Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Very clean and warm rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds- very uncomfortable. All other just fine

    Very clean and warm rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Good location for skiing - cross country and down hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good location for skiing - cross country and down hill. Good value with breakfast included. Very helpfull staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Awesome I will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told they didn't accept VAT forms at the front desk when I checked out.

    German breakfast English speaking Great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    The hotel was very cozy and authentic- and also very close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very cozy and authentic- and also very close to the Garmisch Classic ski hill. Very good breakfast, enjoyed our stay tremendously!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    To really recommend thanks to a flexible and nice staff + clean and tidy facilities. Close to City centre and so quiet!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Well situated and good staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    An excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't realise it was just a B & B not a hotel

    An excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    good location i will book next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    السعر غالي

    good location i will book next time

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Quite hotel location
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite location. Town an easy walk away

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Retreat from all problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No issues

    Good breakfast, pleasant balcony, and we were presented with card for local transport

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    Garnish quite stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Offer of fresh rolls in morning

    Location / quite

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Great location, friendly staff and comfortable room.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn't work so well.

    Great location, friendly staff and comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.6
    Super friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Super friendly staff. 10-15 minutes from Garmisch Classic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    This place was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no free wifi

    This place was wonderful. I will return in the future

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.8
    Quaint inn with a terrific breakfast close to city walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited parking, and internet very poor.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.6
    Small hotel that goes above and beyond just accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    cleanliness, staff's friendliness, breakfast variety and freshness

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Coziness, quietness of the property and the warmness of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coziness, quietness of the property and the warmness of the host.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    9.2
    Very nice guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not realize GP was a city rather than a town for alpine ski... so the hotel is a little bit far away from the train station, especially it was snowing when arrival...

    Very nice guesthouse. Like the decoration in the breakfast room. Very nice owners

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking was a bit of a problem. There only a few spaces in front of the hotel, but you can park anywhere on the street. I usually parked down the block and around the corner. Not bad but can be tricky as the streets are very small.

    The staff was very friendly. Had great view of the Zugspitze and close to many trails. Reisersee trail connection was easiest.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.6
    This was a wonderful hotel in a cute neighborhood in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was the most expensive of all our hotel stays. Had to pay for internet. Pillows were too soft.

    This was a wonderful hotel in a cute neighborhood in Garmisch. Great walkability to town! Friendly and accommodating staff! Drinks for purchase on premises so nice after a long drive. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.1
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No WiFi available, poor sound insulation, hard to find the location without GPS, almost impossible for travelers taking public transportation to get there.

    Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    3.8
    Room is very small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room is very small Breakfast is very poor. Plus they charge you! They also charged me 20 euros for my 4year old child per night and that was not mentioned in the booking nor was aggreed about with the hotle.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    10
    Great little hotel in GaPa with beautiful and quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great little hotel in GaPa with beautiful and quiet surroundings. (Max. 10 minutes of pleasant walk to the center). The owners are so friendly and professional! Comfortable room, tasty breakfast, very nice house.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    8.8
    When you discover an off the radar gem, you are hesitant to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad to report.

    When you discover an off the radar gem, you are hesitant to tell the world for fear that the gem will greatly increase in price. But, in this case, the joy of this excellent B and B must be shared. Family owned is always personable, here was the case as well. Second, the breakfast was outstanding and entirely what we expected in ober Bayern. Lastly, the cleanliness and utilitiy of the bath were MORE than expected at this very reasonable price in this tourist town.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    10
    Located in a more residential neighborhood which was quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Located in a more residential neighborhood which was quiet and still close enough so you could walk to the ski area and lift. Also within walking distance of restraints and shops. Very convienent for breakfast and for drinks, which were available for a very reasonable price on site.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    10
    The hotel is small, quiet and romantic, with great views of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is small, quiet and romantic, with great views of the mountains. The staff is very friendly and polite and the rooms are very very clean. Will definitely go back!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.6
    The bed size and bath were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi was weak in room, very strong out doors in front of hotel. Odd?

    The bed size and bath were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    Breakfast amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Breakfast amazing. Staff really helpful

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful owners.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    pillows

    Very friendly and helpful owners. Breakfast hits the spot. Quiet and convenient location.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.2
    Nice location, especially in winter season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location, especially in winter season.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    10
    The pillows were too thin and gave no support and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The pillows were too thin and gave no support and the blankets were slightly too small.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.6
    This hotel had such a cozy atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel had such a cozy atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    8.8
    Staff and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff and great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.5
    Cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cosy

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Everything was perfect!

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.9
    Very flexible and good personal service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Missed airconditioning in the room because it was very hot the time we stayed there

    Very flexible and good personal service. Quiet and beutiful area.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.2
    The balcony was cozy and inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We left too early to enjoy the complimentary breakfast. :(

    The balcony was cozy and inviting. Would have loved to stay longer to enjoy it.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    comfort cosy and very clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing

    comfort cosy and very clean rooms very friendly owner with beautiful childrens nice small breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    10
    Great little "hotel" with excellent customer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was limited due to snow.

    Great little "hotel" with excellent customer service.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    7.9
    Nice staff, pretty room, drinks available for sale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a bit of a walk to downtown (but pretty).

    Nice staff, pretty room, drinks available for sale.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: