Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alpenhof 3 stars

Münchnerstr. 11, 82496 Oberau, Germany

#3 of 3 hotels in Oberau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 232 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the three flights of stairs. I didn't like the view from my room. The hotel is attached to a gas station, my view, which was a bit shocking.

    The room was large and the bathroom newly renovated. The staff was so friendly. The breakfast was a good German breakfast. Lots of bread, boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, meat and cheeses.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wifi with payment. We could not find internet. Reception amd owners do not speak english and we could not communicate. Room was cold, we asked for an extra pillow but they did not bring it. Towels are not changed for 3 days. Too expensive for what is provided. Total disappoinent

    Breakfast was ok. Nothing special, but ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No free internet. TV inside the room is still the old "box" type TV and with no cable channels.

    Excellent view from outside and enough parking around the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not fond of European king size beds that are 2 twins smashed together but that’s Europe in general.

    Rooms & breakfast were nice. Added bonus was jacuzzi & sauna after a long day on the slopes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soon after our arrival, the receptionist made some offensive comments about our country of origine, expressing his personal understanding of the EU. The curtains in the room were quite transparent. At arrival, the room was not prepared only for 4 people, although we had booked for 5 - later we were given an additional pillow&blanket. The photos on the site were far better than the actual room we were given, so we got a bit dissappointed, given the amount of money we had paid for it. There was an issue with the TV channels due to a problem with the network. Finally, although mentioned on the site, it's really dissapointing for a 3 star hotel not to provide free wifi.

    The size of the room was adequate for 5 people. The bathroom was newly refurbished and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were 5pax and owner had us book 3 rooms when we initially asked for 2 rooms with an extra bed in one. This made us spend more money. In the end we found out one of the larger rooms had a perfectly functioning sofa bed, which we've seen and used as extra beds in other hotels during our trip. Felt a bit cheated. Also no hairdryers in 2 of the 3 rooms we booked.

    Clean and very close to Garmische Partenkirchen for our journey up to Zugspitze. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - No Internet - Not much eating option around, the Italian restaurant near to the hotel is not so nice but cheap. - No lift in case of elderly person.

    + Location is very good, 7-8 mins of walk from the Oberau train station. + Location is scenic + Stuffs are good, friendly, helpful and more over speaks English. + Breakfast was also fine. + Clean bathroom. + Rooms look exactly same as shown in the pictures. + Area is pretty nice and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Awful bed. I have never understood why it is so common in Germany to put two single beds together and call it a "double." 2. No internet. If you want internet you have to buy a temporary subscription from Deutsche Telekom. BUT the "hotspot" works ONLY at the lobby...NOT at the room! 3. The in-room refrigerator did not work so we put everything outside on the balcony!

    1. The owners are very friendly, accommodating, and eager to please, but their English is limited. Fortunately there were no problems communicating. 2. Great view of the mountains from our balcony. 3. Very enjoyable "Big Band" era music played softly in the background during breakfast. The lovely music added a nice touch to the extensive and filling breakfast. 4. The Italian restaurant next door to the hotel is excellent, serving quite possibly the finest Tiramisu on the planet. 5. Other excellent restaurants near the hotel are the Dubrovnik and Oberauer Alm.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet for breakfast is with short assortment. After 4th day it became boring.

    We travel with 5th year old son and usually hotels don't provide the separate bed. In this hotel we were positively surprised with additional full size bed for son. Thank hotel for that. Also we had gone to sauna and it was really intime because of cold weather outside. We warmed us up very good!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult drive on narrow winding Cliffside drive to arrive

    Incredible views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just OK

    Convenient location The room had a nice patio facing the garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent starting point for trips to GAP and other nice places. Very clean. Price is really ok compared to similar places around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hyvä sänky.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very clean, comfortable room. Nice, quiet location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was extremely friendly and nice! Very good sauna.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free Wifi

    Location is amazing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed there second time on my way to Italy. Good location, fantastic view... i can see mountains even from bathroom :) +free parking!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was placed in a 'attic style' room that had an extremely low sloping ceiling. It was very very difficult to walk around the room, most of the time I had to practically crawl. It was also not very nice to sleep under the low ceiling. So I recommend that you request a room that doesn't have a ceiling like this! The room had broken lights by the bed and I was disappointed that it didn't even have a kettle, or tea or any complimentary coffee for the extortionate price I was paying. There was also virtually no wifi in the bedroom and in the hotel they have no wifi, you have to pay 5 euros a day for a provider wifi that is spotty at best. Location wise, not great unless you have a car, I would say don't stay here. it is a 1.5km walk to the train stop along a busy road. Oberau doesn't have anything going on, just a sleepy town.

    The front reception is inviting . The room was quiet and bathroom was nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No Whirlpool/Jacuzzi in operation as advertised on sign outside.

    This would be a great place to come back to from fishing, skiing or biking in the local mountains. Clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed was too soft, pillow was very bad. Swimming pool is a public pool closes at 19:30 , whirlpool was under construction. Shower took forever to get warm and short power failure in the morning. We had a nice time though but this was due to the Biergarten 10 min walk, lovely people.

    Breakfast, perfect eggs. Close to Linderhof.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything. Stay away. After booking two nights more than three months in advance we arrived to be told the hotel is full and a line drawn through our name. The man at reception simply said he does not no why but he works their only occasionaly so it is "NOT his problem that it was CANCELLED" Can you believe this.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no one there when we arrived about 4PM. Building locked. Waited 30 minutes and then had to call owner from nearby gas station. Owner said they would be there in about 30 minutes. We had a reservation. The lobby had a very strong smoke odor because owner wife(I think) smoked in office right next to lobby desk. Patio outside of room was not clean and iron chairs had no cushions.

    The room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Doors to the hotel slammed shut every time, very loud creek sound to room doors, beds aren't very comfortable

    Close to ski areas, pizzeria downstairs, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was a slight mix up between the hotel and the booking site, but the sheer hospitality of the owner made us want to return again.

    the owner was very kind and accommodated my group very well. He personally made sure we were satisfied with everything. The facilities were very clean, food was delicious, and the beds were extremely comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff are really friendly and great people. Helped us with any needs we had.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Location.clean. friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    The staff was very carefull and full of attention!

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Entry to the open pool just up the road was a bonus Great Italian next door. Host was very amiable Balcony views are awesome.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Group

    The boss at the reception was very friendly and kind! Top customer service.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owners were really nice. Amazing attitude towards the guests. Great wellness facility.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Mattresses were worn out, like sleeping in a hammock

    Location, breakfast

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: